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respect to any week ending subsequent to the effective
date of this act shall be paid with respect to such week
compensation in an amount equal to his weekly benefit
rate less [(1)] that part of the remuneration, if any,
paid or payable to him with respect to such week which
is in excess of five dollars ($5.00) [and (2) the amount
of any pension or retirement payment paid or payable
to him with respeet to such week from any fund, an-
nuity or insurance which is financed in whole or in part
by payments or premiums paid by a base year employer].
Such compensation, if not a multiple of one dollar
($1.00), shall be computed to the next higher multiple
of one dollar ($1.00): Provided, That if at the end of
any calendar quarter the balance in the Unemployment
Trust Fund to the credit of Pennsylvania is less than
one and one-half times the highest amount paid out for
compensation less any refunds during any twelve con-
secutive months, the maximum amount of compensation
payable to any employe for a week of unemployment
ending during the next calendar quarter shall not be in
excess of twenty dollars ($20.00).

Section 2. The provisions of this act shall become Aect effective
effective immediately upon final enactment, and shal] !mmediately.
apply with respect to all claim weeks ending subsequent Applicability.
to the first day of October, one thousand nine hundred
fifty-one.

AprprovED—The 2nd day of January, A. D. 1952.
JOHN S. FINE

No. 481
AN ACT

To further amend the act, approved the second day of June, one
thousand nine hundred fifteen (Pamphlet Laws 736), entitled,
as amended, “An act defining the liability of an employer to
pay damages for injuries received by an employe in the course
of employment; establishing an elective schedule of compen-
sation; providing procedure for the determination of liability
and compensation thereunder; and prescribing penalties,” by
increasing maximum and minimum rates and increasing the
number of weeks and aggregate of compensation for total
disability, increasing the maximum amounts payable upon
death and increasing the minimum and maximum wages upon
which death compensation shall be paid, and changing
procedure.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Penn- The Pennsylvania

. . Workmen’s Com-
sylvania hereby enacts as follows; pengation Aot
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Section 1. Clauses (a), (¢) and (d) of section three
hundred six of the act, approved the second day of June,
one thousand nine hundred fifteen (Pamphlet Laws 736),
entitled, as amended, ‘‘An act defining the liability of
an employer to pay damages for injuries received by an
employe in the course of employment; establishing an
elective schedule of compensation; providing procedure
for the determination of liability and compensation
thereunder ; and preseribing penalties,’’ as last reenacted
and amended by the act, approved the twenty-first day
of June, one thousand nine hundred thirty-nine (Pam-
phlet Laws 520), *clauses (a) and (e) of which were
last amended by the act, approved the fourteenth day
of May, one thousand nine hundred forty-nine (Pam-
phlet Laws 1369), are hereby further amended to read
as follows:

Section 306. The following schedule of compensation
is hereby established for injuries resulting in total dis-
ability :

(a) For the first [five] seven hundred weeks after the
seventh day of total disability, sixty-six and two-thirds
per centum of the wages of the injured employe as de-
fined in section three hundred and nine; but the com-
pensation shall not be more than [twenty-five] thirty
dollars per week nor less than [twelve dollars and fifty
cents] twenty dollars per week, and shall not exceed in
the aggregate the sum of [twelve thousand five hundred]
twenty thousand dollars: Provided, That, if at the time
of the injury the employe receives wages of less than
[twelve dollars and fifty cents] twenty dollars per week,
then he shall receive the full amount of such wages per
week as compensation, but in no event less than [six
dollars and twenty-five cents] ten dollars per week.
Nothing in this clause shall require payment of com-
pensation after disability shall cease. Should partial
disability be followed by total disability, the period of
five hundred weeks mentioned in the clause of this see-
tion shall be reduced by the number of weeks during
which compensation was paid for such partial disability.

* » *® * L

(¢) For all disability resulting from permanent in-
juries of the following classes, the compensation shall be
exclusively as follows:

For the loss of a hand, sixty-six and two-thirds per
centum of wages during one hundred and seventy-five
weeks.

For the loss of a forearm, sixty-six and two-thirds
per centum of wages during one hundred and ninety-five
weeks.

* “clause” In original,
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For the loss of an arm, sixty-six and two-thirds per
centum of wages during two hundred and fifteen weeks.

For the loss of a foot, sixty-six and two-thirds per
centum of wages during one hundred and fifty weeks.

For the loss of a lower leg, sixty-six and two-thirds
per centum of wages during one hundred and eighty
weeks.

For the loss of a leg, sixty-six and two-thirds per cen-
tum of wages during two hundred and fifteen weeks.

For the loss of an eye, sixty-six and two-thirds per
centum of wages during one hundred and twenty-five
weeks.

For the complete loss of hearing, in both ears, sixty-
six and two-thirds per centum of wages during one hun-
dred and fifty weeks.

For the loss of a thumb, sixty-two and two-thirds per
centum of wages during sixty weeks,

For the loss of a first finger, commonly called index
finger, sixty-six and two-thirds per centum of wages
during thirty-five weeks.

For the loss of a second finger, sixty-six and two-thirds
per centum of wages during thirty weeks.

For the loss of a third finger, sixty-six and two-thirds
per centum of wages during twenty weeks.

For the loss of a fourth finger, commonly called little
finger, sixty-six and two-thirds per centum of wages
during fifteen weeks.

The loss of the first phalange of the thumb, or of any
finger, shall be considered equivalent to the loss of one-
half of such thumb or finger, and shall be compensated
at the same rate as for the loss of a thumb or finger, but
for one-half of the period provided for the loss of a
thumb or finger.

The loss of more than one phalange of a thumb or
finger shall be considered equivalent to the loss of the
entire thumb or finger.

For the loss of, or permanent loss of the use of, any
two or more such members, not constituting total dis-
ability, sixty-six and two-thirds per centum of wages
during the aggregate of the periods specified for each.

For the loss of a great toe, sixty-six and two-thirds
per centum of wages during forty weeks.

For the loss of any other toe, sixty-six and two-thirds
per centum of wages during sixteen weeks.

The loss of the first phalange of the great toe; or of
any toe, shall be considered equivalent to the loss of one-
half of such great toe, or other toe, and shall be com-
pensated at the same rate as for the loss of a great toe,
or other toe, but for one-half of the period provided for
the loss of a great toe or other toe.
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The loss of more than one phalange of a great toe, or
any toe, shall be considered equivalent to the loss of the
entire great toe or other toe.

For the loss of, or permanent loss of the use of, any
two or more such members, not constituting total dis-
ability, sixty-six and two-thirds per centum of wages
during the aggregate of the periods specified for each.

For serious and permanent disfigurement of the head,
or face, of such a character as to produce an unsightly
appearance, and such as is not usually incident to the
employment, sixty-six and two-thirds per centum of
wages not to exceed one hundred and fifty weeks.

Unless the board shall otherwise determine, the loss
of both hands or both arms or both feet or both legs or
both eyes shall constitute total disability to be compen-
sated according to the provisions of clause (a).

Amputation at the wrist shall be considered as the
equivalent of the loss of a hand, and amputation at the
ankle shall be considered as the equivalent of the loss of
a foot. Amputation between the wrist and the elbow
shall be considered as the loss of a forearm, and ampu-
tation between the ankle and the knee shall be considered
as the loss of a lower leg. Amputation at or above the
elbow shall be considered as the loss of an arm, and
amputation at or above the knee shall be considered as
the loss of a leg. Permanent loss of the use of a hand,
arm, foot, leg, eye, finger, or thumb, great toe, or other
toe, shall be considered as the equivalent of the loss of
such hand, arm, foot, leg, eye, finger, or thumb, great
toe or other toe.

This eompensation shall not be more than [twenty-five]
thirty dollars per week nor less than [twelve dollars and
fifty cents] twenty dollars per week: Provided, That if
at the time of injury the employe receives wages of less
than [twelve dollars and fifty cents] twenty dollars per
week, then he shall receive the full amount of such wages
per week as compensation, but in no event less than [six
dollars and twenty-five cents] ten dollars per week.

(d) The period of [five hundred weeks] tofal disability
mentioned in clause (a), three hundred weeks mentioned
in clause (b), and the specific periods (or aggregate spe-
cific periods as the case may be) mentioned in clause
(e), shall begin to run seven days after disability begins,
and shall run concurrently.

Section 2. Seection 307 of said act, as last amended by
the act, approved the fourteenth day of May, one thou-
sand nine hundred forty-nine (Pamphlet Laws *1369,
is hereby further amended to read as follows:

Section 307. In case of death, compensation shall be
computed on the following basis, and distributed to the
following persons:

Tv1396” in original.
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1. If there be no widow nor widower entitled to com-
pensation, compensation shall be paid to the guardian of
the child or children, or, if there be no guardian, to such
other persons as may be designated by the board as here-
inafter provided, as follows:

(a) If there be one child, twenty-five per centum of
wages of deceased, but not in excess of [eight dollars
and seventy-five cents] fen dollars and fifty cents per
week.

(b) If there be two children, thirty-five per centum
of wages of deceased, but not in excess of [twelve dollars
and fifty cents] fifteen doilars per week.

(¢) If there be three children, forty-five per centum of
wages of deceased, but not in excess of [sixteen dollars
and twenty-five cents] nineteen dollars and fifty cenis
per week.

(d) If there be four children, fifty-five per centum of
wages of deceased, but not in excess of twenty-four dol-
lars per week.

(¢) If there be five children, sixty-two and one-half
per centum of wages of deceased, but not in excess of
[twenty-two dollars and fifty cents] twenty-seven dollars
per week.

(f) If there be six or more children, sixty-six and two-
thirds per centum of wages of deceased, but not in excess
of [twenty-five] ¢hirty dollars per week.

2. To the widow or widower, if there be no children,
forty-four per centum of wages, but not in excess of
[fifteen] eighieen dollars per week.

3. To the widow or widower, if there be one child,
fifty-three per centum of wages, but not in excess of
[eighteen dollars and seventy-five] twenty-two dollars
and fifty cents per week.

4. To the widow or widower, if there be two children,
sixty-two and one-half per centum of wages, but not in
excess of [twenty-two dollars and fifty cents] fwenty-
seven dollars per week.

41%. To the widow or widower, if there be three or
more children, sixty-two and two-thirds per centum of
wages, but not in excess of [twenty-five] thirty dollars
per week.

5. If there be neither widow, widower, nor children
entitled to ecompensation, then to the father or mother,
if dependent to any extent upon the employe at the
time of the accident, twenty-five per centum of wages,
but not in excess of [seven dollars and fifty cents] nine
dollars per week: Provided, however, That in the case of
a minor child who has been contributing to his parents,
the dependeney of said parents shall be presumed: And
provided further, That if the father or mother was totally
dependent upon the deceased employe at the time of the
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accident, the compensation payable to such father or
mother shall be forty-five per centum of wages, but not
in excess of [thirteen dollars and seventy-five] sizteen
dollars and fifty cents per week.

6. If there be neither widow, *widower, children, nor
dependent parent, entitled to compensation, then to the
brothers and sisters, if actually dependent upon the
decedent for support at the **time of his death, fifteen
per centum of wages for one brother or sister, and five
per centum additional for each additional brother or
sister, with a maximum of twenty-five per centum, such
compensation to be paid to their guardian, or, if there
be no guardian, to such other person as may be desig-
nated by the board, as hereinafter provided.

7. Whether or not there be dependents as aforesaid,
the reasonable expense of burial, not exceeding two
hundred and fifty dollars, which shall be paid by the
employer or ***insurer directly to the undertaker (with-
out deduction ****of any amounts theretofore paid for
ecompensation or for medical expenses).

Compensation shall be payable under this section to
or on account of any child, brother, or sister, only if and
while such child, brother, or sister is under the age of
sixteen. No compensation shall be payable under thig
section to a widow, unless she was living with her de-
ceased husband at the time of his death, or was then
actually dependent upon him and receiving from him a
substantial portion of her support. No compensation
shall be payable under this section to a widower, unless
he be incapable of self-support at the time of his wife’s
death and be at such time dependent upon her for sup-
port. If members of decedent’s household at the time of
his death, the terms ‘‘child’’ and ‘‘children’’ shall in-
clude step-children, adopted children and children to
whom he stood in loco parentis, and shall include post-
humous children. Should any dependent of a deceased
employe die or remarry, or should the widower become
capable of self-support, the right of such dependent or
widower to compensation under this section shall cease:
Provided, however, That upon remarriage of any widow,
the eompensation of such widow shall continue as here-
inbefore provided for one-third of the period during
which ecompensation then remains payable to her: Pro-
vided further, That if, upon investigation and hearing,
it shall be ascertained that the widow or widower is
living with a man or woman, as the case may be, in
meretricious relationship and not married, or the widow
living a life of prostitution, the board may order the

* “or” deleted in original.
PO et

== ime mn unﬂsnuan.
**# ‘“peurer” In original.

s+*® “or” {n original.
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termination of compensation payable *to such widow or
widower. If the compensation payable under this sec-
tion to any person shall, for any cause, cease, the com-
pensation to the remaining persons entitled thereunder
shall thereafter be the same as would have been payable
to them had they been the only persons entitled to com-
pensation at the time of the death of the deceased.

The wages upon which death compensation shall be
based shall not in any case be taken to exceed [thirty-
seven dollars and fifty cents] forty-five dollars per week,
nor be less than [twenty-one dollars and twenty-five]
twenty-five dollars and fifty cents per week.

This compensation shall be paid during three hundred
weeks, and in the case of children entitled to compensa-
tion under this section, the compensation of each child
shall continue, after said period of three hundred weeks,
until such child reaches the age of sixteen, at the rate
of seventeen and one-half per centum of wages, but not
in excess of [five dollars and seventy-five cents] siz dol-
lars and ninety cents per week, if there is one child;
twenty-seven and one-half per centum of wages, but not
in excess of [eight dollars and seventy-five] ten dollars
and fifty cents per week, if there are two children; thirty-
eight and one-half per centum of wages, but not in ex-
cess of [twelve dollars and fifty cents] fifteen dollars per
week, if there are three children; fifty per centum of
wages, but not in excess of [sixteen dollars and twenty-
five] nineteen dollars and fifty cents per week, if there
are four children; fifty-five per centum of wages, but
not in excess of [seventeen dollars and fifty cents] fwen-
ty-one dollars per week, if there are five children; and
sixty per ecentum of wages, but not in excess of twenty-
four dollars per week, if there are six children or more.

The board may, if the best interest of a child or chil-
dren shall so require, at any time order and direet the
compensation payable to a child or children, or to a
widow or a widower on account of any child or children,
to be paid to the guardian of such child or children, or,
if there be no guardian, to such other person as the board,
as hereinafter provided, may direct. If there be no
gunardian or committee of any minor, dependent, or
insane employe, or dependent, on whose account compen-
sation is payable, the amount payable on account of such
minor, dependent, or insane employe, or dependent may
be paid to any surviving parent, or to such other person
as the board may order and direct, and the board may
require any person, other than a guardian or committee,
to whom it has directed compensation for a minor, de-
pendent, or insane employe, or dependent to be paid, to

¢ “to such widow or widower. If the compengation payable” omitted
in original.
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render, as and when it shall so order, accounts of the
receipts and disbursements of such person, and to file
with it a satisfactory bond in a sum sufficient to secure
the proper application of the moneys received by such
person,

Section 3. Section four hundred ten of said act, as
last reenacted and amended by the act, approved the
twenty-first day of June, one thousand nine hundred
thirty-nine (Pamphlet Laws 520), is hereby further
amended to read as follows:

Section 410. If, after any accident, the employer and
the employe or his dependent, concerned in any accident,
shall fail to agree upon the facts thereof and the com-
pensation due under this act, the employe or his depend-
ents may present a claim for compensation to the board.

‘Whenever any claim for compensation is presented to
the board and is finally adjudicated in favor of the claim-
ant, the amounts of compensation actually due at the
time the first payment is made after such adjudication
shall bear interest at the rate of six per centum per an-
num, from the day such claim is presented, and such
interest shall be payable to the same persons as the com-
pensation is payable.

In case any claimant shall die before the final adjudi-
cation of his elaim, the amount of compensation due such
claimant fo the date of death shall be paid to the de-
pendents entitled to compensation, or, if there be no
dependents, then to the estate of the decedent.

Whenever any claim for compensation is presented to
the board or a referee and the injury and accident are
not dented, and the only issue involved is the liability
as between the defendant or the carrier or two or more
carriers, the referee or the board shall forthwith order
payments to be immediately made by the defendants or
the carriers in said case. After the referee or the board
*render a final decision, the payments made by the de-
fendant or carrier not liable in the case shall be awarded
or assessed against the defendant or carrier liable in the
case, as costs in the proceedings, in favor of the defendant
or carrier not liable in the case.

Section 4. The provisions of this act shall become
effective immediately upon final enactment.

APPrROVED—The 2nd day of January, A. D. 1952.
JOHN 8. FINE

* “rendered” in original.
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