1230 Act No. 272 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA
No. 272

AN ACT
HB 1924

Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, changing provisions relating to retail theft; and providing for certain
fingerprinting.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows: ;

Section 1. Section 3929 of Title 18, act of November 25, 1970
(P.L.707, No.230), known as the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
added December 6, 1972 (P.L.1482, No0.334), is amended to read:

§ 3929. Retail theft.

(a) Offense defined.—A person is guilty of a retail theft if he:

(1) takes possession of, carries away, transfers or causes to be carried
away or transferred, any merchandise displayed, held, stored or offered
for sale by any store or other retail mercantile establishment with the
intention of [converting it to his own use] depriving the merchant of the
possession, use or benefit of such merchandise without paying [to the
owner] the full retail value thereof; [or]

(2) alters, transfers or removes any label, price tag [or marking upon
any merchandise offered for sale by any store or other retail mercantile
establishment; or]|marking, indicia of value or any other markings which
aid in determining value affixed to any merchandise displayed, held,
stored or offered for sale in a store or other retail mercantile
establishment and attempts to purchase such merchandise personally-or
in consort with another at less than the full retail value with the intention
of depriving the merchant of the full retail value of such merchandise;

(3) transfers any merchandise displayed, held, stored or offered for
sale by any store or other retail mercantile establishment from the
container in or on which the same shall be displayed to any other
container with intent to deprive the [owner]merchant of all or some part
of the full retail value thereof; or

(4) under-rings with the intention of depriving the merchant of the
Jfull retail value of the merchandise.

(b) Grading.—

[(1) Any person committing the first offense of retail theft when the
value of the merchandise is less than $100is guilty of a summary offense.

(2) Upon conviction of a second offense when the value of the
merchandise is less than $100 the personshall be guilty of a misdemeanor
of the second degree.

(3) Upon commission of a third or any subsequent offense,
regardless of the value of the merchandise, the person shall be guilty ofa
misdemeanor of the first degree.
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(4) When the value of the merchandise shall be $100 or more, any
person who shall commit the offense of retail theft whether same shall be
a first or subsequent offense, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the first
degree.]

(1) Retail theft constitutes a:

(i) Summary offense when the offense is a first offense and the
value of the merchandise is less than $150.

(ii) Misdemeanor of the second degree when the offense is a
second offense and the value of the merchandise is less than $150.

(iij) Misdemeanor of the first degree when the offense is a first or
second offense and the value of the merchandise is $150 or more.

(iv) Felony of the third degree when the offense is a third or
subsequent offense, regardless of the value of the merchandise.

(2) Amounts involved in retail thefts committed pursuant to one
scheme or course of conduct, whether from the same store or retail
mercantile establishment or several stores or retail mercantile
establishments, may be aggregated in determining the grade of the
offense.

(¢) Presumptions.—Any person intentionally concealing unpurchased
property of any store or other mercantile establishment, either on the
premises or outside the premises of such store, shall be prima facie
presumed to have so concealed such property with the intention of
[converting it to his own use] depriving the merchant of the possession, use
or benefit of such merchandise without paying the [purchase price] full
retail value thereof within the meaning of subsection (a), and the finding of
such unpurchased property concealed, upon the person or among the
belongings of such person, shall be prima facie evidence of intentional
concealment, and, if such person conceals, or causes to be concealed, such
unpurchased property, upon the person or among the belongings of
another, such fact shall also be prima facie evidence of intentional
concealment on the part of the person so concealing such property.

(c.1) Evidence.—To the extent that there is other competent evidence
to substantiate the offense, the conviction shall not be avoided because the
prosecution cannot produce the stolen merchandise.

(d) Detention.—A peace officer, merchant or merchant’s employee or
an agent under contract with a merchant, who has probable cause to
believe that retail theft has occurred or is occurring on or about a store or
other retail mercantile establishment and who has probable cause to
believe that a specific person has committed or is committing the retail theft
may detain the suspect in a reasonable manner for a reasonable time on or
off the premises for all or any of the following purposes: to require the
suspect to identify himself, to verify such identification, to determine
whether such suspect has in his possession unpurchased merchandise taken
from the mercantile establishment and, if so, to recover such merchandise,
to inform a peace officer, or to institute criminal proceedings against the
suspect. Such detention shall not impose civil or criminal liability uponthe
peace officer, merchant, employee, or agent so detaining.
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() Reduction prohibited.—No justice of the peace or other magistrate
shall have the power to reduce any other charge of theft to a charge of retail
theft as defined in this section.

() Definitions.—

“Conceal.” To conceal merchandise so that, although there may be
some notice of its presence, it is not visible through ordinary observation.

“Full retail value.” The merchant’s stated or advertised price of the
merchandise.

[(1) “Store or other retail mercantile establishment.” A place
where merchandise is sold or offered to the public for sale.

(2)] “Merchandise.” Any goods, chattels, foodstuffs or wares of
any type and description, regardless of the value thereof.
“Merchant.” An owner or operator of any retail mercantile

establishment or any agent, employee, lessee, consignee, officer, director,
Jranchisee or independent contractor of such owner or operator.

“Premises of a retail mercantile establishment.” Includes but is not
limited to, the retail mercantile establishment; any common use areas in
shopping centers and all parking areas set aside by amerchant or on behalf
of a merchant for the parking of vehicles for the convenience of the patrons
of such retail mercantile establishment.

“Store or other retail mercantile establishment.” A place where
merchandise is displayed, held, stored or sold or offered to the public for
sale.

“Under-ring.” To cause the cashregister or other sales recording device
to reflect less than the full retail value of the merchandise.

(g) Fingerprinting.—Prior to the commencement of trial or entry of
plea of a defendant 16 years of age or older accused of the surmmary-offense
of retail theft, the issuing authority shall order the defendant to submit
within five days of such order for fingerprinting by the municipal police of
the jurisdiction in which the offense allegedly was committed ov the State
Police. Fingerprints so obtained shall be forwarded immediately to the
Pennsylvania State Police for determination as to whether or not the
defendant previously has been convicted of the offense of retail theft. The
results of such determination shall be forwarded to the Police Department
obtaining the fingerprints if such department is the prosecutor, or to the
issuing authority if the prosecutor is other than a police officer. T he issuing
authority shall not proceed with the trial or plea in summary cases until in
receipt of the determination made by the State Police. The district justice
shall use the information obtained solely for the purpose of grading the
offense pursuant to subsection (b). If the defendant is convicted of retail
theft, the district justice shall forward the docket transcript to the State
Police.

Section 2. The provisions of this act shall not affect any act done,
liability incurred or right accrued or vested, or affect any suit or
prosecution pending or to be instituted to enforce any right or penalty or
punish any offense under the authority of any act or part thereof repealed
in this act.
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Section 3. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 2nd day of December, A. D. 1976.
MILTON J. SHAPP



