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No. 1984-12

AN ACT
SB 300

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
defining *‘local authorities’’ to include airport authorities which are not
located within counties of the first class or counties of the second class; further
providing for financial responsibility; providing for notice relating to chemical
tests and driving under the influence; further providing for motor-carriers road
tax identification markers and axle tax; and making repeals.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The definition of ‘‘local authorities’’ in section 102 of Title 75
of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:
§ 102. Definitions.

Subject to additional definitions contained in subsequent provisions of
this title which are applicable to specific provisions of this title, the following
words and phrases when used in this title shall have, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in this section:

* % %

“Local authorities.”” County, municipal and other local boards or
bodies having authority to enact laws relating to traffic. The term also
includes airport authorities, except where those authorities are located within

counties of the first class or counties of the second class.
k %k sk

’

Section 2. Section 1547() of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 1547. Chemical testing to determine amount of alcohol or controlled sub-
stance.

* % X

() Immunity from civil liability and reports.—No physician, nurse or
technician or hospital employing such physician, nurse or technician, and no
other employer of such physician, nurse or technician shall be civilly liable
for [properly] withdrawing blood or obtaining a urine sample and reporting
test results to the police at the request of a police officer pursuant to this
section. No physician, nurse or technician or hospital employing such physi-
cian, nurse or technician may administratively refuse to perform such tests
and provide the results to the police officer except as may be reasonably
expected from unusual circumstances that pertain at the time the request is

made.
¥ % %

Section 3. Sections 1702, 1711, 1712, 1713, 1715, 1717, 1718, 1719,
1720, 1721, 1722, 1723, 1731, 1752, 1753, 1754, 1755, 1756, 1757, 1761,
1762, 1763, 1764, 1765(a) and (f), 1766, 1774, 1782(a), 1784, 1785, 1787,
1791, 1792, 1794, 1795(a), 1796, 1797 and 1798 of Title 75, added February
12, 1984 (P.L.26, No.11), are amended or added to read:
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§ 1702. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have the
meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise:

‘‘Benefits’” or ‘“first party benefits.”” Medical benefits, income loss ben-
efits, accidental death benefits and funeral benefits.

‘“Department.”” The Department of Transportation or Insurance
Department, as applicable.

“‘Financial responsibility.”” The ability to respond in damages for liabil-
ity on account of accidents arising out of the {ownership,] maintenance or
use of a motor vehicle in the amount of {$20,000 prior to July 1, 1986, and
$25,000 on or after that date] $15,000 because of injury to one person in any
one accident; in the amount of [$40,000 prior to July 1, 1986, and $50,000 on
(Mfl{t;?;t date] $30,000 because of injury to two or more persons in any
one accident and in the amount of [$7,500 prior to July 1, 1986, and $10,000
on or after that date] $5,000 because of damage to property of others in any
one accident. The financial responsibility shall be in a form acceptable to the
Department of Transportation.

““Injury.” Accidentally sustained bodily harm to an individual and that
individual’s illness, disease or death resulting therefrom.

“Insured.”” Any of the following:

(1) Anindividual identified by name as an insured in a policy of motor
vehicle liability insurance.

(2) Ifresiding in the household of the named insured:

(i) aspouse or other relative of the named insured; or
(ii) a minor in the custody of either the named insured or relative of
the named insured.

“Insurer’” or ‘‘insurance company.” A motor vehicle liability insurer
subject to the requirements of this chapter.

“Self-insurer.”> An entity providing benefits and qualified in the manner
set forth in section 1787 (relating to self-insurance).

“‘Underinsured motor vehicle.”” A motor vehicle for which the limits of
available liability insurance and self-insurance are insufficient to pay losses
and damages. :

“‘Uninsured motor vehicle.”” Any of the following:

(1) A motor vehicle for which there is no liability insurance or self-
insurance applicable at the time of the accident.

(2 A motor vehicle for which the insurance company denies coverage
or the insurance company is or becomes involved in insolvency proceed-
ings in any jurisdiction.

(3) An unidentified motor vehicle that causes an accident resulting in
injury provided the accident is reported to the police or proper govern-
mental authority and the claimant notifies his insurer within 30 days, or as
soon as practicable thereafter, that the claimant or his legal representative
has a legal action arising out of the accident.
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§ 1711. Required [medical benefit] benefits.

An insurer issuing or delivering liability insurance policies covering any
motor vehicle of the type required to be registered under this title, except rec-
reational vehicles not intended for highway use, motorcycles, motor-driven
cycles or motorized pedalcycles or like type vehicles, registered and operated
in this Commonwealth, shall include coverage providing a medical benefit in
the amount of $10,000, an income loss benefit up to a monthly maximum of
$1,000 up to a maximum benefit of $5,000 and a funeral benefit in the
amount of $1,500, as defined in section 1712[(1)] (relating to availability of
benefits), with respect to injury arising out of the fownership,] maintenance
or use of a motor vehicle[, in the amount of $5,000. Insurance policies issued
in accordance with this subchapter may also provide higher amounts of cov-
erage and other types of coverage]. The income loss benefit provided under
this section may be expressly waived by the named insured provided the
named insured has no expectation of actual income loss due to age, disability
or lack of employment history.

§ 1712. Availability of benefits.

An insurer issuing or delivering liability insurance policies covering any
motor vehicle of the type required to be registered under this title, except rec-
reational vehicles not intended for highway use, motorcycles, motor-driven
cycles or motorized pedalcycles or like type vehicles, registered and operated
in this Commonwealth, shall make available for purchase first party benefits
with respect to injury arising out of the [ownership,] maintenance or use of a
motor vehicle as follows:

(1) Medical benefit.—[Alll Coverage to provide for reasonable and
necessary [expenses for] medical treatment and rehabilitative services,
including, but not limited to, hospital, dental, surgical, psychiatric, psy-
chological, osteopathic, ambulance, chiropractic, licensed physical
therapy, nursing services, vocational rehabilitation and occupational
therapy, speech pathology and audiology, optometric services, medica-
tions, medical supplies and prosthetic devices, all without limitation as to
time, provided that, within 18 months from the date of the accident
causing injury, it is ascertainable with reasonable medical probability that
further expenses may be incurred as a result of the injury. Benefits under
this paragraph may include any nonmedical remedial care and treatment
rendered in accordance with a recognized religious method of healing.
[Expenses for hospital room charges may be limited to semiprivate accom-
modations.]

(2) Income loss benefit.—Includes the following:

(i) Eighty percent of actual loss of gross income.

(ii) Reasonable expenses actually incurred for hiring a substitute to
perform self-employment services thereby mitigating loss of gross
income or for hiring special help thereby enabling a person to-work and
mitigate loss of gross income.

Income loss does not include loss of expected income for any period fol-

lowing the death of an individual or expenses incurred for services per-

formed following the death of an individual. Income loss shall not com-
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mence until five working days have been lost after the date of the accident.

(3) Accidental death benefit,—A death benefit paid to the personal
representative of the insured, should injury resulting from a motor vehicle
accident cause death within 24 months from the date of the accident.

(4) Funeral benefit.—Expenses directly related to the funeral, burial,
cremation or other form of disposition of the remains of a deceased indi-
vidual, incurred as a result of the death of the individual as a result of the
accident and within 24 months from the date of the accident,

(5) Combination benefit.—A combination of benefits described in
paragraphs (1) through (4) as an alternative to the separate purchase of
those benefits.

§ 1713. Source of benefits.

(a) General rule.—Except as provided in section 1714 (relating to ineligi-
ble claimants), a person [injured in a motor vehicle accident] who suffers
injury arising out of the maintenance or use of a motor vehicle shall recover
first party benefits against applicable insurance coverage in the following
order of priority:

(1) For a named insured, the policy on which he is the named insured.

(2) For an insured, the policy covering the insured.

(3) For the occupants of an insured motor vehicle, the policy on that
motor vehicle.

(4) For a person who is not the occupant of a motor vehicle, the policy
on any motor vehicle involved in the accident. For the purpose of this
paragraph, a parked and unoccupied motor vehicle is not a motor vehicle
involved in an accident unless it was parked so as to cause unreasonable
risk of injury.

(b) Multiple sources of equal priority.—The insurer against whom a
claim is asserted first under the priorities set forth in subsection (a) shall
process and pay the claim as if wholly responsible. The insurer is thereafter
entitled to recover contribution pro rata from any other insurer for the bene-
fits paid and the costs of processing the claim. If contribution is sought
among insurers responsible under subsection (a)(4), proration shall be based
on the number of involved motor vehicles.

§ 1715. Availability of adequate limits.

(a) General rule.—An insurer shall make available for purchase first
party benefits as follows:

(1) For medical benefits, up to at least $100,000.

(2) For income loss benefits, up to at least $2,500 per month up to a
maximum benefit of at least $50,000.

(3) For accidental death benefits, up to at least $25,000.

(4) For funeral benefits, $2,500.

(5) For combination of benefits enumerated in paragraphs (1) through
(4) and subject to a limit on the accidental death benefit of up to $25,000
and a limit on the funeral benefit of $2,500, up to at least $277,500 of ben-
efits in the aggregate or benefits payable up to three years from the date of
the accident, whichever occurs first.
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(b) Higher or lower limits and additional benefits.—[An insured may
elect to purchase] Insurers may make available higher or lower limits or
[additional] benefits [than] in addition to those enumerated insubsecticn (&).

(c) Restriction on providing first party benefits.—An insurer shall not
issue or deliver a policy providing first party benefits in accordance with this
subchapter unless the policy also contains coverage for liability in amounts at
least equal to the limits required for financial responsibility.

§ 1717. Stacking of benefits.

[An insurer may provide that first] First party benefits shall not be

increased by stacking the limits of coverage of:
(1) multiple motor vehicles covered under the same policy of insur-
ance; or
(2) multiple motor vehicle policies covering the individual for thesame
loss.
§ 1718. Exclusion from benefits.

(a) General rule.—An insurer [may] shall exclude from benefits any
insured, or his personal representative, under a policy enumerated in
section 1711 (relating to required [medical benefit] benefits) or 1712 (relating
to availability of benefits), when the conduct of the insured contributed to
the injury sustained by the insured in any of the following ways:

(1) While intentionally injuring himself or another or attempting to
intentionally injure himself or another.

(2) While committing a felony.

(3) While seeking to elude lawful apprehension or arrest by a law
enforcement official.

(b) Conversion of vehicle.—A person who knowingly converts a motor
vehicle is ineligible to receive first party benefits from any source other than
a policy of insurance under which he is an insured for any injury arising out
of the maintenance or use of the converted vehicle.

(c) Named driver exclusion.—An insurer may exclude any insured or his
personal representative from benefits under a policy enumerated in
section 1711 or 1712 when the insured is excluded from coverage while oper-
ating a motor vehicle in accordance with the act of June 5, 1968 (P.L. 140,
No.78), relating to the writing, cancellation of or refusal to renew policies of
automobile insurance.

§ 1719. Coordination of benefits.

(a) General rule.—Except for workers’ compensation, a policy of insur-
ance issued or delivered pursuant to this subchapter shall be primary. Any
program, group contract or other arrangement for payment of benefits[,]
such as described in section 1711 (relating to required [medical benefit] hene-
fits) [or], 1712(1) and (2) (relating to availability of benefits)[,] or 1715 (relat-
ing to availability of adequate limits) shall be construed to econtain a provi-
sion that all benefits provided therein shall be in excess of and not in dupli-
cation of any valid and collectible first party benefits provided in
section 1711 [or], 1712 or 1715 or workers’ compensation.

(b) Definition.—As used in this section the term ‘‘program, group con-
tract or other arrangement”’ includes, but is not limited to, benefits payable
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by a hospital plan corporation or a professional health service corporation
subject to 40 Pa.C.S. Ch. 61 (relating to hospital plan corporations) or 63
(relating to professional health services plan corporations).

§ 1720. Subrogation.

[ There] In actions arising out of the maintenance or use of a ri:eter vehicle,
there shall be no right of subrogation or reimbursement from a claimant’s
tort recovery with respect to workers’ compensation benefits, benefits
available under section 1711 (relating to required [medical benefit] benefits)
[or], 1712 (relating to availability of benefits) or 1715 (relating to availability
of adequate limits) or benefits in lieu thereof paid or payable under
section 1719 (relating to coordination of benefits).

§ 1721. Statute of limitations.

(a) General rule.—If benefits have not been paid, an action for first
party benefits shall be commenced within four years from the date of the
accident giving rise to the claim. If first party benefits have been paid, an
action for further benefits shall be commenced within four years from the
date of the last payment.

(b) Minors.—For minors entitled to [medical] benefits described in
section 1711 (relating to required [medical benefit] benefits) or 1712[(1)]
(relating to availability of benefits), an action for [medical] benefits shall be
commenced within four years from the date on which the injured minor
attains 18 years of age.

(c) Definition.—As used in this section the term ‘‘further benefits’’
means expenses incurred not earlier than four years preceding the date an
action is commenced.

§ 1722. Preclusion of pleading [and], proving [of] and recovering required
[medical benefit] benefits.

In any action for damages against a tortfeasor arising out of the [owner-
ship,] maintenance or use of a motor vehicle, a person who is eligible to
receive [medical] benefits under the [minimum required coverage] coverages
set forth in section 1711 (relating to required [medical benefit] benefits) shall
be precluded from pleading [or], introducing into evidence or recovering the
amount of [medical and rehabilitative expenses for which such] benefits
[were] paid or [are] payable under section 1711. This preclusion applies only
to the amount of [required medical] benefits set forth in section 1711.

§ 1723. Reporting requirements.

Beginning December 31, [1985] 71986, and each year thereafter, each insur-
ance company writing automobile insurance in this Commonwealth shall file
with the Insurance Department the number of its insureds, the number of its
insureds who have purchased first party medical benefits in excess of the
minimum required by section 1711 (relating to required [medical benefit]
benefits) and the number of insureds who have purchased first party medical
benefits in the amount of $100,000. The Insurance Department shall furnish
this information to the General Assembly annually.

§ 1731. Scope and amount of coverage.

(@) General rule.—No motor vehicle liability insurance policy shall be

delivered or issued for delivery in this Commonwealth, with respect to any
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motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this Commonwealth,
unless uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverages are provided
therein or supplemental thereto in amounts equal to the bodily injury liabil-
ity coverage except as provided in section 1734 (relating to request for lower
or higher limits of coverage).

(b) Uninsured motorist coverage.—Uninsured motorist coverage shall
provide protection for persons who suffer injury arising out of the [owner-
ship,] maintenance or use of a motor vehicle and are legally entitled to
recover damages therefor from owners or operators of uninsured motor
vehicles,

(¢c) Underinsured motorist coverage.—Underinsured motorist coverage
shall provide protection for persons who suffer injury arising out of the
[ownership,] maintenance or use of a motor vehicle and are legally-entitled to
recover damages therefor from owners or operators of underinsured motor
vehicles.

(d) Limitation on recovery.—A person who recovers damages under
uninsured motorist coverage or coverages cannot recover damages under
underinsured motorist coverage or coverages for the same accident.

§ 1752. Eligible claimants.

(@) General rule.—A person is eligible to recover benefits from the
Assigned Claims Plan if the person meets the following requirements:

(1) Isaresident of this Commonwealth.

(2) Isinjured as the result of a motor vehicle accident occurring in this
Commonwealth.

(3) Isnotan owner of a [currently registered] motor vehicle [subject to
this chapter] required to be registered under Chapter 13 (relating to regis-
tration of vehicles).

(4) Is not the operator or occupant of a motor vehicle owned by the
Federal Government or any of its agencies, departments or authorities.

(5) Isnot the operator or occupant of a motor vehicle owned by a self-
insurer or by an individual or entity who or which is immune from liability
for, or is not required to provide, benefits or uninsured and underinsured
motorist coverage.

(6) Is otherwise not entitled to receive any first party benefits under
section 1711 (relating to required [medical benefit] benefits) or 1712 (relat-
ing to availability of benefits) applicable to the injury arising from the
accident.

(7) Is not the operator or occupant of a recreational vehicle not
intended for highway use, motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or motorized
pedalcycle or other like type vehicle required to be registered under this
title and involved in the accident.

(b) Grounds for ineligibility.—A person otherwise qualifying as an eligi-
ble claimant under subsection (a) shall nevertheless be ineligible to recover
benefits from the Assigned Claims Plan if that person contributed to his own.
injury in any of the following ways:

(1) While intentionally injuring himself or another or attempting to
intentionally injure himself or another.
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(2) While committing a felony.
(3) While seeking to elude lawful apprehension or arrest by a law
enforcement official.
(4) While knowingly converting a motor vehicle.
§ 1753. Benefits available.

An eligible claimant may recover medical benefits, as described in
section 1712(1) (relating to availability of benefits), up to a maximum of
$5,000. No income loss benefit or accidental death benefit shall be payable
under this subchapter. Funeral expenses, as described in section 1712(4), in
the amount of [$2,500] $1,500 shall be recoverable as an offset to the
maximum amount of medical benefits available under this section.

§ 1754. [Uninsured motorist] Additional coverage.

An eligible claimant who has no other source of applicable uninsured
motorist coverage and is otherwise entitled to recover in an action in tort
against a party who has failed to comply with this chapter may recover for
losses or damages suffered as a result of the injury up to [$20,000 for acci-
dents occurring prior to July 1, 1986, and $25,000 for accidents occurring on
or after that date,] $15,000 subject to an aggregate limit for all claims arising
out of any one motor vehicle accident of [$40,000 for accidents occurring
prior to July 1, 1986, and $50,000 for accidents occurring on or after that
date) $30,000. 1f a claimant recovers medical benefits under section 1753
(relating to benefits available), the amount of medical benefits recovered or
recoverable up to $5,000 shall be set off against any amounts recoverable in
this section.

§ 1755. Coordination of benefits.

(a) Workers’ compensation.—All benefits (less reasonably incurred col-
lection costs) that an eligible claimant receives or is entitled to receive from
workers’ compensation and from any other like source under local, state or
Federal law shall be subtracted from any benefits available in section 1753
(relating to benefits available) unless the law authorizing or providing for
those benefits makes them excess or secondary to the benefits in accordance
with this subchapter.

(b) Accident and health benefits.—All benefits an eligible claimant
receives or is entitled to receive as a result of injury from any available source
of accident and health benefits shall be subtracted from those benefits
available in section 1753.

§ 1756. Subrogation.

The Assigned Claims Plan or its assignee is entitled to recover, in accor-
dance with the tort liability law of this Commonwealth, reimbursement for
benefits or coverages paid, loss adjustment costs and any other sums paid to
an eligible claimant under this subchapter.

§ 1757. Statute of limitations.

(a) General rule.—An action by an eligible claimant to recover benefits
or coverages from the Assigned Claims Plan shall be commenced within
[three] four years from the date of the accident.

(b) Minors.—For minors entitled to benefits described in section 1753
(relating to benefits available) or 1754 (relating to [uninsured motorist] addi-
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tional coverage), an action to recover these benefits or coverages shall be
commenced within [three] four years from the date on which the injured
minor attains 18 years of age.

§ 1761. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall have
the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise:

““Administrator.”” The administrator designated by the Catastrophic
Loss Trust Fund Board.

“Board.” The Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund Board.

““Catastrophic loss.”” An injury, arising out of the [ownership,] mainte-
nance or use of a motor vehicle, for which the reasonable and necessary
expenses for medical treatment and rehabilitative services, as described in
section 1712(1) (relating to availability of benefits), exceed $100,000.

‘‘Catastrophic loss benefit.”” Payments by the Catastrophic Loss Trust
Fund for those reasonable and necessary expenses only for medical treatment
and rehabilitative services which, as described in section 1712(1), exceed
$100,000, subject to the limitations provided in section 1766 (relating to ben-
efits). Catastrophic loss benefits shall not duplicate any other payments for
medical treatment and rehabilitative services.

‘“Eligible claimant.”” Except as provided in the definition of ineligible
claimant, eligible claimant includes a resident of this Commonwealth who
suffers injury on or after the effective date of this subchapter arising out of
the [ownership,] maintenance [and] or use of a motor vehicle in the United
States, its territories or possessions and Canada. The estate of an eligible
claimant shall be entitled to receive catastrophic loss benefits pursuant to
section 1766 to the extent that financial obligations for reasonable and neces-
sary medical treatment and rehabilitative services were incurred by the eligi-
ble claimant prior to the death of that person. Otherwise eligible claimants
shall not be disqualified from participating in or receiving benefits from the
Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund for injuries suffered after the effective date of
this subchapter but prior to their first registration renewal after the effective
date of this subchapter.

““Executive director.”” The executive director of the Catastrophic Loss
Trust Fund Board.

“Fund.”” The Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund.

“Fund charge.”” The fund charge established under this subchapter.

““Ineligible claimant.”” Any of the following:

(1) A person who is the owner of a motor vehicle who has not com-
plied with the registration requirements of Chapter 13 (relating to registra-
tion of vehicles) [and is injured while driving or occupying the vehicle}.

(2) A person who is the driver or occupant of a recreational vehicle not
intended for highway use, a motorcycle, a motorized pedalcycle, a motor-
driven cycle or like type vehicle required to be registered under this title but
not subject to the charge levied in section 1762 (relating to funding).
‘‘Manager.”” The manager designated by the Catastrophic Loss Trust

Fund Board.
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§ 1762. Funding.

The Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund shall be funded by levying an initial
charge of $5 upon all motor vehicles required to be registered under Chapter
13 (relating to registration of vehicles) except trailers, recreational vehicles
not intended for highway use, motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, motorized
pedalcycles or like type vehicles. This charge shall be remitted to [the] an
insurance company [at the same time as the payment of the premium] or
other party as may be designated by the Insurance Department. Upon receipt
of the charge, the insurance company or other designated party shall remit it
to the Insurance Department for deposit in the trust fund. The Catastrophic
Loss Trust Fund Board shall, by regulation, determine by January 1 of each
calendar year the amount of the fund charge for each registration year subse-
quent to the initial registration year and shall notify the Insurance Depart-
ment which shall notify the insurance companies or other designated parties
to collect the charge. [There shall be no change in the fund charge for three
years after the effective date of this subchapter. The Insurance Department
shall publish notice of the fund charge to be levied in each registration year at
least 30 days prior to the initiation of the charge.]

§ 1763. Enforcement.

The Department of Transportation shall refuse registration or renewal or
transfer of registration to the owner or owners of any motor vehicle for
which registration is required under this subchapter until there is proof that
the amount levied under this subchapter was paid. [A person required to pay
the fund charge required by section 1762 (relating to funding) who fails to
comply with this requirement shall be ineligible to participate in or receive
any catastrophic loss benefits from the fund.]

§ 1764. Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund.

(a) Establishment.—A Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund shall be established
to provide funds necessary to pay catastrophic loss benefits.

(b) Composition.—The fund shall be composed of moneys contributed
pursuant to section 1762 (relating to funding) and funds earned by the
investment and reinvestment of such moneys. The fund shall be held in trust,
be deposited in a separate account and be the sole and exclusive source of
funding for the payment of catastrophic loss benefits and the administration
of the fund.

(¢) Separation from General Fund and Motor License Fund.—The fund
and all income carned by it shall not become part of the General Fund or
Motor License Fund and no obligations or expense of or claim against the
fund shall constitute a debt of the Commonwealth or a charge against the
General Fund or Motor License Fund.

(d) Expenses in collecting fund charge.—Any expense incurred by the
Commonwealth in the collection of the fund charge shall be paid by the
fund. The Insurance Department may determine a formula to provide for the
reimbursement by the fund for expenses incurred by insurance companies or
others in collecting the fund charge.
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§ 1765. Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund Board.

(a) Composition.—The fund shall be under the general supervision of a
board of directors, which board shall be [an independent] a departmental
administrative board in the Insurance Department and which board shall be
comprised of nine persons as follows:

(1) Four members of the General Assembly appointed for two years as
follows:

(i) One appointed by the [President pro tempore] Majority Leader
of the Senate.

(if) One appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate.

(i) One appointed by the [Speaker} Majority Leader of the House
of Representatives.

(iv) One appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Repre-
sentatives.

(2) Four public members appointed by the [General Assembly] Gover-
nor for two years [as follows:

(i) One appointed by the President pro tempore of the Senate.

(ii) One appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate.

(iii) One appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

(iv) One appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Repre-
sentatives).

(3) The Insurance Commissioner who shall serve as chairman.

* k %

(f) Duties of manager.—

(1) The manager shall accept [the moneys of] all moneys collected for
the fund [collected by the Department of Transportation].

(2) The manager may invest and reinvest the moneys of the fund in the
type of investments and in a manner as determined by the Insurance
Department based upon investments allowed by law and investment poli-
cies for similar fiduciaries.

§ 1766. Benefits.

{a) General rule.—Subject to the limitations set forth in subsection (b),
the Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund shall provide catastrophic loss benefits to
eligible claimants only for the payment of expenses for medical treatment
and rehabilitative services in excess of $100,000. No payment shall be made
by the fund for the first $100,000 of expenses for medical treatment and
rehabilitative services incurred by an eligible claimant.

(b) Maximum benefit.—The maximum catastrophic loss benefit which
shall be paid by the fund on behalf of any one eligible claimant shall be
$50,000 per year and $1,000,000 lifetime aggregate[, unless said expenses for
medical treatment are incurred and paid within one calendar year]. During
the first 18 months of eligibility, the administrator may approve payments on
behalf of a claimant without regard to the $50,000 per year limit but subject
to the $1,000,000 [limit] lifetime aggregate.

(c) Effect of other benefits.—Except for workers’ compensation, cata-
strophic loss benefits paid or payable by the fund shall be primary to any
other available source of accident or health benefits including any program,
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group contract or other private or public source of benefits unless the law
authorizing or providing those benefits makes the benefits primary to the
benefits provided under this subchapter.

(d) Structured settlements.—The administrator may enter into struc-
tured settlements to pay benefits under this subchapter. Where it appears the
settlement will be both cost effective to the fund and in the best interest of
the claimant, the restrictions in subsection (b) shall not apply to this subsec-
tion, but in no event shall the cost of the structured settlement exceed the
[aggregate maximum of $1,000,000] present value of the future annual pay-
ments up to the maximum lifetime aggregate benefit remaining calculated at
6% simple interest.

(e) Preclusion of pleading, {and] proving and recovering benefits.—In
any action for damages against a tortfeasor arising out of the [ownership,]
maintenance or use of a motor vehicle, a person who is eligible to receive cat-
astrophic loss benefits shall be precluded from pleading, [or] introducing
into evidence or recovering the amount of medical and rehabilitative
expenses for which [such] catastrophic loss benefits were paid or are payable.
This preclusion applies only to catastrophic loss benefits.

(f) Subrogation.—There shall be no subrogation or reimbursement from
a claimant’s tort recovery with respect to catastrophic loss benefits.

§ 1774. Payments sufficient to satisfy judgments.

(a) General rule.—For the purpose of this chapter only, judgments shall
be deemed satisfied upon the occurrence of one of the following:

(1) When [$25,000] $15,000 has been credited upon any judgment or
judgments rendered in excess of that amount because of injury to one
person as the result of any one accident. {Prior to July 1, 1986, the amount
required to be credited shall be $20,000.]

(2) When [$50,000] $30,000 has been credited upon any judgment or
judgments rendered in excess of that amount because of injury to two or
more persons as the result of any one accident. [Prior to July 1, 1986, the
amount required to be credited shall be $40,000.]

(3) When [$10,000] $5,000 has been credited upon any judgment or
judgments rendered in excess of that amount because of damage to prop-
erty of others as the result of any one accident. [Prior to July 1, 1986, the
amount required to be credited shall be $7,500.]

(b) Credit for payment under settlement.—Payments made in settlement
of any claims because of bodily injury or property damage arising from a
motor vehicle accident shall be credited in reduction of the amounts provided
for in this section.

(c) Escrow deposit by judgment debtor.—When the judgment creditor
cannot be found, the judgment debtor may deposit in escrow with the
prothonotary of the court where the judgment was entered an amount e?;ual
to the amount of the judgment, subject to the limits set forth in subsection
{(a), interest to date and record costs, whereupon the prothonotary shall
notify the department and the judgment shall be deemed satisfied. The
amount deposited shall be retained by the prothonotary for a period of five
years from the date of the deposit, after which, if it has not been claimed by
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the judgment creditor, it shall be returned to the judgment debtor. When the
deposit is made, the prothonotary shall notify the judgment creditor and his
counsel, if any, by certified or registered mail at his last known address. No
interest shall run on any judgment with respect to the amount deposited with
the prothonotary under the terms of this subsection.

§ 1782. Manner of providing proof of financial responsibility.

(a) General rule.—Proof of financial responsibility may be furnished by
filing evidence satisfactory to the department that all motor vehicles regis-
tered in a person’s name are covered by motor vehicle liability insurance or
by a program of self-insurance as provided by section 1787 (relating to self-
insurance) or other reliable financial arrangements, deposits, resources or
commitments fequal to that afforded by a contract of insurance complying
with this chapter] acceptable to the department.

* % *

§ 1784. Proof of financial responsibility following violation.

A defendant who is convicted of a traffic offense, other than a parking
offense, that requires a court appearance shall be required to show proof of
financial responsibility covering the operation of the vehicle at the time of
the offense. If the defendant fails to show proof of financial responsibility,
the court shall notify the department of that fact. Upon receipt of the notice,
the department shall revoke the registration of the vehicle. If the defendant is
the owner of the vehicle, the department shall also [revoke] suspend the oper-
ating privilege of the defendant.

§ 1785. Proof of financial responsibility following accident.

If the department determines that the owner of a motor vehicle involved in
an accident [required to file an accident report] requiring notice to a police
department pursuant to section 3746 (relating to immediate notice of acci-
dent to police department) did not maintain financial responsibility on the
motor vehicle at the time of the accident, the department shall suspend the
operating privilege of the [person required to file the report] owner, where
applicable, and the department shall revoke the registration of the vehicle.

§ 1787. Self-insurance.

(a) General rule.—Self-insurance is effected by filing with the Depart-
ment of Transportation, in satisfactory form, evidence that reliable financial
arrangements, deposits, resources or commitments exist such as will satisfy
the department that the self-insurer will:

(1) Provide the benefits required by section 1711 (relating to required
benefits), subject to the provisions of Subchapter B (relating to motor
vehicle liability insurance first party benefits), except the additional bene-
fits and limits provided in sections 1712 (relating to availability of bene-
fits) and 1715 (relating to availability of adequate limits).

(2) Make payments sufficient to satisfy judgments as required by
section 1774 (relating to payments sufficient to satisfy judgments).

(3) Provide uninsured motorist coverage up to the limits set forth in
section 1774,

(b) Stacking limits prohibited.—Any recovery of uninsured motorist
benefits under this section only shall not be increased by stacking the limits
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provided in section 1774, in consideration of the ownership or operation of
multiple vehicles or otherwise.

(c) Assigned Risk and Assigned Claims Plans.—Self-insurers shall not be
required to accept assigned risks pursuant to Subchapter D (relating to
Assigned Risk Planj or contribute to the Assigned Claims Plan pursuant to
Subchapter E (relating to Assigned Claims Plan).

(d) Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund.—Self-insurers shall contribute to the
Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund in the manner provided in Subchapter F (relat-
ing to Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund).

(e) Promulgation of regulations, etc.—The Department of Trans-
portation may, jointly with the Insurance Department, promulgate rules,
regulations, guidelines, procedures or standards for reviewing and establish-
ing the financial eligibility of self-insurers.

§ 1791. Notice of available benefits and limits.

It shall be presumed that the insured has been advised of the benefits and
limits available under this chapter provided the following notice in bold print
of at least ten-point type is given to the applicant at the time of application
for original coverage or at the time of the first renewal after [July] October 1,
1984, and no other notice or rejection shall be required:

IMPORTANT NOTICE

Insurance companies operating in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
are required by law to make available for purchase the following bene-
fits for you, your spouse or other relatives or minors in your custody or
in the custody of your relatives, residing in your household, occupants
of your motor vehicle or persons struck by your motor vehicle:

(1) Medical benefits, up to at least $100,000.

(2) Income loss benefits, up to at least $2,500 per month up to a
maximum benefit of at least $50,000.

(3) Accidental death benefits, up to at least $25,000.

(4) Funeral benefits, $2,500.

(5) As an alternative to paragraphs (1) through (4), a combination
benefit, up to at least $277,500 of benefits in the aggregate or benefits
payable up to three years from the date of the accident, whichever
occurs first, subject to a limit on accidental death benefit of up to
$25,000 and a limit on funeral benefit of $2,500.

(6) Uninsured, underinsured and bodily injury liability coverage up
to at least $100,000 because of injury to one person in any one accident
and up to at least $300,000 because of injury to two or more persons in
any one accident or, at the option of the insurer, up to at least $300,000
in a single limit for these coverages, except for policies issued under the
Assigned Risk Plan. Also, at least [$7,500 prior to July 1, 1986, and at
least $10,000 on or after that date] $5,000 for damage to property of
others in any one accident.

Additionally, insurers may offer higher benefit levels than those enu-

merated above as well as additional benefits. However, an insured may
elect to purchase lower benefit levels than those enumerated above.
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Your signature on this notice or your payment of any renewal premium
evidences your actual knowledge and understanding of the availability
of these benefits and limits as well as the benefits and limits you have
selected.
§ 1792. Availability of uninsured, underinsured, bodily injury liability and
property damage coverages.

Except for policies issued under Subchapter D (relating to Assigned Risk
Plan), an insurer issuing a policy of bodily injury liability coverage pursuant
to this chapter shall make available for purchase higher limits of uninsured,
underinsured and bodily injury liability coverages up to at least $100,000
because of injury to one person in any one accident and up to at least
$300,000 because of injury to two or more persons in any one accident or, at
the option of the insurer, up to at least $300,000 in a single limit for these
coverages. Additionally, an insurer shall make available for purchase at least
[$7,500 prior to July 1, 1986, and at least $10,000 on or after that date]
$5,000 because of damage to property of others in any one accident.
However, the exclusion of availability relating to the Assigned Risk Plan
shall not apply to damage to property of others in any one accident.

§ 1794. Compulsory judicial arbitration jurisdiction.

Beginning [July 1, 1986] January 1, 1987, the monetary limit in 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 7361(b)(2)(i) (relating to compulsory arbitration) for the submission of
matters to judicial arbitration in judicial districts embracing first and second
class counties shall be $25,000 for actions arising from the [ownership,]
maintenance or use of a motor vehicle.

§ 1795. Insurance fraud reporting immunity.

(a) General rule.—An insurance company, and any agent, servant or
employee acting in the course and scope of his employment, shall be immune
from civil or criminal liability arising from the supply or release of written or
oral information to any duly authorized Federal or State law enforcement
agency, including the Insurance Department, upon compliance with the fol-
lowing:

(1) The information is supplied to the agency in connection with an
allegation of fraudulent conduct on the part of any person relating to the
filing or maintenance of a motor vehicle [liability] insurance claim for
bodily injury or property damage.

(2) The insurance company, agent, servant or employee has probable
cause to believe that the information supplied is reasonably related to the
allegation of fraud.

* % *

§ 1796. Mental or physical examination of person.

(a) General rule.—Whenever the mental or physical condition of a
person is material to any claim for medical, income loss or catastrophic loss
benefits, a court of competent jurisdiction or the administrator of the Cata-
strophic Loss Trust Fund for catastrophic loss claims may order the person
to submit to a mental or physical examination by a physician. The order may
only be made upon motion for good cause shown. The order shall give the
person to be examined adequate notice of the time and date of the examina-
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tion and shall state the manner, conditions and scope of the examination-and
the physician by whom it is to be performed. If a person fails to comply with
an order to be examined, the court or the administrator may order that the
person be denied benefits until compliance.

(b) Report of examination.—If requested by the person examined, a
party causing an examination to be made shall promptly deliver-to the person
examined a copy of every written report concerning the examination at least
one of which must set forth the physician’s findings and conclusions in
detail. Upon failure to promptly provide copies of these reports, the court or
the administrator shall prohibit the testimony of the examining physician in
any proceeding to recover benefits.

§ 1797. Customary charges for treatment.

A person or institution providing treatment, accommodations, products
or services to an injured person for an injury covered by medical or cata-
strophic loss benefits shall not make a charge for the treatment, accommoda-
tions, products or services in excess of the amount the person or institution
customarily charges for like treatment, accommodations, products and ser-
vices in cases involving no insurance.

§ 1798. Attorney fees and costs.

(a) Basis for reasonable fee.—No attorney’s fee for representing a claim-
ant in connection with a claim for first party benefits provided under Sub-
chapter B (velating to motor vehicle liability insurance first party benefitsj-or
a claim for catastrophic loss benefits under Subchapter F (relating to Cata-
strophic Loss Trust Fund) shall be calculated, determined or paid on a con-
tingent fee basis, nor shall any attorney’s fees be deducted from the benefits
enumerated in this subsection which are otherwise due such claimant. An
attorney may charge a claimant a reasonable fee based upon actual time
expended.

(b) Unreasonable refusal to pay benefits.—In the event an insurer is
found to have acted with no reasonable foundation in refusing to pay the
benefits enumerated in subsection (a) when due, the insurer shall pay, in
addition to the benefits owed and the interest thereon, a reasonable attorney
Jee based upon actual time expended.

(c) Payment by fund.—The Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund may award
the claimant’s attorney a reasonable fee based upon actual time expended
because a claimant is unable to otherwise pay the fees and costs.

(d) Fraudulent or excessive claims.—If, in any action by a claimant to
recover benefits under this chapter, the court determines that the claim, or a
significant part thereof, is fraudulent or so excessive as to have no reasonable
Joundation, the court may award the insurer’s attorney a reasonable fee
based upon actual time expended. The court, in such case, may direct that
the fee shall be paid by the claimant or that the fee may be treated in whole or
in part as an offset against any benefits due or to become duethe claimant.

Section 4. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 2105. Exemptions.

(@) General rule.—The requirements of this chapter and of the act of
June 19, 1964 (P.L.7, No. 1), known as the Motor Carriers Road Tax Act, do

not apply to the following vehicles:
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(1) A motor carrier vehicle bearing a Pennsylvania farm truck regis-
tration plate and operated in accordance with the restrictions of
section 1344 (relating to use of farm truck plates) or a motor carrier
vehicle registered and operated under provisions of another jurisdiction
determined by the Department of Revenue and the Department of Trans-
portation to be similar to those restrictions.

(2) A motor carrier vehicle exempt from registration as a farm truck
and operated in accordance with the restrictions of section 1302(a)(10)
(relating to vehicles exempt from registration) or a motor carrier vehicle
operated under provisions of another jurisdiction determined by the
Department of Revenue and the Department of Transportation to be
similar to those restrictions.

(3) An emergency vehicle as defined by section 102 (relating to defini-
tions).

(4) A motor carrier vehicle operated by or on behalf of any depart-
ment, board or commission of the Commonwealth, or any political subdi-
vision thereof, or any quasi-governmental authority of which this Com-
monwealth is a participating member, or any agency of the Federal Gov-
ernment or the District of Columbia, or of any state or any political subdi-
vision thereof which grants similar exemptions to publicly owned vehicles
registered in this Commonwealth.

(5) A bus operated under the act of August 1, 1963 (P.L.476, No.249),
relating to taxation of motor fuels consumed by interstate buses, or any
school bus operated by or on behalf of any private or privately operated
school.

(6) Animplement of husbandry as defined by section 102.

(7) Special mobile equipment as defined by section 102.

(8) An unladen or towed motor vehicle or unladen trailer which enters
this Commonwealth solely for the purpose of securing repairs or recondi-
tioning. The repair facility shall furnish to the motor carrier a certificate to
be carried by the motor carrier vehicle operator while the vehicle is in this
Commonwealth for the purposes of this paragraph.

(9) A motor carrier vehicle needing emergency repairs which secures
authorization from the Pennsylvania State Police to enter this Common-
wealth under this section.

(b) Regulations.—The Department of Revenue may promulgate regula-
tions to implement this section.

Section 5. Section 3731 of Title 75 is amended by adding a subsection to
read:
§ 3731. Driving under influence of alcohol or controlled substance.

% % %

(g) Notice by department.— The department shall prepare a notice which
Shall contain a clear statement of the penalties prescribed by law for driving
under the influence in violation of this section, for homicide by vehicle while
driving under influence in violation of section 3735 (relating to homicide by
vehicle while driving under influence), for refusal to take a chemical test pro-
vided for in section 1547 (relating to chemical testing to determine amount of



70 Act 1984-12 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

alcohol or controlled substance) and for consuming alcohol or a controlled
substance in a vehicle while the vehicle is in operation on any highway in vio-
lation of section 3715 (relating to restriction on alcoholic beverages). The
notice shall include a statement that the length of any suspension of operat-
ing privileges resulting from a refusal to take a chemical test shall be in addi-
tion to the length of any suspension imposed as a result of a conviction for
driving under the influence notwithstanding the fact that both suspensions
were imposed in connection with the same incident. The notice shall also
include a statement advising that it is possible that these penalties could be
revised, in whole or in part, by the General Assembly prior to their receipt of
a subsequent notice. Failure to receive the notice shall not be a defense in any
criminal, license suspension or license revocation proceeding brought pursu-
ant to this title or in any other action whether or not the failure is due to an
error or omission on the part of the department. The department shall
provide the notice to operators of motor vehicles in the same mailing that it
utilizes for the issuance of learners’ permits and for the issuance and renewal
of drivers’ licenses or at the time of issuance of a photo driver’s license.

Section 6. Section 3755(b) of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 3755. Reports by emergency room personnel.

* %k %

(b) Immunity from civil or criminal liability.—No physician, nurse or
technician or hospital employing such physician, nurse or technician and no
other employer of such physician, nurse or technician shall be civilly-or crim-
inally liable for [properly] withdrawing blood or obtaining a urine sample
and reporting test results to the police pursuant to this section or for per-
Jorming any other duty imposed by this section. No physician, nurse or tech-
nician or hospital employing such physician, nurse or technician may admin-
istratively refuse to perform such tests and provide the results to the police
officer except as may be reasonably expected from unusual circumstances
that pertain at the time of admission.

Section 7. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 9910. Exemptions from tax.

(a) General rule.—The tax imposed by this chapter does not apply to the
Jfollowing vehicles:

(1) A motor carrier vehicle bearing a Pennsylvania farm truck regis-
tration plate and operated in accordance with the restrictions of
section 1344 (relating to use of farm truck plates) or a motor carrier
vehicle registered and operated under provisions of another jurisdiction
determined by the Department of Revenue and the Department of Trans-
portation to be similar to those restrictions.

(2) A motor carrier vehicle exempt from registration as a farm truck
and operated in accordance with the restrictions of section 1302(a)(10)
(relating to vehicles exempt from registration) or a motor carrier vehicle
operated under provisions of another jurisdiction determined by the
Department of Revenue and the Department of Transportation to be
similar to those restrictions.
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(3) An emergency vehicle as defined by section 102 (relating to defini-
tions).

(4) A motor carrier vehicle operated by or on behalf of any depart-
ment, board or commission of the Commonwealth, or any political subdi-
vision thereof, or any quasi-governmental authority of which this Com-
monwealth is a participating member, or any agency of the Federal Goy-
ernment or the District of Columbia, or of any state or any political subdi-
vision thereof which grants similar exemptions to publicly owned vehicles
registered in this Commonwealth.

(5) A new or used motor carrier vehicle operated with a dealer regis-
tration plate or a similar plate of another jurisdiction for the purposes of
delivery, testing, demonstration or operation by a prospective purchaser
under a loan not to exceed five days for the purpose of demonstration.

(6) A motor carrier vehicle bearing a miscellaneous motor vehicle
business plate or a similar plate of another jurisdiction for the purpose of
repair of the vehicle, transportation on its own wheels of a new vehicle
owned by or in possession of a registered dealer or for repossession by a
financier or collector-repossessor.

(7) A bus.

(8) Animplement of husbandry as defined by section 102.

(9) Special mobile equipment as defined by section 102.

(10) An unladen or towed motor vehicle or unladen trailer which
enters this Commonwealth solely for the purpose of securing repairs or
reconditioning. The repair facility shall furnish to the motor carrier a cer-
tificate to be carried by the motor carrier vehicle operator while-the vehicle
is in this Commonwealth for the purposes of this paragraph.

(11) A motor carrier vehicle needing emergency repairs which secures
authorization from the Pennsylvania State Police to enter this Common-
wealth under this section.

(b) Regulations.—The Department of Revenue and the Department of
Transportation may promulgate regulations to implement this section.

Section 8. Competitive ratemaking required.—(a) Any filing under
section 4 of the act of June 11, 1947 (P.L.538, No.246), known as The Casu-
alty and Surety Rate Regulatory Act, made by an insurer under this act and
subject to 75 Pa.C.S. Ch. 17 (relating to financial responsibility), with an
effective date on or after October 1, 1984, shall become effective automat-
ically 45 days after filing and is deemed to comply with that act unless disap-
proved by the Insurance Commissioner in accordance with the procedures set
forth in section 5 of that act. This section is limited to two filings per cover-
age.

(b) This section supersedes the prior approval requirements of The Casu-
alty and Surety Rate Regulatory Act and rules and regulations promulgated
thereunder insofar as they are inconsistent with this act.

(¢) After notice and a hearing in accordance with the procedures estab-
lished in The Casualty and Surety Rate Regulatory Act, the Insurance Com-
missioner shall have the right at any time to order the disapproval of any rate
in use by an insurance company pursuant to subsection (a) if he finds that
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rate to be excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory. The burden of
proof that a rate is not excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory shall
be on the insurance company.

(d) After notice and a hearing in accordance with the procedures estab-
lished in The Casualty and Surety Rate Regulatory Act, the Insurance Com-
missioner shall have the right to rescind subsection (a) at any time if he finds
that the insurance market is not competitive.
~ (e) This section expires October 1, 1985.

Section 9. Savings provision.—Notwithstanding the repeal of the act of
July 19, 1974 (P,L.489, No.176), known as the Pennsylvania No-fault Motor
Vehicle Insurance Act, the requirement to fund the payment of assigned
claims under section 108 of that act remains unaffected.

Section 10. Repeals.—(a) Section 24 of the act of June 19, 1964
(P.L.7, No.1), known as the Motor Carriers Road Tax Act, is repealed.

(b) Section 5 of the act of February 12, 1984 (P.L.26, No.11), entitled
“‘An act amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Stat-
utes, further providing for financial responsibility; providing for motor
vehicle insurance first party benefits; providing for uninsured and underin-
sured motorist coverage; providing for an Assigned Risk Plan and Assigned
Claims Plan; providing for a Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund; providing for
insurance premiums; providing for fraud reporting immunity; providing for
judicial arbitration limits; and making repeals,”’ is repealed.

(c) Section 10 of the act of February 12, 1984 (P.L.26, No.11), entitled
““An act amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Stat-
utes, further providing for financial responsibility; providing for motor
vehicle insurance first party benefits; providing for uninsured and underin-
sured motorist coverage; providing for an Assigned Risk Plan and Assigned
Claims Plan; providing for a Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund; providing for
insurance premiums; providing for fraud reporting immunity; providing for
judicial arbitration limits; and making repeals,’’ is repealed insofar as it pro-
vides an effective date inconsistent with the effective date provided in this
act.

Section 11. Applicability.—This act applies to insurance policies issued
or renewed on or after the effective date of this act.

Section 12. Effective dates.—(a) The act of February 12, 1984 (P.L.26,
No.11), entitled ‘‘An act amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes, further providing for financial responsibility; provid-
ing for motor vehicle insurance first party benefits; providing for uninsured
and underinsured motorist coverage; providing for an Assigned Risk Plan
and Assigned Claims Plan; providing for a Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund;
providing for insurance premiums; providing for fraud reporting immunity;
providing for judicial arbitration limits; and making repeals,”’ shall take
effect October 1, 1984.

(b) Sections 1 (section 102) and 8 (competitive ratemaking required) of
this act shall take effect immediately.

(c) Section 2 (section 1547) of this act shall take effect immediately and
shall be retroactive to January 14, 1983.
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(d) Section 5 (section 3731) of this act shall take effect in 120 days and
shall expire four years from its effective date.

(e) Sections 4 (section 2105), 6 (section 3755), 7 (section 9910) and 10(a)
(repeal of section 24 of Motor Carriers Road Tax Act) of this act shall take
effect in 60 days.

(f) The remaining provisions of this act shall take effect October 1, 1984.

(g) This section shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 12th day of February, A. D. 1984,
DICK THORNBURGH



