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No. 1984-30

AN ACT
HB 793

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for suspensions for failure to stop for flashing red signals on school
buses; further providing for school bus operators to report violations to appro-
priate police officers; further providing for the use of certain school-bus signals
when such bus is used to transport disabled persons; and changing a penalty.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1301(c) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, amended July 22, 1983 (P.L.122, No.32), is amended to read:

§ 1301. Driving unregistered vehicle prohibited.
* %k %

(c) Penalty.—Any person violating [this section commits] the provisions
of subsection (a) is guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction,
be sentenced to pay a fine of $75 or double the registration fee, whichever is
greater, except when the vehicle was duly registered within 60 days of the
commission of the offense whereupon the fine shall be 325, In the case of a
truck or truck tractor, the fine shall be double the registration fee for the
maximum weight at which the vehicle could have been registered in this
Commonwealth.

Section 2. Section 1535(a) of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 1535. Schedule of convictions and points.

(a) General rule.—A point system for driver education and control is
hereby established which is related to other provisions for use, suspension
and revocation of the operating privilege as specified under this title. Every
driver licensed in this Commonwealth who is convicted of any of the follow-
ing offenses shall be assessed points as of the date of violation in accordance
with the following schedule:

Section Number Offense Points

1512 Violation of restriction on

driver’s license. 2
1571 Violations concerning licenses. 3
3102 Failure to obey policeman or

authorized person. 2
3112(a)(3)() Failure to stop for a red light. 3
3114(a)(1) Failure to stop for a flashing

red light. 3
3302 Failure to yield half of roadway
) to oncoming vehicle. 3
3303 Improper passing. 3

3304 Other improper passing. 3
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3305 Other improper passing. 3
3306(a)(1) Other improper passing. 4
3306(a)(2) Other improper passing. 3
3306(a)(3) Other improper passing. 3
3307 Other improper passing. 3
3310 Following too closely. 3
3321 Failure to yield to driver on the
right at intersection. 3
3322 Failure to yield to oncoming
driver when making left turn. 3
3323(b) Failure to stop for stop signs. 3
3324 Failure to yield when entering or
crossing roadway between inter-
sections. 3
3332 Improper turning around. 3
3341 Failure to stop for flashing red
lights or gate at railroad
crossing. 3
3344 Failure to stop when entering from
alley, driveway or building. 3
3345(a) Failure to stop for school bus
with flashing red lights. 5
(and [30 days]
60 days
suspension)
3361 Driving too fast for conditions. 2
3362 Exceeding maximum speed.—Over Limit:
6-10 2
11-15 3
16-25 4
26-30 5
31-over 5

(and departmental hearing
and sanctions provided
under section 1538(d))

3365(b) Exceeding special speed limit

in school zones. 3
3365(c) Exceeding special speed limit

for trucks on downgrades. 3
3542(a) Failure to yield to pedestrians in

crosswalk. 2
3547 Failure to yield to pedestrian on

sidewalk. 3
3549(a) Failure to yield to blind

pedestrian. 3
3702 Improper backing. 3
3714 Reckless driving. 3
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3745 Leaving scene of accident
involving property damage only. 4

* * %

Section 3. Section 3345(j) of Title 75 is amended and subsections are
added to read:
§ 3345. Meeting or overtaking school bus.

* % %

(a.1) Reports by school bus operators.—

(1) The operator of a school bus who observes a violation of subsec-
tion (a) may prepare a signed, written report which indicates that a viola-
tion has occurred. To the extent possible, the report shall include the fol-
lowing information:

(i) Information, if any, pertaining to the identity of the alleged vio-
lator.

(i) The license number and color of the vehicle involved in the vio-
lation.

(iij) The time and approximate location at which the violation
occurred.

(iv) [Identification of the vehicle as an automobile, station wagon,
motor truck, motor bus, motorcycle or other type of vehicle.

(2) Within 48 hours after the violation occurs, the school bus operator
shall deliver a copy of the report to a police officer having authority to
exercise police power in the area where the violation occurred. If the police
officer believes that the report establishes a sufficient basis for the issuance
of a citation, the officer shall file a citation and the report with the issuing
authority. If the issuing authority determines that the report and citation
establish a sufficient basis for the issuance of a summons, a summons shall
be issued in accordance with general rules governing the institution of pro-
ceedings in summary traffic offense cases. The issuing authority shall send
the defendant a copy of the citation, together with a statement that it was
filed by the police officer named in the citation on the basis of-information
received.

(3) A person may institute a proceeding pursuant to this subsection or
in accordance with any means authorized by the Rules of Criminal Proce-
dure.

* %k ok

(f.1) Use of school buses for transportation of disabled persons.—
Whenever a school bus is being used upon the highway for the transporiation:
of disabled persons exclusively and the school bus is equipped-with-red signal
lights, the driver of the school bus may actuate the signal lights in the same
manner as set forth in this section regarding the transportation of school
children. The driver of a vehicle approaching the school bus shall have the
same duties regarding stopping, passing and overtaking as he does with
respect to a school bus carrying school children.

* % %

(i) Penalty.—Any person violating subsection (a) or (f.1) is guilty of a
summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of
$100.
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Section 4. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 29th day of March, A. D. 1984,
DICK THORNBURGH



