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No. 1988-31

AN ACT

HB 668

Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Stat-
utes, providing for the rights of a district attorney in litigation involving pris-
oners; further providing for offenses relating to alcohol; providing for drug
trafficking to minors; further providing for scattering rubbish; regulating
matters relating to the performance and funding of abortions, the protection
of women who undergo abortion, and the protection of children subject to
abortion; revising the penalties for false reports to law enforcement authori-
ties; making an editorial change; and making repeals.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1101 of Title 18 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended to read:
§ 1101. Fines.

A person who has been convicted of an offense may be sentenced to-pay a
fine not exceeding:

(1) $25,000, when the conviction is of a felony of the first or second
degree.

(2) $15,000, when the conviction is of a felony of the third degree.

(3) $10,000, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor of the first
degree.

(4) $5,000, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor of the second
degree.

(5) $2,500, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor of the third
degree.

(6) $300, when the conviction is of a summary offense for which no
higher fine is established.

(7) Any higher amount equal to double the pecuniary gain derived
from the offense by the offender.

(8) Any higher or lower amount specifically authorized by statute.
Section 2. Title 18 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 1108. District attorneys’ standing and interest in prisoner litigation.

The district attorney shall receive written notice of, and shall have auto-
matic standing and a legal interest in, any proceeding which may involve the
release or nonadmission of county prisoners, delinquents or detainees due-to
the fact, duration or other conditions of custody. In addition to the district
attorney’s rights in such a proceeding, the district attorney may seek any
equitable relief necessary to protect the district attorney’s interest in the con-
tinued institutional custody and admission of county prisoners, delinquents
or detainees.

Section 3. The definition of ‘‘medical emergency’’ in section 3203 of
Title 18 is amended and the section is amended by adding a definition to
read:
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§ 3203. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in
this section:

* % X

““Medical emergency.”” That condition which, on the basis of the physi-
cian’s [best] good faith clinical judgment, so complicates [a pregnancy] the
medical condition of a pregnant woman as to necessitate the immediate abor-
tion of [same] her pregnancy to avert [the] her death [of the mother] or for
which a [24-hour] delay will create [grave peril] serious risk of [immediate]
substantial and irreversible [loss] impairment of major bodily function.

* % %

“Physician.”” Any person licensed to practice medicine in this Common-
wealth. The term includes medical doctors and doctors of osteopathy.

* % %

Section 4. Sections 3204(d), 3205, 3206(a), (e), (), (g), (h) and (i),
3207(b) and 3208 of Title 18 are amended to read:

§ 3204. Medical consultation and judgment.

* % %

(d) Penalty.—Any physician who violates the provisions of this section is
guilty of ‘“unprofessional conduct’” and his license for the practice of medi-
cine and surgery shall be subject to suspension or revocation in accordance
with procedures provided under the act of [July 20, 1974 (P.L.551, No.190),
known as the ‘“Medical Practice Act of 1974’} October 5, 1978 (P.L.1109,
No.261), known as the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act, the act of
December 20, 1985 (P.L.457, No.112), known as the Medical Practice Act of
19835, or their successor acts.

§ 3205. Informed consent.

(a) General rule.—No abortion shall be performed or induced except
with the voluntary and informed consent of the woman upon whom the
abortion is to be performed or induced. Except in the case of a medical emer-
gency, consent to an abortion is voluntary and informed if and only ifI:

(1) The woman is provided, at least 24 hours before the abortion, with
the following information by the physician who is to perform the abortion
or by the referring physician but not by the agent or representative of
cither,

(® The name of the physician who will perform the abortion.

(i) The fact that there may be detrimental physical and psychologi-
cal effects which are not accurately foreseeable.

(iii) The particular medical risks associated with the particular
abortion procedure to be employed including, when medically accurate,
the risks of infection, hemorrhage, danger to subsequent pregnancies
and infertility.

(iv) The probable gestational age of the unborn child at the time tke
abortion is to be performed.

(v) The medical risks associated with carrying her child to term.
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(2) The woman is informed, by the physician or his agent, at least 24
hours before the abortion:

(i) The fact that medical assistance benefits may be available for
prenatal care, childbirth and neonatal care.

(ii) The fact that the father is liable to assist in the support of her
child, even in instances where the father has offered to pay for the abor-
tion.

(ili) That she has the right to review the printed materials described
in section 3208 (relating to printed information). The physician or his
agent shall orally inform the woman that the materials describe the
unborn child and list agencies which offer alternatives to abortion. If
the woman chooses to view the materials, copies of them shall be fur-
nished to her. If the woman is unable to read the materials furnished
her, the materials shall be read to her. If the woman seeks answers to
questions concerning any of the information or materials, answers shall
be provided her in her own language.

(3) The woman certifies in writing, prior to the abortion, that the
information described in paragraphs (1) and (2) has been furnished her,
and that she has been informed of her opportunity to review the informa-
tion referred to in paragraph (2).

(4) Prior to the performance of the abortion, the physician who is to
perform or induce the abortion or his agent receives a copy of the written
certification prescribed by paragraph (3)], prior to the consent having been
given, the physician who is to perform the abortion, or the referring physi-
cian, or a qualified physician assistant, health care practitioner, or techni-
cian to whom the responsibility has been delegated by either physicion,-has
orally informed the woman of the nature of the proposed procedure or
treatment and of those risks and alternatives to the procedure or treatment
that a reasonable patient would consider material to the decision whether
or not to undergo the abortion, and the woman certifies in writing prior to
the abortion that she has been provided such information.

(b) Emergency.—Where a medical emergency compels the performance
of an abortion, the physician shall inform the woman, prior to the abortion
if possible, of the medical indications supporting his judgment that an abor-
tion is necessary to avert her death or to avert substantial and irreversible
impairment of major bodily function.

(¢) Penalty.—Any physician who violates the provisions of this section is
guilty of ‘‘unprofessional conduct’’ and his license for the practice of medi-
cine and surgery shall be subject to suspension or revocation in accordance
with procedures provided under the act of [July 20, 1974 (P.1.551, No.190),
known as the ‘“Medical Practice Act of 1974.”’ Any other person obligated
under this chapter to give information relating to informed consent to a
woman before an abortion is performed, and who fails to give such informa-
tion, shall, for the first offense be guilty of a summary offense and, for each
subsequent offense, be guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree] October
5, 1978 (P.L.1109, No.261), known as the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act,
the act of December 20, 1985 (P.L.457, No.112), known as the Medical Prac-
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tice Act of 1985, or their successor acts. No physician shall be guilty of
“‘unprofessional conduct’’ for failure to furnish the information required by
subsection (a) if he or she can demonstrate, by a preponderance of the evi-
dence, that furnishing the information would have resulted in a severely
adverse effect on the physical or mental health of the patient.

(d) Limitation on civil liability.—Any physician who complies with the
provisions of this section may not be held civilly liable to his patient for
failure to obtain informed consent to the abortion within the meaning of that
term as defined by the act of October 15, 1975 (P.L.390, No.111), known as
the [“‘}Health Care Services Malpractice Act.[’]

§ 3206. Parental consent.

(a) General rule.—Except in the case of a medical emergency, or except
as provided in this section, if a pregnant woman is less than 18 years of age
and not emancipated, or if she has been adjudged an incompetent under 20
Pa.C.S. § 5511 (relating to petition and hearing; examination by court-
appointed physician), a physician shall not perform an abortion upon her
unless, in the case of a woman who is less than 18 years of age, he first
obtains the informed consent both of the pregnant woman and of one of her
parents; or, in the case of a woman who is incompetent, he first obtains the
informed consent of her guardian. In deciding whether to grant such
consent, a pregnant woman’s parent or guardian shall consider only their
child’s or ward’s best interests. [In obtaining the consent of the woman’s
parent or guardian, the physician shall provide them the information and
materials specified in section 3205 (relating to informed consent), and shall
further obtain from them the certification required by section 3205(a)(3).] In
the case of a pregnancy that is the result of incest where the father is a party
to the incestuous act, the pregnant woman need only obtain the consent of
her mother.

% k %k

(&) Representation in proceedings.—The pregnant woman may partici-
pate in proceedings in the court on her own behalf and the court may appoint
a guardian ad litem [for] to assist her. The court shall, however, advise her
that she has a right to court appointed counsel, and shall[, upon her request,]
provide her with such counsel unless she wishes to appear with private
counsel or has knowingly and intelligently waived representatisn by esunsel.

(f) Proceedings [confidential].—

(1) Court proceedings under this section shall be confidential and shall
be given such precedence over other pending matters as will ensure that the
court may reach a decision promptly and without delay in order to serve
the best interests of the pregnant woman|, but in]. In no case shall the
court of common pleas fail to rule within three business days of the date of
application. A court of common pleas which conducts proceedings under
this section shall make in writing specific factual findings and legal conclu-
sions supporting its decision and shall order a sealed record of the plead-
ings, submissions, transcripts, exhibits, orders, evidence and any other
written material to be maintained which shall include its own-findings and
conclusions.
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(2) The application to the court of common pleas shall be accompa-
nied by a non-notarized verification stating that the information therein.is
true and correct to the best of the applicant’s knowledge, and the applica-
tion shall set forth the following facts:

(i) The initials of the pregnant woman.

(i) The age of the pregnant woman.

(iii) The names and addresses of each parent, guardian or, if the
minor’s parents are deceased and no guardian has been appointed, any
other person standing in loco parentis to the minor.

(iv) That the pregnant woman has been fully informed of the risks
and consequences of the abortion,

(v) Whether the pregnant woman is of sound mind and has suffi-
cient intellectual capacity to consent to the abortion.

(vi) A prayer for relief asking the court to either grant the pregnant
woman full capacity for the purpose of personal consent to the abor-
tion, or to give judicial consent to the abortion under subsection (d)
based upon a finding that the abortion is in the best interest of the preg-
nant woman.,

(vii) That the pregnant woman is aware that any false statements
made in the application are punishable by law.

(viii) The signature of the pregnant woman. Where necessary to
serve the interest of justice, the orphans’ court division, or, in Philadel-
phia, the family court division, shall refer the pregnant woman to the
appropriate personnel for assistance in preparing the applicativs,

(3) The name of the pregnant woman shall not be entered on any
docket which is subject to public inspection. All persons shall be excluded
from hearings under this section except the applicant and such other
persons whose presence is specifically requested by the applicant or her
guardian.

(4) At the hearing, the court shall hear evidence relating to the emo-
tional development, maturity, intellect and understanding of the pregnant
woman, the fact and duration of her pregnancy, the nature, possible con-
sequences and aliernatives to the abortion and any other evidence that the
court may find useful in determining whether the pregnant woman should
be granted full capacity for the purpose of consenting to the abortion or
whether the abortion is in the best interest of the pregnant woman. The
court shall also notify the pregnant woman at the hearing that-it must ruie
on her application within three business days of the date of its filing and
that, should the court fail to rule in favor of her application within the
allotted time, she has the right to appeal to the Superior Court.

(g) Coercion prohibited.—Except in a medical emergency, no parent,
guardian or other person standing in loco parentis shall coerce a minor or
incompetent woman to undergo an abortion. Any minor or incompetent
woman who is threatened with such coercion may apply to a court of
common pleas for relief. The court shall provide the minor or incompetent
woman with counsel, give the matter expedited consideration and grant such
relief as may be necessary to prevent such coercion. Should a minor be
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denied the financial support of her parents by reason of her refusal to
undergo abortion, she shall be considered emancipated for purposes of eligi-
bility for assistance benefits.

(h) Regulation of proceedings.—No filing fees shall be required of any
woman availing herself of the procedures provided by this section. An expe-
dited confidential appeal shall be available to any pregnant woman whom
the court [denies] fails to grant an order authorizing an abortion within the
time specified in this section. Any court to which an appeal is taken under
this section shall give prompt and confidential attention thereto and shall
rule thereon within five business days of the filing of the appeal. The
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania [shall] may issue [promptly] such rules as
may [be necessary to] further assure that the process provided in this section
is conducted in such a manner as will ensure confidentiality and sufficient
precedence over other pending matters to ensure promptness of disposition.

(i) Penalty.—Any person who performs an abortion upon a woman who
is an unemancipated minor or incompetent to whom this section applies
either with knowledge that she is a minor or incompetent to whom this
section applies, or with reckless disregard or negligence as to whether she is a
minor or incompetent to whom this section applies, and who intentionally,
knowingly or recklessly fails to conform to any requirement of this section is
guilty of ‘‘unprofessional conduct” and his license for the practice of medi-
cine and surgery shall be suspended in accordance with procedures provided
under the act of [July 20, 1974 (P.L.551, No.190), known as the ‘‘Medical
Practice Act of 1974,”’] October 5, 1978 (P.L.1109, No.261), known as the
Osteopathic Medical Practice Act, the act of December 20, 1985 (P.L.457,
No.112), known as the Medical Practice Act of 1985, or their successor acts,
for a period of at least three months. Failure to comply with the require-
ments of this section is prima facie evidence of failure to obtain informed
consent and of interference with family relations in appropriate civil actions.
The law of this Commonwealth shall not be construed to preclude the award
of exemplary damages or damages for emotional distress even if unaccompa-
nied by physical complications in any appropriate civil action relevant tovio-
lations of this section. Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the
common law rights of parents.

§ 3207. Abortion facilities.

x %k %

(b) Reports.—Within 30 days after the effective date of this chapter,
every facility at which abortions are performed shall file, and update imme-
diately upon any change, a report with the department, [which shall be open
to public inspection and copying,] containing the following information:

(1) Name and address of the facility.

(2) Name and address of any parent, subsidiary or affiliated organiza-
tions, corporations or associations.

(3) Name and address of any parent, subsidiary or affiliated organiza-
tions, corporations or associations having contemporaneous commonality
of ownership, beneficial interest, directorship or officership with any
other facility.
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The information contained in those reports which are filed pursuant to this
subsection by facilities which receive State appropriated funds-durizng-the 12-
calendar-month period immediately preceding a request to inspect or copy
such reports shall be deemed public information. Reports filed by facilities
which do not receive State appropriated funds shall only be available to law
enforcement officials, the State Board of Medicine and the State Board of
Osteopathic Medicine for use in the performance of their official duties. Any
facility failing to comply with the provisions of this subsection shall be
assessed by the department a fine of $500 for each day it is in violation
hereof.

§ 3208. Printed information.

(a) General rule.—The department shall cause to be published in
English, Spanish and Vietnamese, within 60 days after this chapter becomes
law, and shall update on an annual basis, the following easily comprehen-
sible printed materials:

(1) Geographically indexed materials designéd to inform the woman
of public and private agencies and services available to assist a woman
through pregnancy, upon childbirth and while the child is dependent,
including adoption agencies, which shall include a comprehensive list of
the agencies available, a description of the services they offer and a
description of the manner, including telephone numbers, in which they
might be contacted, or, at the option of the department, printed materials
including a toll-free, 24-hour a day telephone number which may be called
to obtain, orally, such a list and description of agencies in the locality of
the caller and of the services they offer. The materials shall include the fol-
lowing statement:

‘“There are many public and private agencies willing and able to help
you to carry your child to term, and to assist you and your child after
your child is born, whether you choose to keep your child or to place her
or him for adoption. The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania strongly
urges you to contact them before making a final decision about abor-
tion. [The law requires that your physician or his agent give you the
opportunity to call agencies like these before you undergo an abor-
tion.])”’

The materials shall state that medical assistance benefits may be available

for prenatal care, childbirth and neonatal care, that it is unlawful for any

individual to coerce a woman to undergo abortion, that any physician who
performs an abortion upon a woman without obtaining her informed
consent or without according her a private medical consultation may be
liable to her for damages in a civil action at law, that the father of a child is
liable to assist in the support of that child, even in instances where the

Sather has offered to pay for an abortion and that the law pernitsadopiive

parents to pay costs of prenatal care, childbirth and neonatal care.

(2) Materials designed to inform the woman of the probable anatomi-
cal and physiological characteristics of the unborn child at two-week gesta-
tional increments from fertilization to full term, including any relevant
information on the possibility of the unborn child’s survival. The materi-
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als shall be objective, nonjudgmental and designed to convey only accu-
rate scientific information about the unborn child at the various gesta-
tional ages. The material shall also contain objective information describ-
ing the methods of abortion procedures commonly employed, the medical
risks commonly associated with each such procedure, the possible detri-
mental psychological effects of abortion and the medical risks-ceremonly
associated with each such procedure, the possible detrimental psychologi-
cal effects of abortion and the medical risks commonly associated with
carrying a child to term.

(b) Format.—The materials shall be printed in a typeface large enough to
be clearly legible.

(c) Free distribution.—The materials required under this section shall be
available at no cost from the department upon request and in appropriate
number to any person, facility or hospital.

Section 5. Section 3209 of Title 18 is repealed.

Section 6. Sections 3210(b) and (c) and 3211 of Title 18 are amended to
read:

§ 3210. Abortion after viability.

* % %

(b) Degree of care.—|[Every] Except in the case of a medical emergency,
every person who performs or induces an abortion after he has determined
an unborn child [has been determined] to be viable shall exercise that degree
of professional skill, care and diligence which [such person} would reason-
ably be [required to exercise] necessary in order to preserve the life and
health of any unborn child intended to be born and not aborted, and the
abortion technique employed shall be that which would provide the best
opportunity for the unborn child to be [aborted] delivered alive unless, in the
good faith judgment of the physician, that method or technique would
present a Isignificantly} greater medical risk to the life or health of the preg-
nant woman than would another available method or technique [and the].
The physician [reports] shall report the basis for his judgment pursuant to
section 3214(a) (relating to reporting). The potential psychological or emo-
tional impact on the mother of the unborn child’s survival shall not be
deemed a medical risk to the mother. Any person who intentionally, know-
ingly or reckiessly violates the provisions of this subsection commits a felony
of the third degree.

(c) Second physician.—[Any]) Except in the case of a medical emergency,
any person who intends to perform an abortion after he has determined an
unborn child to be viable, the method chosen for which abortion, in his good
faith judgment, does not preclude the possibility of the child surviving the
abortion, shall arrange for the attendance, in the same room in which the
abortion is to be completed, of a second physician. Immediately after the
complete expulsion or extraction of the child, the second physician shall take
control of the child and shall provide immediate medical care for the child,
taking all reasonable steps necessary, in his judgment, to preserve the.child’s
life and health. Any person who intentionally, knowingly or recklessly vio-
lates the provisions of this subsection commits a felony of the third degree.
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§ 3211. Viability.

(a) Determination of viability.—([Prior] Except in the case of a medical
emergency, prior to performing any abortion upon a woman subsequent to
her first {trimester] 19 weeks of pregnancy, the physician shall determine
whether, in his good faith judgment, the child is viable, When [a] the physi-
cian has determined that a child is viable, he shall, pursuant to
section 3214(a) (relating to reporting), report the basis for his determination
that the abortion is necessary to preserve maternal life or health. When {[a]
the physician has determined that a child is not viable after the first 19 weeks
of pregnancy, he shall report the basis for such determination pursuant to
section 3214(a).

(b) Unprofessional conduct.—Failure of any physician to conform to
any requirement of this section constitutes ‘‘unprofessional conduct’’ within
the meaning of the act of [July 20, 1974 (P.L.551, No.190), known as the
‘“Medical Practice Act of 1974.”’] October 5, 1978 (P.L.1109, No.261),
known as the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act, the act of December 20,
1985 (P.L.457, No.112), known as the Medical Practice Act of 1985, or their
successor acts. Upon a finding by the State Board of [Medical Education and
Licensure] Medicine or the State Board of Osteopathic Medicine that any
physician has failed to conform to any requirement of this section, the board
shall not fail to suspend that physician’s license for'a period of at least three
months. Intentional, knowing or reckless falsification of any report required
under this section is a misdemeanor of the third degree.

Section 7. Section 3213(c) of Title 18 is amended and the section is
amended by adding a subsection to read:

§ 3213. Prohibited acts.

* % ¥

(¢c) Regulations.—The department shall issue regulations to assure that
prior to the performance of any abortion, including abortions performed in
the first trimester of pregnancy, the maternal Rh status shall be determined
and that anti-Rh sensitization prophylaxis shall be provided to each patient
at risk of sensitizarion unless the patient refuses to accept the treatment.
Except when there exists a medical emergency or, in the judgment of the phy-
sician, there exists no possibility of Rh sensitization, the intentional,
knowing, or reckless failure to conform to the regulations issued pursuant to
this subsection constitutes ‘‘unprofessional conduct’’ and his license for the
practice of medicine and surgery shall be subject to suspension or revocation
in accordance with procedures provided under the act of [July 20, 1974
(P.L.551, No.190), known as the ‘‘Medical Practice Act of 1974.’’] October
S, 1978 (P.L.1109, No.261), known as the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act,
the act of December 20, 1985 (P.L.457, No.112), known as the Medical Prac-
tice Act of 1985, or their successor acts.

X %k ¥

() Notice.—

(1) Except for a facility devoted exclusively to the performance of

abortions, every facility performing abortions shall prominently post a

notice, not less than eight and one-half inches by eleven inches in size, enti-
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tled *‘Right of Conscience,” for the exclusive purpose of informing

medical personnel, employees, agents and students of such facilities of

their rights under subsection (d) and under section 5.2 of the Pennsylvania

Human Relations Act. The facility shall post the notice required by this

subsection in a location or locations where notices to employees, medical

personnel and students are normally posted or, if notices are not normally
posted, in a location or locations where the notice required by this subsec-
tion is likely to be seen by medical personnel, employees or students of the

Jacility. The department shall prescribe a model notice which may be used

by any facility, and any facility which utilizes the model notice or substan-

tially similar language shall be deemed in compliance with this subsection.

(2) The department shall have the authority to assess a civil penalty-of
up to 35,000 against any facility for each violation of this subsection,
giving due consideration to the appropriateness of the penalty with respect
to the size of the facility, the gravity of the violation, the good faith of the
Sacility and the history of previous violations. Civil penalties due under
this subsection shall be paid to the department for deposit in the State
Treasury and may be collected by the department in the appropriate court
of common pleas. The department shall send a copy of its model notice to
every facility which files a report under section 3207(b) (relating to abor-
tion facilities). Failure to receive a notice shall not be a defense to any civil
action brought pursuant to this subsection.

Section 8. Section 3214(a), (e), (f), (h) and (i) of Title 18 are amended to
read:

§ 3214, Reporting.

(a) General rule.—[A] For the purpose of promotion of maternal health
and life by adding to the sum of medical and public health knowledge
through the compilation of relevant data, and to promote the Common-
wealth’s interest in protection of the viable unborn child, a report of each
abortion performed shall be made to the department on forms prescribed by
it. The report forms shall not identify the individual patient by name and
shall include the following information:

(1) Identification of the physician who performed the abortion and
the facility where the abortion was performed and of the referring physi-
cian, agency or service, if any.

(2) The [political subdivision] county and state in which the woman
resides.

(3) The woman’s age[, race and marital status].

(4) The number of prior pregnancies and prior abortions of the
woman.

(5) The [date of the woman’s last menstrual period and the] probable
gestational age of the unborn child.

(6) The type of procedure performed or prescnbed and the date of the
abortion.

(7) [Complications] Medical complications of the pregnancy, if any,
including but not limited to, rubella disease, hydatid mole, endocervical
polyp and malignancies, and, if known, any medical complication which
resulted from the abortion itself.
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(8) The information required to be reported under section 3211(a)
(relating to viability).

(9) The length and weight of the aborted unborn child [when measur-
able] for any abortion performed subsequent to the first 19 weeks of preg-
nancy.

(10) Basis for any medical judgment that a medical emergency existed
as required by any part of this chapter,

[(11) The date of the medical consultation reqmred by section 3204(b)
(relating to medical consultation and judgment).

(12) The date on which any determination of pregnancy was made,

(13)] (1) The information required to be reported under
section 3210(b) (relating to abortion after viability).

[(14) Whether the abortion was paid for by the patient, by medical
assistance, or by medical insurance coverage.]

* % %
(e) Statistical reports; public availability of reports.—

(1) The department shall prepare [an] a comprehensive annual statis-
tical report for the General Assembly based upon the data gathered under
[subsection] subsections (a) and (h). Such report shall not lead to the dis-
closure of the identity of any person filing a report or about whom a report
is filed, and shall be available for public inspection and copying.

(2) Reports filed pursuant to subsection (a) or (h) shall not be deemed
public records within the meaning of that term as defined by the act of
June 21, 1957 (P.L.390, No.212), referred to as the Right-to-Know Law,
[but} and shall [be made available for public inspection and copying within
15 days of receipt in a form which will not lead to the disclosure of the
identity of any person filing a report. On those reports available for public
inspection and copying, the department shall substitute for the name of
any physician which appears on the report, a unique identifying number.
The identity of the physician shall constitute a confidential record of the
department. The department may set a reasonable per copy fee to cover
the cost of making any copies authorized hereunder.] remain confidential,
except that disclosure may be made to law enforcement officials upon an
order of a court of common pleas after application showing good cause
therefor. The court may condition disclosure of the information upon eny
appropriate safeguards it may impose.

(3) Original copies of all reports filed under [subsection (a)} subsec-
tions (a), (f) and (h) shall be available to the State Board of [Medical Edu-
cation and Licensure,] Medicine and the State Board of Osteopathic Medi-
cine [and to law enforcement officials,] for use in the performance of their
official duties.

(4) Any person who willfully discloses any 1nformat10n obtained-from
reports filed pursuant to subsection (a) or (h), other than that disclosure
authorized under paragraph (1), (2) or (3) hereof or as otherwise autho-
rized by law, shall commit a misdemeanor of the third degree.

(f) Report by facility.—Every facility in which an abortion is performed
within this Commonwealth during any quarter year shall file with the depart-
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ment a report showing the total number of abortions performed within the
hospital or other facility during that quarter year. This report shall also show
the total abortions performed in each trimester of pregnancy. [These reportsl
Any report shall be available for public inspection and copying only if the
Jacility receives State-appropriated funds within the 12-calendar-month
period immediately preceding the filing of the report. These reports shall be
submitted on a form prescribed by the department which will enable a facil-
ity to indicate whether or not it is receiving State-appropriated funds. If the
Jacility indicates on the form that it is not receiving State-appropriated
Jfunds, the department shall regard its report as confidential unless it receives
other evidence which causes it to conclude that the facility receives State-
appropriated funds.

* % %

(h) Report of complications.—Every physician who is called upon to
provide medical care or treatment to a woman who is in need of medical care
because of a complication or complications resulting, in the good faith
judgment of the physician, from having undergone an abortion or attempted
abortion shall prepare a report thereof and file the report with the depart-
ment within 30 days of the date of his first examination of the woman, which
report [shall be open to public inspection and copying and] shall be on-forms
prescribed by the department, which forms shall contain the following infor-
mation, as received, and such other information except the name of the
patient as the department may from time to time require:

(1) Age of patient.

{2) Number of pregnancies patient may have had prior to the abor-
tion.

(3) Number and type of abortions patient may have had prior to this
abortion.

(4) Name and address of the facility where the abortion was per-
formed.

(5) Gestational age of the unborn child at the time of the abortion, if
known.

(6) Type of abortion performed, if known.

(7) Nature of complication or complications.

(8) Medical treatment given.

(9) The nature and extent, if known, of any permanent condition
caused by the complication.

(i) Penalties.—

(1) Any person required under this section to file a report, keep any
records or supply any information, who willfully fails to file such report,
keep such records or supply such information at the time or times required
by law or regulation is guilty of ‘‘unprofessional conduct’’ and his license
for the practice of medicine and surgery shall be subject to suspension or
revocation in accordance with procedures provided under the act of [July
20, 1974 (P.L.551, No0.190), known as the ‘““Medical Practice Act of

- 1974.”°1 October 5, 1978 (P.L.1109, No.261), known as the Osteopathic

Medical Practice Act, the act of December 20, 1985 (P.L.457, No.112),

known as the Medical Practice Act of 1985, or their successor acts.
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(2) Any person who willfully delivers or discloses to the department
any report, record or information known by him to be false commits a
misdemeanor of the first degree.

(3) In addition to the above penalties, any person, organization or
facility who willfully violates any of the provisions of this section requiriiig
reporting shall upon conviction thereof: ’

(i) For the first time, have its license suspended for a period of six
months.

(i) For the second time, have its license suspended for a period of
one year.

(iii) For the third time, have its license revoked.

Section 9. Section 3215(c) and (e) of Title 18 are amended and the
section is amended by adding subsections to read:

§ 3215. Publicly owned facilities; public officials and public funds.

* %k %

(c) Public funds.—No Commonwealth funds and no Federal funds
which are appropriated by the Commonwealth shall be expended by any
State or local government agency for the performance of abortion, except:

(1) When abortion is necessary to avert the death of the mother on cer-
tification by a physician. When such physician will perform the abortion
or has a pecuniary or proprietary interest in the abortion there shall be a
separate certification from a physician who has no such interest.

(2) When abortion is performed in the case of pregnancy caused by
rape which, prior to the performance of the abortion, has been reported
{within 72 hours of the rapel, together with the identity of the offender, if
known, to a law enforcement agency having the requisite jurisdiction and
has been personally reported by the victim [or her agent].

(3) When abortion is performed in the case of pregnancy caused by
incest which, prior to the performance of the abortion, has been person-
ally reported by the victim to a law enforcement agency having the requi-
site jurisdiction, or, in the case of a minor, to the county child protective
service agency [within 72 hours from the date when the female first learns
she is pregnant] and [she has named] the other party to the incestuous act
has been named in such report. [Such information shall be turned over by
the department to a law enforcement agency.]

* K %

(e) Insurance policies.—All insurers who make available health care and
disability insurance policies in this Commonwealth shall make available such
policies which contain an express exclusion of coverage for abortion services
not necessary to avert the death of the woman or to terminate pregnancies
caused by rape or incest. JAny such policy shall contain a preminm which is
lower than that which is contained in policies offering additional abortion
coverage.]

* % %

(i) Public funds for legal services.—No Federal or State funds which are
appropriated by the Commonwealth for the provision of legal services by
private agencies, and no public funds generated by collection of interest on
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lawyer’s trust accounts, as authorized by statute previously or subsequently
enacted, may be used, directly or indirectly, to:

(1) Advocate the freedom to choose abortion or the prohibition of
abortion.

(2) Provide legal assistance with respect to any proceeding or litigation
which seeks to procure or prevent any abortion or to procure or prevent
public funding for any abortion.

(3) Provide legal assistance with respect to any proceeding or litigation
which seeks to compel or prevent the performance or assistance in the per-
formance of any abortion, or the provision of facilities for the perform-
ance of any abortion,

Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to require or prevent the
expenditure of funds pursuant to a court order awarding fees for attorney’s
services under the Civil Rights Attorney’s Fees Awards Act of 1976 (Public
law 94-559, 90 Stat. 2641), nor shall this subsection be construed to prevent
the use of public funds to provide court appointed counsel in.any proceeding
authorized under section 3206 (relating to parental consent).

(i) Required statements.—No Commonwealth agency shall make any
payment from Federal or State funds appropriated by the Commonwealth
Jfor the performance of any abortion pursuant to subsection (c)(2) or (3)
unless the Commonwealth agency first:

(1) receives from the physician or facility seeking payment a statement
signed by the physician performing the abortion stating that, prior to per-
Jforming the abortion, he obtained a non-notarized, signed statement from
the pregnant woman stating that she was a victim of rape or incest, as the
case may be, and that she reported the crime, including the identity of the
offender, if known, to a law enforcement agency having the requisite juris-
diction or, in the case of incest where a pregnant minor is the victim, to the
county child protective service agency and stating the name of the law
enforcement agency or child protective service agency to which the report
was made and the date such report was made;

(2) receives from the physician or facility seeking payment, the signed
statement of the pregnant woman which is described in paragraph (1). The
statement shall bear the notice that any false statements made therein are
punishable by law and shall state that the pregnant woman is aware that
Jalse reports to law enforcement authorities are punishable by-law; and

(3) verifies with the law enforcement agency or child protective service
agency named in the statement of the pregnant woman whether a report of
rape or incest was filed with the agency in accordance with the statement.

The Commonwealth agency shall report any evidence of false statements, of

Jalse reports to law enforcement authorities or of fraud in the procurement
or attempted procurement of any payment from Federal or State funds
appropriated by the Commonwealth pursuant to this section to the district
attorney of appropriate jurisdiction and, where appropriate, to the Attorney
General.

Section 10. Sections 3217, 3218, 3219, 6307, 6308, 6309 and 6310 of
Title 18 are amended to read:
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§ 3217. Civil penalties.

Any physician who knowingly violates any of the provisions of
section 3204 (relating to medical consultation and judgment) or 3205 (relat-
ing to informed consent) shall, in addition to any other penalty prescribed in
this chapter, be civilly liable to his patient for any damages caused thereby
and, in addition, shall be liable to his patient for punitive damages in the
amount of [$1,000] $5,000.

§ 3218. Criminal penalties.

(a) Application of chapter. —Notw:thstandmg any other provision of
this chapter, no criminal penalty shall apply to a woman who violates any
provision of this chapter solely in order to perform or induce or attempt to
perform or induce an abortion upon herself.

(b) False statement, etc.—A person commits a misdemeanor of the
second degree if, with intent to mislead a public servant in performing his
official function under this chapter, such person:

(1) makes any written false statement which he does not believe to be
true; or
(2) submits or invites reliance on any writing which he knows to be

Jforged, altered or otherwise lacking in authenticity.

(c) Statements ‘“‘under penalty’’.—A person commits a misdemeanor of
the third degree if such person makes a written false statement which such
person does not believe to be true on a statement submitted as-required under
this chapter, bearing notice to the effect that false statements made therein
are punishable.

(d) Perjury provisions applicable.—Section 4902(c) through (f) (relating
to perjury) apply to subsections (b) and (c).

§ 3219. State Board of [Medical Education and Licensure] Medicine; State
Board of Osteopathic Medicine.

(a) Enforcement.—It shall be the duty of the State Board of [Medical
Education and Licensure] Medicine and the State Board of Osteopathic
Medicine to vigorously enforce those provisions of this chapter, violation of
which constitutes ‘‘unprofessional conduct’’ within the meaning of the act of
{July 20, 1974 (P.L.551, No.190), known as the ‘‘Medical Practice Act of
1974.°° The} October 5, 1978 (P.L.1109, No.261), known as the Osteopathic
Medical Practice Act, the act of December 20, 1985 (P.L.457, No.112),
known as the Medical Practice Act of 1985, or their successor acts. Each
board shall have the power to conduct, and its responsibilities shall include,
systematic review of all reports filed under this chapter.

(b) Penalties.-——Except as otherwise herein provided, upon a finding of
‘‘unprofessional conduct’’ under the provisions of this chapter, the board
shall, for the first such offense, prescribe such penalties as it deems appropri-
ate; for the second such offense, suspend the license of the physician for at
least 90 days; and, for the third such offense, revoke the license of the physi-
cian.

(¢} Reports.—The board shall prepare and submit an annual report of its
enforcement efforts under this chapter to the General Assembly, which shall
contain the following items:
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(1) number of violations investigated, by section of this chapter;

(2) number of physicians complained against;

(3) number of physicians investigated;

(4) penalties imposed; and

(5) such other information as any committee of the General Assembly
shall require.

Such reports shall be available for public inspection and copying.
§ 6307. Misrepresentation of age to secure liquor or malt or brewed bever-
ages.

(@) Offense defined.—A person is guilty of a summary offense for a first
violation and a misdemeanor of the third degree for any subsequent viola-
tions if he, being under the age of 21 years, knowingly and falsely represents
himself to be 21 years of age or older to any licensed dealer, distributor or
other person, for the purpose of procuring or having furnished to him, any
[intoxicating liquors.] liquor or malt or brewed beverages.

(b) Minimum penalty.—In addition to any other penalty imposed pursu-
ant to section 6310.4 (relating to restriction of operating privileges) or this
title or other statute, a person who is convicted of violating subsection (a)
may be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $500 for subsequent viola-
tions. No court shall have the authority to suspend any sentence as defined in
this section.

(¢) Adjudication of delinquency.—In addition to any other disposition
authorized by law, a person adjudicated delinquent under subsection (a) may
be ordered to pay a fine not exceeding 3500 for an adjudication of delin-
quency.

(d) Preadjudication disposition.—

(1) When a person is charged with violating subsection (a), the court
may admit the offender to an adjudication alternative program under 42
Pa.C.S. § 1520 (relating to adjudication alternative program) or to any
other preadjudication disposition, if the offender has not previously
received a preadjudication disposition for violating subsection (a).

(2) The use of a preadjudication disposition shall be considered a first
or subsequent offense, whichever is applicable, for the purpose of further
adjudication under this section or under section 6310.4.

§ 6308. Purchase, consumption, possession or transportation of [intoxi-
cating beverages] liguor or malt or brewed beverages.

(a) Offense defined.—A person commits a summary offense if he, being
less than 21 years of age, attempts to purchase, purchases, consumes, pos-
sesses or knowingly and intentionally transports any [alcohol,] liguor or malt
or brewed beverages, as defined in section 6310.6 (relating to definitions).

(b) Penaglty.—In addition to the penalty imposed pursuant to
section 6310.4 (relating to restriction of operating privileges), a person con-
victed of violating subsection (a) may be sentenced to pay a fine of not more
than 8500 for the second and each subsequent violation.

(c) Preadjudication disposition.—

(1) When a person is charged with violating subsection (a), the district
Jjustice may admit the offender to the adjudication alternative as autho-
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rized in 42 Pa.C.S. § 1520 (relating to adjudication alternative program)

or any other preadjudication disposition if the offender has not previously

received a preadjudication disposition for violating subsection-(a).
(2) The use of a preadjudication disposition shall be considered a first
_or subsequent offense, whichever is applicable, for the purpose of further

adjudication under this section or under section 6310.4.

(d) Notification.—The police department making an arrest for a sus-
pected violation of subsection (a) shall so notify the parents or guardian of
the minor charged.

§ 6309. Representing [to liquor dealers] that minor is of age.

(@) Offense defined.—A person is guilty of a misdemeanor of the third
degree if he knowingly, willfully, and falsely represents to any licensed
dealer, or other person, any minor to be of full age, for the purpose of induc-
ing any such licensed dealer or other person, to sell or furnish any [intoxi-
cating liquors] liguor or malt or brewed beverages, as defined in
section 6310.6 (relating to definitions), to the minor.

(b) Minimum penalty.—In addition to any other penality imposed pursu-
ant to this title or other statute, a person committing an offense under this
section shall be senténced to pay a fine of not less than $300. There shall be
no authority in any court to impose on an offender any lesser sentence than
the minimum sentence mandated by this subsection. In no case shall the sen-
tence exceed the maximum sentence prescribed by law. No court shall have
the authority to suspend any sentence as defined in this section.

§ 6310. Inducement of minors to buy liquor or malt or brewed beverages.

(a) Offense defined.—A person is guilty of a misdemeanor of the third
degree if he hires or requests or induces any minor to purchase, or offer to
purchase, [spirituous, vinous or brewed and malit liquors} liguor or malt or
brewed beverages, as defined in section 6310.6 (relating to definitions), from
a duly licensed dealer for any purpose.

() Minimum penalty.—In addition to any other penalty imposed pursu-
ant to this title or other statute, a person convicted of an offense under this
section shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $300. There shall be
no authority in any court to impose on an offender any lesser sentence than
the minimum sentence mandated by this subsection. Nothing in this section
shall prevent the sentencing court from imposing a sentence greater than the
minimum sentence mandated in this subsection. In no case shall the sentence
exceed the maximum sentence prescribed by law. No court shall have the
authority to suspend any sentence as defined in this section.

Section 11. Title 18 is amended by adding sections to read:

§ 6310.1. Selling or furnishing liguor or mait or brewed beverages to
minors,

(a) Offense defined.—Except as provided in subsection (b), a person
commits a misdemeanor of the third degree if he intentionally and-knowingly
sells or intentionally and knowingly furnishes, or purchases with the intent to
sell or furnish, any liqguor or malt or brewed beverages to a person who is less
than 21 years of age.
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(b) Exceptions.—The provisions of this section shall not apply to any
religious service or ceremony which may be conducted in a private home or a
place of worship where the amount of wine served does not exceed the
amount reasonably, customarily and traditionally required as an integral
part of the service or ceremony.

(c) Minimum penalty.—In addition to any other penalty imposed pursu-
ant to this title or other statute, a person who is convicted of violating sub-
section (a) shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $1,000 for the first
violation and a fine of $2,500 for each subsequent violation. There shall be
no authority in any court to impose on an offender any lesser sentencethan
the minimum sentence mandated by this subsection. No court shall have the
authority to suspend any sentence as defined in this section. Nothing in this
Section shall prevent the sentencing court from imposing a sentence greater
than the minimum sentence mandated in this subsection. In no case shall the
sentence exceed the maximum sentence prescribed by law.

§ 6310.2. Manufacture or sale of false identification card.

(a) Offense defined.—A person commits a misdemeanor of the second
degree if he intentionally, knowingly or recklessly manufactures, makes,
alters, sells or attempts to sell an identification card falsely representing the
identity, birth date or age of another.

(b) Minimum penalty.—In addition to any other penalty imposed pursu-
ant to this title or any other statute, a person who is convicted of violating
subsection (a) shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $1,000 for the
Jirst violation and a fine of not less than $2,500 for each subseguent viola-
tion. There shall be no authority in any court to impose on an offender any
lesser sentence than the minimum sentence mandated by this subsection. In
no case shall the sentence exceed the maximum sentence prescribed by law.
No court shall have the authority to suspend any sentence as defined in this
section.

(¢) Adjudication of delinquency.—In addition to any other disposition
authorized by law, a person adjudicated delinquent under subsection (a)
shall be ordered to pay a fine of 3500 for the first adjudication of delin-
quency and a fine of $1,000 for each subsequent adjudication of delin-
quency.

§ 6310.3. Carrying a false identification card.

(a) Offense defined.—A person commits a summary offense for a first
violation and a misdemeanor of the third degree for any subsequentviolatior:
if he, being under 21 years of age, possesses an identification card falsely
identifying that person by name, age, date of birth or photograph as being 21
years of age or older or obtains or-attempts to obtain liguor or malt or
brewed beverages by using the identification card of another or by using an
identification card that has not been lawfully issued to or in the name of that
person who possesses the card.

() Minimum penalty.—In addition to any other penalty imposed pursu-
ant to section 6310.4 (relating to restriction of operating privileges) or any
other statute, a person who is convicted of violating subsection (a) shall be
sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $500 for the second and subsequent
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violations. No court shall have the authority to suspend any sentence as
defined in this section.

(¢c) Adjudication of delinquency.—In addition to any other disposition
authorized by law, a person adjudicated delinquent under subsection (a) may
be ordered to pay a fine not exceeding 3500 for an adjudication of delin-
quency.

(d} Preadjudication disposition.—

(1) When a person is charged with violating subsection (a), the court
may admit the offender to the adjudication alternative as authorized in 42
Pa.C.S. § 1520 (relating to adjudication alternative program) or any otker
preadjudication disposition if the offender has not previously received a
preadjudication disposition for violating subsection (a).

(2) The use of a preadjudication disposition shall be considered a-first
or subsequent offense, whichever is applicable, for the purpose of further
adjudication under this section or under section 6310.4.

(e) Notification.—The police department making an arrest for a sus-
pected violation of subsection (a) shall so notify the parents or guardian of
the minor charged.

§ 6310.4. Restriction of operating privileges.

(a) General rule.—Whenever a person is conv:cted or is adjudicated
delinquent or is admitted to any preadjudication program for a violation of
section 6307 (relating to misrepresentation of age to secure liquor or malt or
brewed beverages), 6308 (relating to purchase, consumption, possession or
transportation of liquor or malt or brewed beverages) or 6310.3 (relating to
carrying a failse identification card), the court, including a court not of
record if it is exercising jurisdiction pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 1515(a) (relat-
ing to jurisdiction and venue), shall order the operating privilege of the
person suspended. A copy of the order shall be transmitted to the Depart-
ment of Transportation. _

(b) Duration of suspension.— When the department suspends the operat-
ing privilege of a person under subsection (a), the duration of the suspension
shall be as follows:

(1) For a first offense, a period of 90 days from the date of suspen-
sion,

(2) For a second offense, a period of one year from the date of suspen-
sion.

(3) For a third offense, and any offense thereafter, a period of two
years from the date of suspension. Any multiple sentences imposed shail
be served consecutively.

Reinstatement of operating privilege shall be governed by 75 Pa.C.S. § 1545
(relating to restoration of operating privilege).

(¢c) Nondrivers.—Any person whose record is received by the department
under subsection (a) and who does not have a driver’s license shall be ineligi-
ble to apply for a learner’s permit under 75 Pa.C.S. §§ 1505 (relating to
learners’ permits) and 1507 (relating to application for driver’s license or
learner’s permit by minor) for the time periods specified in subsection (b). If
the person is under 16 years of age when he is convicted or adjudicated delin-
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quent or admitted to a preadjudication program, his suspension of operating
privileges shall commence upon his 16th birthday for the time periods speci-
fied in subsection (b).

(d) Insurance premiums.—An insurer shall not increase premiums,
impose any surcharge or rate penalty, or make any driver record point
assignment for automobile insurance, nor shall an insurer cancel or refuse to
renew an automobile insurance policy on account of a suspension under this
section.

§ 6310.5. Predisposition evaluation.

(@) General rule.—If an individual is convicted, adjudicated delinquent
or offered preadjudication disposition for a violation of section 6307 (relat-
ing to misrepresentation of age to secure liguor or malt or brewed bever-
ages), 6308 (relating to purchase, consumption, possession or transportation
of liqguor or malt or brewed beverages) or 6310.3 (relating to carrying a false
identification card), the following shall apply:

(1) For a first violation of any of the preceding offenses, the court
may, in addition to other requirements, require the individual to be evalu-
ated prior to an adjudication of delinquency, sentencing or receiving pre-
adjudication disposition.

(2) For a subsequent violation of any of the preceding offenses, the
court shall, in addition to other requirements, require the individual to be
evaluated prior to sentencing or receiving preadjudication disgesitiast.

(3) Evaluation under this subsection may consist of evaluation tech-
niques if deemed appropriate by the court to determine the extent of the
individual’s involvement with alcohol.

(b) Program of education, intervention and counseling.—Based on the
results of the evaluation authorized under subsection (a) and any additional
information, the court may require that the person successfully complete a
prescribed program of education, intervention or counseling approved by the
Department of Health.

(c) Costs.—Costs of any and all requirements applied under this section
shall be in addition to any other penalty required or allowed by lawand-shall
be the responsibility of the person upon whom the requirement is placed.

§ 6310.6. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in sections 6307 (relating to
misrepresentation of age to secure liquor or malt or brewed beverages)
through 6310.3 (relating to carrying a false identification card) shall have the
meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise:

“Furnish.”” To supply, give or provide to, or allow a minor to possess on
premises or property owned or controlled by the person charged.

““Identification card.’’ A driver’s license, a Department of Transporta-
tion nondriver’s identification card or a card issued by the Pennsylvania
Liquor Control Board for the purpose of identifying a person desiring liquor
or malt or brewed beverages, a card which falsely purports to be any of the
foregoing, or any card, paper or document which falsely identifies the person
by name, photograph, age or date of birth as being 21 years of age or older.
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“Liguor.” Includes any alcoholic, spirituous, vinous, fermented or
other alcoholic beverage, or combination of liguors and mixed liguor a part
of which is spirituous, vinous, fermented or otherwise alcoholic, including
all drinks or drinkable liquids, preparations or mixtures and reused, recov-
ered or redistilled denatured alcohol usable or taxable for beverage purposes
which contain more than 0.50% of alcohol by volume, except pure ethyl
alcohol and malt or brewed beverages.

‘“Malt or brewed beverages.’> Any beer, lager beer, ale, porter or similar
fermented malt beverage containing 0.50% or more of alcohol by volume, by
whatever name such beverage may be called.

§ 6313. Special information.

(a) General rule.—At the time of conviction or admission to a preadjudi-
cation disposition for a violation of section 6307 (relating to misrepresenta-
tion of age to secure liguor or malt or brewed beverages), 6308 (relating to
purchase, consumption, possession or transportation of liguor or malt or
brewed beverages) or 6310.3 (relating to carrying a false identification card),
the court shall provide to the Department of Transportation, in such form as
prescribed by the department, the name of the offender, the offender’s date
of birth, the disposition of the case and the duration of any license suspen-
sion.

(b) Availability.—Information under this sectwn shall be available to
law enforcement agencies and the judicial system for the purpose of deter-
mining whether the offender has a prior record of violation of the offenses
listed in subsection (a).

§ 6314. Sentencing and penalties for trafficking drugs to minors.

(a) General rule.—A person over 18 years of age who is convicted in any
court of this Commonwealth of a violation of section 13(a)(14) or (30} of the
act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The Controlled Substance,
Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, shall, if the delivery or possession with
intent to deliver of the controlled substance was to a minor, be sentenced to a
minimum sentence of at least one year total confinement, notwithstanding
any other provision of this title or other statute to the contrary.

(b) Additional penalties.—In addition to the mandatory minimum sen-
tence set forth in subsection (a), the person shall be sentenced to an addi-
tional minimum sentence of at least two years total confinement, notwith-
standing any other provision of this title or other statute to the contrary, if
the person did any of the following:

(1) Committed the offense with the intent to promote the habitual use
of the controlled substance.

(2) Intended to engage the minor in the traffzckmg, transportation,
delivery, manufacturing, sale or conveyance.

(3) Commitied the offense within 1,000 feet of the real property on
which is located a public, private or parochial school or a college or uni-
versity.

(c) Proof at sentencing.—The provisions of this section shall not be an
element of the crime. Notice of the applicability of this section to the defen-
dant shall not be required prior to conviction, but reasonable notice of the
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Commonwealth’s intention to proceed under this section shall be provided
after conviction and before sentencing. The applicability of this section shall
be determined at sentencing. The court shall consider evidence presented at
trial, shall afford the Commonwealth and the defendant an opportunity to
present necessary additional evidence and shall determine, by a preponder-
ance of the evidence, if this section is applicable.

(d) Authority of court in sentencing.—There shall be no authority for a
court to impose on a defendant to which this section is applicable a lesser
sentence than provided for in subsection (a), to place the defendant on pro-
bation or to suspend sentence. Nothing in this section shall prevent the sen-
tencing court from imposing a sentence greater than that provided in this
section. Sentencing guidelines promulgated by the Pennsylvania Commission
on Sentencing shall not supersede the mandatory sentences provided in this
section. Disposition under section 17 or 18 of The Controlled Substance,
Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act shall not be available to a defendant to
which this section applies.

(e) Appeal by Commonwealth.—If a sentencing court refuses to apply
this section where applicable, the Commonwealth shall have the right to
appellate review of the action of the sentencing court. The appellate court
shall vacate the sentence and remand the case to the sentencing court for
imposition of a sentence in accordance with this section if it finds that the
sentence was imposed in violation of this section.

(f) Forfeiture.—Assets against which a forfeiture petition has been filed
and is pending or against which the Commonwealth has indicated an inten-
tion to file a forfeiture petition shall not be subject to a fine under this
section.

(8) Definition.—As used in this section, the term ‘‘minor’’ means an
individual under 18 years of age.

Section 12. Section 6501 of Title 18 is amended to read:

§ 6501, Scattering rubbish.

(a) Offense defined.—A person is guilty of an offense if he:

(1) throws any waste paper, sweepings, ashes, household waste, glass,
metal, refuse or rubbish, or any dangerous or detrimental substance into
or upon any road, street, highway, or alley, or upon the land of another or
into or upon any stream or navigable river; [or]

(2) interferes with, scatters, or disturbs the contents of any receptacle
containing ashes, garbage, household waste, or rubbish[.]; or

(3) is the aperator of a trash, garbage or debris collection vehicle or
any other type of vehicle used for collecting trash, garbage or debris and
deposits the vehicle’s load or any part thereof upon any road, street,
highway or alley or upon the land of another.

(b) Penalty.—

(1) A person who violates [the provisions of this section] subsection
@)(1) or (2) is guilty of a summary offense and upon conviction thereof
shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $10 nor more than $300 or
to imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or both.
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(2) A person who violates subsection (a)(3) is guilty of a misdemeanor
of the third degree for the first offense, a misdemeanor of the second
degree for the second offense and a misdemeanor-of the first degree for the
third or any subsequent offense.

(c) Disposition of fines.—(Repealed). .

(d) Exception.—-Subsection (a)(3) does not apply to the lawful depositing
of waste at any site regulated by the Department of Environmental
Resources. ‘

Section 13. Title 18 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 7508. Drug trafficking sentencing and penalties.

(a) General rule.—Notwithstanding any other provisions of this or any
other act to the contrary, the following provisions shall apply:

(1) A person who is convicted of violating section 13(a)(14) or (30) of
the act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The Controlled Sub-
stance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, where the controlied substance is
marijuana shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to a mandatory. minimum
term of imprisonment and a fine as set forth in this subsection:

(i) upon the first conviction when the amount of marijuana
involved is at least two pounds, but less than ten pounds; one year in
prison and a fine of 35,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to
exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity
and, upon conviction for another offense subject to sentencing under
this section; two years in prison and a fine of $10,000 or such larger
amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds
Jrom the illegal activity;

(ii) upon the first conviction when the amount of marijuana
involved is at least ten pounds, but less than 50 pounds; three years in
prison and a fine of $15,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to
exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity
and, upon conviction for another offense subject to sentencing under
this section; four years in prison and a fine of $30,000 or such larger
amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds
Jrom the illegal activity; and

(iii) upon conviction when the amount of marijuana involved is at
least 50 pound's; five years in prison and a fine of 350,000 or such larger
amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds
Jrom the illegal activity.

(2) A person who is convicted of violating section 13(a)(14) or (30) of
The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act where the con-
trolled substance or a mixture containing it is classified in Schedule I or
Schedule II under section 4 of that act and is a narcotic drug shall, upon
conviction, be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment
and a fine as set forth in this subsection:

(i) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is ar least 2.0 grams and less than ten grams; two years in
prison and a fine of $5,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to
exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity
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and, upon conviction for another offense subject to sentencing under

this section; three years in prison and 310,000 or such larger amount as

is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the
illegal activity;

(ii) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least ten grams and less than 100 grams; three years in
prison and a fine of 315,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to
exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity
and, upon conviction for another offense subject to sentencing under
this section; five years in prison and 330,000 or such larger amount as is
sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the
illegal activity; and

(#i)) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least 100 grams; five years in prison and a fine of $25,000
or such larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in
and the proceeds from the illegal activity and, upon conviction for
another offense subject to sentencing under this section; seven years in
prison and 350,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the
assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity.

(3) A person who is convicted of violating section 13(a)(14) or (30) of
The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act where the con-
trolled substance is coca leaves or is any salt, compound, derivative or
preparation of coca leaves or is any salt, compound, derivative or prepara-
tion which is chemically equivalent or identical with any of these sub-
stances or is any mixture containing any of these substances except
decocainized coca leaves or extracts of coca leaves which (extracts) do not
contain cocaine or ecgonine shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to a man-
datory minimum term of imprisonment and a fine as set forth in this sub-
section:

(i) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least 2.0 grams and less than ten grams; one year in prison
and a fine of $5,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the
assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity and, upon
conviction for another offense subject to sentencing under this section;
three years in prison and 310,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient
to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activ-
ity;

(i) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least ten grams and less than 100 grams; three years in
prison and a fine of $15,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to
exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity
and, upon conviction for another offense subject to sentencing under
this section; five years in prison and $30,000 or such larger amount as is
sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the
illegal activity; and

(iii) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least 100 grams; four years in prison and a fine of $25,000
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or such larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in

and the proceeds from the illegal activity and, upon conviction for

another offense subject to sentencing under this section; seven years in
prison and $50,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the
assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity.

(4) A person who is convicted of violating section 13(a)(14) or (30) of
The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act where the con-
trolled substance is methamphetamine or is a salt, isomer or salt of an
isomer of methamphetamine or is phencyclidine or is a mixture containing
methamphetamine, containing a salt of methamphetamine, containing an
isomer of methamphetamine, containing a salt of an isomer of metham-
phetamine or containing phencyclidine shall, upon conviction, be sen-
tenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a fine as set
forth in this subsection: ,

(i) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least five grams and less than ten grams; three years in
prison and a fine of $15,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to
exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds: from the illegal activity
and, upon conviction for another offense subject to sentencing under
this section; five years in prison and $30,000 or.such larger amount as is
sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the
illegal activity; ‘

(i) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least ten grams and less than 100 grams; four years in
prison and a fine of $25,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to
exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity
and, upon conviction for another offense subject to sentencing under
this section; seven years in prison and $50,000 or such larger amount as
is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the
illegal activity; and

(i) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least 100 grams; five years in prison and a fine of $50,000
or such larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in
and the proceeds from the illegal activity and, upon conviction for
another offense subject to sentencing under this section; eight years in
prison and 350,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the
assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity.

(5) A person who is convicted of violating section 13(a)(14) or (30) of
The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, and who, in
the course of the offense, manufactures, delivers, brings into this Com-
monwealth or possesses with intent to manufacture or deliver amphet-
amine or any salt, optical isomer, or salt of an optical isomer, or a mixture
containing any such substances shall, upon the first conviction when the
amount of the substance involved is at least five grams, be sentenced to
two and one-half years in prison and a fine of $15,000 or such larger
amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds
from the illegal activity and, upon conviction for a subseguent offense
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under this section, be sentenced to five years in prison and $30,000 or such

larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets utilized in and the pro-

ceeds from the illegal activity.
(6) A person who is convicted of violating section I3(a)(14) or (30) of

The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act where the con-

trolled substance is methaqualone shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to

a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a fine as set fortli-in this

subsection:

(i) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least 50 tablets, capsules, caplets or other dosage units, or
the equivalent quantity and less than 200 tablets, capsules, caplets or
other dosage units, or the equivalent quantity; one year in prison and a
fine of 32,500 or such larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets
utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity and, upon convic-
tion for another offense subject to sentencing under this section; three
years in prison and $5,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to
exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity;
and

(ii) upon the first conviction when the amount of the substance
involved is at least 200 tablets, capsules, caplets or other dosage units,
or the equivalent quantity; two and one-half years in prison and a fine
of $15,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to exhaust the assets
utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity and, upon convic-
tion for another offense subject to sentencing under this section; five
years in prison and $30,000 or such larger amount as is sufficient to
exhaust the assets utilized in and the proceeds from the illegal activity.

(b) Proof of sentencing.—Provisions of this section shall not be an
element of the crime. Notice of the applicability of this section to the defen-
dant shall not be required prior to conviction, but reasonable notice of the
Commonwealth’s intention to proceed under this section shall be provided
after conviction and before sentencing. The applicability of this section shall
be determined at sentencing. The court shall consider evidence presented at
trial, shall afford the Commonwealth and the defendant an opportunity to
present necessary additional evidence and shall determine, by a preponder-
ance of the evidence, if this section is applicable.

(¢) Mandatory sentencing.— There shall be no authority in any court to
impose on an offender to which this section is applicable a lesser sentence
than provided for herein or to place the offender on probation, parole, work
release or prerelease or to suspend sentence. Nothing in this section shall
prevent the sentencing court from imposing a sentence greater than provided
herein. Sentencing guidelines promulgated by the Pennsylvania Commission
on Sentencing shall not supersede the mandatory sentences provided herein.
Disposition under section 17 or 18 of The Controlled Substance, Drug,
Device and Cosmetic Act shall not be available to a defendant to which this
section applies.

(d) Appellate review.—If a sentencing court refuses to apply this section
where applicable, the Commonwealth shall have the right to appellate review
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of the action of the sentencing court. The appellate court shall vacate the sen-
tence and remand the case to the sentencing court for imposition of a sen-
tence in accordance with this section if it finds that the sentence was imposed
in violation of this section.

(e) Forfeiture.— Assets against which a forfeiture petition has been filed
and is pending or against which the Commonwealth has indicated an inten-
tion to file a forfeiture petition shall not be subject to a fine.

Section 14. The provisions of this act are severable. If any provision of
this act or its application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, the
invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of this act which
can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.

Section 15. (a) The first sentence of section 494(a) of the act of April
12, 1951 (P.L.90, No.21), known as the Liquor Code, is repealed to the
extent that the penalty provisions contained therein apply to conduct concur-
rently prohibited by section 493(1) of the Liquor Code and 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 6310.1 (relating to selling or furnishing liquor or malt or brewed beverages
to minors).

(b) The following acts or parts of acts are repealed:

Section 495(d) of the act of April 12, 1951 (P.L.90, No.21), known as the
Liquor Code.

(c) The act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The Controlled
Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, is repealed insofar as it subjects
to a fine assets against which a forfeiture petition has been filed and is
pending or against which the Commonwealth has indicated an intention to
file a forfeiture petition.

Section 16. This act shall take effect as follows:

(1) The amendments to Chapter 32 of Title 18 shall take effect in 30
days.

(2) Section 11 (section 6314) and section 13 (section 7508) shall take
effect July 1, 19883, or immediately, whichever is later.

(3) Section 12 (section 6501), section 15(c) and this section shall take
effect immediately.

(4) Theremainder of this act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 25th day of March, A. D, 1988.
ROBERT P. CASEY



