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No. 1990-164

AN ACT

SB 278

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for procedures relating to the discharge of certain employees hoiding
commercial driver licenses, for suspension of registration and operating privi-
leges relating to failure to maintain financial responsibility and for pedestrian-
control signals.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

- Section 1. Sections 1619(c), (d) and (e} and 1786(d) of Title 75 of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:
§ 1619. Prohibition against discharging, disciplining or discriminating
against employees.
* %k %
(c) Procedure.—

(1) Any employee who believes he has been discharged, disciplined or
otherwise discriminated against by any person in violation of subsection
(a) or (b) may, within 180 days after such alleged violation occurs, file or
have filed by any person on the employee’s behalf a complaint with [the
Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission] a district justice alleging such
discharge, discipline or discrimination. [Upon receipt of such a complaint,
the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission shall notify the person named
in the complaint of the filing of the complaint.

(2) (i) Within 60 days of receipt of a complaint filed under para-

graph (1), the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission shall conduct an

investigation and determine whether there is reasonable cause to believe
that the complaint has merit and notify the complainant and-the person
alleged to have committed a violation of this section of its findings.

Where the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission has concluded that

there is reasonable cause to believe that a violation has occurred, its

finding shall be accompanied by a preliminary order providing the relief
prescribed by subparagraph (ii). Thereafter, either the person alleged to
have committed the violation or the complainant may, within 30 days,
file objections to the findings or preliminary order, or both, and request

a hearing on the record, except that the filing of such objections shall

not operate to stay any reinstatement remedy contained in the prelimi-

nary order. Such hearings shall be expeditiously conducted. Where a

hearing is not timely requested, the preliminary order shall be deemed a

final order which is not subject to judicial review. Upon the conclusion

of such hearing, the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission shall issue

a final order within 120 days. In the interim, such proceedings may be

terminated at any time on the basis of a settlement agreement entered

into by the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, the complainant
and the person alleged to have committed the violation,



636 Act 1990-164 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

(i) If, in response to a complaint filed under paragraph (1), the
Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission] Actions brought under this
section shall be brought in the court of common pleas if the complaint
states a claim for damages in excess of the jurisdictional limits provided
by 42 Pa.C.S. § 1515 (relating to jurisdiction and venue) and the plain-
tiff declines to waive the portion of his claim exceeding the jurisdic-
tional amount.

(2) Upon request of the employee, the employer or any representative
of the employee or employer, the Pennsylvania Public Utility.Commission
shall assign and direct an investigator with qualifications in motor vehicle
safety inspections to examine the vehicle or vehicles in question and render
a signed report. Such report shall be prima facie evidence of the facts and
the conclusions contained therein, and may be introduced in a legal pro-
ceeding brought under this section. Any party may call the investigator as
if on cross examination in a legal proceeding brought under this section.

(3) If the district justice or the court of common pleas, after notice
and hearing, determines that a violation of subsection (a) or (b) has occur-
red, the [Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission] district justice or court
of common pleas has the power to and shall order:

[(A)] () the person who committed such violation to take affir-
mative action to abate the violation;

[(B)] (i) such person to reinstate the complainant to the com-
plainant’s former position together with the compensation, including
back pay, terms, conditions and privileges of the complainant’s
employment; and

[(O)] (Gii) compensatory damages.

[(3)] (4) 1If an order is issued under paragraph [(2), the Pennsylvania
Public Utility Commission] (3), the district justice or court of common
pleas issuing the order, at the request of the complainant, may assess
against the person against whom the order is issued a sum equal to the
aggregate amount of all costs and expenses, including attorney fees, rea-
sonably incurred[, as determined by the Pennsylvania Public Utility Com-
mission,] by the complainant for, or in connection with, the bringing of
the complaint upon which the order was issued.

(d) Review of order.—

[(1)] Any person adversely affected or aggrieved by an order issued
after a hearing under subsection (c) may obtain review of the order [in the
Commonwealth Court. The petition for review must be filed within 60
days from the issuance of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission’s
order. Such review shall be] in accordance with the provisions of 42
Pa.C.S. (relating to judiciary and judicial procedure). [and shall be heard
and decided expeditiously.

(2) An order of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, with
respect to which review could have been obtained under this section, shall
not be subject to judicial review in any criminal or other civil preceeding.]
(¢) Enforcement of order.—Whenever a person has failed to comply

with an order issued under subsection [(c)(2), the Pennsylvania Public Utility
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Commission shall file a civil action] (c)(3), an aggrieved party may file a civil
action or seek an enforcement order in the court of common pleas for the
district in which the violation was found to occur in order to enforce such
order. In actions brought under this subsection, the court of common pleas
shall have jurisdiction to grant all appropriate relief, including injunctive
relief, reinstatement and compensatory damages.

§ 1786. Required financial responsibility.

* k¥

(d) Suspension of registration and operating privilege.—The Department
of Transportation shall suspend the registration of a vehicle if it determines
the required financial responsibility [has] was not [been] secured as required
by this chapter and shall suspend the operating privilege of the owner or reg-
istrant for a period of three months if the department determines that the
owner or registrant has operated or permitted the operation of the vehicle
without the required financial responsibility. The operating privilege shall
not be restored until the restoration fee for operating privilege provided by
section 1960 (relating to reinstatement of operating privilege or vehicle regis-
tration) is paid. Whenever the department revokes or suspends the registra-
tion of any vehicle under this chapter, the department shall not restore the
registration until the vehicle owner furnishes proof of financial responsibility
in a manner determined by the department and submits an application for
registration to the department, accompanied by the fee for restoration of
registration provided by section 1960. This subsection shall not apply in the
Jfollowing circumstances:

(1) The owner or registrant proves to the satisfaction of the depart-
ment that the lapse in financial responsibility coverage was for a period of
less than 21 days and that the owner or registrant did not operate or permit
the operation of the vehicle during the period of lapse in financial respon-
sibility.

(2) The owner or registrant is a member of the armed services of the
United States, the owner or registrant has previously had the financial
responsibility required by this chapter, financial responsibility had lapsed
while the owner or registrant was on temporary, emergency duty and the
vehicle was not operated during the period of lapse in financial responsi-
bility. The exemption granted by this paragraph shall continue for 3¢-days
after the owner or registrant returns from duty as long as the vehicleisnot
operated until the required financial responsibility has been established.

* %k %

Section 2. Section 3113 of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 3113. Pedestrian-control signals.

(a) General rule.—Whenever special pedestrian-control signals exhibit-
ing [the words ““Walk’’ or “‘Don’t Walk’’] words or symbols are in place, the
signals shall indicate as follows:

(1) Word “Walk”’ or walking person symbol.—Pedestrians facing the
signal should proceed across the roadway in the direction of the signal and
shall be given the right-of-way by the drivers of all vehicles.
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(2) Phrase ““‘Don’t Walk’’ or upraised hand symbol.—Pedestrians
should not start to cross the roadway in the direction of the signal, but any
pedestrian who has partially completed his crossing on the ‘“Walk’’ signal
should proceed to a sidewalk or safety zone while the ‘“Don’t Walk”
signal is showing.

(3) Flashing “Walk’’.—-[Whenever the ‘‘Walk”’ indication is flashing,
pedestrians] Pedestrians facing the signal are cautioned that there is possi-
ble hazard from turning vehicles, but pedestrians may proceed across the
roadway in the direction of the signal [indication] and shall be given the
right-of-way by the drivers of all vehicles.

(4) Flashing “Don’t Walk’’ Signal. —[Whenever the ‘“Don’t Walk”’
indication is flashing, pedestrians] Pedestrians should not start to cross the
roadway in the direction of the [indication] signal, but any pedestrian who
has partly completed crossing during the ‘““Walk”’ [indication] signal
should proceed to a sidewalk or safety zone, and all drivers of vehicles
shall yield to the pedestrian,

(b) Local regulation.—This section does not prohibit a municipality
from establishing a summary offense for violation of subsectiom (a)(2) or (4).

Section 3. The amendments affecting 75 Pa.C.S. § 1786(d) shall be ret-
roactive to July 1, 1990.

Section 4. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 7th day of December, A. D. 1990,
ROBERT P. CASEY



