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AN ACT
HB 2619

Amending the act of April 8, 1937 (P.L.262, No.66), entitled, as amended, “An act
relating to consumer credit; requiring licenses from the Secretary of Banking;
restricting licenses to domestic business corporations; fixing minimum capital
requirements; conferring certain powers on the Secretary of Banking; limiting
interest and other charges; providing certain exemptions; and imposing penalties,”
further providing for use of licensee name, for dishonored checks, for larger loan
limit, for annual fee and for delinquent payments.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 3A and B of the act of April 8, 1937 (P.L.262, No.66),
known as the Consumer Discount Company Act, amended December 18,
1984 (P.L.1083, No.216), are amended to read:

Section 3. License Required.—A. On and after the effective date of this
act, no person shall engage or continue to engage in this Commonwealth,
either as principal, employe, agent or broker, in the business of negotiating
or making loans or advances of money on credit, in the amount or value of
{fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)] swenty-five thousand dellors{($25,000)
or less, and charge, collect, contract for or receive interest, discount, bonus,
fees, fines, commissions, charges, or other considerations which aggregate in
excess of the interest that the lender would otherwise be permitted by law to
charge if not licensed under this act on the amount actually loaned or
advanced, or on the unpaid principal balances when the contract is payable
by stated installments except a domestic business corporation organized under
or existing by virtue of the Business Corporation Law of this Commonwealth,
after first obtaining a license from the Secretary of Banking of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in accordance with the provisions of thisact.

B. Any person who shall hold himself out as willing or able to arrange
for or negotiate such loans of [fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)] twenty-
Jive thousand dollars ($25,000), or less where the interest, discount, bonus,
fees, fines, commissions or other considerations in the aggregate exceeds the
interest that the lender would otherwise be permitted by law to charge or who
solicits prospective borrowers of such loans of [fifteen thousand doilars
($15,000)] swenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000), or less shall be deemed
to be engaged in the business contemplated by this act, unless otherwise
permitted by law to engage in such activities. The referring borrowers to a
licensee shall not be deemed to be engaged in the business contemplated by
this act if no charge, no matter how denominated, for such reference is
imposed on the prospective borrower by the person making the reference, No
licensee shall knowingly include in any loan under this act any amount which



SESSION OF 1996 Act 1996-80 491

is to be paid by the borrower to another as a fee or charge, no matter how
denominated, for referring said borrower to the licensee.
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Section 2. Section 4 of the act is amended to read:

Section 4. Application for License.—The application for such license shall
be in writing, under oath and in the form prescribed by the Secretary of
Banking. The application shall contain the corporate title of the applicant],
which shall include the words “Consumer Discount Company”] and any
registered or otherwise qualified name to be used as a fictitious business
name; the street and number, if any, [office building and room number, if
any,] city, borough, township or municipality, and county where the business
is to be conducted; date of incorporation; name and residence address of all
directors; and such other information as the Secretary of Banking may
require.

A separate application on the prescribed form shall be filed for each place
of business conducted by a licensee.

Section 3. Section 13E of the act, amended December 18, 1984
(P.L..1083, No0.216), is amended and the section is amended by adding a
subsection to read:

Section 13. Powers Conferred on Licensees.—In addition to the general
powers conferred upon a corporation by the Business Corporation Law of this
Commonwealth, a corporation licensed under this act shall have power and
authority:
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E. To charge, contract for, receive or collect interest or discount at a rate
not to exceed nine dollars and fifty cents ($9.50) per one hundred dollars
($100) per year when the contract is repayable within forty-eight {48y months
from the datc of making. When the contract is repayable more than forty-
eight (48) months from the date of making, the rate of interest or discount
which may be charged, contracted for, received or collected, shall not exceed
nine dollars and fifty cents (3$9.50) per one hundred dollars ($100) per year
for the first forty-eight (48) months of the term of the contract plus six
dollars (36) per one hundred dollars ($100) per year for any remainder of the
term of the contract. Such interest or discount shall be computed at the time
the loan is made on the face amount of the contract for the full term of the
contract from the date of the contract to the date of the scheduled maturity
notwithstanding any requirement for installment payments. On contracts for
periods which are less or greater than one year, or which are not a multiple
of one year, the interest or discount shall be computed proportionately on
even calendar months: Provided, however, That for a period of less than one
month the computation may be based on a full calendar month. The face
amount of any note or contract made pursuant to this act may,
notwithstanding any other provision, exceed [fifteen thousand dollars
($15,000)] twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) by the amount of interest
or discount and service or other charge authorized by this act collected or
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deducted in advance or added to the principal at the time of making the loan.
As an alternative to the rates provided for in this clause, a licensee may
charge, contract for, and collect interest at the rate and in the manner
provided for in section 17.1 A: Provided, however, That on loans secured by
a security interest, mortgage or other lien on real property, and in which the
principal amount exceeds five thousand dollars ($5,000), a licensee may not
charge, contract for, receive, or collect interest in excess of the rate specified
in section 9 of the act of December 12, 1980 (P.L.1179, No.219), known as
the “Secondary Mortgage Loan Act.”
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R. To collect a fee for a subsequent dishonored check or instrument
taken in payment, not to exceed the service charge permitted-to be imposed
under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4105(e)(3) (relating to bad checks).

Section 4. Section 14A of the act, amended December 18, 1984
(P.L..1083, No.216), is amended to read:

Section 14. Licensee Requirements and Limitations.—A. A licensee shall
not permit any person to become obligated to such licensee as a consumer on
one or more loan contracts for an aggregate amount in excess of [fifteen
thousand dollars ($15,000)] swenty-five thousard dollars ($25,000),
exclusive of charges authorized by this act. This limitation shall not apply to
the purchase of contracts which arise from the bona fide sale of goods or
services by a seller regularly engaged in the sale of such goods or services.
This limitation shall not impair the authority of a licensee to lend money,
credit, goods or things in action, or to purchase contracts in amounts in
excess of [fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)] swenty-five thousand dolars
($25,000) and charge, contract for, receive or collect interest or discount at
the legal rate established by the General Usury Statute of the Commonwealth,
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Section 5. Section 17.1 of the act is amended by adding subsections to
read:

Section 17.1. Revolving Loan Accounts,—* * *

C. A licensee may charge and collect a delinguency charge of twenty
dollars ($20) or ten per cent (10%) of each payment, whichever is higher,
Jor a payment which is in default for more than fifteen (15) days.

D. A licensee may charge, contract for, receive or collect on any
revolving loan account an annual fee not to exceed fifty dollars ($50) per
year.

Section 6. Section 18 of the act, amended December 12, 1994 (P.L.1060,
No.144), is amended to read:

Section 18. Penalties.—Any person who has not obtained a license from
the Secretary of Banking of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in
accordance with the provisions of this act, and who shall engage in the
business of negotiating or making loans or advances of money or credit, in
the amount or value of [fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)] twenty-five
thousand dollars ($25,000) or less, and charge, collect, contract for or
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receive interest, discount, bonus, fees, fines, commissions, charges or other
considerations which aggregate in excess of the interest that the lender would
otherwise be permitted by law to charge if not licensed under this act on the
amount actually loaned or advanced, or on the unpaid principal balances
when the contract is payable by stated installments, shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor, upon conviction thereof shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not
less than five hundred dollars ($500) or more than five thousand dollars
($5,000), and/or suffer imprisonment not less than six (6) months nor more
than three (3) years, in the discretion of the court.

Except as the result of an accidental bona fide error, a corporation licensed
under the provisions of this act or any director, officer, employe or agent who
shall violate any provision of this act or shall direct or consent to such
violations, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof,
shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than two thousand dollars
($2,000) for the first offense, and for each subsequent offense a like fine,
and/or suffer imprisonment not to exceed one year, in the discretion of the
court.

The payment of [fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)] mwenty-five
thousand dollars ($25,000) or less, in money, credit, goods or things in
action as consideration for any sale or assignment of, or order for, the
payment of wages, salary, commissions or other compensation for services,
whether earned or to be earned, shall, for the purposes of regulation under
this act, be deemed a loan secured by such assignment, and the amount by
which such assigned compensation exceeds the amount of such consideration
actually paid shall for the purpose of regulation under this act, be deemed
interest or charges upon such loan from the date of such payment to the date
such compensation is payable. Such transactions shall be governed by and
subject to the provisions of this act.

The payment of [fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)] fwenty-five
thousand dollars ($25,000) or less, in money, credit, goods or things in
action as consideration for any sale of real or personal property which is
made on condition or agreement, expressed or implied, that such property be
sold back at a greater price shall, for the purpose of this act, be deemed to
be a loan secured by such property, and the amount by which the repurchase
price exceeds such original purchase price actually paid shall be deemed
interest or charges upon such loan from the date such original payment is
made until the date such repurchase price is paid. Such transaction shall be
governed by and subject to the provisions of this act.

When real or personal property is pledged as security on a loan of [fifteen
thousand dollars ($15,000)] twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or less,
and the lender requires the borrower to pay for insurance thereon, such
charge for insurance shall be construed as interest under this act when the
lender has failed to have such insurance written by an insurance company
legally authorized to conduct business in Pennsylvania. When the amount
charged for such insurance is in excess of the standard cost of similar
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insurance in other insurance companies legally authorized to conduct business
in Pennsylvania, the excess shall be construed as interest under this act.

If a contract is made in good faith in conformity with an interpretation of
this act by the appellate courts of the Commonwealth or in compliance with
a rule or regulation promulgated by the Secretary of Banking, no provision
of this section imposing any penalty shall apply, notwithstanding that after
such contract is made, such interpretation, rule or regulation is amended,
rescinded or determined by judicial or other authority to be invalid for any
reason.

Section 7. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 2nd day of July, A.D. 1996.
THOMAS J. RIDGE



