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No. 2002-105

AN ACT

SB 1225

AmendingTitle 75 (Vehicles)of the PennsylvaniaConsolidatedStatutes,further
providing for definitions, for vehiclesnot requiringcertificateof title andfor
vehicles exempt from registration; providing for electric personal assistive
mobility devices; and further providing for driving upon sidewalk and for
inspectionstationcertificatesof appointment.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealthof Pennsylvaniahereby

enactsasfollows:

Section 1. Thedefinition of “motor vehicle” in section102of Title75 of
the PennsylvaniaConsolidatedStatutesis amendedand the section is
amendedby addinga definitiontoread:
§ 102. Definitions.

Subject to additional defmitionscontainedin subsequentprovisionsof
this title which are applicable to specific provisions of this title, the
following wordsandphraseswhenusedin this title shall have,unlessthe
context clearly indicatesotherwise,the meaningsgiven to them in this
section:

“Electric personal assistivemobility device” or “EPAMD.” A self-
balancing,two-nontandem-wheeleddevicedesignedto transportonly one
personwith an electricpropulsionsystem.

“Motor vehicle.” A vehicle which is self-propelled except [one] an
electricpersonalassistivemobility device or a vehiclewhich is propelled
solelyby humanpoweror by electricpowerobtainedfrom overheadtrolley
wires, but not operateduponrails.

Section2. Sections1102 and 1302 of Title 75 areamendedby adding
paragraphsto read:
§ 1102. Vehiclesnot requiringcertificateof title.

No certificateof title is requiredfor:

(12) An electricpersonalassistivemobility device.
§ 1302. Vehiclesexemptfrom registration.

Thefollowing typesof vehiclesareexemptfrom registration:

(20) An electricpersonalassistivemobility device.
Section3. Chapter35 of Title 75 is amendedby addingasubchapterto

read:
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SUBCHAPTERE
ELECTRIC PERSONALASSISTIVE MOBILITY DEVICES

Sec.
3581. Equipment.
3582. Pedalcyclehelmetsfor certainpersons.
3583. EPAMD prohibitedon freeways.

§ 3581. Equipment.
(a) Exemption.—Electricalpersonalassistivemobility devicesshall be

exemptedfrom thevehicleequipmentrequirementsin Chapters41 (relating
to equipment standards),43 (relating to lighting equipment) and 45
(relating to other requiredequipment)anddepartmentregulationsrelating
to thosesections.

(b) Lamps and reflectors.—Every EPAMD when operated on a
sidewalk, sidewalk areaor highwaybetweensunsetand sunrise shall be
equippedon the front with a lamp which emits a beam of white light
intendedto illuminate the EPAMD operator’s path and visible from a
distanceof atleast500feet in front, aredreflector facingto therearwhich
is visible atleast500feetto therearandareflectoron eachside.
§ 3582. Pedalcyclehelmetsfor certainpersons.

(a) Generalrule.—A child under 12 years of agemay not operatean
EPAMD unless the personis wearing a pedalcyclehelmet meeting the
requirementsof section3510 (relating to pedalcyclehelmetsfor certain
persons).

(b) Waiver of fine.—If apersonreceivesacitation issuedby the proper
authority for violation of subsection(a), a district justice, magistrateor
judge shall dismiss the chargesif the person prior to or at his hearing
displays evidence of acquisition of a helmet meeting the standards
prescribedin subsection(a) to the district justice, magistrateor judge.
Sufficient evidenceshall include areceiptmailed to the appropriatecourt
officer whichevidencespurchaseor transferof sucha helmetfrom another
helmetowner,evidencedbyanotarizedletter.

(c) Exemption.—Thissectionshall not apply to a child under 12 years
of agewho can producea statementfrom the family’s churchauthorities
attesting that it is againstthe tenetsof the family’s religion to wear a
helmet.

(d) Civil actions.—Inno eventshalla violation or allegedviolation of
subsection(a) beusedasevidencein atrial of anycivil action,iior shallany
jury in a civil action be instructedthat anyconductdid constituteor could
be interpretedby thejury toconstituteaviolation of subsection(a),norshall
failure to useapedalcyclehelmetbeconsideredas contributorynegligence,
nor shallfailure to useapedalcyclehelmetbeadmissibleasevidencein the
trial of anycivil action.

(e) Penalty.—Notwithstandingany other provisions of law, any
violation of subsection(a) is punishableby afine, including all penalties,
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assessmentsandcourtcostsimposedon the convictedperson,not to exceed
$25. Theparentor legalguardianhavingcontrol or custodyof achild under
12 years of age whose conductviolates this section shall be jointly and
severallyliablewith thepersonfor theamountof thefine imposed.

(t) Defmitions.—Asusedin thissection,the term“wearing apedalcycle
helmet” meanshaving a pedalcyclehelmet of good fit fastenedsecurely
upontheheadwith thehelmetstraps.
§ 3583. EPAMD prohibitedon freeways.

No personshalloperatean EPAMID on afreeway.
Section4. Sections3703and4724of Title 75 areamendedto read:

§ 3703. Driving upon sidewalk.
(a) Generalrule.—Exceptasprovidedin subsection(b) or(c), noperson

shalldriveany vehicleexceptahuman-poweredvehicleupona sidewalkor
sidewalk area except upon a permanentor duly authorized temporary
driveway.

(b) Certainmobility-relateddevicesfor personswith disabilities.—Any
municipalitymaypermit the operationof a self-propelledwheelchairor an
electricalmobility deviceon a sidewalk or sidewalkarea for the specific
purposeof giving personswith mobility-relateddisabilitiesthecapabilityof
transportingthemselves.The municipalitymayimposesuch restrictionsas
are necessaryto protectthe interestsof pedestriansand othersusing the
sidewalkor sidewalkarea.

(c) Electric personal assistivemobility device (EPAMD).—Unless
prohibited by ordinance,a municipalityshall permit the operation of an
electricpersonalassistivemobility device on a sidewalkor sidewalkarea.
A municipality may impose such restrictions as may be necessaryto
protect the interests of pedestriansand others using the sidewalk or
sidewalkarea.
§ 4724. Suspensionof certificatesof appointment.

(a) Generalrule.—Thedepartmentshall superviseandinspectofficial
inspectionstationsandmaysuspendthecertificateof appointmentissuedto
astation whichit finds is not properlyequippedor conductedor whichhas
violated or failed to comply with any of the provisionsof this chapteror
regulationsadoptedby thedepartment.Thedepartmentshallmaintainalist
of all stationsholding certificates of appointmentand of those whose
certificatesof appointmenthavebeensuspended.Any suspendedcertificate
of appointmentand all unusedcertificatesof inspectionshall be returned
immediatelyto thedepartment.

(b) Judicial review.—Anypersonwhosecertificateof appointmenthas
beendeniedor suspendedunder this chaptershallhavetheright to appeal
to thecourtvestedwith jurisdictionof suchappealsby or pursuantto Title
42 (relating to judiciary andjudicial procedure).The court shall set the
matterfor hearingupon60 days’ written noticeto the departmentandtake
testimonyandexamineinto thefactsof the caseanddeterminewhetherthe
petitioner is entitled to a certificate of appointment or is subject to
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suspensionof the certificateof appointmentunder the provisionsof this
chapter.

(c) Limitation.—The departmentprior to suspendinga cert(ficate of
appointmentof an official inspectionstation on the groundsof careless
recordkeepingor the court on appealfrom a suspensionmay considerthe
volume of inspectionsconductedby the inspectionstationandprovideto
the owneror operatorof the inspectionstation the opportunity to correct
any inaccurate records.

Section5. Thisact shalltakeeffectin 60 days.

APPROVED—The4thdayof July, A.D. 2002.

MARK S. SCHWEIKER


