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No. 2002-199

AN ACT
SB 463

Amending Title 30 (Fish) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
defining “passenger-carrying boat™; requiring the establishment of a mandatory
boater education program; and fixing additional fees.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The definition of “passenger-carrying boat” in section 102 of
Title 30 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:

§ 102. Definitions.

Subject to additional definitions contained in subsequent provisions of
this title which are applicable to specific provisions of this title, the
following words and phrases when used in this title shall have, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in this
section:
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“Passenger-carrying boat.” Any boat that carries more than six
passengers either for hire or as part of a commercial enterprise. The
following persons shall not be counted in determining the number of
passengers: '

(1) The owner or his representative.

(2) The operator and bona fide members of the crew who have
contributed no consideration for their carriage and who may be paid for
their services.

(3) Any guest on board a boat used exclusively for pleasure purposes
who has not contributed any consideration, directly or indirectly, for his
carriage when there are no other passengers on board who have paid any
such consideration and when only the owner or owners of the boat are
bearing the costs of operating the boat.

The term shall not include any boat operated exclusively as a part of a
cavern operation.
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Section 2. Section 5103 of Title 30 is amended to read:

§ 5103. Boating education [programs].

[The commission may inaugurate a comprehensive boating safety
and boating educational program and seek the cooperation of organized
boaters, the Federal Government and other states. The commission may
issue safety certificates to adults and minors who complete courses in
boating safety education.]

(a) Mandaiory program of boater education.—Except as otherwise
provided in this section, on or after January 1, 2003, any person born on
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or after January 1, 1982, shall not operate, on the waters of this
Commonwealth, a motorboat without first obtaining a certificate of
boating safety education.

(b) Compliance.—Any person who is subject to the provisions of
subsection (a) shall:

(1) possess the certificate of boating safety education when
operating a vessel on waters of this Commonwealth; and

(2) show the certificate on the demand of a waterways conservation
officer or other law enforcement officer.

(c) Exemptions..——The following persons are exempt from the
requirements of this section:

(1) A person who is a resident of another state and who is visiting
this Commonwealth for 60 days or less in a motorboat that is
registered in another state if:

(i) the person was born before January 1, 1982; or
(i) the person has been issued a license or boating safety
education certificate in accordance with the provisions of

subsection (i).

(2) A person who is visiting this Commonwealth for 90 days or less
in a motorboat from a country other than the United States.

(3) A landowner or a member of the landowner’s immediate family
operating a motorboat on waters located wholly within property owned
by the landowner where there is no publicly owned or publicly
maintained access to those waters. .

(4) A person who operates a motorboat powered by an electric
motor or by an internal combustion motor of 25 horsepower or less.

(5) Any other person exempted by regulation of the commission.

(d) Operational requirements.—When a motorboat is operated for
pleasure on the waters of this Commonwealth, the operator of that vessel
shall:

(1) possess the certificate of boating safety education; or

(2) be exempt from the certification requirements of subsection (a).
(e) Commission duties.—The commission shall:

(1) Promulgate regulations that establish criteria for a course of
instruction in boating safety education.

(2) Administer a written or verbal test when appropriate.

(3) Coordinate a Statewide program of boating safety instruction
and certification at such times and locations to make courses
convenient for residents of various counties and to maximize
attendance.

(4) Issue a certificate of boating safety education to a person who:

(i) passes a commission-approved course in boating safety
education; and
(ii) pays the fee set forth in section 5104 (relating to fees).
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(5) Provide boating safety education materials to persons who plan
to take the boating safety course.

(6) Replace a lost or destroyed certificate.

(7) Establish reasonable charges for persons who take boating
safety education courses conducted by the commission or commission
volunteers. Such charges shall bear a reasonable relationship to the
costs of providing the course and the course materials.

() Additional sources of instruction.—If approved by the commission,
any of the following may offer the course of instruction in boating safety
education:

(1) The commission.

(2) The United States Coast Guard Auxiliary.

(3) The United States Power Squadron.

(4) A political subdivision.

(5) A municipal corporation.

(6) An agency.

(7) A public or nonpublic school.

(8) A group.

(9) A firm.

(10) An association.

(11) Any other person.

(8) Validity of certificate.—The certificate of boating safety
education, once issued, shall be valid for the lifetime of the person to
whom it was issued.

(h) Temporary certificates.—The commission or its designee may
issue a 60-day temporary certificate of boating safety education to a
person who has successfully completed a boating safety education course
approved by the commission.

(i) Other valid documentation.——~

(1) In lieu of a certificate of boating safety education issued by the
Commonwealth, a certificate of boating safety education issued in
another state in accordance with criteria of the National Association of
State Boating Law Administrators is sufficient to comply with the
requirements of this section.

(2) In lieu of a certificate of boating safety education issued by the
commission, a license issued by the United States Coast Guard is
sufficient to comply with the requirements of this section. :
() Penalty.—On or after January 1, 2003, a person who is subject to

the provisions of subsection (a) and who operates, on waters of this
Commonwealth, a motorboat in violation of any requirement of this
Section commits a summary offense of the second degree.

(k) Others subject to mandatory education
requirements.—Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, it is
unlawful for a person to operate a watercraft on the waters of this
Commonwealth without completing a boat safety education course when:
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(1) A person convicted on one or more boating violations
concerning the operation of, or safety equipment on, a watercraft is
required as a condition of probation or sentencing to successfully
complete a boating safety education course that is offered or approved
by the commission.

(2) A person is convicted of any of the following boating safety
violations in the operation of a watercraft:

(i) negligent operation;

(ii) reckless operation; or

(iii) operating under the influence of alcohol, any controlled
substance, combination of controlled substances or combination of
controlled substances and alcohol in violation of this title.

(3) If a person convicted of the offenses described in paragraph (1)
or (2) had, prior to the date of the conviction, previously completed a
boating safety education course or obtained a boating safety
certificate, such person shall, prior to operating a watercraft on the
waters of this Commonwealth, be required to complete an additional
boating safety education course.

Section 3. Section 5104 introductory paragraph of Title 30 is amended
and the section is amended by adding paragraphs to read:

§ 5104. Fees.

The following fees apply to registrations, licenses, permits and capacity
plates and certificates issued under this part and the fees collected shall be
deposited in the State Treasury in the Boat Fund:
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(10) Boating safety education certificate, $10.

(11) Replacement boating safety education certificate, $5.

Section 4. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED-—The 9th day of December, A.D. 2002.
MARK S. SCHWEIKER



