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No. 2011-30 

AN ACT 
HB38 

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania 
Consolidated Statutes, in governance of the system, further providing for 
establishment of fees and charges and for costs; in facilities and supplies, further 
providing for surcharge; and, in budget and finance, further providing for 
Commonwealth portion of fines. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section 1. Sections 1725(c)(3)(ii), 1725. l(a)(4) and (7), 3571(c)(2)(vi) 
and (vii) and 3733.l(a)(l) of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated 
Statutes are amended to read: 
§ 1725. Establishment of fees and charges. 

(c) Counties of the first class.-
* * * 
(3) The fees to be received by the prothonotary on behalf of the 

Philadelphia Municipal Court in civil actions shall be as follows: 
* * * 
(ii) Commencement of civil actions $2,001 to 

[$10,000) $12,000 ............................................................. . $40.00 
* * * 

§ 1725.1. Costs. 
(a) Civil cases.-Subject to subsection (f), the costs to be charged by 

magisterial district judges in every civil case, except as otherwise provided 
in this section, shall be as follows: 

* * * 
(4) Actions involving more than $4,000 but not more than $75.00 

[$8,000] $12,000 ..................................................................... . 
* * * 
(7) Landlord-tenant actions involving more than $4,000 

but not more than [$8,000) $12,000 ....................................... . 
* * * 

§ 3571. Commonwealth portion of fines, etc. 
* * * 
(c) Costs in magisterial district judge proceedings.-

* * * 
(2) Amounts payable to the Commonwealth: 

* * * 
(vi) Assumpsit or trespass involving: 

$75.00 

(A) $500 or less.................................................... $12.50 
(B) More than $500 but not more than 

$2,000........................................................................... $20.00 
(C) More than $2,000 but not. more than 

$4,000........................................................................... $30.00 
(D) More than $4,000 but not more than ($8,000] 
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$12,000......................................................................... $50.00 
(vii) Landlord-tenant proceeding involving: 

(A) $2,000 or less ............... ~................................. $20.00 
(B) More than $2,000 but not more than 

$4,000........................................................................... $25.00 
(C) More than $4,000 but not more than [$8,000) 

$12,000......................................................................... $35.00 

* * * 
§ 3733.1. Surcharge. 

(a) Imposition of surcharge.-In addition to each fee imposed under 
section 3733(a.l) (relating to deposits into account), except as set forth in 
subsection (b), the following apply: 

(1) A surcharge of $11.25 shall be charged and collected [for a 
period of 25 months beginning on the effective date of this section]. 
This paragraph shall expire December 31, 2014. 

* * * 
Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately. 

APPROVED-The 7th day of July, A.D. 2011 

TOM CORBETT 


