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No. 2012-114 

AN ACT 
HB 2199 

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further 
providing for schedule of convictions and points; and providing for obedience to 
traffic-control devices warning of hazardous conditions. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section 1. Section l 535(a) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated 
Statutes is amended to read: 
§ 1535. Schedule of convictions and points. 

(a) General rule.-A point system for driver education and control is 
hereby established which is related to other provisions for use, suspension 
and revocation of the operating privilege as specified under this title. Every 
driver licensed in this Commonwealth who is convicted of any of the 
following offenses shall be assessed points as of the date of violation m 
accordance with the following schedule: 

Section Number Offense Points 
1512 Violation of restriction on 

driver's license. 2 
1571 Violation concerning license. 3 
3102 Failure to obey policeman or 

authorized person. 2 
3111.J Obedience to traffic-control 

devices warning of hazardous 
conditions. 2 

3112(a)(3)(i) Failure to stop for a red light. 3 
or (ii) 
3114(a)(l) Failure to stop for a flashing 

red light. 3 
3302 Failure to yield half of road-

way to oncoming vehicle. 3 
3303 Improper passing. 3 
3304 Other improper passing. 3 
3305 Other improper passing. 3 
3306(a)(l) Other improper passing. 4 
3306(a)(2) Other improper passing. 3 
3306(a)(3) Other improper passing. 3 
3307 Other improper passing. 3 
3310 Following too closely. 3 
3321 Failure to yield to driver on the 

right at intersection. 3 
3322 Failure to yield· to oncoming 

driver when making left tum. 3 
3323(b) Failure to stop for stop sign. 3 
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3323(c) 
3324 

3332 
3341 (a) 

334l(b) 

3342(b) or (e) 

3344 

3345(a) 

3361 
3362 

3365(b) 

3365(c) 

3542(a) 

3547 

3549(a) 

3702 
3714(a) 
3745 

* * * 

LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

Failure to yield at yield sign. 
Failure to yield when entering 
or crossing roadway between 
intersections. 
Improper turning around. 
Failure to obey signal indi­
cating approach of train. 
Failure to comply with cross­
ing gate or barrier. 

(and 30 days' suspension) 
Failure to stop at railroad 
crossings. 
Failure to stop when entering 
from alley, driveway or build­
mg. 
Failure to stop for school bus 
with flashing red lights. 

(and 60 days' suspension) 
Driving too fast for conditions. 
Exceeding maximum speed.­
Over Limit: 

6-10 2 
11-15 3 
16-25 4 
26-30 5 
31-over 5 

(and departmental hearing 
and sanctions provided 
under section 1538(d)) 

Exceeding special speed limit 
in school zone. 

(and 60 days' suspension 
for a second or subsequent 
offense) 

Exceeding special speed limit 
for trucks on downgrades. 
Failure to yield to pedestrian 
in crosswalk. 
Failure to yield to pedestrian 
on sidewalk. 
Failure to yield to blind 
pedestrian. 
Improper backing. 
Careless driving. 
Leaving scene of accident in­
volving property damage only. 

3 

3 
3 

2 

4 

4 

3 

5 

2 

3 

3 

2 

3 

3 
3 
3 

4 

Section 2. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read: 
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§ 3111.1. Obedience to traffic-control devices warning of hazardous 
conditions. 

(a) General Rule.-The driver of any vehicle, unless otherwise directed 
by an emergency service responder, shall not drive past, around or through 
a sign or traffic-control device closing a road or highway due to an 
existing or potentially hazardous condition. 

(b) Penalty.-Any person violating this section commits a summary 
offense and shall, upon conviction, pay a fine of not more than $250 
unless the violation results in the utilization of the services of a first 
responder or emergency medical or rescue personnel, including towing 
services, in which case the fine shall be increased to not less than $250 nor 
more than $500. 

(c) Emergency response costs.-A person convicted of violating this 
section shall, in addition to any other sentence imposed or restitution 
ordered under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9721(c) (relating to sentencing generally), be 
sentenced to pay restitution in an amount equal to the cost of fire and 
police response and emergency medical service or emergency preparedne_ss 
response resulting from the offense. 

Section 3. This act shall take effect in 60 days. 

APPROVED-The 5th day of July, A.D. 2012 

TOM CORBETT 


