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HB 1201 

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania 
Consolidated Statutes, in depositions and witnesses, further providing for 
declaration of policy, for definitions and for victims of sexual or physical abuse; 
and in post-trial matters, further providing for report by district attorney. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section 1. Section 5981 of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated 
Statutes is amended to read: 
§ 5981. Declaration of policy. 

In order to promote the best interests of the [children of this 
Commonwealth] residents of this Commonwealth who are under 18 years 
of age, especially those [children] who are material witnesses to or victims 
of crimes, the General Assembly declares its intent, in this subchapter, to 
provide [these children], where necessity is shown, procedures which will 
protect them during their involvement with the criminal justice system. The 
General Assembly urges the news media to use significant restraint and 
caution in revealing the identity or address of children who are victims of or 
witnesses to crimes or other information that would reveal the name or 
address of the child victim or witness. 

Section 2. Section 5982 of Title 42 is amended by adding a definition to 
read: 
§ 5982. Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall have 
the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

* * * 
"Minor." An individual who, at the time of the commission of the 

offense involving sexual or physical abuse, is under 18 years of age. 

* * * 
Section 3. Sections 5988 and 9561(b) of Title 42 are amended to read: 

§ 5988. Victims of sexual or physical abuse. 
(a) Release of name prohibited.-Notwithstanding any other provision of 

law to the contrary, in a prosecution involving [a child victim of sexual or 
physical abuse, unless the court otherwise orders, the name of the child 
victim shall not be disclosed by officers or employees of the court to the 
public, and any records revealing the name of the child victim will not 
be open to public inspection.] a minor victim of sexual or physical abuse, 
the name of the minor victim shall not be disclosed by officers or 
employees of the court to the public, and any records revealing the name of 
the minor victim shall not be open to public inspection. 
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(a.l) Application ofsection.-The provisions of this section shall apply 
to a prosecution involving a minor victim regardless of the date of the 
commencement of the prosecution. 

(a.2) Waiver.-A minor victim who is 18 years of age or older at the 
time of the commencement of the prosecution may waive the provisions of 
this section and allow the court to release the name of the minor victim. 
The court shall develop procedures to implement the provisions of this 

subsection. 
(b) Penalty.-Any person who violates this section commits a 

misdemeanor of the third degree. 
§ 9561. Report by district attorney. 

* * * 
(b) Definitions.-The following words and phrases when used in this 

section shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Health care professional." A person licensed, certified or registered by 
any of the State boards as defined in this section. 

"State board." Includes the following departmental administrative boards 
within the Department of State: the State Board of Medicine, the State Board 
of Osteopathic Medicine, the State Board of Dentistry, the State Board of 
Podiatry, the State Board of Pharmacy, the State Board of Nursing, the State 
Board of Physical Therapy, the State Board of Occupational Therapy 
Education and Licensure, the State Board of [Optometrical Examiners, the 
State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, the State 
Board of Chiropractic Examiners, the State Board of Psychologist 
Examiners and the State Board of Examiners in Speech-Language and 
Hearing.] Optometry, the State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, the State Board of Chiropractic, the State Board of 
Psychology, the State Board of Massage Therapy, the State Board of 
Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional 
Counselors, the State Board of Examiners in Speech-Language and 
Hearing and any other health-related administrative board which issues 
professional or occupational licenses within the Department of State. 

Section 4. This act shall take effect in 60 days. 

APPROVED-The 18th day ofDecember, A.D. 2013 

TOM CORBETT 
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