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Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania

Consolidated Statutes, reforming remedies for victims of sexual abuse:

in limitation of time, further providing for six months limitation, for infancy,
insanity or imprisonment, for no limitation applicable and for other offenses;

in matters affecting government units, further providing for exceptions to
sovereign immunity, for limitations on damages in actions against Commonwealth
parties, for exceptions to governmental immunity and for limitations on damages
in actions against local parties;

in sentencing alternatives, providing for counseling services for victims of
sexual abuse; and

transferring money from the General Fund into the Crime Victim's
Compensation Fund.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 5522 of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended by adding a subsection to read:
§ 5522. Six months limitation.

* ok %

(c) Exception.—This section shall not apply to any civil action or
proceeding brought under section 8522(b)(10) (relating to exceptions to
sovereign immunity) or 8542(b)(9) (relating to exceptions to governmental
immunity).

Section 2. Section 5533(b)(2) of Title 42 is amended to read:

§ 5533. Infancy, insanity or imprisonment.

* % %

(b) Infancy.—
* %k %k
(2) (1) If an individual entitled to bring a civil action arising from
[childhood] sexual abuse is under 18 years of age at the time the
cause of action accrues, the individual shall have a period of [12] 37
years after attaining 18 years of age in which to commence an action
for damages regardless of whether the individual files a criminal
complaint regarding the [childhood] sexual abuse.

(i.1) If an individual entitled to bring a civil action arising from
sexual abuse is at least 18 and less than 24 years of age at the time
the cause of action occurs, the individual shall have until attaining
30 years of age to commence an action for damages regardless of
whether the individual files a criminal complaint regarding the
sexual abuse.

(ii) For the purposes of this paragraph, the term ["childhood
sexual abuse"] "sexual abuse' shall include, but not be limited to,
the following sexual activities between [a minor] an individual who
is 23 years of age or younger and an adult, provided that the
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individual bringing the civil action engaged in such activities as a
result of forcible compulsion or by threat of forcible compulsion
which would prevent resistance by a person of reasonabie resolution:
(A) sexual intercourse, which includes penetration, however
slight, of any body part or object into the sex organ of another;
(B) deviate sexual intercourse, which includes sexual
intercourse per os or per anus; and
(C) indecent contact, which includes any touching of the
sexual or other intimate parts of the person for the purpose of
arousing or gratifying sexual desire in either person.

(iii) For purposes of this paragraph, "forcible compulsion" shall
have the meaning given to it in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3101 (relating to
definitions).

Section 3. Section 5551 of Title 42 is amended by adding a paragraph to
read:
§ 5551. No limitation applicable.
A prosecution for the following offenses may be commenced at any time:
* %k Xk

(7) An offense under any of the following provisions of 18 Pa.C.S.
(relating to crimes and offenses), or a conspiracy or solicitation to
commit an offense under any of the following provisions of 18 Pa.C.S.
if the offense results from the conspiracy or solicitation, if the victim
was under 18 years of age at the time of the offense:

Section 3011(b) (relating to trafficking in individuals).

Section 3012 (relating to involuntary servitude) as it relates to
sexual servitude.

Section 3121 (relating to rape).

Section 3122.1 (relating to statutory sexual assault).

Section 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual

intercourse). .

Section 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault).
Section 3124.2 (relating to institutional sexual assault),
Section 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault).
Section 4302 (relating to incest).
Section 4. Section 5552(b.1), (¢)(3) and (c.1) of Title 42 are amended and
subsection (c) is amended by adding a paragraph to read:
§ 5552. Other offenses.

* ¥ %

(b.1) Major sexual offenses.—[A] Except as provided in section 5551(7)
(relating to no limitation applicable), a prosecution for any of the following
offenses under Title 18 must be commenced within 12 years after it is
committed:

Section 3121 (relating to rape).

Section 3122.1 (relating to statutory sexual assault).

Section 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse).
Section 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault).

Section 3124.2 (relating to institutional sexual assault).

Section 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault).

Section 4302 (relating to incest).
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Section 6312 (relating to sexual abuse of children).
(c) Exceptions.—If the period prescribed in subsection (a), (b) or (b.1)
has expired, a prosecution may nevertheless be commenced for:
% % %

(3) Any sexual offense committed against a minor who is less than 18
years of age any time up to the later of the period of limitation provided
by law after the minor has reached 18 years of age or the date the minor
reaches [50] 55 years of age. As used in this paragraph, the term "sexual
offense" means a crime under the following provisions of Title 18
[(relating to crimes and offenses):

Section 3011(b) (relating to trafficking in individuals).

Section 3012 (relating to involuntary servitude) as it relates to
sexual servitude.

Section 3121 (relating to rape).

Section 3122.1 (relating to statutory sexual assault).

Section 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual
intercourse).

Section 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault).

Section 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault).] or a
conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense under any of the
Sfollowing provisions of Title 18 if the offense results from the
conspiracy or solicitation:

Section 3126 (relating to indecent assault).

Section 3127 (relating to indecent exposure).

[Section 4302 (relating to incest).]

Section 4304 (relating to endangering welfare of children).

Section 6301 (relating to corruption of minors).

Section 6312(b) (relating to sexual abuse of children).

Section 6320 (relating to sexual exploitation of children).

(3.1) Any sexual offense committed against an individual who is 23
years of age or younger any time up to the later of the period of
limitation provided by law after the individual has reached 24 years of
age or 20 years after the date of the offense. As used in this paragraph,
the term '"sexual offense” means a crime under the following
provisions of Title 18 or a conspiracy or solicitation to commit an
offense under any of the following provisions of Title 18 if the offense
results from the conspiracy or solicitation:

Section 3011(a) (relating to trafficking in individuals) as it
relates to sexual servitude.

Section 3012 (relating to involuntary servitude) as it relates to
sexual servitude.

Section 3121(a) and (b).

Section 3123(a).

Section 3124.1.

Section 3124.2(a) and (b).

Section 3125(a).

Section 3126.

Section 3127,

Section 4302(a).
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* %k X%

(c.1) Genetic identification evidence.—Notwithstanding any provision of
law to the contrary, if evidence of a misdemeanor sexual offense set forth in
subsection (c)(3) or (3.1) or a felony offense is obtained containing human
deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) which is subsequently used to identify an
otherwise unidentified individual as the perpetrator of the offense, the
prosecution of the offense may be commenced within the period of
limitations provided for the offense or one year after the identity of the
individual is determined, whichever is later.

* ¥k ok

Section 5. Section 8522(b) of Title 42 is amended by adding a paragraph
to read:
§ 8522. Exceptions to sovereign immunity.

* % %

(b) Acts which may impose liability.—The following acts by a
Commonwealth party may result in the imposition of liability on the
Commonwealth and the defense of sovereign immunity shall not be raised to
claims for damages caused by:

* ¥ %k

(10) Sexual abuse.—Conduct which constitutes an offense
enumerated under section 5551(7) (relating to no limitation applicable)
if the injuries to the plaintiff were caused by actions or omissions of the
Commonwealth party which constitute negligence.

Section 6. Section 8528(c)(5) of Title 42 is amended and the section is
amended by adding a subsection to read:
§ 8528. Limitations on damages.

* ok ok

(c) Types of damages recoverable—Damages shall be recoverable only
for:
* K ok

(5) Property losses, except that property losses shall not be
recoverable in claims brought pursuant to section 8522(b)(5) (relating to
[potholes and other dangerous conditions] exceptions to sovereign
immunity).

(d) Exclusions.—This section shall not apply to damages awarded
under section 8522(b)(10).

Section 7. Section 8542(b) of Title 42 is amended by adding a paragraph
to read:
§ 8542. Exceptions to governmental immunity.

* %k %

(b) Acts which may impose liability.—The following acts by a local
agency or any of its employees may result in the imposition of liability on a
local agency:

* %k ok

(9) Sexual abuse—Conduct which constitutes an offense
enumerated under section 5551(7) (relating to no limitation applicable)
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if the injuries to the plaintiff were caused by actions or omissions of the
local agency which constitute negligence.
* %k ¥

Section 8. Section 8553 of Title 42 is amended by adding a subsection to
read:
§ 8553. Limitations on damages.

* % 3k

(e) Exclusions.—This section shall not apply to damages awarded
under section 8542(b)(9) (relating to exceptions to governmental
immunity).

Section 8.1. Title 42 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 9730.3. Counseling services for victims of sexual abuse.

(a) Eligibility.—

(1) Subject to subsection (b), the office shall provide, for an
individual who is a direct victim of sexual abuse, counseling services

. related to the sexual abuse. Payment shall be made directly to the health
care provider that provides the services from the Crime Victim's

Compensation Fund. The office shall determine the form and manner

Jor receiving payment under this paragraph.

(2) Eligibility under paragraph (1) is not affected by an adverse
determination under section 704(c) or 707(a) of the act of November 24,
1998 (P.L.882, No.111), known as the Crime Victims Act.

(B) Value of services.—

(1) The total value of services under subsection (a)(1) shall not
exceed:

(i) 35,000 if the individual was, at the time of the sexual abuse,
18 years of age or older; and

(i) $10,000 if the individual was, at the time of the sexual
abuse, under 18 years of age.

(2) The value of services under subsection (a)(1) shall be reduced
by the amount of any of the following payments received or to be
received by the individual for counseling subject to subsection (a) as a
result of the sexual abuse:

(i) Payment by the individual who commttted the sexual abuse.

(ii) Payment under an insurance program or a health and
welfare program. This subparagraph includes a program mandated
by law. :

(iii) Payment under a contract of insurance in which the
individual is the beneficiary.

(iv) Payment from public funds.

(v) Payment under a pension program. This subparagraph
includes a program providing for disability or survivor's benefits.

(vi) Payment by a party alleged to be responsible in whole or in
part for the sexual abuse, without regard to the party's criminal
culpability.

(vii) Payment made under the Crime Victims Act.

(c) Cooperation.—
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(1) Health care providers and insurers shall respond in writing to a
request by the office for information related to this section within 30
days of receipt of the request.

(2) Commonwealth agencies shall cooperate with the office for
information related to this section.

(3) A person that fails to respond to a request under paragraph (1)
shall be subject to a penalty of not more than $50 per day, up to and
including the date of compliance. The office may enforce this
paragraph. The office may utilize revenue under this paragraph to
implement this section or to assist local victim service agencies.

(d) Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Counseling services."" Mental health therapy performed by or under
the supervision of a health care provider.

"Direct victim." An individual against whom a crime has been
committed or attempted and who as a direct result of the criminal act or
attempt suffers physical or mental injury.

"Health care provider." Any of the following:

(1) A psychiatrist.

(2) An individual licensed under the act of March 23, 1972
(P.L.136, No.52), known as the Professional Psychologists Practice Act.

(3) A licensed professional counselor, as defined in section 3 of the
act of July 9, 1987 (P.L.220, No.39), known as the Social Workers,
Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors Act.

(4) A licensed social worker, as defined in section 3 of the Social
Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors
Act.

"Office.” The Office of Victims' Services in the Pennsylvania
Commission on Crime and Delinquency.

"Sexual abuse.” Conduct which occurs in this Commonwealth and
would constitute an offense under any of the following provisions of 18
Pa.C.S. (relating to crimes and offenses):

Section 3011(b) (relating to trafficking in individuals).

Section 3012 (relating to involuntary servitude) as it relates to
sexual servitude.

Section 3121 (relating to rape).

Section 3122.1 (relating to statutory sexual assault).

Section 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse).

Section 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault).

Section 3124.2 (relating to institutional sexual assault).

Section 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault).

Section 3126 (relating to indecent assault).

Section 3127 (relating to indecent exposure).

Section 4302 (relating to incest).

Section 6312 (relating to sexual abuse of children).

Section 8.2. The sum of $5,000,000 is transferred from the General Fund
to the Crime Victim's Compensation Fund to be used until June 30, 2021, to
implement the addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9730.3(a)(1) for counseling services
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provided after the effective date of this section. In fiscal years beginning
after June 30, 2021, the General Assembly shall appropriate money to
implement the addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 9730.3(a)(1).

Section 9. The provisions of this act are severable. If any provision of
this act is held invalid, the invalidity shall not affect other provisions or
applications of this act which can be given effect without the invalid
provision or application.

Section 10. This act shall apply as follows:

(1) The amendment or addition of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 5533(b)(2), 5551(7)
and 5552(b.1) and (c)(3) and (3.1) shall not be applied to revive an action
which has been barred by an existing statute of limitations on the effective
date of this section.

(2) The amendment of 42 Pa.C.S. § 5533(b)(2) shall apply
retroactively to civil actions where the limitations period has not expired
prior to the effective date of this section.

(3) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 5522(c)(3.1), 8522(b)(10), 8528(d),
8542(b)(9) and 8553(e) shall apply as follows:

(i) Prospectively, to a cause of action which arises on or after the
effective date of this section.

(ii) Retroactively, to a cause of action if the cause of action arose
before the effective date of this section. Nothing in this subparagraph
shall do any of the following:

(A) Revive a cause of action as to which the limitation period
has expired prior to the effective date of this section.
(B) Permit the application of the addition of 42 Pa.C.S. §§

5522(c)(3.1), 8522(b)(10), 8528(d), 8542(b)(9) and 8553(e) to a

claim:

(I) that is subject to a final judgment which, on the
effective date of this section, is not subject to appeal; or

(I) that, on the effective date of this section, has been
nonjudicially resolved in its entirety by the parties, in a form
which is enforceable.

Section 11. This act shall take effect as follows:

(1) The following provisions shall take effect immediately:

(1) Section 10 of this act.

(i) This section.

(2) The remainder of this act shall take effect upon first passage of
House Bill No. 963, Printer's No. 1130 (2019), by both chambers of the
General Assembly or immediately, whichever is later.

APPROVED—The 26th day of November, A.D. 2019

TOM WOLF



