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No 79
AN ACT

HB 978

Amending the act of June 24, 1939 (P. L. 872), entitled “An act to consolidate, amend
and revise the penal laws of the Commonwealth,” further providing for reports of
injuries by deadly weapon or criminal act and changmg penalties.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 830, act of June 24, 1939 (P. L. 872), known as
“The Penal Code,” added August 24, 1963 (P. L. 1156), is amended
to read:

Section 330. * Failure to Report Injuries by Deadly Weapon or Crim-
inal Act.— 2 (a) Any physician, including any licensed doctor of medi-
cine, licensed osteopathic physician, intern or resident, or any person
conducting, managing or in charge of any hospital or pharmacy, or in
charge of any ward or part of a hospital, to whom shall come or be
brought any person suffering from any wound or other injury inflicted
by his own act or by the act of another by means of a knife, gun,
pistol or other deadly weapon, or in any other case where injuries
have been inflicted upon any person in violation of any penal law of
this Commonwealth, shall report the same immediately, both by tele-
phone and in writing, to the chief of police or other head of the police
department of the city, borough, incorporated town or township, or
to the Pennsylvania State Police. The report shall state the name of
the injured person, if known, his whereabouts and the character and
extent of his injuries.

(b) [When the person who comes, or is brought to the physician, as
herein defined, or to the person in charge of conducting or managing
a pharmacy, or to the person in charge of any hospital or any ward
or part of a hospital, is under the age of eighteen (18) years, the
report shall be made to the presiding judge of the Juvenile Court or
the Community Child Protective Service where such court or service
exists, When there is no such court or service, the report shall be
made to the police in the same manner as required for injuries to
those eighteen (18) years of age or older, as hereinbefore set forth.

Any physician or other person who wilfully fails to make the report
required by this section is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon con-
viction thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding five
hundred dollars ($500), or to undergo imprisonment not exceeding
one (1) year, or both.] Failure to make a report required by this

section shall constitute a summary offense and shall be punishable by

a fine not exceeding three hundred dollars ($300), and in default

thereof, imprisonment not exceeding ninety (90) days.

1“(a)” in original.
2 “(a)” not in original.
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No physician or other person shall be subject to civil or criminal
liability by reason of making a report required by this section.

In any judicial proceeding resulting from a report pursuant to this
act, the physician-patient privilege shall not apply in respect to évi-
dence regarding such injuries or the cause thereof.

ArPrOVED—The 11th day of August, A. D. 1967.
RAYMOND P. SHAFER

No. 80

AN ACT
HB 992

Authorizing payment under pension, profit sharing, stock bonus, deferred compensa-
tion, disability, death benefit and other employe benefit plans to the named beneficiary
free of claims by third parties.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. The trustee, custodian or committee charged with the
responsibility of disbursing funds from any trust, custodial account,
annuity or other funding arrangement under a pension, profit sharing,
stock bonus, deferred compensation, disability, death benefit or other
plan established by an employer for the benefit of its employes and
their beneficiaries may pay funds upon the death of an employe or
former employe to the beneficiaries entitled thereto under the plan or
under a designation by the employe made pursuant to the plan and
by making such payment shall be released from all claims by third
parties. Pending such payment, such trustee, custodian or committee
shall not be required to recognize any claim by third parties or to
withhold disbursement pending the resolution of such claims, in the
absence of an appropriate court order directed to it restraining such
disbursement until further order of such court or instructing it to
make disbursement of the account as provided in the order. Any per-
son to whom payment is made shall be answerable therefor to anyone
prejudiced thereby.

Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

AprpProvEp—The 11th day of August, A. D. 1967.
RAYMOND P. SHAFER
No. 81
AN ACT

HB 1071

Amending the act of August 9, 1955 (P. L. 323), entitled “An act relating to counties
of the third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth classes; amending, revising, con-
solidating and changing the laws relating thereto,” authorizing State associations of
jury commissioners, and authorizing payments by the county pertaining to their
annual meetings.



