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in which the seat of government is or may be located in the disposition
of the business of the Commonwealth, the said judges are hereby
authorized to appoint and set the salaries of stenographers and clerks
provided the cost of such help shall not exceed the sum of seven
thousand two hundred fifty-eight dollars ($7258) per annum for each
of said judges, and a like sum of seven thousand two hundred fifty-

eight dollars ($7258) for an administrative agsistant to such courts.

Such salaries shall be paid by the Commonwealth.
Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

APProvED—The 8rd day of May, A. D, 1968.
RAYMOND P. SHAFER

No. 53
AN ACT

HB 551

Amending the act of June 24, 193% (P. L. 872), entitled “An act to consolidate,
amend and revise the penal laws of the Commonwealth,” excluding the sale of.
antigues from prohibitions against Sunday sales.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 699.10, act of June 24, 1939 (P. L. 872), known
as “The Penal Code,” amended July 19, 1967 {Act No. 51), is amended
to read:

Section 699.10. Selling Certain Personal Property on Sunday,—
Whoever engages on Sunday in the business of selling, or sells or
offers for sale, on such day, at retail, clothing and wearing apparel,
clothing accessories, furniture, housewares, home, business or office
furnishings, household, business eor office appliances, hardware, tools,
paints, building and lumber supply materials, jewelry, silverware,
watches, clocks, luggage, musical instruments and recordings, or toys,
excluding novelties, [and] souvenirs and antiques, shall, upon convie-

tion thereof in a summary proceeding for the first offense, be sen-
tenced to pay a fine of not exceeding one hundred dollars ($100), and
for the second or any subseguent offense committed within one year
after conviction for the first offense, be sentenced to pay a fine of not
exceeding two hundred dollars ($200) or undergo imprisonment not
exceeding thirty days in default thereof, No individual who by reason
of his religious conviction observes a day other than Sunday as his
day of rest and actually refrains from labor or secular business on
that day shall be prohibited from selling the above enumerated
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articles on Sunday in a business establishment which is closed on
such other day.

The term “a day other than Sunday” as used herein shall mean
any consecutive twenty-four hour period.

Ags uged in this gection, the term “antique” shall mean an item

over one hundred years old, or ethnographic objects made in tradi-

tional aberiginal styles and made at least fifty vears prior to their sale.

Each separate sale or offer to sefl shall congtitute a separate offense.

Information charging violations of this section shall be brought
within seventy-two hours after the commisgion of the alleged cffense
and not thereafter.

APPROVED—The 3rd day of May, A. D. 1968.
RAYMOND P, SHAFER

No. 54
AN ACT

HB 1481

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), entitied “An_act consolidating and
revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial Re-
sponsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use of
vehicles and tractors,” increasing the penalty for violations of inspection station
regulations.

The General Assembly of the Commonweaith of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. The penalty clause of section 819, act of April 29, 1959
(P. L. 58), known as “The Vehicle Code,” is amended to read:

Section 819, Official Inspection Stations..—

* ok  *

Penalty.—Any owner of an official inspection station who by him-
gelf, agent, servant or employe, or any manager, operator or employe
thereof, or any other person who violates any .of the provisions of this
gection, shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be
sentenced to pay a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00)
nor more than [fifty dollars ($50.00)] two hundred dollars ($200.00)

and costs of prosecution, and, in default of the payment thereof, shall
undergo imprisonment for not more than ten (10) days.
* e *

Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

ArprovED—The 8rd day of May, A. D, 1968,
RAYMOND P. SHAFER



