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Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), entitled “An act consolidating and
revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial
Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use
of vehicles and tractors,” reducing the penalties for failure to have an operator’s
license for any person, not a previous offender, who fails to renew.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The penalty clause of subsection (a) of section 601, act of
April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), known as “The Vehicle Code,” amended August
18, 1967 (Act No. 101), is amended to read:

Section 601. Operators Must Be Licensed—(a) No person, except
those expressly exempted under this act, shall operate any motor vehicle
or tractor upon a highway in this Commonwealth, unless such person has
been licensed as an operator or a learner by the department under the
provisions of this act.

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of subsection (a) of
this section, shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate for a first
offense be sentenced to pay a fine of fifty dollars ($50.00) and costs of
prosecution, and, in default of the payment thereof, shall undergo
imprisonment for not more than ten (10) days, and for the second and any
subsequent offense, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction
thereof in a court of quarter sessions, shall be sentenced to pay a fine of
not less than one hundred dollars ($100) and not more than five hundred
dollars ($500) and costs of prosecution, or to undergo imprisonment for not
more than three (3) years, or both such fine and imprisonment, and if any
person charged with violating this subsection (a) shall not have
previously violated this subsection (a), and furnishes satisfactory proof
of having held a Pennsylvania operator’s license during the preceding
operator’s license period and sixty (60) or fewer days have elapsed from
the last date for renewal, the fine shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00)
and costs of prosecution and in default of the payment thereof, shall
undergo imprisonment for not more than five (5) days. If such person
Jails to renew and more than sixty (60) days have elapsed, then such fine
shall be fifty dollars (850.00) and costs of prosecution and in default
of the payment thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not more than
ten (10) days.

No person charged with violating this subsection (a) shall be convicted
if he produces in court or at the office of the arresting officer an operator’s
license or learner’s permit theretofore issued to him and valid in
Pennsylvania at the time of his arrest.
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APPROVED—The 24th day of July, A. D. 1969.
RAYMOND P. SHAFER

The foregoing is a true and correct copy of Act of the General Assembly
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Secretary of the Commonwealth.



