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AN ACT
HB 845

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), entitled “An act consclidating and
revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial
Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use
gf vehicles and tractors,” further providing for examinations for school bus

rivers.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1.  Section 609, act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), known as “The
Vehicle Code,” is amended to read:

Section 609. Additional Examinations for School Bus Operators—
After July 1, 1950, no person shall operate a school bus carrying school
children on the highways of this Commonwealth unless he {1) shall have
satisfactorily passed an additional examination for school bus operators
within the preceding five (5) years, to be given by the secretary or such
agency as he may direct, establishing his fitness and competency to
operate such school bus with safety and his knowiedge of the laws and
regulations relating to the operation of school buses; (2) carries a currently
valid school bus operator’s certificate issued by the secretary pursuant to
such examination; (3) has satisfactorily passed a physical examination to be
given by the physician for the school district by which he is employed; and
(4) carries a certificate issued by the examining physician at the time of
examination indicating that he has passed the prescribed physical
examination, including an examination of the eyes. Such certificate issued
by the examining physician shall be valid for a period of one (1) year from
the date of its issuance. The provisions of this section shall not apply to
operators employed by any person or company subject to the jurisdiction
of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission.

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of this section,
shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay
a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and not more than fifty
dollars ($50.00) and costs of prosecution, and, in default of the payment.
thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not less than ten (10) days and not
more than twenty-five (25) days.

Section 2. This act shall take effect September 1, 1970.
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ArpnovED —The 9th day of December, A. D. 1969.
RAYMOND P. SHAFER

The foregoing is a true and correct copy of Act of the General Assembly

Qe Qe 9.

Secretary of the Commonwealth,



