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No. 153

AN ACT
HB 856

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58}, entitled “An act consolidating and
revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial
Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use
of vehicles and tractors,” further providing for signal lamps on school buses.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1.  Subsection (b) of section 840, act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58),
known as “The Vehicle Code,” is amended by adding after clause (9)
thereof, a new clause and clause (12) is amended to read:

Section 840. School Buses; Safety Requirements—
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(by No person shall own or operate a school bus carrying school
children on the highways of this Commonwealth that, in addition to the
other requirements of this act, does not conform with the following:
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(9.1) On and after September 1, 1970, every school bus shall be
equipped with two (2) alternately flashing amber signal lamps of a
sealed beam type approved by the secretary vistble from the front and
two (2) alternately flashing amber signal lamps of a sealed beam type
approved by the secretary visible from the rear to be activated not more
than three hundred (300) feet nor less than one hundred fifty (150) feet
from the bus stop and until the bus stops. Buses in operation on
September I, 1970 may install such flashing amber signal lamps in
connection with existing lighting systems. Buses hereafier
manufactured shall be so equipped.
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(12) The provisions of clause (7) of this section requiring labeling shall
apply to all buses when used exclusively for the transportation of school
children, whether or not the bus is owned and operated by a person or
company subject to the jurisdiction of the Pennsylvania Public Utility
Commission, but none of the other provisions of said clause or of [clause
(9)] clauses (9) and (9.1) of this section shall apply to buses subject to the
jurisdiction of the Public Utility Commission.
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Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of this section,
shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay
a fine of not less than ten dollars ($10.00) and not more than twenty-five
dollars ($25.00) and costs of prosecution, and, in default of the payment
thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not less than five (5) days and not
more than ten (10) days.
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Section 2. Section 1018 of the act, amended July 29, 1965 (P. L. 296),
is amended to read:

Section 1018. Passing School Buses.—

(a) On highways having roadways not divided by safety islands or
physical traffic separation installations, the driver of any vehicle
approaching or overtaking a school bus conforming to the requirements of
this act, which is being used for the transportation of children and which
has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging one or more school
children, shall stop his vehicle not less than ten (10} feet from the school
bus and keep his vehicle stationary until every school child shall have
entered the bus or every school child leaving the school bus at that place
shall have alighted and reached the side of the highway.

(b)  On highways having dual or multiple roadways separated by safety
islands or physical traffic separation installations, the driver of any vehicle
overtaking a school bus which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or
discharging one or more school children, shall stop his vehicle not less than
ten (10) feet from the school bus and keep his vehicle stationary until every
school child shall have entered the bus or until every school child leaving
the schoaol bus at that place shall have alighted and reached the side of the
highway.

{¢) Omnhighways having dual or multiple roadways separated by safety
islands or physical traffic separation installations, the driver of a vehicle
on another roadway approaching a school bus which has stopped for the
purpose of receiving or discharging any school child shall reduce the
speed of his vehicle to not more than fifteen (15) miles per hour, and shall
not resume normal speed until his vehicle has passed the school bus and
any child who may have alighted therefrom or is about to enter the school
bus.

{y Whenever a school bus is parked at the curb for the purpose of
receiving children directly from a school or discharging children to enter
a school which is located on the same side of the street as that on which
the school bus is parked, drivers of vehicles shall be permitted to pass the
school bus without stopping but at a speed not in excess of fifteen (15)
miles per hour,

(d.1}  Whenever a school bus has stopped or parked for the purpose of
receiving or discharging school children, the driver of the school bus shall
operate the alternately flashing red signal lamps from the time the school
bus has stopped until every child has reached a place of safety. If a vehicle
regularly used for the transportation of school children is not equipped
with alternately flashing red signal lamps, the driver shall, in lieu thereof,
flash the two (2) front and two (2) rear lamps simultaneously.

(d.2) The driver of every school bus being used for the
transportation of children shall start operating the alternately flashing
amber light signal lamps beginning not more than three hundred (300)
nor less than one hundred fifty (150) feet before stopping fo pick up or
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discharge school children and until the bus is stopped.

(€} The driver of any school bus being used for the transportation of
children shall not start his bus until every child who may have alighted
therefrom shall have reached a place of safety.

(f) The Secretary of Highways shall erect and maintain, at all major
vehicular entrance points into this Commonwealth from adjoining states,
signs giving notice of the provisions of this section regulating the passing
of school buses and the penalty for violation thereof.

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of this section shall,
upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay a fine
of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and costs of prosecution, and, in default of
payment thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not more than ten (10)
days.

Section 3. This act shall take effect September 1, 1971.

ArPROVED—The 9th day of December, A. D. 1969,
RAYMOND P. SHAFER

The foregoing is a true and correct copy of Act of the General Assembly

Yo Qe O

Secretary of the Commonwealth.



