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No. 157

AN ACT
SB 179

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P.L.58), entitled “An act consolidating and
revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial
Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use
of vehicles and tractors,” changing the penalty for second or subsequent
offenses of operating a motor vehicle or tractor without a license.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The penalty clause of subsection (a) of section 601, act of
April 29, 1959 (P.L.58), known as “The Vehicle Code,” amended July 24,
1969 (P.L. 199), is amended to read:

Section 601. Operators Must Be Licensed.—(a) No person, except
those expressly exempted under this act, shall operate any motor vehicle
or tractor upon a highway in this Commonwealth, unless such person has
been licensed as an operator or a learner by the department under the
provisions of this act.

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of subsection {a} of
this section, shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate for a first
offense be sentenced to pay a fine of fifty dollars ($50.00) and costs of
prosecution, and, in default of the payment thereof, shall undergo
imprisonment for not more than ten (10) days, and for the second and any
subsequent offense, shall [be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction
thereof in a court of quarter sessions, shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less
than one hundred dollars ($100) and not more than five hundred dollars ($500)
and costs of prosecution, or to undergo imprisonment for not more than three (3)
years, or both such fine and imprisonment], upon summary conviction
thereof, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than fifty dollars (350.00),
or more than three hundred dollars ($300.00), or undergo imprisonment
Jfor not more than three (3) months, or both, and if any person charged
with violating this subsection (a) shall not have previously violated this
subsection (a), and furnishes satisfactory proof of having held a
Pennsylvania operator’s license during the preceding operator’s license
period and sixty (60) or fewer days have elapsed from the last date for
renewal, the fine shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and costs of
prosecution and in default of the payment thereof, shall undergo
imprisonment for not more than five (5) days. If such person fails to renew
and more than sixty (60) days have elapsed, then such fine shall be fifty
dollars ($50.00) and costs of prosecution and in default of the payment
thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not more than ten (10) days.

No person charged with violating this subsection (a) shall be convicted
if he produces in court or at the office of the arresting officer an operator’s
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license or learner’s permit theretofore issued to him and valid in

Pennsylvania at the time of his arrest.
¥ ko

APPROVED—The 2nd day of December, A. D. 1971.
MILTON J]. SHAPP

The foregoing is a true and correct copy of Act of the General Assembly

Secretary of the Commonwealth.



