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No. 334

AN ACT
HB 89

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P.L.58, No.32), entitled “An act
consolidating and revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor
Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership,
possession and use of vehicles and tractors,” providing for special commercial
motor vehicle dealer’s plates and establishing a fee and providing penalties
therefor; and increasing and providing for certain other fees.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The act of April 29,1959 (P.L.58, No.32), known as “The
Vehicle Code,” is amended by adding a section to read:

Section 501.3. Commercial Motor Vehicle Dealer’s Plates.—Upon
application of any new or used car dealer and upon payment of afee of
three hundred dollars (3300.00) the department shall issue a special
registration plate which may only be used on a commercial motor
vehicle owned or in the possession of a dealer when such commercial
motor vehicle is being operated by a prospective purchaser who is
licensed as an operator or permittee, but such use by any one (1)
prospective purchaser shall be limited to one (1) week.

Penalty.—Any person violating the provisions of this section shall,
upon conviction in a summary proceeding, be sentenced to pay a fine of
one hundred dollars ($100.00) and in default thereof shall be.imprisened
Jor a term not exceeding five (5) days.

Section 2. Section 703 of the act is amended to read:

Section 703. Fee for Temporary Registration.—The fee for the
temporary registration of motor vehicles shall be [fifty cents (50¢)] one
dollar ($1.00) for each set issued, and dealers may purchase no less than
five (5) sets of temporary registration plates or markers at any one time.

Section 3. Section 717 of the act, amended December 7, 1965
(P.L.1045, No0.393), is amended to read:

Section 717. Operators’ Licenses; Duplicate Registration or
Operator’s License Card.—

(a) The fee for issuing an operator’s license to a person unable to
produce satisfactory proof of having held a Pennsylvania operator’s
license, during any one of the three (3) years preceding application, shall
be four dollars ($4.00), which fee shall entitle the applicant for such
license to receive a learner’s permit, valid for ninety (90) days from date
of issue, and if the examination shall have been passed during the ninety-
day period, an operator’s license for the current period not to exceed one
(1) year from date of learner’s permit or until the occurrence of the
month of birth of the operator at the discretion of the secretary. If the
application is for an operator’s license to operate a motorcycle anly, or if
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the applicant holds a valid operator’s license for the operation of motor
vehicles, other than motorcycles, and requests authorization to operate
a motorcycle, the fee shall be four dollars ($4.00).

(b) The fee for renewal of an operator’s license shall be two dollars
($2.00) per year.

(c) The fee for a duplicate operator’s license card [or duplicate
registration card] shall be [fifty cents (50¢)] two dollars ($2.00). The fee
Jor a single duplicate registration card, when ordered at the time of
vehicle registration, transfer of registration or registration renewal, shall
be one dollar (81.00); the fee for a duplicate registration card issued at
times other than the aforementioned shall be two dollars ($2.00).

(e) The fee for renewal of the initial operator’s license for the two (2)
year license period may be prorated by the secretary.

Section 4. Section 718 of the act is amended to read:

Section 718. Replacement or Substitution of Registration
Plates.—The fee for replaced, or substituted, or duplicated motor
vehicle, tractor, trailer or semi-trailer, and manufacturer’s, jobber’s or
dealer’s registration plate or plates, shall be [one dollar ($1.00)] three
dollars ($3.00), and the fee for all replaced or substituted or duplicated
motorcycle or bicycle with motor attached registration plates including
dealer’s shall be [fifty cents (50¢)] three dollars ($3.00).

Section 5. Section 720 of the act, amended August 17, 1965
(P.L.332, No.179), is amended to read:

Section 720. Certificates of Title; Duplicate Certificates of
Title.—The fee for each certificate of title shall be [two dollars ($2.00)]
Jour dollars ($4.00), except in the case where the certificate of title is
issuied in the name of a person who is possessed of current registration
plates issued to him as a dealer [or as a person entitled to registration
under clause (5) (Financer) of the definition of “Miscellaneous Motor
Vehicle Business” in section 102 of this act,] and who is possessed of a
dealer’s identification number in which case the fee shall be [fifty cents
(50¢)] two dollars (32.00). The fee for a duplicate certificate of title shall
be [one dollar ($1.00), except when issued for the purpose of recording a
lien in which case the fee shall be two dollars ($2.00)] three dollars
($3.00).

Section 6. Section 721 of the act is amended to read:

Section 721. Certified Copies of Records.—The fee for certified
‘copy, or certified photostatic copy, of any department record, which the
department is authorized by law to furnish to the public, shall be [one
dollar ($1.00)] five dollars ($5.00) for each form or supporting document
comprising such record.

Section 7. Section 722 of the act, amended December 14, 1967
(P.L.808, No.346), is amended to read:

Section 722. Fee for Inspection Certificates.—The fee for
inspection certificates shall be [fifteen cents (15¢)] twenty-five cents
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(25¢) for each certificate issued which shall be marked “Fee 25¢” in one-
quarter inch boldface type. A sum equal to the amount so realized shall
be allocated to and used solely for the promotion of highway safety.

Section 8. Section 724 of the act amended November 27, 1968
(P.L.1128, No.350), is amended to read:

Section 724. Special Hauling Permits as to Weight.—The fee for a
special hauling permit shall be {five dollars (35.00)] fifteen dollars
($15.00), plus two cents (2¢) for each ton of two thousand (2000)
pounds, or fraction thereof, of gross weight of vehicle, or combination
of vehicles or vehicle, and load, or combination of vehicles, and their
load orloads in excess of the legal gross carrying capacity for which such
vehicles or combination of vehicles have been properly registered, for
each mile, or fraction thereof, of length of haul, payable to the
authorities issuing such permit.

The annual fee for a special permit which is issued for the license year
and authorizes the operation or movement of heavy quarry equipment
and machinery, as provided for in subsection (a) of section 905, shall be
[ten dollars ($10.00)] twenty-five dollars ($25.00).

The fee for a special permit which is issued for the period between the
fifteenth day of June and the fifteenth day of December of each year and
authorizes the operation or movement of any oversize self-propelled
farm machinery, as provided for in subclause (i) of subsection (a) of
section 905, shall be ten dollars ($10.00) for farm machinery not
exceeding one hundred fifty (150) inches in width and twenty-five
dollars ($25.00) for farm machinery one hundred fifty-one (151) to one
hundred seventy-five (175) inches in width. The fee for a special permit
which is issued for an entire year and authorizes the operation or
movement of any oversize self-propelled farm machinery, as provided
for in subclause (ii) of subsection (a) of section 905, shall be twenty
dollars ($20.00) for farm machinery not exceeding one hundred fifty
(150) inches in width and fifty dollars ($50.00) for farm machinery one
hundred fifty-one (151) to one hundred seventy-five (175) inches in
width.

The fee for cancelling an unused special hauling permit shall be [one
dollar ($1.00)] five dollars ($5.00) payable to and upon the approval of
the authorities issuing the permit..

Section 9. Section 725 of the act is amended to read:

Section 725. Special Hauling Permits for Manufacturers of Certain
Vehicles.—The fee for a special permit to manufacturers of vehicles
which are not normally used on the highways of this Commonwealth,
whose place of manufacture is located within the Commonwealth, to
operate vehicles or combinations of vehicles on the public highways in
accordance with section 906 of this act, while such vehicle or
combination of vehicles is in the course of manufacture, shall be [five
dollars (35.00)] twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each trip or round trip
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within a radius of ten (10) miles from the place of manufacture. For trips
or round trips of a distance greater than within a [ten (10)] twenty-five
(25) mile radius from the place of manufacture, [an additional fee of two
dollars ($2.00) for each five (5) miles or part thereof of additional radial
distance shall be charged] the fee shall be fifty dollars ($50.00).

Section 10. Section 726 of the act, amended March 19, 1970
(P.L.193, No.75), is amended to read:

Section 726. Special Hauling Permits for Pickup and Delivery of
House Trailers from Manufacturer, Jobber or Dealer.—The fee for a
special hauling permit for pickup and delivery of a house trailer,
mobilehome or office trailer, which exceeds the maximum size or weight
prescribed in this act from the place of manufacture or from the jobber
or dealer to its destination, either by or for the manufacturer or the
purchaser, jobber or dealer, shall be [ten dollars ($10.00)] twenty dollars
($20.00) payable to the authorities issuing the permit. The authorities
shall, upon request, issue multiple permits in booklet form, the fee for
which shall be [ten dollars (310.00)] twenty dollars ($20.00) times the
number of permits in the book.

Section 11. Section 1306 of the act is amended to read:

Section 1306. Secretary May Supply Certain Information;
Fee.—The secretary may, in his discretion, supply such information
relating to encumbrances and information relating to learners’ permits,
operators’ licenses, the registration and titling of vehicles, as has not
been disposed of under the provisions of section417 of this act, and may
require the payment of a fee of [fifty cents (50¢)] one dollar fifty cents
($1.50) for each record, document or letter comprising a part thereof.

Section 12. This act shall take effect in thirty days.

APPROVED—The 30th day of December, A. D. 1974.
MILTON J. SHAPP

The foregoing is a true and correct copy of Act of the General Assembly
No. 334,

Co s T2tlr

Secretary of the Commonwealth.



