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AN ACT
SB 1050

Amending the act of April 8, 1937 (P.L.262, No.66), entitled, as amended, “An act
relating to consumer credit; requiring licenses from the Secretary of Banking;
restricting licenses to domestic business corporations; fixing minimum capital
requirements; conferring certain powers on the Secretary of Banking; limiting
interest and other charges; providing certain exemptions; and imposing
penalties,” changing the amount and duration of loans or advances.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The definition of “revolving loan account” in section 2,
section 3 and Clause E of section 13, act of April 8, 1937 (P.L.262, No.66),
known as the “Consumer Discount Company Act,” amended December
30, 1970 (P.L.959, No.301), are amended to read:

Section 2. Definitions.—The following terms shall be construed in the
act to have the following meanings, except in those instances where the
context clearly indicates otherwise:
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“Revolving loan account” means an agreement pursuant to which (i) the
licensee may permit the borrower to obtain one or a series of loans or
advances from time to time: Provided, however, That the aggregate of the
unpaid principal balances due a licensee from a consumer under this act on
any date shall not exceed the sum of [three thousand five hundred dollars
(33,500)] five thousand dollars ($5,000), (ii) the unpaid principal balances
and the appropriate charges are debited to an account, (iii) the charges for
the loan are computed on the outstanding unpaid principal balances of the
account from time to time, and (iv) the borrower has the privilege of paying
the balances in installments.

Section 3. License Required.—A. On and after the effective date of this
act, no person shall engage or continue to engage in this Commonwealth,
either as principal, employe, agent or broker, in the business of negotiating
or making loans or advances of money on credit, in the amount or value of
[three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500)] five thousand dollars
($5,000) or less, and charge, collect, contract for or receive interest,
discount, bonus, fees, fines, commissions, charges, or other considerations
which aggregate in excess of the interest that the lender would otherwise be
permitted by law to charge if not licensed under this act on the amount
actually loaned or advanced, or on the unpaid principal balances when the
contract is payable by stated installments except a domestic business
corporation organized under or existing by virtue of the Business
Corporation Law of this Commonwealth, after first obtaining a license

from the Secretary of Banking of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in
accordance with the provisions of this act.
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B. Any person who shall hold himself out as willing or able to arrange
for or negotiate such loans of [three thousand five hundred dollars
(83,500)] five thousand dollars ($5,000), or less where the interest, discount,
bonus, fees, fines, commissions or other considerations in the aggregate
exceeds the interest thdt the lender would otherwise be permitted by law to
charge or who solicits prospective borrowers of such loans of [three
thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500)] five thousand dollars ($5,000), or
less shall be deemed to be engaged in the business contemplated by this act.
The referring borrowers to a licensee shall not be deemed to be engaged in
the business contemplated by this act if no charge, no matter how
denominated, for such reference is imposed on the prospective borrower by
the person making the reference. No licensee shall knowingly include inany
loan under this act any amount which is to be paid by the borrower to
another as a fee or charge, no matter how denominated, for referring said
borrower to the licensee.

Section 13. Powers Conferred on Licensees.—In addition to the
general powers conferred upon a corporation by the Business Corporation
Law of this Commonwealth, a corporation licensed under this act shall
have power and authority:
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E. To charge, contract for, receive or collect interest or discount at a
rate not to exceed nine dollars and fifty cents ($9.50) per one hundred
dollars ($100) per year when the contract is repayable within thirty-six (36)
months from the date of making. When the contract is repayable more than
thirty-six (36) months from the date of making, the rate of interest or
discount which may be charged, contracted for, received or collected, shall
not exceed nine dollars and fifty cents ($9.50) per one hundred dollars
($100) per year for the first thirty-six (36) months of the term of the contract
plus six dollars ($6) per one hundred dollars ($100) per year for any
remainder of the term of the contract. Such interest or discount shall be
computed at the time the loan is made on the face amount of the contract
for the full term of the contract from the date of the contract to the date of
the scheduled maturity notwithstanding any requirement for installment
payments. On contracts for periods which are less or greater than one year,
or which are not a multiple of one year, the interest or discount shall be
computed proportionately on even calendar months: Provided, however,
That for a period of less than one month the computation may be based on
a full calendar month. The face amount of any note or contract made
pursuant to this act may, notwithstanding any other provision, exceed
[three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500)] five thousand dollars
($5,000) by the amount of interest or discount and service or other charge
authorized by this act collected or deducted in advance or added to the

principal at the time of making the loan.
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Section 2. Clauses A and H of section 14 of the act, amended July 30,
1963 (P.L.335, No.183), are amended to read:

Section 14. Licensee Requirements and Limitations.—A. A licensee
shall not permit any person to become obligated to such licensee as a
consumer on one or more loan contracts for anaggregate amount inexcess
of [three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500)] five thousand dollars
($5,000), exclusive of charges authorized by this act. A husband and wife
for the purposes of this limitation shall be construed as one consumer. This
limitation shall not apply to the purchase of contracts which arise from the
bona fide sale of goods or services by a seller regularly engaged in the sale of
such goods or services. This limitation shall not impair the authority of a
licensee to lend money, credit, goods or things in action, or to purchase
contracts in amounts in excess of [three thousand five hundred dollars
(33,500)] five thousand dollars (35,000) and charge, contract for, receive or
collect interest or discount at the legal rate established by the General
Usury Statute of the Commonwealth.

* Xk %k

H. A licensee shall not discount or deduct interest in advance on any
contract, for any period in excess of [four] five years and fifteen days.

Section 3. Section 18 of the act, amended July 30, 1963 (P.L.335,
No.183) and December 30, 1970 (P.L.959, No.301), is amended to read:

Section 18. Penalties.—Any person who has not obtained a license
from the Secretary of Banking of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in
accordance with the provisions of this act, and who shall engage in the
business of negotiating or making loans or advances of money or credit, in
the amount or value of [three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500)] five
thousand dollars ($5,000) or less, and charge, collect, contract for or
receive interest, discount, bonus, fees, fines, commissions, charges or other
considerations which aggregate in excess of the interest that the lender
would otherwise be permitted by law tocharge if not licensed under this act
on the amount actually loaned or advanced, or on the unpaid principal
balances when the contract is payable by stated installments, shall be guilty
of a misdemeanor, upon conviction thereof shall be sentenced to payafine
of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) or more than five thousand
dollars ($5,000), and/ or suffer imprisonment not less than six (6) months
nor more than three (3) years, in the discretion of the court.

Except as the result of an accidental bona fide error, a corporation
licensed under the provisions of thisact or any director, officer, employe or
agent who shall violate any provision of this act or shall direct or consent to
such violations, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction
thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than two thousand
dollars ($2,000) for the first offense, and for each subsequent offense a like
fine, and/ or suffer imprisonment not to exceed one year, in the discretion
of the court.

The payment of [three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500)] five
thousand dollars ($5,000) or less, in money, credit, goods or things in
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action as consideration for any sale or assignment of, or order for, the
payment of wages, salary, commissions or other compensation for services,
whether earned or to be earned, shall, for the purposes of regulation under
this act, be deemed a loan secured by such assignment, and the amount by
which such assigned compensation exceeds the amount of such
consideration actually paid shall for the purpose of regulation under this
act, be deemed interest or charges upon such loan from the date of such
payment to the date such compensation is payable. Such transactions shall
be governed by and subject to the provisions of this act.

The payment of [three thousand five hundred dollars (33,500)] five
thousand dollars ($5,000) or less, in money, credit, goods or things in
action as consideration for any sale of real or personal property which is
made on condition or agreement, expressed or implied, that such property
be sold back at a greater price shall, for the purpose of this act, be deemed
to be a loan secured by such property, and the amount by which the
repurchase price exceeds such original purchase price actually paid shall be
deemed interest or charges upon such loan from the date such original
payment is made until the date such repurchase price is paid. Such
transaction shall be governed by and subject to the provisions of thisact.

When real or personal property is pledged as security on a loan of [three
thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500)] five thousand dollars ($5,000) or
less, and the lender requires the borrower to pay for insurance thereon,
such charge for insurance shall be construed as interest under this act when
the lender has failed to have such insurance written by an insurance
company legally authorized to conduct business in Pennsylvania. When
the amount charged for such insurance is in excess of the standard cost of
similar insurance in other insurance companies legally authorized to
conduct business in Pennsylvania, the excess shall be construed as interest
under this act.

Section 4. This act shall take effect in 90 days and shall apply to
contracts made, renewed or extended thereafter.

APPROVED—The 3rd day of March, A. D. 1976.
MILTON J. SHAPP



