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No. 1977-87

AN ACT

HB 1765

Amendingtheactof May28, 1931 (P.L.202,No.121),entitled,asamended,“An act
providing for the registrationof motor boats and the regulation of vessels
operatedor navigatedupon, over or throughinland or tidal waters,whether
artificial ornatural,within theCommonwealth;conferringpowersandimposing
duties on certain police officers, the PennsylvaniaFish Commissionand the
NavigationCommissionfor the DelawareRiver and its navigabletributaries,
including the enforcementof certain existing laws; granting powers and
imposingdutiesupon the Departmentof Revenue;andprescribingpenalties,”
transferring certain powersanddutiesof the Departmentof Revenueto the
PennsylvaniaFish Commission.

The GeneralAssemblyof the Commonwealthof Pennsylvaniahereby
enactsas follows:

Section 1. Thetitle, act of May 28, 1931(P.L.202,No.121),knownas
the “Motor Boat Law,” amendedOctober 18, 1973 (P.L.30l, No.93), is
amendedto read:

AN ACT

Providingfor the registrationof motorboatsandtheregulationof vessels
operatedor navigatedupon, over or through inland or tidal waters,
whetherartificial or natural, within the Commonwealth;conferring
powers and imposing duties on certain police officers [,] and the
PennsylvaniaFishCommission[and theNavigation Commissionfor the
DelawareRiver and its navigabletributariesi, includingtheenforcement
of certain existing laws; [granting powersand imposingdutiesuponthe
Department of Revenue;Jand prescribingpenalties.
Section2. Subsections A, B, C and E of section 3 of the act,

subsectionsA and E amendedAugust 14, 1963 (P.L.808, No.400) and
subsectionsB andC amendedJuly24, 1973(P.L. 199,No.48),areamended
to read:

Section3. A. Any person owning a motor boat and desirirLg to
operateor navigatetheboat,or causeit to beoperatedornavigated,onany
inland or tidal watersof theCommonwealthof Pennsylvania,shallmakea
written applicationtothe [Departmentof Revenuejcommissionor to any
issuingagentauthorizedby the [departmentjcommission,ashereinafter
provided,for a registrationfor suchboat. Suchapplicationshall be made
on a form prescribed,prepared,and furnishedby the [Department of
Revenuejcommission,and, togetherwith suchotherinformation as the
commissionmay require,shall state:

The name and addressof the applicant, and, if the applicant is a
partnership,the namesand addressesof all the partners,and, if the
applicantis a corporation,the namesandaddressesof the officers.
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B. Uponreceiptof a signedapplication,andupon thepaymentof an
annualregistrationfee,andin theeventthattheregistrationisissuedbyan
issuingagent,a feeof twenty-fivecents(25gm) for theuseofthecountyif the
issuingagentis the county treasurer,otherwisefor the useof the issuing
agent, the [Department of Revenue]commissionor its issuingagentshall
issue to the applicantownera certificateof registrationfor his boat.The
registration number shown on the certificate of registration shall be
paintedon or attachedto eachside of the bow of themotorboatin order
that it may be clearly visible. No othernumbershallbe displayedon the
bow. The numbershall be maintainedin a legiblecondition. Registration
feesfor a one-yearperiodshall befourdollars($4)foranyboatof lessthan
sixteen(16) feet. Theannualregistrationfee for boatsof sixteen(16)feetor
morein length shallbesix dollars($6). Watercraftotherthanmotorboats
may be similarly registeredat the option of the owner.

C. The [Department of Revenue]commissionmaydesignateasissuing
agentsthe county treasureror such other personsin eachcounty, asit
deemsadvantageous,toprovidefor theissuanceof motorboatregistration
in accordancewith the provisionsof this section.Forservicesrenderedin
collecting and payingoversuchregistrationfees, eachissuingagentshall
chargeand retainan additional fee of twenty-five cents(25c) from the
personsecuringtheregistration;however,if theissuingagentis thecounty
treasurer,the fee shall be retainedfor the use of the county.

E. Each issuing agent, other than a county treasurer,shall remit all
moneyscollectedfor the Commonwealthwithin five (5) daysaftertheend
of each month to the State Treasurer,through the [Department of
Revenue]commission,togetherwith a copyof alist of registrationsissued
during the precedingmonth.

Section3. Sections4 and 6 of the act, amendedAugust 14, 1963
(P.L.808,No.400),are amendedto read:

Section4. Dealers’registrationnumbers,bearingthe additionalmark
“X,” may be used on any motor boat in the possessionof such
manufacturer, jobber, or dealer when the boat is being used for
demonstrationtrial or testpurposes.Applicationfor dealers’registrations
shall be madeupon a form provided by the [Departmentof Revenue]
commission,andshallset forth the full nameandbusinessaddressof the
applicantand such other information as the [Departmentof Revenue]
commissionshallrequire,andshallbesignedby suchmanufacturcr,jobber
or dealer.Upon receipt of the application,and upon the paymentof a
registrationfee of five dollars for the initial set andfive dollars for each
additionalset,the[Departmentof Revenuelcommissionshallissuetothe
applicantmanufacturer,jobber,or dealera dealer’sregistrationnumber
which shallbedisplayedconspicuouslyon eachsideof thebow ofthe-boat
being usedby the dealer.
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Section6. Special registrationsshall be issuedfree of chargeby the
[Department of Revenue] commissionfor State owned and operated
motorboats.

Section4, Section7 of theact,subsectionsA andB addedAugust 14,
1963 (P.L.808, No.400) and subsectionB amendedAugust 23, 1~967
(P.L.274,No.111), is amendedto read:

Section 7. A. The ownerof a vesselnumberedin this Statepursuant
to subsectionB of section3 of this act, or by the FederalGovernment
[pursuant to the Federal Boating Act of 1958], shall furnish the
[Departmentof Revenue]commissionnoticeof thetransferof all or any
part of his interestotherthanthecreationof asecurityinterestin a vessel,
or of the destruction,or abandonmentof suchvessel,within fifteen (15)
daysthereof.Suchtransfer,destruction,or abandonmentshall terminate
the certificateof registrationfor suchvessel,exceptthat in the caseof a
transferof apartinterestwhich doesnotaffecttheowner’srighttooperate
such vessel,such transfershallnotterminatethecertificateofregistration.

B. Any holder of a certificate of registration shall notify the
[Departmentof Revenue]commissionwithin fifteen (15) days, if his
addressno longerconformstotheaddressappearingon thecertificateand
shall,as a part of suchnotification, furnishthe[Departmentof Revenue]
commissionwith hisnew address.Thecommissionmayprovidein its rules
and regulationsfor the surrenderof the certificatebearingthe former
addressanditsreplacementwithacertificatebearingthenewaddressof the
holder.

Section5. Sections14 and 15 of the act, amendedAugust 14, 1963
(P.L.808,No.400),are amendedto read:

Section 14. All registration fees, fines and penalties,collected or
receivedunder the provisionsof this act, shall be paid into the State
Treasury,throughthe[Departmentof Revenue]commission,andcredited
to the BoatingFundof theFish Commission[with the exceptionof such
sumsresulting from applicationof the provisions of subsection(h) of
section11 of this act]. All moneysreceivedundertheprovisionsof this act
shall beexpendedfor thepurposesoftheactandshallbeshownin4etailhy
therespectivecommissionsreceivingsuchfundsin everyannualreportor
annualstatementrenderedby them.

- Section 15. Any personviolatinganyprovisionof thisact, or anyrule
or regulationprescribedby the commissionunderthis act, shall, upon
conviction thereofin a summaryproceedingbeforeajustice of thepeace,
aldermanor magistrate,be sentencedto pay a fine of not less than five
dollarsand costs,nor more than one hundreddollars andcosts,or, in
default of payment thereof, thirty days in jail; and, in addition, the
[Department of Revenue]commissionmayrevokethe registrationissued
for the motor boat used by suchperson.

Section6. This act shall takeeffect immediately.

APPROVED—The 1st day of December,A. D. 1977.
MILTON J. SHAI’P


