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No. 1979-55

AN ACT
HB 654

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for the registration, licensing, operation and movement under permits
of farm vehicles, implements of husbandry and fertilizer equipment.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 1302, 1311, 1335, 1337(a), 1344 and 1924 of Title
75, act of November 25, 1970 (P.L.707, No.230), known as the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, are amended to read:

§ 1302. Vehicles [subject to] exempt from registration.

[(a) General rule.—No vehicle shall be operated upon any highway in
this Commonwealth until the vehicle is properly registered with the
department as provided in this chapter.

(b) Exceptions.—Subsection (a) does not apply to the following:]

(a) General rule.—~The following types of vehicles are exempt from
registration:

(1) Any vehicle used in conformance with the provisions of this
chapter relating to dealers, persons registered under any of the
miscellaneous motor vehicle business classes or nonresidents.

(2) Any implement of husbandry or trailer determined by the
department to be used exclusively for agricultural operations and only
incidentally operated upon highways.

[(i) A certificate of exemption shall be required for trailers.

(ii)] Vehicles exempt from registration under this paragraph shall
be used exclusively upon a farm or farms owned or operated by the
owner of the vehicle or upon highways between:

[(A)] (i) Parts of one such farm.

[(B)] (ii) [Farms] Such farms located not more than 25 miles
apart.

[(C)] (iii) [A farm] Such farm or farms and a place of business
located within a radius of 25 miles from the farm for the purpose of
buying or selling agricultural commodities or supplies or for [the
inspection] delivery, repair or servicing of the vehicle.

(3) Any self-propelled golf cart used for the transportation .of
persons engaged in the game of golf while crossing any public highway
during any game of golf.

(4) Any vehicle moved by special permit as provided for in sections
4965 (relating to single permits for multiple highway crossings), 4966
(relating to permit for movement of quarry equipment), and 4970
(relating to permit for movement of utility construction equipment).
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(5) Any vehicle registered and displaying plates issued in a foreign
country by the armed forces of the United States for a period of 45 days

from the date of the return of the owner to the United States.

(6) Any vehicle owned by a resident legally required to be registered
in another state based and wused principally outside of this
Commonwealth.

(7) Any vehicle moved solely by human or animal power.

(8) Any self-propelled invalid wheel chair.

(9) Any mobile home.

(10) Any farm truck used exclusively upon a farm or farms ownedor
operated by the owner of the vehicle.

(i) Such a farm truck may be driven upon highways only from
sunrise to sunset and between:

(A) Parts of one such farm.

(B) Such farms located not more than ten miles apart.

(C) Such farmor farms and a place of business located within ¢
radius of ten miles from the farm or farms for thepurpose of buying
or selling agricultural commodities or supplies.

(D) Such farm or farms and a place of business located within a
radius of 25 miles from such farm or farms for the purpose of repair
or servicing of the farm truck.

(i) A biennial certificate of exemption shall be required for sucha

Jarm truck.

[(€)} (b) Certificate of title required.—No vehicle shall be registered
unless a certificate of title has been obtained, if one is required by Chapter
11 (relating to certificate of title and security interests).

§ 1311. Registration card to be signed and exhibited on demand.

(a) Signing card.—Upon receiving the registration card or any
duplicate, the registrant shall sign his name in the space provided.

(b) Carrying and exhibiting card.—Every registration card shall, atall
times while the vehicle is being operated upon a highway, be in the
possession of the person driving or in control of the vehicle or carried in the
vehicle and shall be exhibited upon demand of any police officer.

(¢) Production to avoid penalty.—No person shall be convicted of
violating this section or section [1302 (relating to vehicles subject to
registration)] 1301 (relating to driving unregistered vehicle prohibited) if
the person produces at the office of the issuing authority or at the office of
the arresting police officer within five days of the violation, a registration
card valid in this Commonwealth at the time of the arrest.

§ 1335. Registration plates for manufacturers and dealers.

(a) General rule.—The department shall issue to dealers and
manufacturers licensed by the State Board of Motor Vehicle Manufac-
turers, Dealers and Salesmen of the Department of State special
registration plates which may be displayed on vehicles operating on
highways in lieu of registering each vehicle individually [in accordance with
the requirements of section 1302(a) (relating to vehicles subject to
registration)).



170 Act 1979-55 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

(b) Application for plates.— Application for dealer registration plates
shall be made by the dealer or manufacturer on a form provided by the
department together with a copy of his license from the State Board of
Motor Vehicle Manufacturers, Dealers and Salesmen.

(c) Exemption from individual registration.—Vehicles displaying
dealer registration plates may be operated on the highway without
registering each vehicle individually, provided that the plates are used in
accordance with the limitations of section 1336 (relating to use of dealer
registration plates).

§ 1337. Use of “Miscellaneous Motor Vehicle Business” registration
plates.

(a) General rule.-—The department shall issue to owners of
miscellaneous motor vehicle businesses special registration plates which
may be displayed on vehicles operated on highways in lieu of registering
each vehicle individually [in accordance with the requirements of section
1302(a) (relating to vehicles subject to registration)]. Registration plates
issued under this section may be used only when the vehicle isusedforany
of the following purposes:

(1) In the conduct of the miscellaneous motor vehicle business.

(2) For the personal pleasure or use of the owner of the
miscellaneous motor vehicle business or members of their immediate
family, or when the business is a corporation, for the pleasure or use of
not more than three officers or members of their immediate families, or
for the personal use of the regular employees of the business when
operated by the employee.

* ok %k
§ 1344. Use of farm truck plates.

(a) General rule.—A truck bearing farm truck registration plates shall
be used exclusively upon a farm or farms owned or operated by the
registrant of the vehicle or upon highways between:

(1) Parts of one such farm.

(2) [Farms located not more than 25 miles apart.] Such farms.

(3) [A)Suchafarmorfarmsand aplace of business [located within a
radius of 50 miles from the farm or farms] for the purpose of buying or
selling agricultural commodities or supplies or for the inspection, repair
or servicing of the vehicle.

(b) Penalty.—Any person violating this section is guilty of a summary
offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of [$25] $50
and shall, upon conviction for a second or subsequent offense, be sentenced
to pay a fine of $200.

§ 1924. Farm trucks.

(a) General rule.—The annual fee for registration of a farm truck shall
be [$27] $51 or one-third of the regular fee, whichever is greater.

(b) Certificate of exemption.—The biennial processing fee for a
certificate of exemption issued in lieu of registration of a fazns$ruck shall be
$12.
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Section 2. Section 1943(b) of Title 75 is repealed.

Section 3. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read:
§ 1948. Chemical and fertilizer vehicle permits.

The fee for a 45-day permit for the operation of chemical and fertilizer
vehicles registered in another state as provided in section 4971 (relating to
permit for operation of chemical and fertilizer vehicles) shall be $50.

Section 4. Section 4921(b) of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 4921. Width of vehicles.

% %k *k

(b) [Farm] Special vehicles.—[ Any implement of husbandry or vehicle
loaded with vegetable produce or forage crops and not exceeding-tenfectin
width may operate between sunrise and sunset on highways other than
freeways.]

(1) Any implement of husbandry or vehicle loaded with vegetable
produce or forage crops and not exceeding ten feet in width may be
driven, hauled or towed between sunrise and sunset on highways other
than freeways.

(2) Any implement of husbandry not exceeding 14 feet 6 inches in
width may be driven, hauled or towed between sunrise and sunset on
highways other than freeways between:

(i) Parts of one farm owned or operated by the owner of the
implement of husbandry.
(ii) Farms owned or operated by the owner of the implement of
husbandry located not more than 25 miles apart.
(iii) (A) farms; or
(B) a farm and a place of business of a mechanic or dealer in
implements of husbandry;

located not more than 50 miles apart for the purpose of buying, selling,

trading, loaning and leasing, demonstrating, repairing or servicing the

implement of husbandry.

(3) Special mobile equipment not exceeding nine feet two inches in
width may be driven, hauled or towed between sunrise and sunset on
highways other than freeways.

(4) The department may regulate the operation of special vehicles
subject to this subsection which regulations may prohibit the operation
of special vehicles on certain days or during certain hours.

* k *

Section 5. Section 4967 of Title 75 is repealed.

Section 6. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 4971. Permit for operation of chemical and fertilizer vehicles.

A permit may be issued for a period of 45 consecutive days authorizing
the operation in the Commonwealth of any vehicle registered in another
state which is used for the transportation and application of chemicals and

Jertilizer.
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Section 7. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED~—The 20th day of July, A. D. 1979.
DICK THORNBURGH



