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No. 1980-68

AN ACT
SB 10

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
changing certain fees; providing for identification markers; adding certain
enforcement powers; providing for stationary scales and the weights of
vehicles; changing certain penalties; providing for the distribution of certain
funds; and making repeals.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 102 of Title 75, act of November 25, 1970
(P.L.707, No.230), known as the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
is amended by adding a definition to read:

§ 102. Definitions. )

Subject to additional definitions contained in subsequent provisions
of this title which are applicable to specific provisions of this title, the
following words and phrases when used in this title shall have, unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in
this section:

* % %

““Motor carrier vehicle.”” A truck, truck tractor or combination
having a gross weight or registered gross weight in excess of 17,000
pounds,

* % &

Section 2. Sections 1916, 1920, 1928, 1952(a), 1955(a) and 1958 of
Title 75, section 1916 amended February 15, 1980 (No.8), are
amended to read:

§ 1916. Trucks and truck tractors.

(@) General rule.—The annual fee for registration of a truck or
truck tractor shall be determined by its registered gross weight or
combination weight in pounds according to the following table:

Class Registered Fee
Gross or Combination
Weight in Pounds

1 5,000 or less $ 39

2 5,001 - 7,000 [ 521 54
3 7,001 - 9,000 [ 84) 102
4 9,001 - 11,000 [108] 132
5 11,001 - 14,000 [132] 162
6 14,001 - 17,000 [156] 192
7 17,001 - 21,000 [192) 237
8 21,001 - 26,000 12161 270
9 26,001 - 30,000 (2521 315
10 30,_001 - 33,000 [3001 378
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11 33,001 - 36,000 [324] 414
12 36,001 - 40,000 [342] 438
13 40,001 - 44,000 [360] 465
14 44,001 - 48,000 [384] .so1
15 48,001 - 52,000 [420] 552
16 . 52,001 - 56,000 [444) 588
17 56,001 - 60,000 [501] 666
18 60,001 - 64,000 [552] 741
19 64,001 - 68,000 [576) 777
20 68,001 - 73,280 [606] 834
21 73,281 - 76,000 . 1065
22 76,001 - 78,000 , 1089
23 78,001 - 78,500 1101
24 78,501 - 79,000 1113
25 79,001 - 80,000 1125

(b) Optional registration.—Any vehicle falling within the range of
weights for Classes 1 through 4, inclusive, shall notwithstanding any -
gross vehicle weight stamped on the manufacturer’s serial plate, be
registered, upon request of the person making application for registra-
tion, at the maximum allowable gross or combination weight for the
particular weight class within which the gross vehicle weight deter-
mined by the manufacturer causes such vehicle to fall.

§ 1920. Trailers.

(a) General rule.—The annua]l fee for registration of a trailer
shall be determined by its registered gross weight according to the
following table:

Registered Gross Fee
Weight in Pounds '
3,000 or less $6
3,001 - 10,000 12
10,001 or more 27

(b) Optional five-year registration.—A trailer may be registered
for a period of five years upon payment by the registrant of the
applicable fee for such period.

§ 1928. Temporary registration plates.

The fee payable by a dealer or other dispensing agent for a tempo-
rary registration plate shall be [$1] $5. The charge of the agent for
providing an applicant with a temporary plate shall not exceed a total
of [$5] $10.

§ 1952. Certificate of title.
" (a) General rule.—The fee for issuance of a certlflcate of title
shall be [$5] $15.

* % %
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§ 1955. Information concerning drivers and vehicles.

(a) Registrations, titles and security interests.—The fee for copies
of or written information relating to a registration, title or security
interest shall be [$2.50] $5.

® % %
§ 1958. Certificate of inspection.

The department shall charge [25¢] $7 for each certificate of inspec-
tion.

Section 3. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 1960. Reinstatement of operating privilege.

The department shall charge a fee of $25 to restore a person’s
operating privilege following a suspension or revocation.

Section 4. Title 75 is amended by adding a chapter to read:

CHAPTER 21
MOTOR CARRIERS ROAD TAX
IDENTIFICATION MARKERS

Sec.

2101. Construction.

2102. Identification markers required.
2103. False statements and penalties.
2104. Special investigators; powers.

§ 2101. Construction.

This chapter shall be construed in conjunction with the act of June
19, 1964 (P.L.7, No.1), known as the ‘‘Motor Carriers Road Tax
Act” and any reference to the former section 11 thereof shall be
deemed a reference to this chapter.

§ 2102. Identification markers required.

(a) General rule.—The Secretary of Revenue shall provide an
identification marker for every motor carrier vehicle.

(1) The identification marker must be affixed to the vehicle
in an easily visible position.

(2) The identification marker shall remain the property of
the Commonwealth and may be recalled for any violation of the
provisions of this chapter, the ‘‘Motor Carriers Road Tax Act’’ or
the regulations promulgated thereunder.

(b) Fee.—The fee for issuance of an identification marker shall
be $25, except that for vehicles registered in this Commonwealth, the
vehicle identification marker fee shall be deemed a part of and
included in the vehicle registration fee.

(c) Issuance of markers.—Identification markers shall be issued
on a 12-month basis, effective April 1 of each year, and shall be valid
through the next succeeding March 31; however, enforcement of this
section shall not become effective until April 15 of each year as to
motor carrier vehicles dlsplaymg the previous year’s identification
marker.
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(d) Operation without identification marker unlawful.—It shall
be unlawful to operate or to cause to be operated in this Common-
wealth any motor carrier vehicle unless the vehicle bears the identifica-
tion marker required by this section.

(1) The Secretary of Revenue may by regulation exempt from
the requirement to display the identification marker motor carrier
vehicles which in his opinion are clearly identifiable such that
effective enforcement of this chapter will not suffer thereby.

(2) For a period not exceeding five days as to any one motor
carrier, the Secretary of Revenue by letter or telegram may autho-
rize the operation of a motor carrier vehicle or vehicles without the
identification marker required when the enforcement of this section
for that period would cause undue delay and hardship in the
operation of such motor carrier vehicle or vehicles:

(i) The fee for such permits shall be $5 for each motor
carrier vehicle.

(ii) Conditions for the issuance of such permits shall be
set forth in regulations promulgated by the Department of
Revenue.

§ 2103. False statements and penalties.

(a) False statements.—Any person who willfully and knowingly
makes, publishes, delivers or utters a false statement orally, or in
writing, or in the form of a receipt for the sale of motor fuel, for the
purpose of obtaining or attempting to obtain, or to assist any person
to obtain or attempt to obtain, a credit or refund or reduction of
liability for taxes under this chapter or under the ‘“Motor Carriers
Road Tax Act,” shall be guilty of a summary offense and, upon
conviction thereof, for a first offense shall be sentenced to pay a fine
of not less than $100 nor more than $500; and for each subsequent or
additional offense, a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $500, or
undergo imprisonment for a term not exceeding 90 days, or both.

(b) Other penalties.—Any person willfully violating any provision
of this chapter or any provision of the ‘‘Motor Carriers Road Tax
Act”’ not covered by any other penalty contained in this chapter, shall
be guilty of a summary offense and, upon conviction thereof, for a
first offense, shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $100 nor
more than $500; and, for each subsequent or additional offense, a fine
of not less than $200 nor more than $500, or undergo imprisonment
for a term not exceeding 90 days, or both. If the person convicted is a
corporation, any imprisonment imposed shall be served by the respon-
sible corporate employee.

§ 2104. Special investigators; powers.

Such employees of the Department of Revenue as are designated as
special investigators, and who carry identification indicating such
capacity, are hereby declared to be peace officers of the Common-
wealth, are hereby given police power and authority throughout the
Commonwealth to arrest on view without warrant any driver of a
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motor carrier vehicle engaged in any operations in violation of any
provision of this chapter or of the ‘‘Motor Carriers Road Tax Act”
and shall have the power and authority upon probable cause that any
such violation may have occurred to search and seize without warrant
or process any motor vehicle so operated.

Section 5. Sections 4703(a), 4704, 4724, 4726, 4727(a), 4902,
4923, 4941(a), 4943, 4944, 4945(a), 4981 and 4983 of Title 75 are
amended to read:

§ 4703. Operation of vehicle without official certificate of inspection.

(a) [General rule.—No registered) General rule.—

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, no motor
vehicle required to bear registration plates issued by this Common-
wealth shall be driven and no [registered] trailer required to bear
registration plates issued by this Commonwealth shall be moved on
a highway unless the vehicle displays a currently valid certificate of
inspection [and approvall issued under this chapter.

(2) No motor carrier vehicle shall be operated on a highway
unless it displays a currently valid certificate of inspection issued
under this chapter or by another state.

* k %

§ 4704, [Notice by police officers of violation.] Inspection by police
or department personnel.

(a) [General rule.] Inspection in conjunction zith vehicle
weighing.—IEny police officer or department employee engaged in
weighing vehicles as provided in Subchapter E of Chapter 49 (relating
to measuring and adjusting vehicle size and weights) is euthorized to
inspect any items of a vehicle’s equipment to determine whether they
meet the standards established in department regulations.

(b) Inspection by police officer.—Any police officer having prob-
able cause to believe that any vehicle, regardless of whether it is being
operated, is unsafe or not equipped as required by law may at any
time submit a written notice of the condition to the driver of the
vehicle or to the owner, or if neither is present, to an adult occupant
of the vehicle, or if the vehicle is unoccupied, the notice shall be
attached to the vehicle in a conspicuous place.

(1) If an item of equipment is broken or missing, the notice
shall specify the particulars of the condition and require that the
equipment be adjusted or repaired. Within five days evidence must
be submitted to the police that the requirements for repair have
been satisfied.

(2) If the police officer has probable cause to believe that a
vehicle is unsafe or not in proper repair, he may require in the
written notice that the car be inspected. The owner or driver shall
submit to the police within five days of the date of notification
certification from an official inspection station that the vehicle has
been restored to safe operating condition in relation to the particu-
lars specified on the notice.
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(3) After the expiration of the five-day period specified in para-
graphs (1) and (2), the vehicle shall not be operated upon the
highways of this Commonwealth until the owner or driver has
submitted to the police evidence of compliance with the require-
ments of paragraph (1) or (2), whichever is applicable.

[()] (c) Operation prohibited if hazardous.—In the event a
vehicle, in the reasonable judgment of the officer, is in such condition
that further operation would be hazardous, the officer may require
that the vehicle not be operated under its own power and may so
stipulate in the notice given under subsection [(a)] (b).

§ 4724, Suspension of certificates of appointment.

(a) General rule.—The department shall supervise and inspect offi-
cial inspection stations and [shalll may suspend the certificate of
appointment issued to a station which it finds is not properly equipped
or conducted or which has violated or failed to comply with any of
the provisions of this chapter or regulations adopted by the depart-
ment. The department shall maintain a list of all stations holding
certificates of appointment and of those whose certificates of appoint-
ment have been suspended. Any suspended certificate of appointment
and all unused certificates of inspection shall be returned immediately
to the department.

(b) Judicial review.—Any person whose certificate of appointment
has been denied or suspended under this chapter shall have the right
to appeal to the court vested with jurisdiction of such appeals by or
pursuant to Title 42 (relating to judiciary and judicial procedure). The
court shall set the matter for hearing upon [30] 60 days’ written notice
to the department and take testimony and examine into the facts of
the case and determine whether the petitioner is entitled to a certificate
of appointment or is subject to suspension of the certificate of
appointment under the provisions of this chapter.

§ 4726. Certification of mechanics.

(a) General rule.—No mechanic shall conduct motor vehicle
inspections at an official inspection station unless certified as to
training, qualifications and competence by the department according
to department regulations. The provisions of this title or regulations
adopted thereunder shall not be construed or applied in a manner
which would preclude or impair the right of a person who is a resident
of another state, and who is in possession of a valid driver’s license
issued by such state, to be certified to conduct motor vehicle inspec-
tions at an official inspection station in this Commonwealth. No
official inspection station appointment shall be issued or renewed
unless a certified official inspection mechanic is there employed.

(b) Supervision and suspension.—The department shall supervise
mechanics certified under this section and may suspend the certifica-
tion issued to a mechanic if it finds that the mechanic has improperly
conducted inspections or has violated or failed to comply with any of
the provisions of this chapter or regulations adopted by the depart-
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ment. The department shall maintain a list of all certified mechanics
and of those whose certification has been suspended. Any suspended
certificate shall be returned immediately to the department.

(c) Judicial review.—Any mechanic whose certificate has been
denied or suspended under this chapter shall have the right to appeal
to the court vested with jurisdiction of such appeals by or pursuant to
Title 42 (relating to judiciary and judicial procedure). The court shall
set the matter for hearing upon 60 days’ written notice to the depart-
ment and take testimony and examine into the facts of the case and
determine whether the petitioner is entitled to certification or is
subject to suspension of the certification under the provisions of this
chapter.

§ 4727. Issuance of certificate of inspection.

(a) Requirements prior to inspection.—No vehicle except a vehicle
owned by a dealer or manufacturer shall be inspected unless it is duly
registered or titled in this Commonwealth or in any other jurisdiction.
The owner or operator or an employee of the official inspection
station shall examine the registration card or title in order to ascertain
that the vehicle is registered or titled.

* %k %k
§ 4902. Restrictions on use of highways and bridges.

(a) [General rule.—The department] Restrictions based on condi-
tion of highway or bridge.—The Commonwealth and local authorities
with respect to highways and bridges under their jurisdictions may
prohibit the operation of vehicles and may impose restrictions as to
the weight or size of vehicles operated upon a highway or bridge
whenever they determine that the highway or bridge[, by reason of
deterioration or rain, snow or other climatic conditions,] may be
damaged or destroyed unless [the] use [of] by vehicles is prohibited or
the permissible [weights] size or weight of vehicles is reduced. School
buses, emergency vehicles and vehicles making local deliveries or
pickups may be exempted from restrictions on the use of highways
imposed under this subsection.

[(b) Permit with bond.—The department and local authorities may
issue permits for movement of vehicles of size and weight in excess of
the restrictions promulgated under subsection (a) with respect to high-
ways and bridges under their jurisdiction, conditioned upon the execu-
tion of a surety bond by the user in favor of the department or local
authorities to cover the cost of repairs necessitated by the movement.

(¢)] (b) Restrictions [from) based on traffic conditions.—The
[department] Commonwealth and local authorities with respect to
highways and bridges under their jurisdictions may prohibit the opera-
tion of vehicles and may impose restrictions as to the weight or size of
vehicles operated upon a highway or bridge [by reason of] whenever
they determine that hazardous traffic conditions or other safety
factors require such a prohibition or restriction. School buses, emer-
gency vehicles and vehicles making local deliveries or pickups may be
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exempted from restrictions on the use of highways imposed under this
subsection.

(c¢) Permits and security.—The Commonwealth and local authori-
ties may issue permits for movement of vehicles of size and weight in
excess of restrictions promulgated under subsections (a) and (b) with
respect to highways and bridges under their jurisdiction and may
require such undertaking or security as they deem necessary to cover
the cost of repairs and restoration necessitated by the permitted move-
ment of vehicles.

(d) Designation of alternate routes.—In conjunction with the
exercise of the powers set forth in subsections (a) and (b), the
Commonwealth may designate alternate routes for vehicles in excess
of specified weights or sizes. Such alternate routes may utilize portions
of the Pennsylvania Turnpike.

[(@)]) (e) Erection of signs.—The [department] Commonwealth and
fthe] local authorities shall erect or cause to be erected and maintained
restriction signs designating the restrictions at each end of [that
portion of any highway or] ¢ bridge or portion of highway restricted
as provided in subsections (a) [and (c). The restrictions shall not be
effective unless signs are erected and maintained in accordance with
this subsection.] or (b). In the case of a restriction on a bridge or on a
highway which does not begin or end at an intersection with an
unrestricted highway, the Commonwealth or local authorities shall
also place an advance informational sign at the intersection nearest
each end of the restricted bridge or portion of highway which would
allow drivers to avoid the restricted bridge or portion of highway. No
person shall be convicted of violating subsection (a) or (b) unless the
restriction sign designating the restricted bridge or portion of highway
to traffic moving in the direction the person was driving was posted as
required in this subsection. However, failure to post the restriction
sign designating the restricted bridge or portion of highway to traffic
moving in the opposite direction or failure to post any advance
informational sign shall not constitute a defense to a violation of this
section.

(f) Actions to be in accordance with department regulations.—All
actions taken under authority of this section shall be taken in accord-
ance with department regulations.

[(e)]l (g¢) Penalty.—

(I) Any person operating a vehicle or combination upon a
highway or bridge in violation of ~a prohibition or restriction
imposed under subsection’ (a) is guilty of a summary offense and
shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of $75, except
that any person convicted of operating a vehicle with a gross weight
in excess of a posted weight shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to
pay a fine of $150 plus $150 for each 500 pounds, or part thereof,
in excess of 3,000 pounds over the maximum allowable weight.
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(2) Any person operating a vehicle or combination in violation
of a prohibition or restriction imposed under subsection (b) is guilty
of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to
pay a fine of not less than 325 and not more than $100.

§ 4923. Length of vehicles.

(a) General rule.—No motor vehicle, including any load and
bumpers, shall exceed an overall length of 40 feet, and no combina-
tion, including any load and bumpers, shall exceed an overall length
of [S5] 60 feet.

(b) Exceptions.—The limitations of (a) do not apply to the
following:

(1) Any motor vehicle equipped with a boom or boom-like
device if the vehicle does not exceed 55 feet.

[(2) The load on a combination designed exclusively for carrying
motor vehicles if the overall length of the combination and load
does not exceed 60 feet.

(3)] (2) Any combination transporting articles which do not
exceed 70 feet in length and are nondivisible as to length.

[(4)] (3) Any bus of an articulated design which does not exceed
60 feet.

§ 4941, Maximum gross weight of vehicles.

(a) General rule.—No vehicle [or combination] shall, when oper-
ated upon a highway, have a gross weight exceeding 73,280 pounds,
and no combination driven upon a highway shall have a gross weight
exceeding the lesser of 80,000 pounds, including all enforcement toler-
ances, or the applicable weight set forth in subsection (b).

* % %

§ 4943. Maximum axle weight of vehicles.

(a) General rule.—[No motor] Except as provided in subsection
(b), no vehicle or combination [shall, when operated] driven upon a
highwayl[,] shall have a weight upon [each of two adjacent axles] any
axle in excess of the lesser of the manufacturer’s rated axle capacity or
the following applicable weight.

Maximum Axle Weight in Pounds Upon:
If the Center-to-Center
Distance Between [Two)

the Nearest One of Two Other of Two
Adjacent Axles is: Adjacent Axles Adjacent Axles
Under 6 feet 18,000 18,000
6 to 8 feet 18,000 22,400
Over 8 feet 22,400 22,400

(b) Vehicles and combinations with five or more axles.—No
vehicle or combination with five or more axles driven on a highway
shall have a weight upon any axle in excess of the manufacturer’s
rated axle capacity, nor shall the overall gross weight on any group of
two or more consecutive axles on combinations with an overall gross
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weight in excess of 73,280 pounds exceed that produced by application
of the following formula:

_ LN . )
W = 500 (N_I + (I2N + 36)

Where W = overall gross weight on any group of two or more
consecutive axles to the nearest 500 pounds, L = distance in feet
between the extreme of any group of two or more consecutive axles
and N = number of axles in group under consideration, except that
two consecutive pairs of axles may carry a gross load of 34,000
pounds each, provided the overall distance between the first and last
axles of such consecutive pairs of axles is 36 feet or more.

(c) Gross weight.—No vehicle or combination shall be driven
with a gross weight in excess of the sum of the allowable axle weights
as set forth in this section, nor shall any vehicle or combination be
driven with a gross weight in excess of the sum of the manufacturer’s
rated axle capacities.

[()] (d) Location of front axle of semitrailer.—No semitrailer,
originally in this Commonwealth on or after September 1, [1973]
1963, and having two or more axles, shall be operated upon a highway
unless the foremost axle of the semitrailer is at least 12 feet from the
rearmost axle of the towing vehicle.

§ 4944. Maximum wheel load.

No motor vehicle or combination shall, when operated upon a
highway, have a weight upon any one wheel in excess of 800 pounds
for each nominal inch of width of tire on the wheel.

§ 4945. Penalties for exceeding maximum weights.

(a) Gross weight violations.—

(1) Any person [operating] driving a vehicle or combination
upon a highway exceeding the maximum gross weight allowed by
section 4941 (relating to maximum gross weight of vehicles) or the
registered gross weight allowed by section 4942 (relating to regis-
tered gross weight), whichever is less, is guilty of a summary
offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of
$75 plus $75 for each 500 pounds, or part thereof, in excess of
3,000 pounds over the maximum [or] gross weight or the registered
gross weight [allowed].

(2) If the gross weight of any vehicle or combination exceeds
[73,280 pounds] the applicable gross weight allowed under
“section 4941(a), the fine imposed under this subsection shall be
[double the amount for other weight violations] doubled.

* % *
§ 4981. Weighing and measurement of vehicles.

(a) Authority of police officer.—Any police officer is authorized
to require the driver of any vehicle or combination to stop and submit
the vehicle or combination to be measured and weighed. Weighing
may be done by using either portable or stationary scales. The
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[measurement and] weighing shall be conducted by qualified personnel
who have been trained in the use of weighing [and measuring} equip-
ment in a training program approved by the Department of Agricul-
ture. A police officer may require that a vehicle or combination be
driven to the nearest stationary scales if the scales are within two
miles.

(b) [Stationary scales] Scales on freeways.—The Department of
Transportation, in cooperation with the Pennsylvania State Police,
shall [maintain] operate on freeways at points which it deems neces-
sary [stationary] scales and other equipment for detecting violations of
the size and weight limitations prescribed by this chapter. The depart-
ment may also contract with persons or local authorities to use their
[stationary] scales.

(¢) Weighing of wheels or axles.—If a vehicle is weighed in
multiple drafts, or if only a single wheel or axle or pair of axles is
weighed, a tolerance of [1%] 3% shall be allowed.

(d) Reweighing at request of driver or owner.—Whenever scales
operated by other than the department indicate that a vehicle, wheel,
axle or pair of axles is overweight, the driver or owner may elect to
have the vehicle reweighed on the nearest available [official] scales
which have been [sealed] certified by the Department of Agriculture.
The lower reading of the two scales shall determine whether charges
shall be filed under this section.

§ 4983. Penalty for [violation of subchapter] failure to obey police
officer. '

[Any driver who fails or refuses to comply with the requirements of
a police officer given pursuant to this subchapter is guilty of a
summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a
fine of $100.1 If a driver shall fail or refuse to comply with the
requirements of a police officer given pursuant to this subchapter, the
police officer shall have authority to take the vehicle into temporary
custody and have the vehicle weighed. In addition to any fine or
penalty assessable for being overweight, any driver who fails or
refuses to comply as aforesaid shall be guilty of a summary offense
and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of $500. Any
costs incurred in weighing the vehicle shall be paid by the driver to the
person incurring the costs or to the issuing authority for payment to
the person incurring the costs.

Section 6. Title 75 is amended by adding chapters to read:

CHAPTER 91
STATE HIGHWAY MAINTENANCE

Sec.

9101. Definitions.

9102. Distribution of State highway maintenance funds.
9103. Transfers for emergency or equipment needs.

9104. Standards and methodology for data collection.
9105. Nonlapse of allocated funds for advertised projects.
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§ 9101. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall
have, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given
to them in this section:

“ASHMA.”” One hundred percent of all additional State highway
maintenance appropriations and executive authorizations in excess of
95% of the total of all counties’ base allocations.

‘“Base allocation.”’ The total highway maintenance appropriations
and executive authorizations received by a county maintenance district
for either fiscal year 1978-1979 or, based on the best current informa-
tion available to the department and certified by the Governor as of
May 21, 1980, fiscal year 1979-1980, whichever is greater.

“BD.” The number of square feet of State highway bridge deck in
each county as a proportion of the total amount of square feet of
State highway bridge deck in this Commonwealth.

‘“c.”” When used alone or in conjunction with any formula part,
any given county.

‘“Highway maintenance.”” A program to preserve, repair and
restore a system of existing State roadways with its elements to its
designed or accepted configuration. System elements include but are
not limited to travelway surfaces, shoulders, roadsides, drainage facili-
ties, bridges, tunnels, signs, markings, lighting and fixtures. Included
in the program are such traffic services as lighting and signal opera-
tion, snow and ice removal and operation of roadside rest areas.
Highway maintenance programs are developed to offset the effects of
weather, organic growth, deterioration, traffic wear, damage and
vandalism. Deterioration would include effects of aging, material fail-
ures and design and construction faults to existing State highways.

“LM.” The number of actual State highway lane miles in each
county as a proportion of the total number of State highway lane
miles in this Commonwealth.

“RPQ.”’ The Relative Pavement Quality Index which shall be
based upon a Road Quality Report which entails the use of trained
professionals to physically evaluate the conditions of the highways in
each county on a periodic basis. The criteria for determining any road
deficiencies shall include but not be limited to road surface, founda-
tion, drainage, shoulders and other safety features such as road
striping, guardrails, median barriers and signs. The index shall provide
a reasonable comparison of highway quality and conditions between
all counties. The report shall be submitted annually to the Trans-
portation Committees of the Senate and House of Representatives for
their review.

““SI.”” The snow index for each county is the product of an
average of the immediately preceding four calendar years snow days
for each county times the number of State highway lane miles in each
county as a proportion of the sum of the products (snow days times
lane miles) for every county in this Commonwealth.
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“Snow day.”” Any day in which the snow fall reached or exceeded
one inch in depth.

‘“Vehicle miles.”” The total number of miles traveled by all vehicles
on State maintained roads within a county as determined by the
department.

““VM.”” The number of vehicle miles traveled in each county as a
proportion of the total vehicle miles traveled in this Commonwealth.

§ 9102. Distribution of State highway maintenance funds.

(a) General rule.—The department shall distribute all highway
appropriations and executive authorizations for State highway mainte-
nance in the various county maintenance districts in the following
manner:

(1) For any fiscal year in which the total highway maintenance
appropriations and executive authorizations are equal to the
combined total base allocations for all the county maintenance
districts, each maintenance district shall receive its base allocation.

(2) For any fiscal year in which the total highway maintenance
appropriations and executive authorizations are less than the
combined total base allocations of all the county maintenance
districts, each maintenance district’s share shall be reduced, to the
extent necessary to bring the total allocation within the funding
limits, in the same proportion that each county’s base allocations
bears to the combined total of all counties’ base allocations.

(3) For any fiscal year in which the total highway maintenance
appropriations and executive authorizations are greater than the
combined total base allocations of all the county maintenance
districts, the funds shall be distributed based upon the formula in
subsection (b), but notwithstanding the formula calculation for any
particular county, no county shall receive less than its base alloca-
tion in any year.

(b) Formula for distribution.—The department shall distribute to
each county maintenance district:

(1) an amount equal to 95% of the county’s base allocation;
plus

(2) an amount based on the following incremented formula in

~which each county shall receive a portion of 100% of all State
highway maintenance appropriations and executive authorizations in
excess of 95% of the total of all counties’ base allocations,
expressed in the following manner:

ASHMA (40% RPQc + 15% BDc + 15% LMc + 15% VMc
+ 15%SIc)

(c) Establishment of applicable data.—The applicable data for all
counties corresponding to each individual factor in the incremental
formula in subsection (b) shall be established and certified by the
Governor based on the best current information available as of May
21, 1980, and such data shall be updated and recertified on May 1 of
each year thereafter based on the best information available at that
time for the immediately preceding 12-month period.
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(d) Effect of insufficient funds.—In the event sufficient funds are
not available to fully fund all county maintenance districts under the
formula in subsection (b) due to the hold harmless provision in
subsection (a), each county maintenance district receiving an increase
above its base allocation shall have its share reduced in the proportion
that the increase over its base allocation bears to the total increases
over the base allocation of all counties entitled to an increase, to the
extent necessary to bring the total allocations within the funding limit.
§ 9103. Transfers for emergency or equipment needs.

(a) General rule.—If the need arises for transfers to counties
because of emergency or equipment needs, the department shall draw
from the allocations of all counties in a manner such that the propor-
tion of the transfer for any given county equals the proportion of the
total allocation for that county to the total highway maintenance
appropriations and executive authorizations.

(b) Effect on subsequent allocation.—Expenditures from transfers
made to or from any county for emergency or equipment needs shall
not become a part of the computation for such county for the
subsequent years’ maintenance allocation.

§ 9104. Standards and methodology for data collection.

The department shall initially determine the standards and method-
ology for data collection and shall, within ten days of the effective
date of this chapter, promulgate them in the form of regulations and
publish them in the Pennsylvania Bulletin as a basis for making such
determinations in subsequent years.

§ 9105. Nonlapse of allocated funds for advertised projects.

Where bids have been advertised for projects that would use funds
allocated to any county maintenance district for a particular fiscal
year but because of the bidding process the contract or contracts were
not awarded before the close of that fiscal year, the county’s alloca-
tion for that fiscal year shall not lapse but may be allocated to the
particular contract that was not awarded because of the incomplete-
ness of the bidding process. Any additional allocation remaining after
all such contracts are let shall lapse as of the date of the awarding of
the last of the contracts.

CHAPTER 93
SUPPLEMENTAL FUNDING FOR
MUNICIPAL HIGHWAY MAINTENANCE

Sec.

9301. Supplemental funding for municipal highway maintenance.

§ 9301. Supplemental funding for municipal highway maintenance.
The General Assembly shall annually appropriate, beginning with

the 1980-1981 fiscal year, the sum of $5,000,000 for supplemental

payments to municipalities to assist in the maintenance and construc-

tion costs of municipal roads. The moneys appropriated by authority

of this section shall be distributed to municipalities in accordance with
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the provisions of the act of June 1, 1956 (1955 P.L.1944, No.655),
entitled ‘‘An act providing a permanent allocation of a part of the
fuels and liquids fuels tax proceeds to cities, boroughs, incorporated
towns and townships, for their road, street and bridge purposes;
conferring powers and imposing duties on local officers and the
Department of Highways; and making an appropriation out of the
Motor License Fund; and repealing existing legislation.”’

Section 7. Sections 11, 13, 15, 21 and 25, act of June 19, 1964
(P.L.7, No.l), known as the ‘““‘Motor Carriers Road Tax Act,”’ are
repealed.

Section 8. This act shall take effect as follows:

(1) The provisions of 75 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to State highway
maintenance) shall take effect immediately.

(2) The provisions of 75 Pa.C.S. Ch. 93 (relating to supplemental
funding for municipal highway maintenance) shall take effect July 1,
1980.

(3) The remaining provisions of this act shall take effect in 60
days. However, the provisions of 75 Pa.C.S. § 2102 (relating to identi-
fication markers required) insofar as it provides an increase in the
annual fee for identification markers shall be applicable only to those
markers acquired after the effective date of this act and shall not
affect any valid current identification markers for the remainder of
the period for which they were issued.

APPROVED—The 18th day of June, A. D. 1980.
DICK THORNBURGH



