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Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, provid-
ing for illuminated signs on tops of trucks and truck tractors and further pro-
viding for penalties for individuals evading turnpike tolls.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 4307 and section 6110(b) of Title 75, act of
November 25, 1970 (P.L.707, No.230), known as the Pennsylvania Con-
solidated Statutes, are amended to read:

§ 4307. Use and display of illuminated signs.

(a) General rule.—~Except as otherwise provided in this section, no
vehicle shall bear or display any illuminated signs, letters, numerals or
figures of any kind whatsoever.

(b) Buses.—A bus or school bus may bear an illuminated sign stating
its use or destination.

(¢) Taxicabs.—A taxicab may carry on the rear or the top of the
vehicle itlluminated signs placed so as not to interfere with the vision of
the driver through the rear window of the vehicle. The size and place-
- ment of the sign must receive approval of the department or be a type
approved by the department prior to use on the vehicle.

(d) Trucks and truck tractors.—A truck or truck tractor may carry
on the top of the cab roof an illuminated sign placed so as no-to-interfere
with the vision of the driver through the windshield of the vehicle. Hllumi-
nated signs so placed shall be of a size and type designed not to interfere
with or unduly distract the drivers of other vehicles on the highway. The
type, size and placement of the sign must receive approval of the depart-
ment or be a type approved by the department prior to use on the vehicie.
§ 6110. Regulation of traffic on Pennsylvania Turnpike.

* %k %

(b) [Penalty.—Any] Penalties.—

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any person
violating any of the rules and regulations of the Pennsylvania Turn-
pike Commission for which no penalty has otherwise been provided by
statute [is guilty of] commits a summary offense and shall, upon con-
viction, be sentenced to pay a fine of $25. '

(2) Any person violating any of the rules and regulations of the
commission prohibiting fare evasion or attempted fare evasion
commits a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced
to pay a fine according to the classification by the commission of the
vehicle driven by that person at the time of violation as follows:
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(i) Class I through 2: $25.
(i) Class 3 through 6: $200.
@ii}) Class 7 and higher: $300.

(3) In addition to the. fines imposed under this subsection, restitu-
tion shall be made to the commission in an amount egual to the full
Jare, for the appropriate vehicle class, from the farthest point of entry
on the turnpike to the actual point of exit.

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 10th day of July, A. D. 1981.
DICK THORNBURGH



