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No. 1982-129

AN ACT
HB 562

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for the registration and inspection of vehicles and the appointment
and certification of inspection stations and mechanics.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The introductory paragraph of section 1306 of Title 75,
act of November 25, 1970 (P.L.707, No.230), known as the Pennsylvama
Consolidated Statutes, is amended to read:

§ 1306. Grounds for refusing registration.

The department shall refuse registration {and] or renewal or transfer
of registration when any of the following circumstances exists:

* ¥ %

Section 2. Sections 1307(a) and (c), 1309 and 1373(5) of Title 75 are
amended to read:

§ 1307. Period of registration.

(a) Staggered renewal system to be established.—The department
shall establish a system of staggered registration renewal in a manner that
[some] an approximately equal number of registrations will expire every
month throughout the year. This system shall be coordinated with the
Dperiodic inspection of all vehicles which are subject to annual inspection
except those vehicles bearing dealer registration plates. In order to imple-
ment and maintain the staggered registration system, the department
may prorate annual registration fees over registration periods of from 6
to 18 months.

* ¥ % .

(c) Renewal of registration.—A renewed registration shall be effec-
tive on issuance by the department of a renewed registration card [except
that the department, by regulation, may establish a renewal system coor-
dinated with the periodic inspection of vehicles as provided in
section 4702 (relating to requirement for periodic inspection of
vehicles)).

* ok #*

§ 1309. Renewal of registration.

[Prior] At least 60 days prior to the expiration of each registration, the
department shall send to the registrant an application for renewal of reg-
istration. Upon return of the application, accompanied by proof of
insurance and the applicable fee or fees, the department shall send to the
registrant a renewed registration card. Failure to receive a renewal appli-
cation shall not relieve a registrant from the responsibility to renew the
registration.



436 Act 1982-129 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

§ 1373. Suspension of registration.

The department may suspend any registration after prov1dmg oppor-
tunity for a hearing in any of the following cases when the department
finds upon sufficient evidence that:

%* % ok

(5) The required [fee has] fees have not been paid.
* %k %

Section 3. Section 1958 of Title 75 is amended to read:
§ 1958. Certificate of inspection. -

The department shall charge [$1} 32 for each annual certificate of
inspection and $1 for each semiannual certificate of inspectis:.

Section 4. Section 4702 of Title 75, subsection (b.1) added July 10
1981 (P.L.250, No.82), is amended to read:

§ 4702. Requirement for periodic inspection of vehicles.

(a) [General rule.—The] Annual inspection.—Except as provided in
subsection (b), the department shall establish a system of [semiannual}
annual inspection of vehicles [registered in this Commonwealth and mass
transit vehicles operated in this Commonwealth] including emergency
vehicles and private noncommercial vehicles used to transpers-stusdenss.

(b) [Annual} Semiannual inspection of certain vehicles.—[Recrea-
tional trailers, vehicles registered as antique and classic vehicles, fire-
fighting vehicles and motorcycles shall be subject to annual inspection.}
School buses, passenger vans under contract with or owned by a school
district or private or parochial school, including vehicles having char-
tered, group and party rights under the Public Utility Commission and
used to transport school students, passenger vans used to transport
persons for hire or owned by a commercial enterprise and used for the
transportation of employees to or from their place of employment, trail-
ers having a registered gross weight in excess of 10,000 pounds, mass
transit vehicles and motor carrier vehicles shall be subject to semiannual
inspection. :
. (¢) Inspection criteria for street rods.—The department,
after consultation with the National Street Rod Association and other
interested groups, shall prescribe special inspection criteria for vehicles
registered as street rods.

{(c) Inspection of vehicles reentering this Commonwealth.—Owners
of Pennsylvania registered vehicles which have been outside of-this Com-
monwealth continuously for 30 days or more and which at the time of
reentering this Commonwealth do not bear a currently valid certificate of
inspection and approval shall, within five days of reentering this Com-
monwealth, proceed to an official inspection station for an inspection of
the vehicle.]

(d) Extension of inspection period.—The department may, by regu-
lation, extend the time for any of the inspections required by this chapter
for not more than 30 days due to weather conditions or other causes
which render compliance with the provisions of this chapter within the
prescribed time difficult or impossible.
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Section 5. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 4702.1. Limited liability of inspection station or mechanic.

An inspection conducted pursuant to section 4702(a) (relating to
annual inspection) shall not be construed as a guaranty of the safety of
any vehicle and neither the official inspection station issuing the certifi-
cate of inspection nor the official inspection mechanic performing the
inspection shall be liable to the owner or occupants of any inspected
vehicle for any damages caused by the failure or malfunction of that
vehicle or to the owner or occupants of any vehicle involved in an acci-
dent with that inspected vehicle or to any pedestrian injured in the acci-
dent unless it can be shown by a preponderance of the evidence that the
Jfailure was caused by the negligence of the inspection station or
mechanic.

Section 6. Section 4703(b), (c) and (d) of Title 75, paragraph (9) of
subsection (b) added March 7, 1982 (P.L.152, No.49), are amended to
read:

§ 4703. ' Operation of vehicle without official certificate of inspection.

* % %

(b) Exceptions.—Subsection (a) does not apply to:

(1) Special mobile equipment.

(2) Implements of husbandry.

(3) Motor vehicles being towed.

(4) Motor vehicles being operated or trailers being towed by an
official inspection station owner or employee for the purpose of
inspection.

(5) Trailers having a registered gross weight of 3,000 pounds or
less.

(6) Motorized pedalcycles.

(7) Vehicles being repossessed by a financer or collector-reposses-
sor through the use of miscellaneous motor vehicle business registra-
tion plates.

(8) New vehicles while they are in the process of manufacture,
including testing, and not in transit from the manufacturer to a pur-
chaser or dealer.

(9) Any military vehicle used for training by a private, nonprofit,
tax exempt military educational institution when such vehicle does not
travel on public roads in excess of one mile and the property on both
sides of the public road is owned by the institution.

(10) Antique vehicles.

(c) Inspection of vehicles reentering this Commonwealth.—Vehicles
subject to registration and inspection in this Commonwealth which have
been outside this Commonwealth continuously for 30 days or more and
which, at the time of reentering this Commonwealth, do not bear a cur-
rently valid certificate of inspection shall not be required to be inspected
[within five] until ten days [of] after reentering this Commonwealth.

(d) Newly-purchased vehicles.—[Newly-purchased vehicles may be
driven without being inspected for five days after purchase orentry intc
this Commonwealth, whichever occurs later.]
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(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), vehicles shall be inspected
within ten days of sale or resale or three days of entry into this Com-
monwealth, whichever occurs later. The inspection shall be coordi-
nated with the staggered registration system regardless of the date of
any previous inspection in this or any other jurisdiction.

(2) Vehicles subject to semiannual inspection and mass transit
vehicles which display currently valid official certificates of inspection
are exempt from the provisions of paragraph (1).

(3) A vehicle held by a dealer or manufacturer and operated witha
registration plate issued under section 1335 (relating to registration
Dlates for manufacturers and dealers) and operated or used under the
Dprovisions of section 1336(a)(4), (5) or (7) (relating to use of dealer
registration plates) is exempt from the provisions of paragraph £1).

* ¥ %k

Section 7. Section 4726(a) of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 4726. Certification of mechanics.

(@) General rule.—No mechanic shall conduct motor vehicle inspec-
tions or mass transit vehicle inspections at an official inspection station
unless certified 'as to training, qualifications and competence by the
department or the department’s designate according to department regu-
lations. The regulations relating to mass transit vehicle inspections shall
require that any mechanic conducting such inspections shall possess
proven competence in the area of mass transit vehicle operation and
maintenance. The provisions of this title or regulations adopted there-
under shall not be construed or applied in a manner which would pre-
clude or impair the right of a person who is a resident of another state,
and who is in possession of a valid driver’s license issued by such state, to
be certified to conduct motor vehicle inspections or mass transit vehicle
inspections at an official inspection station in this Commonwealth. No
official inspection station appointment shall be issued or renewed unless
a certified official inspection mechanic is [there] employed there.

* % % *

Section 8. Section 4727 of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 4727. Issuance of certificate of inspection.

(@) Requirements prior to inspection.—No vehicle, except a vehicle
held by a dealer or manufacturer for which titling is not required or a
mass transit vehicle for which [registration] titling is not required [or
except a vehicle owned by a dealer or manufacturer], shall be inspected
unless it is duly registered or titled in this Commonwealth or in any other
jurisdiction. The [owner or operator or an employee of the official] certi-
fied inspection [station] mechanic shall examine the registration card,
lor] title or other document as specified in department regulations in
order to ascertain that the vehicle is registered or titled or that an applica-
tion for title has been submitted by the vehicle owner.

(b) Requirements for issuance of certificate.—An official certificate
of inspection shall not be issued unless the vehicle or mass transit vehicle
is inspected and found to be in compliance with the provisions of this
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chapter including any regulations promulgated by the department. Nota-
tion of the odometer reading shall be included on [the] any certificate of
inspection or other document as specified in department regsintions.

(c) Unsafe school buses.—School buses found to be unsafe and
Dlaced out of service by an enforcement agency shall be reported by the
enforcement agency to the school authorities.

Section 9. Section 4729 of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 4729. Removal of certificate of inspection.

No certificate of inspection shall be removed from a vehicle or a mass
transit vehicle for which the certificate was issued except to replace it
with a new certificate of inspection issued in accordance with the provi-
sions of this chapter or as follows:

(1) The police officer may remove a certificate of inspection in
accordance with the provisions of section 4703(f) (relating to opera-
tion of vehicle without official certificate of inspection).

(2) A person replacing a windshield or repairing a windshield in
such a manner as to require removal of a certificate of inspection shall
at the option of the registrant of the vehicle or the owner of a mass
transit vehicle cut out the portion of the windshield containing the cer-
tificate and deliver it to the registrant of the vehicle or the owner of the
mass transit vehicle or destroy the certificate. The vehicle or the mass
transit vehicle may be driven for up to five days if it displays the
portion of the old windshield containing the certificate as prescribed in
department regulations. Within the five day period an official inspec-
tion station may affix to the vehicle or mass transit vehicle another cer-
tificate of inspection for the same inspection period without reinspec-

" ting the vehicle or mass transit vehicle in exchange for the portion of
the old windshield containing the certificate of inspection. A fee of no
more than [$1] $2 plus the fee paid to the department may be charged
for [the exchanged] exchanging the certificate of inspection.

(3) A salvor shall remove and destroy the certificate of inspection
on every vehicle or mass transit vehicle in his possession except vehicles
used in the operation of the business of the salvor.

(4) Every applicant for a certificate of junk pursuant to
section 1117(a) (relating to vehicle destroyed or junked) shall remove
and destroy the valid certificate of inspection.

Section 10. (a) Al vehicles subject to annual inspection pursuant
to section 4702 (relating to requirement for periodic inspection of
vehicles) shall be inspected at least once in the 12 months immediately
following the first day of the month following enactment.

(b) During the initial phase-in of the annual inspection program all
vehicles shall be subject to a varied inspection interval not to exceed 15
months. .

Section 11. (a) The Department of Transportation shall promul-
gate regulations which will initiate the implementation of this-act nolater
than one year after enactment.
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(b) The regulations of the department currently in effect relating to
inspections shall continue to be effective until such time as new regula-
tions are adopted to supersede such regulations.

Section 12. Nothing in this amendatory act shall be construed as
requiring an automobile emission program.

Section 13. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 26th day of May, A. D. 1982.
DICK THORNBURGH



