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No. 1984-33

AN ACT
HB 946

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, redefin-
ing ‘““‘abandoned vehicles’’; and further providing for removal of vehicies.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The definition of ‘‘abandoned vehicle’’ in section 102 of Title
75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:

§ 102. Definitions.

Subject to additional definitions contained in subsequent provisions of
this title which are applicable to specific provisions of this title, the following
words and phrases when used in this title shall have, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in this section:

‘‘Abandoned vehicle.”’

(1) A vehicle (other than a pedalcycle) shall be presumed to be aban-
doned under any of the following circumstances, but the presumption is
rebuttable by a preponderance of the evidence:

(i) [that is] The vehicle is physically inoperable and is left unat-
tended on a highway or other public property for more than 48 hours[;].

(ii) [that] The vehicle has remained illegally on a highway or other
public property for a period of more than 48 hours[;].

(iii) The vehicle is [without a valid registration plate or certificate of
inspection or title] left unattended on or along a highway[;] or other
public property for more than 48 hours and does not bear all of the fol-
lowing:

(A) A valid registration plate.
(B) A certificate of inspection.
(C) An ascertainable vehicle identification number.

(iv) [that] The vehicle has remained on private property without the
consent of the owner or person in control of the property for more than
48 hours.

(2) Vehicles and equipment used or to be used in construction or in the
operation or maintenance of highways or public utility facilities, which are
left in a manner which does not interfere with the normal movement of
traffic, shall not be considered to be abandoned.

* k *

Section 2. Section 3352(c) and (d) of Title 75 are amended to read:

§ 3352. Removal of vehicle by or at direction of police.

* Kk k

(c) Removal to garage or place of safety.—Any police officer may
remove or cause to be removed to the place of business of the operator of a
wrecker or to a nearby garage or other place of safety any vehicle found
upon a highway under any of the following circumstances:
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(1) Report has been made that the vehicle has been stolen or taken
without the consent of its owner.

(2) The person or persons in charge of the vehicle are physically
unable to provide for the custody or removal of the vehicle.

(3) The person driving or in control of the vehicle is arrested for an
alleged offense for which the officer is required by law to take the person
arrested before an issuing authority without unnecessary delay.

(4) The vehicle is in violation of section 3353 (relating to prohibitions
in specified places) except for overtime parking.

(5) The vehicle has been abandoned as defined in this title. The officer
shall comply with the provisions of subsection (d) and Chapter 73 (relating
to abandoned vehicles and cargos).

(d) Notice to owner prior to removal.—

(1) Prior to removal of an abandoned vehicle bearing a registration
plate, certificate of inspection or vehicle identification number plate by
which the last registered owner of the vehicle can be determined, [notice
shall be sent] the police department shall send a notice by certified mail to
the last registered owner of the vehicle informing the owner that unless the
vehicle is moved to a suitable location within [five] seven days of the date
notice is mailed, the vehicle will be removed under this section and held at
a suitable facility where it may be reclaimed by the owner in accordance
with the provisions of section 7306 (relating to payment of costs upon
reclaiming vehicle). If the abandoned motor vehicle does not bear an
identifiable registration plate, certificate of inspection or vehicle identifi-
cation number plate, the notice may be secured to the vehicle.

(2) If, within the [five-day] seven-day period, the owner so requests,
the owner shall be given an opportunity to explain to the police officer or
department why the owner believes the vehicle should not be [moved}
removed. If the police officer or department determines that the vehicle
shall, nonetheless, be [moved] removed, the owner shall be given an addi-
tional 48 hours to [move] remove the vehicle for], have it [moved.]
removed or demand a hearing, which shall conform to the requirements of
2 Pa.C.S. Ch. 5 Subch. B (relating to practice and procedure of local agen-
cies). The police officer or department shall inform the owner of the:right
to a hearing by delivering to the owner a notice warning the owner that,
unless the vehicle is removed or a hearing is demanded, the owner shall be
subject to the provisions of section 7306. If, as a result of the hearing, it is
determined that the vehicle will be removed, the owner shall be given an
additional 48 hours to remove the vehicle or have it removed. The hearing
shall be before a civilian officer or employee of the municipality in which
the vehicle is located.

(3) The provision for notice set forth in this subsection is applicable
only if the vehicle is abandoned upon a highway and is not in-violation of
subsection (b) or section 3351(a) or 3353. Notice under this subsection is in
addition to any other notice requirements provided in Chapter 73.
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Section 3. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 3rd day of April, A. D. 1984,
DICK THORNBURGH



