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AN ACT
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Amending Title 23 (Domestic Relations) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Stat-
utes, providing a procedure for access by an adoptee or his adoptive parent or
legal guardian to certain information concerning his natural parents; imposing
penalties; and making certain repeals.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 2905 of Title 23 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended to read:

§ 2905. Impounding of proceedings and access to records.

(@) General rule.—All petitions, exhibits, reports, notes of testimony,
decrees, and other papers pertaining to any proceeding under this part or
former statutes relating to adoption shall be kept in the files of the court as a
permanent record thereof and withheld from inspection except on an order
of court granted upon cause shown or except as otherwise provided in this
section. Any report required to be filed under sections 2531 (relating to
report of intention to adopt) and 2535 (relating to investigation) shall be
made available to parties to an adoption proceeding only after all identifying
names and addresses in the report have been extirpated by the court.

(b) Petition to court for limited information.—Upon petition by any
adoptee at least 18 years of age or, if less than 18, his adoptive parent or legal
guardian to the court in the judicial district in which the permanent records
relating to the adoption have been impounded, the court shall furnish to the
adoptee as much information concerning the adoptee’s natural parents as
will not endanger the anonymity of the natural parents. The information
shall first be reviewed, in camera, by the court to insure that no information
is revealed which would endanger the anonymity of the natural parents. The
court shall, upon motion of the adoptee, examine the entire record to deter-
mine if any additional information can safely be revealed without endan-
gering the anonymity of the natural parents.

(c) Access to identity of natural parents.—

(1) Upon petition of an adoptee at least 18 years of age or, if less than

18, his adoptive parent or legal guardian, the court may also, through its

designated agent, attempt to contact the natural parents, if known, to

obtain their consent to release their identity and present place of residence
to the adoptee. The petition may state the reasons why the adoptee desires
to contact his natural parents, which reasons shall be disclosed to the
natural parents if contacted. However, the court and its agents shall take
care that none but the natural parents themselves are informed of the
adoptee’s existence and relationship to them. The court may refuse to
contact the natural parents if it believes that, under the circumstances,
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there would be a substantial risk that persons other than the natural
parents would learn of the adoptee’s existence and relationship to the
natural parents. The court shall appoint either the county children and
youth agency, or a private agency which provides adoption services in
accordance with standards established by the Department of Public
Welfare, to contact the natural parents as its designated agent.

(2) In addition to petitioning the court to contact the natural parents,
an adoptee at least 18 years of age or, if less than 18, his adoptive parent or
legal guardian may request the agency that placed the adoptee to contact
his natural parents. If the agency agrees to attempt to contact the natural
parents, it shall do so pursuant to the same safeguards provided for court
inquiries in paragraph (1).

(3) If the court or an agency contacts the natural parents of an adoptee
pursuant to a petition or request made under paragraph (1) or (2), except
as hereinafter provided, information relating to both natural parents shall
only be disclosed to the adoptee if both natural parents agree to the disclo-
sure. If both of the natural parents are deceased, their identities may be
disclosed. If one parent is deceased, his or her identity may be disclosed. If
only one parent agrees to the disclosure, then only the information relating
to the agreeing parent shall be disclosed.

(4) The Department of Public Welfare may, by regulation, prescribe
procedures related to contact of natural parents by designated agents of
the court.

(d) Disclosure of information on original certificate of birth.—

(1) No disclosure of information shall be made by the court, an
agency, the Department of Health or any other Commonwealth agency
regarding the adopted persan’s original certificate of birth or regarding the
documents of proof on which the amended certificate of birth is based or
relating in any way to the natural parents unless the disclosure is made pur-
suant to the provisions of this section.

(2) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section to the con-
trary, the natural parents may, at the time of the relinquishment of their
parental rights pursuant to Chapter 25 (relating to proceedings prior to
petition to adopt) or at any time thereafter, place on file, with the court
and with the Department of Health, a consent form granting permission
Jor the court or the department to disclose the information contained in
the adoptee’s original certificate of birth, or any other identifying or non-
identifying information pertaining to the natural parents, at any time after
the adoptee attains the age of 18 or, if less than 18, to his adoptive parent
or legal guardian. If both parents give their consent, the information on
the birth certificate may be disclosed. If only one parent gives consent,
only the identity of the consenting parent shall be disclosed. The natural
parents shall be entitled to update those records, as necessary, to reflect
the natural parent’s current address or any other information pertaining to
the natural parents. The information may only be disclosed upon the
request of the adoptee or his adoptive parent or legal guardian, and the
consent of the natural parents may be withdrawn at any time by filing a
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withdrawal of consent form with the court and the department. The

department shall prescribe by regulation the procedure and forms to be

utilized for the giving, updating and withdrawal of the consent.

Section 2. Title 23 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 2910. Penalty for unauthorized disclosure.

Any officer or employee of the court, other than a judge thereof, the
Department of Health or any agency who willfully discloses impounded or
otherwise confidential information relating to an adoption, other than as
expressly authorized and provided in this chapter, commits a misdemeanor
of the third degree.

Section 3. Sections 603(c), 801 and 804 of the act of June 29, 1953
(P.L.304, No.66), known as the Vital Statistics Law of 1953, are repealed
insofar as they are inconsistent with 23 Pa.C.S § 2905 (relating to impound-
ing of proceedings and access to records).

Section 4. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 12th day of December, A. D. 1984,
DICK THORNBURGH



