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AN ACT
HB 2374

Amending the act of April 8, 1937 (P.L.262, No.66), entitled, as amended, ‘“‘An
act relating to consumer credit; requiring licenses from the Secretary of
Banking; restricting licenses to domestic business corporations; fixing
minimum capital requirements; conferring certain powers on the Secretary of
Banking; limiting interest and other charges; providing certain exemptions;
and imposing penalties,”’ further providing for the maximum loan amount;
and deleting an obsolete limitation.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The definition of ‘‘revolving loan account’” in section 2 of the
act of April 8, 1937 (P.L.262, No.66), known as the Consumer Discount
Company Act, amended March 3, 1976 (P.1..36, No.17), is amended to read:

Section 2. Definitions.—The following terms shall be construed in the
act to have the following meanings, except in those instances where the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

* %k %

““Revolving loan account’ means an agreement pursuant to which (i) the
licensee may permit the borrower to obtain one or a series of loans or
advances from time to time: Provided, however, That the aggregate of the
unpaid principal balances due a licensee from a consumer under this act on
any date shall not exceed the sum of [five thousand dollars ($5,000)] fifteen
thousand dollars ($15,000), (i) the unpaid principal balances and the appro-
priate charges are debited to an account, (iii) the charges for the loan are
computed on the outstanding unpaid principal balances of the account from
time to time, and (iv) the borrower has the privilege of paying the balances in
installments.

Section 2. Section 3 of the act, amended March 3, 1976 (P.L.36, No.17),
is amended to read:

Section 3. License Required.—A. On and after the effective date of
this act, no person shall engage or continue to engage in this Common-
wealth, either as principal, employe, agent or broker, in the business of nego-
tiating or making loans or advances of money on credit, in the amount or
value of [five thousand dollars (35,000)] fifteen thousand dollars (315,000)
or less, and charge, collect, contract for or receive interest, discount, bonus,
fees, fines, commissions, charges, or other considerations which aggregate in
excess of the interest that the lender would otherwise be permitted by law to
charge if not licensed under this act on the amount actually loaned or
advanced, or on the unpaid principal balances when the contract is payable
by stated installments except a domestic business corporation organized
under or existing by virtue of the Business Corporation Law of this Com-
monwealth, after first obtaining a license from the Secretary of Banking of
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the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in accordance with the provisions of
this act.

B. Any person who shall hold himself out as willing or able to arrange
for or negotiate such loans of [five thousand dollars ($5,000)] fifteen
thousand dollars ($15,000), or less where the interest, discount, bonus, fees,
fines, commissions or other considerations in the aggregate exceeds the inter-
est that the lender would otherwise be permitted by law to charge or who
solicits prospective borrowers of such loans of [five thousand dollars
($5,000)] fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000), or less shall be deemed to be
engaged in the business contemplated by this act, unless otherwise permitted
by law to engage in such activities. The referring borrowers to a licensee shall
not be deemed to be engaged in the business contemplated by this act if no
charge, no matter how denominated, for such reference is imposed on the
prospective borrower by the person making the reference. No licensee shall
knowingly include in any loan under this act any amount which is to be paid
by the borrower to another as a fee or charge, no matter how denominated,
for referring said borrower to the licensee.

Section 3. Section 13 E of the act, amended December 9, 1982
(P.L.1072, No.249), is amended to read:

Section 13. Powers Conferred on Licensees.——In addition to the general
powers conferred upon a corporation by the Business Corporation Law of
this Commonwealth, a corporation licensed under this act shall have power
and authority:

* ¥ %

E. To charge, contract for, receive or collect interest or discount at a rate
not to exceed nine dollars and fifty cents ($9.50) per one hundred dollars
($100) per year when the contract is repayable within forty-eight (48) months
from the date of making. When the contract is repayable more than forty-
eight (48) months from the date of making, the rate of interest or discount
which may be charged, contracted for, received or collected, shall not exceed
nine dollars and fifty cents ($9.50) per one hundred dollars ($100) per year
for the first forty-eight (48) months of the term of the contract plus six
dollars ($6) per one hundred doilars ($100) per year for any remainder of the
term of the contract. Such interest or discount shall be computed at the time
the loan is made on the face amount of the contract for the full term of the
contract from the date of the contract to the date of the scheduled maturity
notwithstanding any requirement for installment payments. On contracts for
periods which are less or greater than one year, or which are not a multiple of
one year, the interest or discount shall be computed proportionately on even
calendar months: Provided, however, That for a period of less than one
month the computation may be based on a full calendar month. The face
amount of any note or contract made pursuant to this act may, notwith-
standing any other provision, exceed [five thousand dollars ($5,000)] fifteen
thousand dollars ($15,000) by the amount of interest or discount and service
or other charge authorized by this act collected or deducted in advance or
added to the principal at the time of making the loan. As an alternative to the
rates provided for in this clause, a licensee may charge, contract for, and
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collect interest at the rate and in the manner provided for in section 17.1 A:
Provided, however, That on loans secured by a security interest, mortgage or
other lien on real property, and in which the principal amount exceeds five
thousand dollars (35,000), a licensee may not charge, contract for, receive,
or collect interest in excess of the rate specified in section 9 of the act of
December 12, 1980 (P.L.1179, No.219), known as the ‘‘Secondary Mortgage
Loan Act.”’

* % %k

Section 4. Section 14 A of the act, amended March 3, 1976 (P.L.36,
No.17) and repealed in part October 4, 1978 (P.L.909, No.173), is amended
toread:

Section 14. Licensee Requirements and Limitations.—A. A licensee
shall not permit any person to become obligated to such licensee as a con-
sumer on one or more loan contracts for an aggregate amount in excess of
[five thousand dollars ($5,000)] fifteen thousand dollars ($15,900), exclusive
of charges authorized by this act. This limitation shall not apply to the pur-
chase of contracts which arise from the bona fide sale of goods or services by
a seller regularly engaged in the sale of such goods or services. This limitation
shall not impair the authority of a licensee to lend money, credit, goods or
things in action, or to purchase contracts in amounts in excess of [five
thousand dollars (85,000)] fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) and charge,
contract for, receive or collect interest or discount at the legal rate estab-
lished by the General Usury Statute of the Commonwealth.

* * %

Section 5. Section 18 of the act, amended March 3, 1976 (P.L.36,
No.17), is amended to read:

Section 18. Penalties.—Any person who has not obtained a license from
the Secretary of Banking of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in accor-
dance with the provisions of this act, and who shall engage in the business of
negotiating or making loans or advances of money or credit, in the amount
or value of [five thousand dollars ($5,000)] fifteen thousand dollars
($15,000) or less, and charge, collect, contract for or receive interest, dis-
count, bonus, fees, fines, commissions, charges or other considerations
which aggregate in excess of the interest that the lender would otherwise be
permitted by law to charge if not licensed under this act on the amount actu-
ally loaned or advanced, or on the unpaid principal balances when the con-
tract is payable by stated installments, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor,
upon conviction thereof shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than five
hundred dollars ($500) or more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), and/or
suffer imprisonment not less than six (6) months nor more than three (3)
years, in the discretion of the court.

Except as the result of an accidental bona fide error, a corporation
licensed under the provisions of this act or any director, officer, employe or
agent who shall violate any provision of this act or shall direct or consent to
such violations, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction
thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than two thousand
dollars ($2,000) for the first offense, and for each subsequent offense a like
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fine, and/or suffer imprisonment not to exceed one year, in the discretion of
the court.

The payment of [five thousand dollars ($5,000)] fifteen thousand dollars
($15,000) or less, in money, credit, goods or things in action as consideration
for any sale or assignment of, or order for, the payment of wages, salary,
commissions or other compensation for services, whether earned or to be
earned, shall, for the purposes of regulation under this act, be deemed a loan
secured by such assignment, and the amount by which such assigned com-
pensation exceeds the amount of such consideration actually paid shall for
the purpose of regulation under this act, be deemed interest or charges upon
such loan from the date of such payment to the date such compensation is
payable. Such transactions shall be governed by and subject to the provisions
of this act.

The payment of [five thousand dollars ($5,000)] fifteen thousand dollars
(815,000) or less, in money, credit, goods or things in action as consideration
for any sale of real or personal property which is made on condition or agree-
ment, expressed or implied, that such property be sold back at a greater price
shall, for the purpose of this act, be deemed to be a loan secured by such
property, and the amount by which the repurchase price exceeds such origi-
nal purchase price actually paid shall be deemed interest or charges upon
such loan from the date such original payment is made until the date such
repurchase price is paid. Such transaction shall be governed by and subject to
the provisions of this act.

When real or personal property is pledged as security on a loan of [five
thousand dollars ($5,000)] fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) or less, and the
lender requires the borrower to pay for insurance thereon, such charge for
insurance shall be construed as interest under this act when the lender has
failed to have such insurance written by an insurance company legally autho-
rized to conduct business in Pennsylvania. When the amount charged for
such insurance is in excess of the standard cost of similar insurance in other
insurance companies legally authorized to conduct business in Pennsylvania,
the excess shall be construed as interest under this act.

Section 6. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 18th day of December, A. D. 1984.
DICK THORNBURGH



