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Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania Con-
solidated Statutes, further providing for facilities for appellate judges; and
extending the limitation periods in criminal cases where the victim is a child.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 3703 and 5554 of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Con-
solidated Statutes are amended to read:
§ 3703. Local chamber facilities.

[(a) General rule.—Each county shall furnish for each judge of the
appellate courts of this Commonwealth who resides therein chamber facili-
ties in conformity with general rules for such judge and his persena! staff:

(1) in the county judicial center of such county; or

(2) if no such accommodations are available in the county judicial
center, like accommodations in such building as may be selected by the
county with the approval of the judge concerned.

(b) Exception.—Subsection (a) shall not apply to any county in which
the Pennsylvania Judicial Center may be located.]

The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts shall furnish for each
Judge of the appellate courts of this Commonwealth chamber facilities in the
county in which such judge resides in conformity with general rules for such
Jjudge and the personal staff of such judge from funds annually appropriated
by the General Assembly.

§ 5554. Tolling of statute.

Except as provided by section 5553(e) (relating to disposition of proceed-
ings within two years), the period of limitation does not run during any time
when:

(1) the accused is continuously absent from this Commonwealth or
has no reasonably ascertainable place of abode or work within this Com-
monwealth; [or]

(2) a prosecution against the accused for the same conduct is pending
in this Commonwealthl.]; or

(3) achild is under 18 years of age, where the crime involves injuries to
the person of the child caused by the wrongful act, or neglect, or unlawful
violence, or negligence of the child’s parents or by a person responsible for
the child’s welfare, or any individual residing in the same home as the
child, or a paramour of the child’s parent.
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Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 10th day of July, A. D. 1985.
DICK THORNBURGH



