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AN ACT
HB 583

Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Stat-
utes, increasing the term of a firearms license and the fee therefor; and further
providing for revocations.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 6109 of Title 18 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended to read:

§ 6109. Licenses.

(a) Issue of license.—The chief or head of any police force or police
department of a city, and, elsewhere, the sheriff of a county, may, upon the
application of any person, issue a license to such person to carry a firearm in
a vehicle or concealed on or about his person within this Commonwealth for
not more than [one year] five years from date of issue, if it appears that the
applicant has good reason to fear an injury to his person or property, or has
any other proper reason for carrying a firearm, and that he is a suitable
person to be so licensed.

(b) Form of license.—The license shall be in triplicate, in form to be pre-
scribed by the Pennsylvania State Police, and shall bear the name, address,
description, and signature of the licensee and the reason given for desiring a
license. The original thereof shall be delivered to the licensee, the duplicate
shall, within seven days, be sent by registered or certified mail to the Com-
missioner of the Pennsylvania State Police, and the triplicate shall be pre-
served for six years by the authority issuing said license.

(¢) Fee.—The fee for issuing such license shall be [50 cents] $2. 50, which
fee shall be paid into the county treasuryl, except that if the applicant
exhibits a resident hunter’s license issued to him for the current license year,
the fee shall not be charged].

(d) Revocation.—Any such license to carry firearms may be revoked by
the person issuing the samel, at any time, upon written notice to the holder
thereofl. Notice of revocation shall be in writing and shall state the reason
therefor. Said notice shall be sent by certified mail, and, at that time, a copy
shall be forwarded to the Commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police.

Section 2. This act shall take effect January 1, 1987,

APPROVED—The 17th day of April, A. D. 1986.
DICK THORNBURGH



