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AN ACT
SB 670

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for penalties for failure to register certain vehicles, for weighing of
vehicles and for the operation and equipment of certain motorcycles.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The definition of ‘“‘gross weight’’ in section 102 of Title 75 of
the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:
§ 102, Definitions.

Subject to additional definitions contained in subsequent provisions of
this title which are applicable to specific provisions of this title, the following
words and phrases when used in this title shall have, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in this section:
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“Gross weight.”” The combined weight of a vehicle or combination of
vehicles and its load [and driver] excluding the driver’s weight.

* %k *

Section 2. Sections 1301(a) and (d), 1504(d)(1), 3525, 4981(a) and
4982(c) of Title 75 are amended to read:

§ 1301. Registration and certificate of titlé required.

(a) Driving unregistered vehicle prohibited.—No person shall drive or
move and no owner shall knowingly permit to be driven or moved upon any
highway any vehicle which is not registered in this Commonwealth unless the
vehicle is exempt from registration.
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(d) Penalty.—Any person violating the provisions of subsection (a) is
guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay
a fine of $75 or double the registration fee, whichever is greater, except when
the vehicle was previously registered within 60 days of the commission of the
offense whereupon the fine shall be $25. In the case of a motor carrier vehicle
other than a trailer, the fine shall be 350 if the motor carrier vehicle was pre-
viously registered within 60 days of the commission of the offense or, if the
registration occurs outside the 60-day period, the fine shall be double the reg-
istration fee for the maximum weight at which the vehicle could have been
registered in this Commonwealth.

§ 1504. Classes of licenses.
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(d) Number and description of classes.—Licenses issued by the depart-
ment shall be classified in the following manner:

(1) Class 1.—A Class 1 license shall be issued to those persons who
have demonstrated their qualifications to operate a single vehicle not in
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excess of 30,000 pounds registered grass weight or any such vehicle towing

a trailer not in excess of 10,000 pounds gross weight. Any fireman who is

the holder of a Class 1 license and who has a certificate of authorization

from his fire chief shall be authorized to operate any vehicle registered to
the fire department regardless of the other requirements of this section as
to the class of license required. The holder of a Class 1 license shall also be
authorized to drive a motorized pedalcycle or a three-wheeled motorcycle
equipped with an enclosed cab. The holder of a Class 1 license shall not be
deemed qualified to operate buses, school buses or motorcycles unless the
license is endorsed as provided in this section.
* % X
§ 3525. Protective equipment for motorcycle riders.

(a) Protective headgear.—[No] Except as provided in subsection (d), no
person shall operate or ride upon a motorcycle or a motor-driven cycle (other
than a motorized pedalcycle) unless he is wearing protective headgear which
complies with standards established by the department.

(b) Eye-protective devices.—[Nol Except as provided in subsection (d),
no person shall operate or ride upon a motorcycle (other than a motorized
pedalcycle) unless he is wearing an eye-protective device of a type approved
by the department.

() Approval of equipment.—The department may approve or disap-
prove protective headgear and eye-protective devices required under this
section and may issue and enforce regulations establishing standards and
specifications for the approval of the headgear and devices. The department
shall publish lists of all protective headgear and eye-protective devices by
name and type which have been approved.

(d) Exception.— The provisions of subsections (a) and (b) shall not apply
to the operator or any occupant of a three-wheeled motorcycle-equipped with
an enclosed cab.

§ 4981. Weighing and measurement of vehicles.

(a) Authority of police officers and qualified department employees.—
Any police officer or qualified department employee is authorized to require
the driver of any vehicle or combination to stop and submit the vehicle or
combination to be measured and weighed. Weighing may be done by using
either portable or stationary scales, provided that when portable scales more
than one inch in height are used, sufficient ramp blocks shall be made
available to allow the vehicle or combination to mount the scales safely. The
weighing shall be conducted by qualified personnel who have been trained in
the use of weighing equipment in a training program approved by the
Department of Agriculture. The personnel performing the weighing on all
highways and interstates in this Commonwealth shall inform the drivers of
the vehicle of the right to readjust or rearrange the load under
section 4982(c) (relating to reducing or readjusting loads of vehicles). The
driver or owner, if present, of any vehicle or combination may, at the time of
weighing, witness in an orderly fashion the weighing procedure. If the driver
wishes to witness the procedure from outside the cab of the vehicle, he shall
be required to turn off the engine, put the transmission in gear and set the
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emergency brake before leaving the cab. A police officer or qualified depart-
ment employee may require that a vehicle or combination be driven to the
nearest stationary scales if the scales are within two miles.
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§ 4982. Reducing or readjusting loads of vehicles.
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(¢) Load adjustment to avoid prosecution.—If the gross weight of the
vehicle or combination does not exceed the maximum allowable gross weight
plus 3% tolerance for scale error and the weight upon any axle or group of
axles is [not more than 3%)] in excess of the maximum allowable axle weight,
the operator shall be allowed four hours to adjust the position of the load so
that the weight upon all wheels, tires, axles and groups of axles does not
exceed the maximum allowable weights plus 3% tolerance for scale error as
authorized in section 4981(c) (relating to weighing and measurement of
vehicles). If the load is so rearranged no arrest shall be made or prosecution
brought for violation of Subchapter C (relating to maximum weights of
vehicles). The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to any loads
which exceed the amount of weight for which a permit was issued.
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Section 3. (a) The amendments to sections 1301 and 4982 shall take
effect immediately.

(b) The remainder of this act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 8th day of July, A. D. 1986.
DICK THORNBURGH



