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No. 1989-29

AN ACT
HB 1198

Providing for the licensing of promoters of professional wrestling exhibitions;
imposing a tax on certain receipts; requiring the posting of performance
bonds; and providing penalties.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Section 1. Short title.

Section 2. Definitions.

Section 3. Promoter’s license.

Section 4. Promoter’s bonding requirements.
Section 5. Admissions gross receipts tax.
Section 6. Physician to be in attendance.
Section 7. Ambulance available.

Section 8. Crowd control.

Section 9. Offenses.

Section 10. Enforcement.
Section 11. Penalties.
Section 12. Repeals.
Section 13. Effective date.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Short title.

This act shall be known and may be cited as the Professional Wrestling
Act.

Section 2. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this act shall have the
meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise:

“Commission.”” The State Athletic Commission.

““Department.”” The Department of State of the Commonwealth.

‘“Promoter.”” Any person, and in the case of a corporation, an officer,
director, employee or shareholder thereof, who produces, arranges or stages
any professional wrestling exhibition,

“Wrestling event.”” One or more wrestling exhibitions conducted at the
same location on the same day.

“Wrestling exhibition.”” An engagement in which the participants
display their skills in a struggle against each other in the ring, with or without
the use of accessories, without necessarily striving to win, provided that con-
tests prohibited by law shall not be considered exhibitions.
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Section 3. Promoter’s license.

(a) Required.—No promoter shall conduct, hold or promote any wres-
tling exhibition unless the promoter has first obtained a promoter’s license
from the commission. A promoter licensed on December 31, 1987, under the
act of August 31, 1955 (P.L.531, No.131), known as the Pennsylvania Ath-
letic Code, shall be deemed licensed under this act. A promoter’s license shall
be issued by the commission upon the filing by an applicant of the following:

(1) Alicense fee of $100.

(2) A notarized copy of a surety bond for the first planned exhibition,
as required under section 4.

(3) An application form stating the name, address, phone number,
taxpayer identification number and the nature of the entity applying for
the license.

(b) Prohibition.—The commission shall not issue or renew a promoter’s
license to a person who has been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo con-
tendere to any of the following offenses during the ten years preceding the
application date:

(1) Bribery.

(2) Corrupt solicitations.

(3) Extortion.

(4) Perjury and subornation of perjury.

(5) Carrying deadly weapons.

(6) All offenses set forth in 18 Pa.C.S. Chs. 43 Subch. A, 55, 59 and
63.

(7) Bribery in athletic contests.

(8) Soliciting or accepting a bribe in athletic contests.

(9) Blackmail.

(10) Professional theft.

(11) Murder.

(12) Administering drugs.

(13) Rape.

(14) Indecent assault.

(15) Kidnapping.

(16) All offenses involving the use, sale or delivery of narcotics.

(¢) Renewal.—A promoter’s license shall be renewed annually upon
payment of a license fee of $100 to the Athletic Commission Augmentation
Account.

(d) Reports.—At least ten days before the scheduled date of any profes-
sional wrestling exhibition, the promoter of the exhibition shall notify the
commission in writing of the date, time and location of such event.

(e) Suspension.— Upon conviction of a promoter for any violation of
this act, the department shall suspend such promoter’s license for a period as
follows:

(1) For an offense other than as provided in paragraph (2), 30 days.

(2) For an offense committed within 12 months after conviction of a
prior offense, 90 days.
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(f) Revocation.—Upon conviction of a promoter for a violation of this
act committed within 12 months after conviction for a violation as defined
under subsection (e)(2), the department shall revoke the promoter’s license.
The license shall not be reissued prior to the expiration of one year from the
effective date of revocation.

Section 4. Promoter’s bonding requirements.

(a) General rule.—Before the scheduled date of any professional wres-
tling exhibition, the promoter of the exhibition shall be required to execute a
surety bond with the entity operating the arena or other facility in a reason-
able amount, but not less than $10,000, as the parties shall agree.

(b) Conditions of bond.—The surety bond shall be conditioned upon the
faithful performance by the promoter of his obligations under this act and
the contract with the entity in charge of the arena or other facility.

Section 5. Admissions gross receipts tax.

(a) Imposition of tax.—In addition to any Federal tax or tax imposed by
any political subdivision of the Commonwealth to be paid on gross receipts,
every promoter shall pay a State tax of 5% of the total gross receipts of any
wrestling exhibition.

(b) Payment of tax.—The tax payment shall be made to the commission
within five days after the exhibition. The payment shall be accompanied by a
form prescribed by the commission setting forth the gross receipts received
from the exhibition, together with such other information the department
may require. All of the moneys received by the Commonwealth for payment
of the gross receipts tax enumerated in this section are hereby appropriated
to the commission to be placed in the Athletic Commission Augmentation
Account.

() Computation.—As used in this section, the total gross receipts of
every promoter upon which the tax levied in subsection (a) is to be charged or
to be computed shall include only the face value of all the tickets sold.
Section 6. Physician to be in attendance.

The promoter and the operator of the arena or facility shall be responsible
to employ a physician from a list approved by the Department of Health to
be present at every wrestling exhibition. The physician shall observe the
physical condition of the participants throughout the exhibition and shall be
authorized to terminate an exhibition when, in his judgment, severe injury
would result if the exhibition were to continue. The physician’s fee shali be
paid by the promoter of the exhibition.

Section 7. Ambulance available.

The promoter and the operator of the arena or facility shall be responsible
to have an ambulance or paramedical unit present at the arena in case a
serious injury were to occur. Where the ambulance or paramedical unit is
located within five miles of the arena and that unit has been notified to be on
call by the promoter, the unit need not be present at the arena.

Section 8. Crowd control.

The promoter and the operator of the arena or facility shall be responsible
for ensuring that adequate security personnel are in attendance at the wres-
tling exhibition to control fans in attendance. The size of the security force is
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at the discretion of the promoter and the owner or operator of the arena or
facility, as they shall agree.
Section 9. Offenses.

(a) Arena owners or operators.—It shall be unlawful for an owner or
operator of an arena, hall or other facility at which a professional wrestling
exhibition takes place to destroy any ticket or ticket stub, whether sold or
unsold, within three months after the date of any exhibition.

(b) Wrestlers.—1It shall be unlawful for any wrestler to deliberately cut or
otherwise mutilate himself while participating in a wrestling exhibition.

(c) Promoter.—It shall be unlawful for any promoter to:

(1) conduct any professional wrestling exhibition without satisfying
the bond requirements specified in section 4; and
(2) employ as a participant in a wrestling exhibition any individual
who is under 18 years of age.
Section 10. Enforcement.

(a) General rule.—The police chief of any municipal police department,
the troop commander of any Pennsylvania State Police troop or the Attor-
ney General or his designee may assign an on-duty police officer, detective or
investigator under his jurisdiction to be present at any professional wrestling
exhibition within his respective jurisdiction. The police officer, detective or
investigator, upon display of a written order of assignment, shall be admitted
by the promoter without fee or hindrance and shall monitor compliance with
this act. The attending police officer, detective or investigator shall then be
responsible for reporting any unlawful incident at the event to the depart-
ment within 48 hours after the event.

{b) Municipal fee,—The promoter shall pay a fee of $100 for each wres-
tling event to the municipality to cover the costs of enforcement of this act.
Section 11. Penalties.

Except for a violation of section 3 or 10, a knowing or reckless violation of
any provision of this act shall be a summary offense. A knowing or reckless
violation of section 3 or 10 shall be a misdemeanor of the third degree.
Section 12. Repeals.

The act of August 31, 1955 (P.L.531, No.131), known as the Pennsylvania
Athletic Code, is repealed insofar as it applies to professional wrestling exhi-
bitions.

Section 13. Effective date.
This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The Ist day of July, A. D. 1989.
ROBERT P. CASEY



