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Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Stat-
utes, providing for the offense of assault on sports official and for penalties
for the offense; and further providing for the sale of tobacco.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Title 18 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended
by adding a section to read:

§ 2712.  Assault on sports official.

(a) Offense defined.—A person who violates section 2701 (relating to
simple assault), where the victim is a sports official who was assaulted during
a sports event or was assauited as a result of his or her official acts as a sports
official, is guilty of assault on a sports official.

(b) Grading.—Assault on a sports official is a misdemeanor of the first
degree.

(¢) Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection:

“‘Sports event.”’ Any inierscholastic athletic activity in a junior high
school, high school, college or university in this Commonwealth or any other
organized athletic activity in this Commonwealth, including a professional
or semiprofessional event.

“Sports official.”’ A person at a sports event who enforces the rules of
the event, such as an umpire or referee, or a person who supervises the par-
ticipants, such as a coach. The term includes a trainer, team attendant, game
manager, athletic director, assistant athletic director, president, dean, head-
master, principal and assistant principal of a school, college or university..

Section 2. Section 6305 of Title 18 is amended to read:

§ 6305. Sale of tobacco.
(a) Offense defined.—A person is guilty of a summary offense if he:
- (I) sells tobacco, in any form, to any minor under the age of {16 years,
or] 18 years;
(2) by purchase, gift or other means, furnishes tobacco, in any form,
to a minor under the age of [16 years.] 18 years; or
(3) knowingly and falsely represents himself to be 18 years of age or
older to another for the purpose of procuring or having furnished to him
tobacco in any form.

(b) Penalty.—A person who violates this section shall, upon conviction,
be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $25 for a first offense and not less
than $100 for a subsequent offense.
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Section 3. This act shall take effect immediately.

ApPPROVED—The 14th day of February, A. D. 1990.
ROBERT P. CASEY



