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No. 1990-170

AN ACT
SB 647

Amending Title 34 (Game) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, providing
for the use of a portion of the antlerless deer fee; further providing for the con-
struction of deterrent fencing; increasing the monetary cap on deterrent
fencing; providing for licenses and for license and agent fees; and further pro-
viding for control and utilization of commission land and resourcesand for the
authorized license-issuing agents.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 521(b), 543, 546, 721 and 2705 of Title 34 of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

§ 521. Establishment and use of Game Fund.
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(b) Specific allocation of certain revenues.—The following sums of
money are specifically allocated for the following purposes:

(1) A minimum of $1.25 from each resident license for which the full
fee has been paid shall be used solely for habitat improvement and restora-
tion conducive to increasing natural propagation of game or wildlife on all
lands under the control or operation of the commission or on lands open
to public hunting.

(2) A minimum of $2.00 of the fee collected for the issuance of antler-
Iess deer licenses shall be used solely for cutting or otherwise removing
overshadowing tree growth to produce underbrush, sprouts and saplings
for deer food and cover on [state game lands] lands under the control or
operation of the commission, including lands enrolled in commission
public access programs.

§ 543. Purchase of materials and construction.

{(a) General rule.—The commission may purchase and deliver to the
applicant or applicants the required amount of wire fencing, staples, insula-
tors, posts or other materials necessary to construct a deer, elk or bear deter-
rent fence approved by the commission provided the applicant or applicants
have agreed, in writing, to construct the fence without cost to the commis-
sion within six months from the day the fencing and other materials are
delivered, in the case of a deer or elk deterrent fence, or within seven days
from the day the fencing and other materials are delivered, in the case of a
bear deterrent fence. In case the fence is not completed within the stipulated
time, the commission may recover the materials it furnished at such time and
in such manner as desired or found practical. All fences shall be constructed
in accordance with plans and instructions supplied and approved by the com-
mission.

(b) Reimbursement of applicant for materials.—The commission may,
through prior written agreement with the applicant, pay the applicant for
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any or all materials necessary to construct a deterrent fence within the time
limitations set forth in subsection (a).]

(a) Purchase and delivery of materials.—The commission may purchase
and deliver to the appropriate sites the required amount of wire fencing,
staples, insulators, posts or other material necessary to construct a deer, elk
or bear deterrent fence approved by the commission.

(b) Construction of deer or elk deterrent fences.—

(1) The commission may construct, or may enter into contracts for the
construction of, or enter into a written agreement with the applicant for
the construction of, deer or elk deterrent fences on sites approved by the
commission.

(2) In making application for a deterrent fence under the provisions of
this subsection, the applicant shail agree to one of the following three
Jence construction options:

(i) The commission may construct, or may contract for the con-
struction of, the deterrent fence.

(ii) The applicant may, within six months of delivery of materials,
construct the deterrent ffence.

(iii) The applicant may contract with a third party for the construc-
tion of the deterrent fence.

(3) After any deterrent fence is constructed and approved by the com-
mission under the option specified in paragraph (2)(i), the commission
shall pay for the cost of installation, and the landowner or lessee shall ther:
reimburse the commission for 50% of the cost of installation.

(c) Construction of bear deterrent fences.—Prior to delivery under sub-
section (a), an applicant for a bear deterrent fence shall have agreed, in
writing, with the commission to construct the bear deterrent fence without
cost to the commission and to complete construction of the bear deterrent
Jence within seven days from the date the material is delivered to the site. In
case the bear deterrent fence is not completed within the stipulated time, the
commission may recover the materials it furnished at such time and in such
manner as desired or found practical.

(d) Specifications.—All deterrent fences shall be constructed and
installed in accordance with plans and instructions supplied and approved by
the commission.

(e) Reimbursement of applicant for materials.—The commission may,
through prior written agrecment with the applicant, pay the applicant for
any or all materials necessary to construct a deterrent fence within the time
limitations set forth in this section.

§ 546. Limitation on expenditures for deterrent fencing. ,

(a) General rule.—Except as provided in subsection (b), the director shall
not spend in excess of [$100,000] $300,000 annually from the Game Fund for
[the purchase of fencing and other materials necessary for the erection of]
deer, elk or bear deterrent fences in accordance with the provisions of this
subchapter.

(b) Commercial forest lands.—The director shall not spend in excess of
[$100,000] $300,000 annually from the Game Fund for [the purchase of
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fencing or other materials necessary for the erection of] deer or elk deterrent
fences on commercial forest lands to promote and protect the regeneration
of forest flora in accordance with the provisions of this subchapter. For pur-
poses of this subsection the phrase ‘‘commercial forest lands’’ shall mean
land which is owned or leased by an individual, corporation or association,
operated on a profit-making basis and meets all of the following require-
ments: :

(1) The land shall consist of a minimum of 1,000 acres.

(2) The land is managed for the production or utilization of forest
products on a sustained yield basis as defined by regulation of-the commis-
sion.

(3) Theland is open to public hunting.

§ 721. Control of property.

(a) General rule.—The administration of all lands or waters owned,
leased or otherwise controlled by the commission shall be under the sole
control of the director, and the commission shall promulgate regulations
consistent with the purpose of this title for its use and protection as necessary
to properly manage these lands or waters. The acquisition, use and manage-
ment of such lands or waters owned, leased or otherwise controlled by the
commission, including timber cutting and crop cultivation, shall not be
subject to regulation by counties or municipalities.

(b) Penalty.—A violation of regulations promulgated under subsection
(a) is a summary offense of the fifth degree.

§ 2705. Classes of licenses.

Unless otherwise provided, any person wishing to exercise any. of the privi-
leges granted by this title shall first secure the applicable resident or nonresi-
dent hunting or [furtaking] furtaker license as follows:

(1) Adult resident hunting licenses to residents who have reached their
17th birthday but have not reached their 65th birthday.

(2) Junior resident hunting licenses to residents who have reached
their 12th birthday but who have not reached their 17th birthday prior to
the date of the application for the license and who present a written
request, bearing the signature of a parent or guardian, for the issuance of a
license.

(3) Senior resident hunting licenses or, at the option of the applicant, a
senior lifetime resident hunting license to residents who have reached their
65th birthday prior to the date of the application for the license. The com-
mission shall develop, implement and administer a system to provide tags,
report cards and applications to those residents who hold a senior lifetime
resident hunting license issued under this paragraph. The system shall
require the applicant or license holder to pay any approved fee assessed by
the issuing agent.

(4) Adult resident [furtaking] furtaker licenses to residents who have
reached their 17th birthday but have not reached their 65th birthday.

(5) Junior resident [furtaking] furtaker licenses to residents who have
reached their 12th birthday but who have not reached their 17th birthday
prior to the date of the application for the license and who present a
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written request, containing the signature of a parent or guardian, for the

issuance of a license.

(6) Senior resident [furtaking] furtaker licenses or, at the option of the
applicant, a senior lifetime resident [furtaking] furtaker license to resi-
dents who have reached their 65th bicthday prior to the date of the applica-
tion for the license.

(7) (Three-day regulated hunting grounds licenses to persons eligible
to procure a hunting license. The license shall be valid for a period of three
consecutive days, Sundays exclnded, and shall entitle the licensee to hunt,
take or kill game or wildlife which may be legally hunted, taken or killed
upon the grounds under a regulated hunting grounds permit.] (Reserved).

(8) Adult nonresident hunting licenses to all nonresidents of 17 years
of age or older.

(9) Junior nonresident hunting licenses to all nonresidents who have
reached their 12th birthday but who have not reached their 17th birthday
prior to the date of the application for the license and who present a
written request, bearing the signature of a parent or guardian, for the issu-
ance of a license.

(10) Adult nonresident [furtaking] furtaker licenses to nonresidents-of
17 years of age or older.

(11) Junior nonresident [furtaking] furtaker licenses to nonresidents
who have reached their 12th birthday but who have not reached their 17th
birthday prior to the date of the application for the license and who
present a written request, containing the signature of a parent or guardian,
for the issuance of a license.

(12) (Five-dayl Seven-day nonresident small game license to persons
eligible to procure a nonresident hunting license. The license shall be valid
for a period of [five] seven consecutive days. The holder of the license shall
be entitled to hunt for, take or kill crows {or] and small game.

(13) Antlerless deer licenses, bear licenses, archery licenses, [muzzle-
loader] muzzleloader licenses and any other license required to insure just
and proper administration of this title and sound game or wildlife conser-
vation to eligible persons, subject to the regulations, requirements and
conditions which the commission shall establish. Any such license shall be
made available to residents serving on active duty in the armed forces of
the United States or in the United States Coast Guard without regard to
quota limitations or application deadlines. [The number of bear licenses
which shall be made available to nonresidents shall not exceed 3% of the
total number of bear licenses to be issued by the commission.}

Section 2. Section 2706 of Title 34 is amended by adding a subsection to
read:

§ 2706. Resident license and fee exemptions.

* %%

(d) Owners or possessors of land open to public hunting.—A resident
owner or possessor of land, comprising greater than 80 contiguous acres
farmed under a conservation plan which does not conflict with the act of
June 22, 1937 (P.L.1987, No.394), known as The Clean Streams Law, and
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which meets the requirements of 25 Pa. Code Ch. 102 (relating to erosion
control), shall, if he permits public hunting as evidenced by enrollment in a
Cooperative Public Access Program, be entitled to purchase a Landowners
Hunting License at the cost of 33 plus the current issuing fee. The 80-acre
requirement shall be exclusive of safety zones in excess of 20% of the total
acreage. The license shall be issued to the owner or possessor or an immedi-
ate family member of either the owner or possessor living in the same house-
hold so designated by the owner or possessor in the case of a single owner or
possessor and to the individual so designated in the case of more than one
owner or possessor. No person shall be issued a hunting license under this
subsection unless the person is 12 years of age or older, has met the require-
ments prescribed in section 2704 and has not been denied the privilege to
hunt. A person entitled to receive a hunting license under this subsection
shall certify to the commission in the form and manner prescribed by the
commission that the land tract he owns or possesses is presently in his owner-
ship or possession.

Section 3. Sections 2709 and 2722 of Title 34 are amended to read:

§ 2709. License costs and fees.

(a) License costs.—Any person who qualifies under the provisions of this
chapter shall be issued the applicable license upon payment of the following
costs and the issuing agent’s fee:

(1) Junior resident hunting - $5.

(2) Adult resident hunting - $12.

(3) (i) Senior resident hunting - $10.

(ii) Senior lifetime resident hunting - $50.
(4) Bear hunting:
(i) Resident - $10.
(ii) Nonresident - $25.

(5) Antlerless deer, including resident military, resident disabled
veteran and landowner - $5.

(6) Archery deer - $5.

(7) Muzzleloader deer - $5.

[(8) Three-day regulated shooting grounds - $3.]

(9) Adult nonresident hunting - $80.

(10) Junior nonresident hunting - $40.

(11) [Five-day] Seven-day nonresident small game - $15.

(12) Junior resident furtakers - $5.

(13) Adult resident furtakers - $12.

(14) (i) Senior resident furtakers - $10.

(ii) Senior lifetime resident [furtaking] furtaker - $50.

(15) Adult nonresident [furtakers] furtaker - $30.

(16) Junior nonresident [furtaking] furtaker - $40.

(17) Resident disabled veteran hunting or [furtaking] furtaker under
section 2706(b) (relating to disabled veterans) - no cost.

(18) Replacement license - $5. Antlerless deer and bear licenses shall
be replaced by the original issuing agent only.
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(19) Owners or possessors of land open to public hunting under
section 2706(d) (relating to owners or possessors of land open to public
hunting) - $3.

(b) Refunds.—Except as provided in section 501 (relating to refund of
moneys paid erroneously or unjustly), license fees are not refundable.

(c) Agent fee.—Issuing agents shall be entitled to and may retain as full
compensation for their services an additional sum [not exceeding the ameunt
specified in paragraph (1) or (2)] of 75¢ for each license or replacement
license [issued as full compensation for their services. The amount retained
shall be:

(1) Seventy-five cents for licenses and replacements issued under sub-
section (a)(1), (2), (3), (9), (10), (12), (13), (14), (15), (16) and (18).

(2) Fifty cents for all other licenses.

The fee for the agent shall be in addition to the cost of the license prescribed
in subsection (a)].
§ 2722. Authorized license-issuing agents.

(a) County treasurer and commission employees,—Each county treas-
urer [or person acting on behalf of the county treasurer and any employee-at
each commission headquarters or other commission facilities designated by
the commission may] or, it home rule or optional plan counties, the person
whose duties encompass those of a county treasurer, whose agency has not
been recalled under this title, shall accept applications and issue licenses
[unless otherwise restricted by this title or the director] in accordance with
this title. The director may also designate commission employees at commis-
sion facilities to issue licenses.

(b) Agents for issuing antlerless deer licenses.—Antlerless deer licenses
shall be issued by the county treasurer {or some person acting on behalf of
the county treasurer] or, in home rule or optional plan counties, the person
whose duties encompass those of a county treasurer within the county in
which the licenses are valid.

(c) Agent for issuing bear and nionresident furtaker licenses.—Bear and
nonresident furtaker licenses shall be issued only by the commission or by
authorized license-issuing agents designated by the director.

(d) Appointment of additional agents.—The commission may appoint
such number of qualified persons, with similar authority, as it deems neces-
sary for the efficient distribution of licenses required by this title.

(e) Agent responsible for employees.—The authorized agent shall be
solely responsible for each person acting under his direction.

(D Recall of appointment or authority.—The director may recall the
appointment or authority of any county treasurer or other agent at any time.

(@) Regulations.—The commission shall adopt regulations for:

(1) The appointment of hunting or [furtaking] furtaker license-issuing
agents and shall establish the appropriate administrative fee for creating
and maintaining these issuing agents. County treasurers shall be exempt
from the payment of any administrative fee established by the commis-
sion.
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(2) The administration, control and performance of activities con-
ducted pursuant to the provisions of this chapter.
Section 4. This act shall take effect as follows:

(1) Sections 2 (relating to section 2706) and 3 (relating to
section 2709(c)) shall take effect July 1, 1991.

(2) The remainder of this act shall take effect July 1, 1990, or immedi-
ately, whichever is later.

APPROVED—The 17th day of December, A. D. 1990.
ROBERT P. CASEY



