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No. 1992-165

AN ACT

HB 2519

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for required financial responsibility.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1786 of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended to read:

§ 1786. Required financial responsibility,

(a) General rule.—Every motor vehicle of the type required to be regis-
tered under this title which is operated or currently registered shall be
covered by financial responsibility. ‘

(b) Self-certification.—The Department of Transportation shall require
that each motor vehicle registrant certify that the registrant is financially
responsible at the time of registration or renewal thereof. The department
shall refuse to register or renew the registration of a vehicle for failure to
comply with this requirement or falsification of self-certification.

(¢) Consent to produce proof of financial responsibility.—Upon register-
ing a motor vehicle or renewing a motor vehicle registration, the owner of the
motor vehicle shall be deemed to have given consent to produce proof, upon
request, to the Department of Transportation or a police officer that the
vehicle registrant has the financial responsibility required by this chapter,

(d) Suspension of registration and operating privilege.—The Department
of Transportation shall suspend the registration of a vehicle if it determines
the required financial responsibility was not secured as required by this
chapter and shall suspend the operating privilege of the owner or registrant
for a period of three months if the department determines that the owner or
registrant has operated or permitted the operation of the vehicle without the
required financial responsibility. The operating privilege shall not be
restored until the restoration fee for operating privilege provided by
section 1960 (relating to reinstatement of operating privilege or vehicle regis-
tration) is paid. Whenever the department revokes or suspends the registra-
tion of any vehicle under this chapter, the department shall not restore the
registration until the vehicle owner furnishes proof of financial responsibility
in a manner determined by the department and submits an application for
registration to the department, accompanied by the fee for restoration of
registration provided by section 1960. This subsection shall not apply in the
following circumstances:

(1) The owner or registrant proves to the satisfaction of the depart-
ment that the lapse in financial responsibility coverage was for a period of
less than [21] 37 days and that the owner or registrant did not operate or
permit the operation of the vehicle during the period of lapse in financial
responsibility.
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(2) The owner or registrant is a member of the armed services of the
United States, the owner or registrant has previously had the financial
responsibility required by this chapter, financial responsibility had lapsed
while the owner or registrant was on temporary, emergency duty and the
vehicle was not operated during the period of lapse in financial responsi-
bility. The exemption granted by this paragraph shall continue for 30-days
after the owner Or registrant returns from duty as long as the vehicle is not
operated until the required financial responsibility has been established.

(e) Obligations upon termination of financial responsibility. —

(1) An owner of a motor vehicle who ceases to maintain financial
responsibility on a registered vehicle shall not operate or permit operation
of the vehiclé in this Commonwealth until proof of the required financial
responsibility has been provided to the Department of Transportation.

(2) An insurer who has issued a contract of motor vehicle liability
insurance, or any approved self-insurance entity, shall notify the depart-
-ment in a timely manner and in a method prescribed by the department’s
regulations.

(3) An insurer who has issued a contract of motor vehicle liability
insurance and knows or has reason to believe that the contract is only for
the purpose of providing proof of financial responsibility shall notify the
department if the insurance has been canceled or terminated by the insured
or by the insurer. The insurer shall notify the department not later than ten
days following the effective date of the cancellation or termination.

(4) A person who, after maintaining financial responsibility on the
vehicle of another person, ceases to maintain such financial responsibility
shall immediately notify the vehicle’s owner who shall not operate, or
permit operation of, the vehicle in this Commonwealth.

(5) In the case of a person who leases any motor vehicle from a person
engaged in the business of leasing motor vehicles, the lessee shall sign a
statement indicating that the required financial responsibility has been
provided through the lessor or through the lessee’s motor vehicle liability
insurance policy coverage. The lessee shall submit the statement to the
lessor.

(f) Operation of a motor vehicle without required financial responsibil-
ity.—Any owner of a motor vehicle for which the existence of financial
responsibility is a requirement for its legal operation shall not operate the
motor vehicle or permit it to be operated upon a highway of this Common-
wealth without the financial responsibility required by this chapter. In addi-
tion to the penalties provided by subsection (d), any person who fails to
comply with this subsection commits a summary offense and shall, upon
" conviction, be.sentenced to pay a fine of $300.

(g) Defenses.—

(1) No person shall be convicted of failing to produce proof of finan-
cial responsibility under this subchapter or section 3743 (relating to acci-
dents involving damage to attended vehicle or property) or 6308 (relating
to investigation by police officers) if the person produces, at the office of
the issuing authority within five days of the date of the violation, proof



SESSION OF 1992 Act 1992-165 1249

that he possessed the required financial responsibility at the time of the
violation.

(2) No person shall be penalized for maintaining a registered motor
vehicle without financial responsibility under subsection (d) if the registra-
tion plate and card were voluntarily surrendered to the department or an
agent appointed by the department to issue temporary registration cards
and plates pursuant to regulations promulgated by the department at the
time insurance coverage terminated or financial responsibility lapsed. The
department or the agent, as the case may be, shall issue a receipt showing
the date that the registration plate and card were received. The agent shall
return the registration plate and card to the department accompanied by a
copy of the receipt.

(h) Reinstatement of voluntarily surrendered registration plate and
card.—

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), the original registration plate
and card shall be canceled by the department and destroyed. Any person
who voluntarily surrendered a registration plate and card pursuant to the
provisions of subsection (g)(2) may obtain a substitute registration plate
and card bearing a registration number other than that originally issued
from the department or an agent, as the case may be. Proof of financial
responsibility in a form approved by the department shall be submitted.

(2) Any registration plate issued under sections 1340 (relating to
antique and classic plates) and 1341 (relating to personal plate) shall be
returned by the department to the owner of the motor vehicle upon receipt
of proof of financial responsibility.

(3) An agent appointed by the department to issue temporary registra-
tion cards and plates pursuant to regulations promulgated by the depart-
ment shall be authorized to issue substitute temporary registration plates
provided proof of financial responsibility is furnished. The fees provided
pursuant to sections 1929 (relating to replacement registration plates) and
1932 (relating to duplicate registration cards) shall not be charged if the
original registration plate and card were canceled pursuant to paragraph
(1).

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 16th day of December, A. D. 1992,
ROBERT P. CASEY



