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AN ACT
HB 678

Amending Title 66 (Public Utilities) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
providing for landlord ratepayers and tenants, for notice prior to termination of
service, for penalties and for remedies; and imposing duties upon owners of rental

property.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The definitions of “landlord ratepayer,” “residential building”
and “tenant” in section 1521 of Title 66 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes are amended and the section is amended by adding definitions to
read:

§ 1521. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall have
the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly-indicates
otherwise:

“Billing month.” A period of time not to exceed 35 days. The bill shall
not include any previously billed service furnished during a period other
than that covered by the current bill. If previously unbilled utility service
is included in the current utility bill, the utility shall use an estimated bill
Sor the 30-day period.

“Discontinuance.” Any cancellation of the service coniract at the
request of the ratepayer and in accordance with section 1523(b) (relating
to notices before service to landlord terminated).

“Landlord ratepayer.” One or more individuals or an organization listed
on a gas, electric, steam, sewage or water utility’s records as the party
responsible for payment of the gas, electric, steam, sewage or water service
provided to one or more residential units of a residential building or mobile
home park of which building or mobile home park the party is not the sole
occupant. In the event the landlord ratepayer is not the party tv a lease
between the landlord ratepayer and the tenant, the term also includes the
individual or organization to whom the tenant makes rental payments
pursuant to a rental arrangement.

* A K

“Residential building.” A building containing one or more dwelling units
occupied by one or more tenants. The term does not include nursing homes,
hotels and motels or any dwelling of which the landlord ratepayer is the
only resident. :

[“Tenant.” Any person or group of persons whose dwelling unit in a
residential building or mobile home park is provided gas, electricity,
steam or water pursuant to a rental arrangement for the dwelling unit,
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mobile heme or plot of ground within a mobile home park but who is
not the ratepayer of the utility which supplied the gas, electricity, steam
or water.]

“Tenant.” Any person or group of persons who are contractually
obligated to make rental paymenis to the landlord ratepayer pursuant to a
rental arrangement, including, but not limited to, an oral or written lease
with the landlord ratepayer for a dwelling unit in a residential building or
mobile home park which is provided gas, electric, steam, sewer or water as
an included service under the rental agreement and who are not the
ratepayers of the utility which supplied the gas, electric, steam, sewer or
water service.

“Termination.” The cessation of service, whether temporary or
permanent, without the consent of the ratepayer. For the purposes of this
subchapter, this term shall include cessation of service at the request of the
landiord ratepayer when a tenant does not agree to the cessation of service.

Section 2. Sections 1522, 1523 heading and (a), 1524, 1525, 1526,
1527(a), (b) and (c) and 1528 of Title 66 are amended to read:

§ 1522. Applicability of subchapter.

{a) General rule.—This subchapter applies to public utilities as defined in
paragraph (1)(i) and (ii) of the definition of “public wutility” in section 102
(relating to definitions) and to public utility service rendered by those public
utilities if the premises served constitute residential buildings as defined in
section 1521 (relating to definitions).

(b) Municipal service beyond corporate limits.—

(1) Public utility service being furnished or rendered by a municipal
corporation, or by the operating agencies of any municipal corporation,
beyond its corporate limits shall be subject to the provisions of this
subchapter establishing the procedures, rights, duties and remedies for the
[discontinuance] termination of service to landlord ratepayers.

(2) Tenants and landlord ratepayers of a dwelling unit in residential
buildings or mobile home parks receiving public utility service being
furnished or rendered by a municipal corporation, or by the operating
agencies of any municipal corporation, beyond its corporate limits shall be
subject to the provisions of this subchapter establishing the procedures,
rights, duties and remedies for the [discontinuance] fermination of
service, the right of the tenants to withhold rent, the prohibition of waiver
and the prohibition against retaliation by the landlord ratepayer with
respect to the public utility service.

§ 1523. Notices before service o landlord [discontinued] ferminated.

(a) Nonpayment of charges.—Except when required to prevent or alleviate
an emergency as defined by the commission or except in the case of danger
to life or property, before any [discontinuance] termination of service to a
landlord ratepayer for nonaccess as defined by the commission in its rules
and regulations or nonpayment of charges, a public utility shall;

(1) Notify the landlord ratepayer of the proposed [discontinuance]
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termination in writing as prescribed in section 1525 (relating to delivery

and contents of [discontinuance] ferminatior notice to landiord) at least

37 days before the date of [discontinuance] fermination of service.

(2) Notify the following agencies which serve the community in which
the affected premises are located[,] in writing[, at the time of delivery of
notice to the tenants of the proposed discontinuance] not less than ten
days before the proposed termination of service:

(i) The Department of Licenses and Inspections of any city of the
first class.

(ii) The Department of Public Safety of any city of the second class,
second class A or third class.

(iii) The city or county Public Health Department or, in the event
that such a department does not exist, the Department of Health office
responsible for that county.

(3) Notify each dwelling unit reasonably likely to be occupied by an
affected tenant of the proposed [discontinuance] fermination in writing
as prescribed in section 1526 (relating to delivery and contents of first
[discontinuance] fermination notice to tenants) at least seven days after
notice to the landiord ratepayer pursuant to this section and at least 30
days before the [discontinuance] termination of service. If within seven
days of [receipt of the notice] delivery or mailing of the notice to the
landlord issued pursuant to this section the landlord ratepayer files a
complaint with the commission disputing the right of the utility to
[discontinue] terminate service, the notice shall not be rendered until the
complaint has been adjudicated by the commission, but the landlord
ratepayer shall continue to pay the undisputed portion of current bills
when due pending the final decision of the complaint.
sk %k sk

§ 1524. Request to landlord to identify tenants.

(a) Duty of public utility and landlord.—A¢ least 37 days before the
termination of service, it is the duty of any public utility to request from the
landlord ratepayer the names and addresses of the affected tenants. Upon
receiving [a lawful] suck a request for the names and addresses of the
affected tenants pursuant to this subchapter, the landlord ratepayer shall
provide the utility with the names and addresses of every affected tenant of
any residential building or mobile home park for which the utility is
proposing to [discontinue] ferminate service unless within seven days of
[receipt] delivery or mailing of the notice the landlord ratepayer pays the
amount due the utility or makes an arrangement with the utility to pay the
balance.

(b) Time for providing information.——The information shall be provided
by the landlord ratepayer:

(1) within seven days of receipt of a request from a public utility for
tenants’ names under subsection (a);

(2) within seven days of [receipt] delivery or mailing of the notice to
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the landlord ratepayer required by section 1523 (relating to notices before

service to landlord [discontinued); or] ferminated);

[(2)1 (3) within three days of any adjudication by the commission that
the landlord ratepayer must provide the requested information if the
landlord files a complaint with the commission within seven days of
receipt of the notice to the landlord disputing the right of the utility to
[discontinue service.} ferminate service; or

(4) upon such terms as may be ordered by & court in an action
brought by the utility under section 1532(b) (relating to penalties).

(c) [Duty of public utility.—It shall be the duty of any public utility
to pursue any appropriate legal remedy it has in order to obtain from
the landlord ratepayer the names and addresses of all affected tenants
of a residential building or mobile home park for which the utility is
proposing discontinuance of service to the landiord ratepayer.] Right of
public utility.—In the event the public utility is unable to obtain the names
and addresses of all affected tenants from the landlord ratepayer, the public
utility may pursue any appropriate legal or equitable remedy it has in order
to obtain from the landlord ratepayer the names and addresses of all
affected tenants of a residential building or mobile home park for which
the utility is proposing termination of service to the landlord ratepayer. The
commission may order the public utility to obtain the information from the
landlord ratepayer.

§ 1525. Delivery and contents of [discontinuance] termiration notice to
landlord.

(a) General rule.—The notice required to be given to a landlord ratepayer
pursuant to section 1523 (relating to notices before service to landlord
[discontinued] terminated) shall contain the following information:

(1) The amount owed the utility by the landlord ratepayer for each
affected account.

(2) The date on or after which service will be [discontinued]
terminated.

(3) The date on or after which the company will notify tenants of the
proposed [discontinuance] fermination of service and of theirrights under
sections 1527 (relating to right of tenants to continued service), 1529
(relating to right of tenant to recover payments) and 1531 (relating to
retaliation by landlord prohibited).

(4) The obligation of the landlord ratepayer under section 1524
{relating to request to landlord to identify tenants) to provide the utility
with the names and addresses of every affected tenant or to pay the
amount due the utility or make an arrangement with the utility to pay the
balance including a statement:

(i) That the list must be provided or payment or arrangement must
be made within seven days of receipt of the notice.

(ii) Of the penalties and liability which the landlord ratepayer may
incur under section 1532 (relating to penalties) by failure to comply.
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(5) The right of the landlord ratepayer to stay the notification of
tenants by filing a complaint with the commission disputing the right of
the utility to [discontinue] ferminate service.

(b) Service of notice—Any one of the following procedures shall
constitute effective notice to the landlord under section 1523:

(1) Notice by certified mail if the utility receives a return receipt
signed by the landlord ratepayer or [his agent] the agent of the landlord
ratepayer.

(2) Notice by personal service of the landlord ratepayer or [his agent]
the agent of the landlord ratepayer on one business day and
conspicuously posting at the landlord ratepayer’s principal place of
business or the business address which the landlord provided the utility
as his address for receiving communications.

(3) [After unsuccessful attempts at personal delivery on two
separate days, notice] Notice by first class mail [and conspicuously
posting at the landiord ratepayer’s principal place of business or the
business address which the landlord provided the utility as his-address
for receiving communications.] fo the landlord ratepayer only after an
unsuccessful attempt at personal service on one business day. Neofice by
Jirst class mail may occur on the same business day as the attempt at
personal service.

(4) If the landlord ratepayer’s place of business is located outside of
this Commonwealth and no agent of the landlord ratepayer is located in
the State, notice by certified mail and notice by first class mail to the
landlord ratepayer on the same business day.

§ 1526. Delivery and contents of first [discontinuance] fermination notice
{0 tenants.

(a) General rule.—The notice required to be given to a tenant pursuant to
section 1523 (relating to notices before service to landlord [discontinued)
shall be mailed or otherwise delivered to the address of each affected
tenant and] ferminated) shall be sent by first class mail or otherwise hand-
delivered to each affected tenant by name at his individual dwelling unit,
or by unit number or unit designation, and shall be posted in common
areqs.

(1) In the case when a utility does not send notice by first class mail,
notice shall be hand-delivered. Hand-delivery shall mean two attempts
at personal service on g responsible individual residing within the
dwelling unit on the same or separate days. Each attempt at personal
service must be made as follows:

(i) One attempt shall be made between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. on any
day Monday through Friday.
(ii) The other attempt shall be made either between 6 p.m. and 10

p.m. on any day Monday through Friday or between 8 a.m. and §

p.m. on a Saturday or Sunday.

Each of these attempts must be made not less than four hours apart. If
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no personal service is made on any occasion, the notice must be posted
on the individual dwelling unit and inserted under the door if floor
space allows.

(2) In the case where the utility cannot gain access to a residential
building to comply with paragraph (1), the utility shall apply to court to
obtain the names and send notice by first class mail to the affected
tenani.

In order t0 obtain the names and addresses of the affecied tenants and in
conjunction with section 1524 (relating to request to landlord to identify
tenants), the utility representative shall visit the affected premises within
seven days of service of notice to the landlord ratepayer, under section 1525
(relating to delivery and contents of termination notice to landlord), and,
by personally contacting one or more of the affected tenants, shall attemps
to obtain the names of all the tenants residing in the affected premises. The
notice for each affected tenant for whom a name has been obtained shall
be sent by first class mail or otherwise hand-delivered to each affected
tenant by name at his individual dwelling unit by address and by unit
number or, if nomne exists, by unit designation and shall also be
conspicuously posted in the common areas. The notice for each affected
tenant for whom a name has not been obtained shall be hand-delivered to
each individual dwelling unit by address and unit number or, if none exists,
by unit designation and shall be conspicuously posted in the comman areas.
For the purposes of this section, the term “unit designation” means the
geographic location of a dwelling unit by floor and floor area. All notices
shall contain the following information:

(1) The date on which the notice is rendered.

(2) The date on or after which service will be discontinued.

[(3) The circumstances under which service to the affected tenant
may be continued specifically referring to the conditions set out in
section 1527 (relating to right of tenants to continued service).

(4) The bill for the 30-day period preceding the notice to the
tenants,

(5) The statutory rights of a tenant to:

(i) Deduct the amount of any direct payment to the utility from
any rent payments then or thereafter due.

(i) Protection against any retaliation by the landlord for
exercising such statutory right.

(iii) Recover money damages from the landlord for any such
retaliation.

(6) That tenants may make payment to the utility on account of
nonpayment of charges by the landlord ratepayer only by check or
money order drawn by the tenant to the order of the utility.

(7) A telephone number at the utility and at the commission which
a tenant may call for an explanation of his rights.

(b) Information posted by utility.—The information in subsection (a)
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shall be posted by the wutility in those common areas of the residential
building or mobile home park where it is reasonably likely to be seen by
the affected tenamts. Any officer or employee of the utility may at any
reasonable time enter the common hallways and common areas of such
building for the purpose of complying with the provisions of this section.]

(3) On each account, the bill for the billing month preceding the
notice to the tenants except that, in the case of water and sewer service
where the billing period is bimonthly or quarterly, the utility shall
provide an estimate of costs for the previous 30-day period. Estimates
shall be based upon actual usage or, if actual usage is not available, by
determining one-twelfth of the dwelling urit’s annual usage.

(4) The following statement of the tenant’s rights, the words and
phrases of which appear all in capital letters to be printed in 12-point
bold-faced type with the first letter printed in upper case and the letters
that follow in lower case and the words and phrases which do not
appear all in capital letters to be printed in ten-point type, with any letter
in upper case to remain so and the rest in lower case:

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO TENANTS
WARNING: YOUR (utility company shall insert company name
and type of service) MAY BE SHUT OFF ON OR AFTER (date)
BECAUSE (utility shall fill in reason for termination). TO STOP
THE SHUTOFF OF YOUR UTILITY SERVICE, YOU MUST DO
ONE OF THE FOLLOWING THINGS:

1. You can join with the other tenants to pay the utility bill for
the last 30 days preceding this notice or you can pay the toial bill
yourself. Either way, you do not have to pay a deposit or get credit
granted in your name. You will not have to pay your landlord’s
other debts or the debis of prior tenants, and the utility service will
remain in the name of the landlord.

2. You may deduct your payment to the utility company from
your rent due now or from future rent. The utility company will
tell your landlord how much you paid for that utility service.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

1. The bill which must be paid te continue Sservice is
$(amount).

2. Your landlord cannot punish you if you pay the utility bill.
Your landiord cannot raise your rent, cannot evict you and cannot
take action against you in any other way for paying the utility bill
and deducting it from rent. You have a right to recover money
damages from the landlord for any damages or injury he causes
you for exercising your rights as a result of this notice.

3. You have the right to dispute the accuracy of the bill and
have certain other rights. If you would like further information
regarding these rights, contact your utility at (utility shall fill in a
phone number and address where the tenant may get further
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information).
DO YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS?

If you have any questions about your utility service, please contact
the utility company at (telephone number and address). If, after
talking about your problems with the utility, you are not satisfied,
then call the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission at its toll-free
number, which is 1-800-692-7380, or write the Residential
Termination Unit, Bureau of Consumer Services, Pennsylvania
Public Utlity Commission, P.O. Box 3265, Harrisburg,
Pennsylvania 17120. YOU SHOULD CALL OR WRITE BEFORE
THE SHUTOFF. TO AVOID SHUTOFF, YOUR LETTER MUST
BE RECEIVED BEFORE THE SHUTOFF DATE.

The words and phrases of the foregoing notice to tenants are subject to

revisions due to changes in the rules, regulations and laws governing

this subchapter.

(5) That the tenant or tenants must make payment to the utility on
account of nonpayment of charges by the landlord ratepayer by check
or money order drawn by the tenant to the order of the utility or by cash
and that the tenant must provide, upon request, reasonable identification
to the utility. Reasonable identification shall include, but not be limited
to, a driver’s license, photo identification, medical assistance or food
stamp identification or any similar document issued by any public
agency which contains the name and address of the tenant.

(b) Uniform explanation of tenants’ rights and responsibilities.—The
commission shall direct the affected utilities to develop for commission
approval a uniform explanation of all rights and responsibilities of tenants
under this subchapter. Within 180 days of the effective date of this section,
the uniform explanation of all rights and responsibilities of tenants shall
be available in a suitable format for distribution by the utility company in
response to requests by tenants under subsection (a).

§ 1527. Right of tenants to continued service.

(a) Application for continued service.—At any time before or after service
is [discontinued] ferminated by a public utility on account of nonpayment
of charges by the landlord ratepayer, the affected tenants may apply to the
utility to have service continued or resumed.

(b) Payment of charges by tenants.—A public utility shall not
[discontinue] terminate service or shall promptly resume service previously
[discontinued] terminated if it receives from the tenants an amount equal to
the bill for the affected account of the landlord ratepayer for the [30-day
period] billing month preceding the notice to the tenants. Thereafter, the
utility shall notify each tenant of the total amount of the bill for the second
and each succeeding [period of 30 days or less] billing month and, if the
tenants fail to make payment of any bill within 30 days of the delivery of the
notice to the tenants, the utility may commence [discontinuance procedures]
termination of service, except that no [discontinuance] fermination may
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occur until 30 days after each tenant has [received written] been furnished
notice of the proposed [discontinuance] fermination as prescribed in section
1528 (relating to delivery and contents of subsequent [discontinuance]
termination notice to tenants). [All payments of charges by tenants to a
utility on account of nonpayment by the landiord ratepayer shall be
made by a check or money order drawn by the tenant to the order of the
utility.] The tenant or tenants shall make payment to the utility on account
of nonpayment of charges by the landlord ratepayer by check or money
order drawn by the tenant to the order of the utility or by cash. In all cases,
the tenant shall provide, upon request, reasonable identification to the
utility. For the purposes of this section, “reasonable identification’” shall
include, but not be limited to, a driver’s license, photo identification,
medical assistance or food stamp identification or any similar document
issued by any public agency which contains the name and address of the
tenant.

(c) Disposition of payment by utility.—Upon receiving any payment, the
utility shall notify the landlord ratepayer who is liable for the utility service
of the amount or amounts paid by any tenant and the amount or amounts
credited to the landlord’s bill for each tenant pursuant to this section. [In the
event that the tenants fail to satisfy the requirements of this section to
maintain or restore service and service to the affected dwelling units is
discontinued, the utility shall refund to each tenant the amount paid by
the tenant toward the bill which the tenants failed to pay either upon the
request of the tenant or after holding the tenant’s payment during 60
consecutive days of discontinued service, whichever occurs first.] Tenants
requesting continued utility service under this section, except those
individually subscribing for service under subsection (d), shall not be
considered utility customers but shall be considered to be acting on behalf
of the landlord ratepayer, who shall remain liable to the utility for service
provided after notice to tenants. In the event that the tenants fail to satisfy
the requirements of subsection (b) with regard to the first billing month
period preceding notice to the tenant, the utility shall refund any moneys
received from a tenant to that tenant. Any payments made by the fenanis
shall be applied first against the bill for the billing month preceding notice
to the tenanits and then against bills for service rendered subsequent to the
bill. Upon termination of service to the tenants for failure to pay the utility
bill for service in full for any subsequent month or upon voluntary
discontinuance of service at the request of the tenants, the utility shall
immediately refund to the tenants any amounts paid io the utility for the
billing period for which payment in full was not remitted.

sk sk ok
§ 1528. Delivery and contents of subsequent [discontinuance] termination

notice to tenants.

Subsequent notices required to be given to a tenant pursuant to section
1527 (relating to right of tenants to continued service) shall be {mailed or
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otherwise delivered to the address of] sent by first class mail or otherwise
hand-delivered to each affected tenant [and] by name at his individual
dwelling unit, by unit number or unit designation, and shall be posted in
common areas. Whenever the utility has been unable to obtain the names
and addresses of the affected tenants under section 1524 (relating to
request to landlord to identify tenants) or 1526 (relating to delivery and
contents of first termination notice to tenants), the utility shall hand-deliver
the subsequent notice of termination to each affected tenant for whom a
name has not been obtained to the tenant’s individual dwelling unit by
address and unit number or, if none exists, by unit designation. The notice
shall also be conspicuously posted in the common areas. For the purposes
of this section, the term “unit designation” means the geographic location
of a dwelling unit by floor and floor areas. All notices shall contain the
following information:
(1) The date on or after which service will be [discontinued]
terminated.
(2) The amount due, which shall include the arrearage on any earlier
bill due from tenants.
(3) A telephone number and an address ai the utility and at the
commission which a tenant may call for an explanation of his rights.
(4) The right of a tenant to file a complaint with the commission to
enforce any legal right that he may have under this part.
Section 3. Title 66 is amended by adding a section to read:
§ 1529.1. Duty of owners of rental property.

(a) Notice to public utility—It is the duty of every owner of a
residential building or mobile home park which contains one or more
dwelling units, not individually metered, to notify each public utility from
whom utility service is received of their ownership and the fact that the
premises served are used for rental purposes.

(b) History of account—Upon receipt of the notice provided in this
section, if the mobile home park or residential building contains one or
more dwelling units not individually metered, an affected public utility shall
Jortawith list the account for the premises in question in the name of the
owner, and the owner shall thereafter be responsible for the payment for
the utility services rendered thereunto. In the case of individually metered
dwelling units, unless notified to the contrary by the temant or an
authorized representative, an affected public utility shall list the account for
the premises in question in the name of the owner, and the owner shall be
responsible for the payment for utility services to the premises.

(c) Failure to give notice.—Any owner of a residential building or
mobile home park failing to notify affected public utilities as required by
this section shall nonetheless be responsible for payment of the utility
services as if the required notice had been given.

Section 4. Sections 1531(c), 1532 and 1533 of Title 66 arc amended to
read:



SESSION OF 1993 Act 1993-54 389

§ 1531. Retaliation by landlord prohibited.

* % %k

(c) Presumption of retaliation.—The receipt of any notice of termination
of tenancy, an increase in rent or of any substantial alteration in the terms of
tenancy within six months after the tenant has acted pursuant to section 1527
or 1529 to avoid [discontinuance] termination of utility service shall create
a rebuttable presumption that the notice is a reprisal against the tenant for
exercising his rights under section 1527 or 1529. However, the presumption
shall not arise if the notice of termination of tenancy is for nonpayment of
rent not withheld under section 1529 or lawfully withheld under any other
right that the tenant may have by law.

§ 1532. Penalties.

(a) [Failure to identify tenants] Per diem liguidated damages—Any
landlord ratepayer who fails to provide a utility with the names and addresses
of affected tenants [pursuant to] in accordance with section 1524 (relating
to request to landlord to identify tenants) [shall forfeit and pay to the
Commonwealth a civil penalty of not more than $500 for each day of the
landiord ratepayer’s failure to respond. The court in its discretion may
award the utility reasonable attorneys’ fees, filing fees and reasonable
costs of suit for any action against the landlord ratepayer which was
necessary to obtain the names and addresses of affected tenants pursuant
to section 1524.] or fails to provide reasonable access to the meter shall be
deemed to have caused substantial damage o the utility by thus forcing a
continuation of the existing utility service and, as a consequence, shall be
required to pay, as liquidated damages to the utility, a sum of not less than
$500 but not more than $1,000 for each day of the landlord’s failure to
comply, commencing with the first day of completion and exhaustion of the
procedures provided under section 1524(a) and (b)(1), (2) and (3).

(b) Imjunctive relief.—The utility may commence an action in equity
against a landlord ratepayer to obiain injunctive relief compelling the
landlord to furmish the names and addresses of affected temants or
compelling the landiord to provide access to the meter. Interference with
the utility’s ability to terminate service without this infermation shall be
deemed sufficient proof of immediate, continuing and irreparable injury to
sustain injunctive relief. The court shall, in addition to awarding injunctive
relief, render judgment irn faver of the utility for the total per diem
liguidated damages recoverable under subsection (a) together with
reasonable attorney fees and necessary costs of suit.

[(b)] (c) Tampering with posted notice—Any person who removes,
interferes or tampers with a notice to tenants of proposed [discontinnance]
termination of service, posted pursuant to section 1526 (relating to delivery
and contents of first [discontinuance] fermination notice to tenants)-commits
a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine not
exceeding [$25.] $300.

(d) Denial of access to common areas.—Any landlord ratepayer or an
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agent or employee who willfully denies an agent or employee of the utility
access to common areas of his residential building for any lawful purpose
under this title, including, but not limited to, posting or delivering notices
o tenants under this subsection, shall be subject to a civil penalty of not
more than $500 for each day access is denied.

§ 1533. Petition to appoint receiver.

(a) Appointment of receiver.—Notwithstanding the foregoing sections of
this chapter, when a landlord ratepayer is two or more months in armrears in
his utility payments, the affected utility shall have the right to petition the
court of common pleas of the county wherein the leased premises are located
to appoint a receiver to collect rent payments otherwise due the landlord
ratepayer directly from the tenants and to pay all overdue and subsequent
utility bills therefrom. The provisions of this section shall not be construed
to supersede any tenant rights or defenses under law regarding the payment
of rent. This right may be exercised only in those situations that involve [50
or more rental units in which the] units which are not individually metered
by the utility. Upon appointment, the receiver shall notify the tenants of his
powers and their rights under law regarding payment of rent and continued
utility service by first class mail, certified mail, {or] personal service or
posting notice in each unit in the leased premises.

(b) Right to continued service.—The affected utility under this section
shall not [discontinue] terminate utility service if it receives payment from
the receiver in the amount specified in subsection (c)(2) within 60 days from
the date notice to the tenants of the appointment of the receiver is mailed or
delivered.

(c) Duty of receiver.—The receiver shall:

(1) collect all rents directly from the tenants;

(2) pay the utility bills equal to the amount due for the [30-day
period] billing month prior to the [tenant] fenants receiving notice of the
appointment of the receiver and all future bills as they become due;

(3) after payment of the amounts in subsection (c)(Z), any excess
moneys shall be applied pursuant to further order of court; and

(4) return the remainder to the landlord ratepayer, less the costs of the
notification made to the tenants, plus a 2% administrative fee.

(d) [Discontinuation] Termination.—The receiver shall continue to
collect the rents and make disbursements in the manner provided in
subsection (c) until the second rental period [after] ends after all of the
Sollowing conditions have been met:

(1) [the] The landlord ratepayer deposits in escrow with the utility a
sum equal to the utility charges from the two highest monthly periods in
the preceding 12 months]; and].

(2) [the] The landiord ratepayer demonstrates to the satisfaction of the
court of common pleas that it has the financial recourses necessary to
resume its obligations to the utility and the tenants.

(3) The landiord ratepayer pays the undisputed amount of all
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outstanding utility bills.

At such time rental payments will once again be made to the landiord
ratepayer. Notice of this change shall be made to the tenants by the receiver
by means of first class mail, certified mail, [or] personal service[, which
costs shall] or posting notice in each unit in the leased premises, the costs
of notice to be paid by the landlord ratepayer.

(e) Escrow fund.—The escrow fund established under subsection (d)(1)
shall not be considered a prepayment of utility costs and shall [only] be
applied only against outstanding utility bills at the time a new receiver is
appointed for a subsequent failure by the landlord ratepayer to pay utility bills
for a two-month period. [Said] The escrow fund shall be returned to the
landlord ratepayer not later than 90 days nor earlier than 60 days, after the
landlord ratepayer obtains a court order releasing [such funds] the fund and
certifying that timely payment of utility bills has been made for the
immediately preceding 24 consecutive months,

(f) Interest on funds.-—Any funds held in escrow by any utility shall bear
interest payable to the landlord at a rate 1% lower than [the maximum rate
allowed by the Federal Reserve Board to be paid on regular savings
accounts at commercial banks.] the rate actually received in a regular
savings account at a commercial bank within the court’s jurisdiction, and
the remaining 1% shall be remitted to the court for administrative costs.

(g) Number of receivers.—In the event more than one utility company is
affected by any landlord ratepayers’ failure to pay utility bills, the court shall
appoint the same receiver to function for all aggrieved utilities.

Section 5. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 2nd day of July, A.D. 1993.

MARK S. SINGEL
ACTING GOVERNOR



