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Amending Title 23 (Domestic Relations) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
further providing for application for license and for restrictions on the issuance of
a marriage license.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 1302 and 1304(b) of Title 23 of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

§ 1302. Application for license.

(a) General rule—No marriage license shall be issued except upon
written and verified application made by both of the parties intending to
marry.

(b) Contents.—The application shall contain the following:

(1) The full name of the applicants.

(2) The [race,] occupation, birthplace, residence and age of the
applicants.

(3) Whether the marriage contemplated is the first, second or other
marriage of an applicant.

(4) A statement that neither of the applicants is afflicted with
transmissible disease.

(5) The full name, residence, [race,] occupation and birthplace of the
parents of each applicant, including the maiden name of the mother of
each applicant.

(6) Any other facts necessary to determine whether a legal impediment
to the proposed marriage exists.

§ 1304. Restrictions on issuance of license.
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(b) Minors,—

(1) No marriage license may be issued if either of the applicants for
a license is under 16 years of age unless the court decides that it is to the
best interest of the applicant and authorizes the issuance of the license.

(2) No marriage license may be issued if either of the applicants is
under 18 years of age unless the consent of [a] the custodial parent or
guardian of the applicant is personally given before the person issuing the
license or is certified under the hand of [a] the custodial parent or
guardian attested by two adult witnesses and, in the latter case, the
signature of the custodial parent or guardian is acknowledged before an
officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments. When the minor has
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no guardian and a judge of the court is absent or not accessible for any
reason, the office issuing the license may appoint a guardian pro hac vice

for the minor.
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Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 22nd day of December, A.D. 1993,
ROBERT P. CASEY



