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AN ACT
HB 48

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
defining “pedalcycles™; further providing for handicapped plate and placard, for
veteran plates and placard, for the operation of pedalcycles on Commonwealth
highways, for pedalcycle helmets, for the use of hearing impairment devices and
for hand and arm signals; repealing the Pedalcycle Helmet Fund; providing for the
establishment of the Pennsylvania Pedalcycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee;
further providing for exemption from surcharge; providing for authorization for the
Governor to transfer funds from the Catastrophic Loss Benefits Continuation Fund
and funds from continuing appropriations for hazardous waste control to satisfy
litigation awards and all costs associated with litigation involving a centralized
emission inspection contract; and deleting authority for centralized emission
inspections. .

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. The definition of “pedalcycle” in section 102 of Title 75 of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:

§ 102. Definitions.

Subject to additional definitions contained in subsequent provisions of this
title which are applicable to specific provisions of this title, the following
words and phrases when used in this title shall have, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in this section:
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“Pedalcycle.” A vehicle propelled solely by human-powered pedals. The
term does not mean a three-wheeled human-powered pedal-driven vehicle
with a main driving wheel 20 inches in diameter or under and primarily
designed for children six years of age or younger.
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Section 2. Section 1306(8) and (9) of Title 75 are repealed.

Section 3. Sections 1338, 1342 and 3105 of Title 75 are amended by
adding subsections to read:

§ 1338. Handicapped plate and placard.
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(c.1) Return of plates and placard—Upon the death of a person to
whom a plate or placard has been issued under this section, the plate or
placard shall be void 30 days after death and shall not be displayed on any
vehicle. The personal representative of the deceased shall return the plate
to the department. If there is no personal representative, the spouse or, if
there is no spouse, the next of kin of the deceased shall return the plate or
placard to the department.
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(c.2) Authorized use~—This section shall not preclude the operation of
a vehicle which bears a handicapped plate when the vehicle is not being
used for the benefit of the handicapped person or when the handicapped
person is not present in the vehicle, provided the driver does not use or
attemnpt to use any special privilege or benefit otherwise accorded to
vehicles displaying the plate.
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§ 1342, Veteran plates and placard.
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(D Return of plates and placard.-—Upon the death of a veteran to whom
a severely disabled veteran plate or placard has been issued under this
section, the severely disabled veteran plate or placard shall be void 30 days
after death and shall not be displayed on any vehicle. The personal
representative of the deceased shall return the plate to the department. If
there is no personal representative, the spouse or, if there is no spouse, the
next of kin of the deceased shall return the plate or placard to the
department.

§ 3105. Drivers of emergency vehicles.
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(P Pedalcycles——No part of this title shall be construed to restrict the
operation of a pedalcycle used by a police officer during the course of
performing official duties.

Section 4. Sections 3336, 3504, 3505, 3507(a) and 3510 of Title 75 are
amended to read:

§ 3336. Method of giving hand and arm signals.

All signals given by hand and arm shall be given from the left side of the
vehicle in the following manner except as indicated for pedalcycles and
motorcycles and the signals shall indicate as follows:

(1) For a left turn, the hand and arm shall be extended horizontally.

(2) For a right turn, the left hand and arm shall be extended upwardf.],
except that operators of motorcycles and pedalcycles may also be
permitted to signal a right turn by extending the right hand and arm
horizontally.

(3) To stop or decrease speed, the left hand and arm shall be extended
downward.

§ 3504. Riding on pedalcycles.

(a) Use of seat by operator.—A person propelling a pedalcycle shall not
ride other than upon or astride a permanent and regular seat attached to the
pedalcycle.

{b) Number of riders.—No pedalcycle shall be used to carry more persons
at one time than the number for which the pedalcycle is designed and
equipped except that an adult rider may [carry a child securely attached to
the rider in a back pack or sling] transport a child in a pedaicycle child
carrier which is securely attached to the pedalcycle or in a trailer which is
towed by a pedalcycle.
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§ 3505. Riding on roadways and pedalcycle paths.

[(a) General rule.—Except as provided in subsection (b), every person
operating a pedalcycle upon a roadway shall ride as near to the right
side of the roadway as practicable, exercising due care when passing a
standing vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction,

(b) One-way highways.—Any person operating a pedalcycle upon a
roadway of a highway, which highway carries traffic in one direction
only and has two or more marked traffic lanes, may ride as near the left-
hand curb or edge of the roadway as practicable, exercising due care
when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction.

(c) Limitation on riding abreast.—Persons riding pedalcycles upon a
roadway shall not ride more than two abreast except on paths or parts
of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of pedalcycles.

(d) Use of available pedalcycle paths.—Whenever a lane or path for
pedalcycles has been provided as part of a highway, pedalcycle riders
shall use the lane or path and shall not use any other part of the
highway. This subsection does not apply when use of the pedalcycle lane
or path is not possible, safe or reasonable.]

(a) General rule.—Except as provided in subsections (b) and (c), every
person operating a pedalcycle upon a highway shall obey the applicable
rules of the road as contained in this title.

(b) Operation on shoulder—A pedalcycle may be operated on the
shoulder of a highway and shall be operated in the same direction as
required of vehicles operated on the roadway.

(c) Slower than prevailing speeds.—A pedalcycle operated at slower
than prevailing speed shall be operated in accordance with the provisions
of section 3301(b) (relating to driving on right side of roadway) unless it
is unsafe to do so.

(d) One-way roadways.—Any person operating a pedalcycle upon a
roadway which carries traffic in one direction only and has two or more
marked traffic lanes may ride as near the left-hand curb or edge of the
roadway as practicable, exercising due care when passing a standing
vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction.

(e) Limitation on riding abreast—Persons riding pedalcycles upon a
roadway shall not ride more than two abreast except on paths or parts of
roadways set aside for the exclusive use of pedalcycles.

(P Mandatory use of available pedalcycle path.—Whenever a lane or
path for pedalcycles has been provided as a part of a highway and
mandatory use of the lane or path has been indicated by official traffic-
control devices, pedalcycle riders shall use the lane or path and shall not
use any other part of the highway. This subsection does not apply when use
of the pedalcycle lane or path is not possible, safe or reasonable.

§ 3507. Lamps and other equipment on pedalcycles.

(a) Lamps and reflectors.—Every pedalcycle when in use between sunset

and sunrise shall be equipped on the front with a lamp which emits a beam
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of white light intended to illuminate the pedalcycle operator’s path and
visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front. Operators of
pedalcycles may supplement the required front lamp with a white flashing
lamp, light-emitting diode or similar device to enhance their visibility to
other traffic and with a red reflector on the rear [of a type approved by the
department] which shall be visible from all distances from [100 feet to 600]
500 feet to the rear and with an amber reflector on each side. A lamp
emitting a red [light] flashing lamp, light-emitting diode or similar device
visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear may be used in addition to the
red reflector. A lamp wom by the operator of a pedalcycle shall comply with
the requirements of this subsection if the lamp can be seen at the distances
specified. [All lamps and reflectors shall be of a type approved by the
department.] ’
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§ 3510. Pedalcycle helmets for certain persons.

(a) General rule.—A person under 12 years of age shall not operate a
pedalcycle or ride as a passenger on a pedalcycle unless the person is
wearing a pedalcycle helmet meeting the standards of the American National
Standards Institute {or of], the American Society for Testing and Materials,
the Snell Memorial Foundation’s Standards for Protective Headgear for Use
in Bicycling or any other nationally recognized standard for pedaicycle
helmet approval. This subsection shall also apply to a person who rides:

(1) upon a pedalcycle while in a restraining seat attached to a
pedalcycle; or
(2) in a trailer towed by a pedalcycle.

(b) Helmet to be labeled.—Any helmet sold or offered for sale for use by
operators and passengers of pedalcycles shall be [conspicuously] labeled in
accordance with the standard described in subsection (a), which shall
constitute the manufacturer’s certification that the helmet conforms to the
applicable safety standards.

(b.1) Sale of helmet.—No person shall sell or offer for sale for use by an
operator or passenger of a pedalcycie a helmet which is not of a type meeting
the requirements established by this section.

(b.2) Waiver of fine.—If a person receives a citation issued by the proper
authority for violation of subsection (a), a district justice, magistrate or judge
shall dismiss the charges if the person prior to or at his hearing displays
evidence of acquisition of a helmet meeting the standards prescribed in
subsection (a) to such district justice, magistrate or judge. Sufficient evidence
shall include a receipt mailed to the appropriate court officer which evidences
purchase or transfer of such a helmet from another helmet owner, evidenced
by a notarized letter.

(b.3) Exemption.—This section shall not apply to a child under 12 years
of age who can produce a statement from the family’s church authorities
attesting that it is against the tenets of the family’s religion to wear a
helmet.
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(c) Civil actions.—In no event shall a violation or alleged violation of
subsection (a) be used as evidence in a trial of any civil action; nor shall any
jury in a civil action be instructed that any conduct did constitute or could be
interpreted by them to constitute a violation of subsection (a); nor shall
failure to use a pedalcycle helmet be considered as contributory negligence
nor shall failure to use a pedalcycle helmet be admissible as evidence in the
trial of any civil action.

(d) Penalty.—Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, any violation
of subsection (a) is punishable by a fine, including all penalties, assessments
and court costs imposed on the convicted person not to exceed $25. [The
court imposing and collecting any such fines shall transfer the fines thus
collected to the State Treasurer for deposit in the Pedalcycle Helmet
Fund, pursuant to section 3512 (relating to Pedalcycle Helmet Fund).]
The parent or legal guardian having control or custody of a person under 12
years of age whose conduct violates this section shall be jointly and-severally
liable with the person for the amount of the fine imposed.

(¢) Definitions.—As used in this section, the term “wearing a pedalcycle
helmet” means having a pedalcycle helmet of good fit fastened securely upon
the head with the helmet straps.

Section 5. Section 3511 of Title 75 is amended by adding a subsection to
read:

§ 3511. Pedalcycles prohibited on freeways.
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(d) Operation on shoulder.—If the department authorizes pedalcycle
access 10 a freeway, the pedalcycle shall be operated upon the shoulder of
that freeway whenever practicable.

Section 6. Section 3512 of Title 75 is repealed.

Section 7. Chapter 35 of Title 75 is amended by adding a subchapter to
read:

CHAPTER 35 :
SPECIAL VEHICLES AND PEDESTRIANS
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SUBCHAPTER D
PEDALCYCLE AND PEDESTRIAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Sec.
3571. Pedalcycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee.

§ 3571. Pedalcycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee.

(a) Establishment.—There is hereby established under the jurisdiction of
the Department of Transportation the Pennsylvania Pedalcycle and Pedestrian
Advisory Committee. '

(b) Composition.—The committee shall consist of 12 members. The
members shall be as follows:
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(1) The Secretary of Transportation, ex officio.

(2) The Secretary of Environmental Resources, ex officio.

(3) The chairman and minority chairman of the Transportation
Committee of the Senate.

(4) The chairman and minority chairman of the Transportation
Committee of the House of Representatives.

(5) Six members of the public representing areas of concern specified
who shall have extensive experience and knowledge of bicycle, pedalcycle,
pedestrian and human power issues throughout this Commonwealth, to be
appointed by the Governor as follows:

(i) One member from a list of at least three representatives
submitted by the Bicycling Federation of Pennsylvania,

(ii) One member from a list of at least three representatives
submitted by the League of American Bicyclists.

(iii) One member from a list of at least three representatives
submitted by the United States Cycling Federation.

(iv) One member from a list of at least three representatives
submitted by the Pennsylvania Chapter of the Rails-to-Trails
Conservancy.

(v) One member from a list of at least three representatives
submitted by the Eastern Paralyzed Veterans Association.

(vi) One member from the general public.

Each member may designate an alternate to serve in his stead. A member
shall notify the chairman in writing of this designation.

(¢) Terms of appointees.—The terms of all members of the committee
appointed by the Governor shall be for three years. Any member of the
committee may be reappointed for additional terms. An individual appointed
to fill a vacancy shall serve for the unexpired term and shall be eligible for
reappointment.

(d) Officers.—The members of the committee shall annually elect a
chairman, a vice chairman and a secretary from among the public members
of the committee.

(e) Meetings and expenses.—

(1) The committee shall meet at least annually.

(2) A public member, including a designee, who misses three
consecutive meetings without good cause acceptable to the chairman may
be replaced by the Govemor.

(3) The public members of the committee shall be allowed actual,
necessary and reasonable per diem expenses in accordance with regulations
of the Executive Board. The department shall provide appropriate staff
support to enable the committee to properly carry out its functions.

() Powers and duties.—The powers and duties of the committee shall be
to advise and comment on all phases of cycling and pedestrian program
activities being undertaken or financially assisted by the department and
agencies of State government.
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Section 8. Section 4706(h.3), (b.4), (b.7) and (f) of Title 75 are repealed.
Section 9. Section 4706(g)(3) of Title 75 is amended to read:
§ 4706. Prohibition on expenditures for emission inspection program.
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(g) Altemnative enhanced emission inspection program.—Notwithstanding
the provisions of subsection (f), the department shall comply with all of the
following requirements:
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(3) [No later than March 1, 1995, the] The department shall develop
and submit to the Environmental Protection Agency an alternative
enhanced vehicle emission inspection program for approval which meets
the requirements of Federal law and consists of a decentralized test and
repair program or a hybrid program which combines both decentralized
test and repair and test-only components. The decentralized test program
may contain an additional component which will test and repair only those
components necessary to achieve compliance with Federal clean air
standards. As part of this decentralized test program, the department shall
utilize the newest and most efficient technologies, including, but not
limited to, remote roadside testing, identification and targeting of gross
polluting vehicles and alternative equipment to existing inspection
technology. The department may incorporate pilot programs and
demonstration projects which achieve and enhance vehicle emissions
reductions.

*k % 3%k
Section 10. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 4706.1. Centralized emission inspection litigation settlement.

(a) Authorization.—Except as otherwise provided in subsection (d) and
notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, the Governor
is hereby authorized to transfer funds from the specific funds and
continuing appropriations set forth in subsection (b) for the sole purpose
of paying all settlements and court orders arising from legal action related
to any contract with the department for the conduct of a program of
centralized emissions inspections entered into prior to November 16, 1994,
pursuant to the act of December 16, 1992 (P.L.1250, No.166).

(b) Sources of transferable funds—The funds and continuing
appropriations subject to the authorization under subsection (a) are as
Jollows:

(1) The Catastrophic Loss Benefits Continuation Fund established
under section 17984 (relating to Catastrophic Loss Benefits
Continuation Fund).

(2) Any funds remaining unexpended, unencumbered or
uncommitted from the continuing appropriations for the hazardsus-waste
control program contained in:

(i) Section 211 of the act of June 29, 1984 (P.L.1360, No.7A),

known as the General Appropriation Act of 1984.
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(ii) Section 212 of the act of June 30, 1985 (P.L.592, No.5A),

known as the General Appropriation Act of 1985.

(iii) Section 212 of the act of July 1, 1986 (P.L.1776, No.5A),

known as the General Appropriation Act of 1986.

(iv) Section 213 of the act of July 3, 1987 (P.L.459, No.9A),

known as the General Appropriation Act of 1987.

(v) Section 213 of the act of July 1, 1988 (P.L.1956, No.5A),

known as the General Appropriation Act of 1988.

Funds from this fund and these appropriations may be transferred upon
approval of the Governor to a restricted account and are hereby
appropriated for the payment of any settlements and court orders arising
Jrom legal action related to any contract with the department for the
conduct of a program of centralized emission inspections entered into
before November 16, 1994.

(c) Transfer mechanism.—The transfers shall be upon warrant of the
State Treasurer upon requisition of the Governor and shall be for the sole
purpose of settling the legal action under this section. A statement of the
actual amount of each transfer shall be reported to the General Assembly
within 14 days of the requisition.

(d) Exceptions.—This section shall not authorize the Governor to
transfer any funds from the Catastrophic Loss Benefits Continuation Fund
if the transfer of funds for the purpose contained in this section prevents
timely processing and payment of catastrophic loss benefits under section
1798.2 (relating to transition).

(e) Expiration.—This section shall expire December 31, 1998.

Section 11. Section 6506(a) of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 6506. Surcharge.

(a) Levy and imposition.—In addition to any fines, fees or penalties
levied or imposed as provided by law, under this title or any other statute, a
surcharge shall be levied for disposition in accordance with subsection (b) as
follows:

(1) Upon conviction for any violation of the provisions of this title or
other statute of the Commonwealth, or regulations promulgated under this
title, which is a traffic violation and which is not included within the
provisions of paragraphs (2) through (7), exclusive of parking offenses, a
surcharge of $30.

(2) Upon conviction for a violation of the following provisions of this
title, a surcharge of $40:

(i) Section 3306(a)(1) (relating to limitations on driving on left side
of roadway).

(ii) Section 3745 (relating to accidents involving damage to
unattended vehicle or property).

(3) Upon conviction for a violation of section 3345(a) (relating to
meeting or overtaking school bus), a surcharge of $50.
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(4) Upon conviction for a violation of section 3362 (relating to
maximum speed limits), the following applicable surcharge:

(i) $30 for exceeding the maximum speed limit by 6 to 10 miles per

hour or 11 to 15 miles per hour. ,

(ii) $40 for exceeding the maximum speed limit by 16 to 25 miles
per hour.

(iii) $50 for exceeding the maximum speed limit by at least 26
miles per hour.

(5) Upon conviction for violation of section 4902 (relating to
restrictions on use of highways and bridges), Subchapter C of Chapter 49
(relating to maximum weights of vehicles) or Subchapter E of Chapter 49
(relating to measuring and adjusting vehicle size and weight), a surcharge
of $150.

(6) Upon conviction for violation of Chapter 47 (relating to inspection
of vehicles), by the owner or operator or driver of a vehicle which is
subject to the provisions of Chapter 49 (relating to size, weight and load),
a surcharge of $30.

(7) Upon conviction of offenses under section 3731 (relating to driving
under influence of alcohol or controlled substance), or upon admission to
programs for Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition for offenses
enumerated in section 3731, a surcharge, respectively, of:

(i) $50 for the first offense.
(ii) $100 for the second offense.
(iif) $200 for the third offense.
(iv) $300 for the fourth and subsequent offenses.
The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to any violation committed
by the operator of a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, pedalcycle, motorized
pedalcycle or recreational vehicle not intended for highway use.
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Section 12, The addition of 75 Pa.C.S. Ch. 35 Subch, D shall expire
December 31, 2000.
Section 13. This act shall take effect as follows:

(1) The amendment, addition or repeal of 75 Pa.C.S. §§ 1306(8) and
(9), 4706(b.3), (b4), (b.7), (f) and (g)(3) and 4706.1 shall take effect
immediately.

(2) This section shall take effect immediately.

(3) The remainder of this act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 15th day of December, A.D. 1995.
THOMAS J. RIDGE



