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No. 1996-46

AN ACT
HB 814

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes, further providing for law enforcement records, for juvenile
history record information, for registration and assessment of sexual offenders, for
certain notifications, for immunity for good faith conduct, for duties of the
Pennsylvania State Police, for duties of the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and
Parole and for the composition and compensation of the State Board to Assess
Sexually Violent Predators; and providing for applicability.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 6308(d)(1)(iii)) and 6309(a) of Title 42 of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:
§ 6308. Law enforcement records.
%k k%
(d) Pennsylvania State Police registry.—
(1) The contents of law enforcement records and files concerning a
child shall not be disclosed to the public except if the child is 14 years of
age or older at the time of the alleged conduct and if any of the following

apply:
% ok ok
[(iii) The child is a2 dangerous juvenile offender.]
§ 6309. Juvenile history record information,

(a) Applicability of Criminal History Record Information Act.—Except
for 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 9105 (relating to other criminal justice information),
9112(a) and (b) (relating to mandatory fingerprinting) [and], 9113 (relating
to disposition reporting by criminal justice agencies) and 9121(b) (relating
to general regulations), the remaining provisions of 18 Pa.C.5. Ch. 91
(relating to criminal history record information) shall apply to all alleged
delinquents whose fingerprints and photographs are taken pursuant to section
6308(c) (relating to law enforcement records) and to any juvenile justice
agency which collects, maintains, disseminates or receives juvenile history
record information. The disclosure to the public of the contents of law
enforcement records and files concerning a child shall be governed by
section 6308(b).

%k sk ok

Section 2. Sections 9793, 9794(a), (c), (d) and (e), 9795, 9798(a), 9799,
9799.1, 9799.2, 9799.3(a), (b) and (d) and 9799.4 of Title 42, added October
24, 1995 (1st Sp.Sess., P.L.1079, No.24), are amended to read:
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§ 9793. Registration of certain offenders for ten years.

(a) Registration.—A person convicted of any of the offenses set forth in
subsection (b) shall be required to register a current address with the
Pennsylvania State Police upon release from incarceration, upon parole from
a State or county correctional institution [or], upon the commencement of a
sentence of intermediate punishment or probation[.] or where the offender
is under the supervision of the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and
Parole at the time of enactment of this section, within 30 days of the date
of enactment of this section. Where the offender has been granted parole
by the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the board shall collect
registration information from the offender and forward that registration
information to the Pennsylvania State Police. The Department of
Corrections shall not release the offender until it receives verification from
the Pennsylvania State Police that it has received the registration
information. Where the offender is scheduled to be released from a State
correctional facility due to the expiration of the maximum term of
incarceration, the Department of Corrections shall collect the information
Jrom the offender no later than ten days prior to the maximum expiration
date. The Department of Corrections shall forward the registration
information to the Pennsylvania State Police. Where the affender scheduled
to be released due to the maximum expiration date refuses to provide the
registration information, the Department of Corrections shall notify the
Pennsylvania State Police of the failure to provide registration information
and of the expected date, time and location of the release of the offender.
The chief county probation and parole official in cooperation with a county
correctional facility shall, in accordance with established guidelines, obtain
the required information contained in section 9799.2(2) (relating to duties
of Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole) regarding offenders
released from a county sentence and submit the information io the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole and the Pennsylvania State
Police. The offender in a county correctional facility shall not be released
from incarceration or released to a sentence of probatior or intermediate
punishment until the information has been obtained and submitted as
required. The offender shall inform the Pennsylvania State Police within
ten days if the offender changes residence. The offender shall register with
a new law enforcement agency no later than ten days after establishing
residence in another state. The period of registration shall be ten years.

(b) Persons required to register.—

(1) Persons convicted of any of the following offenses that are
classified as a felony and involve a victim who is a minor:
18 Pa.C.S. § 2901 (relating to kidnapping) except by a parent.
18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape).
18 PaC.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual
intercourse).
18 Pa.C.S. § 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault).
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18 Pa.C.S. § 5902(b) (relating to prostitution and related offenses).
18 Pa.C.S. § 5903(a)(3), (4), (5) or (6) (relating to obscene and other
sexual materials and performances).
(2) Persons convicted of any of the following offenses regardless of
the age of the victim:
18 Pa.C.S. § 3121.
18 Pa.C.S. § 3123.
18 Pa.C.S. § 3125.
18 Pa.C.S. § 3128(a) and (b) (relating to spousal sexual assault).
(3) Persons convicted of 18 Pa.C.8. § 3126 (relating to indecent
assault) when the offense is a misdemeanor of the first degree.

(c) Registration information.—The Pennsylvania State Police shall provide
the information obtained under this section and sections 9795 (relating to
registration of offenders) and 9796 (relating to verification of residence) to
the chief law enforcement officer of the police department of the municipality
in which the offender will reside. In addition, the Pennsylvania State Police
shall provide this officer with the address at which the offender will reside
following his release from incarceration, parole or probation.

(d) Out-of-State offenders.—A person whe is convicted of an offense
equivalent to any of the offenses listed in subsection (b) in any other state
or territory or the District of Columbia, or in any Federal court, and who,
within ten years of his release or parole from incarceration, makes his
residence in Pennsylvania shall be required to register a current address
with the Pennsylvania State Police and shall be subject to the other
provisions of this subchapter relating to registration. The period of
registration shall be for ten years from the offender’s release or parole
from incarceration.

(e) Penalty.—Any offender who fails to register with the Pennsylvania
State Police as required in this section commits a felony of the third degree.
§ 9794. Designation of sexually violent predators.

(a) Order for assessment.—After conviction, but before sentencing, a
court shall order a person convicted of a sexually violent offense specified in
section 9793(b) (relating to registration of certain offenders for ten years) to
be assessed by the board. The order for an assessment shall be sent o the
administrative officer of the board within ten days of the date of conviction.

% %k %

(c) Assessment.—{The] Upon receipt from the court of an order for an
assessment, two members of the board as designated by the administrative
officer of the board shall conduct an assessment of the offender 1o determine
if the offender is a sexually violent predator. Such an assessment shall
include, but not be limited to, such factors as:

(1) Age of the offender.

(2) Offender’s prior criminal record, sexual offenses as well as other
offenses.

(3) Age of the victim.
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(4) Whether the offense involved multiple victims.
(5) Use of illegal drugs by the offender.,
(6) Whether the offender completed any prior sentence and whether the
offender participated in available programs for sexual offenders.
(7) Any mental illness or mental disability of the offender.
(8) The nature of the sexual contact with the victim and whether the
sexual contact was part of a demonstrated pattern of abuse.
(9) Whether the offense included a display of unusual cruelty by the
offender during the commission of the crime.
(10) Any behavioral characteristics that contribute to the offender’s
conduct.
All State, county and local agencies shall cooperate in providing the
necessary information as requested by the board in connection with the
required assessment.

(d) Submission of report by board—The board shall submit a written
report containing its assessment to the court no later than [30] 60 days from
the date of conviction of the defendant. Where the board members disagree
on the assessment of the offender, both members shall submit a wriiten
report o the court.

(e) Court review of findings.—Upon receipt of the board’s report, the
court shall determine if the offender is a sexually violent predator. This
determination shall be made based on evidence presented at a hearing held
prior to sentencing and before the trial judge. The offender and district
attorney shall be given notice of the hearing and an opportunity to be heard,
the right to call witnesses, the right to call expert witnesses and the right to
cross-examine witnesses. In addition, the offender shall have the right to
counsel and to have a lawyer appointed to represent him if he cannot afford
one. After a review of all evidence presented at this hearing, the court may
determine whether the presumption arising under subsection (b) has been
rebutted and shall set forth this determination on the sentencing order. 4 copy
of the sentencing order containing the determination shall be submitted to
the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole and the Department of
Corrections.

% 4k Ak
§ 9795. Registration of offenders.

(a) Registration of sexually violent predators.—A sexually violent
predator shall be required to register all current addresses with the
Pennsylvania State Police upon release from incarceration, upon parole from
a State or county correctional institution or upon the commencement of a
sentence of intermediate punishment or probation. The effender shall inform
the Pennsylvania State Police within ten days if the offender changes
residence. The offender shall register with a new law enforcement agency
no later than ten days after establishing residence in another state. The
registration shall continue unless the court determines the perser-is no-longer
a sexually violent predator as provided in section 9794(f) (relating to
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designation of sexually violent predators). Where the offender has been
granted parole by the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the
board shall collect registration information from the offender and forward
that registration information to the Pennsylvania State Police. The
Department of Corrections shall not release the offender until it receives
verification from the Pennsylvania State Police that it has received the
registration information. Where the offender is scheduled to be released
Jrom a State correctional facility due to the expiration of the maximum
term of incarceration, the Department of Corrections shall collect the
information from the offender no later than ten days prior to the maximum
expiration date. The Department of Corrections shall forward the
registration information to the Pennsylvania State Police. Where the
offender scheduled to be released due to the maximum expiration date
refuses to provide the registration information, the Department of
Corrections shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police of the failure to
provide registration information and of the expected date, time and location
of the release of the offender. The chief county probation and parole
official in cooperation with a county correctional facility shall, in
accordance with established guidelines, obtain the required information
contained in section 9799.2(2) (relating to duties of Pennsylvania Board of
Probation and Parole) regarding offenders released from a county-senstencs
and submit the information to the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and
Parole and the Pennsylvania State Police. The offender in a county
correctional facility shall not be released from incarceration or released to
a sentence of probation or intermediate punishment until the information
has been obtained and submitted as required.

(b) Court information for all offenders—The sentencing court shall
inform offenders designated in section 9793 (relating to registration of certain
offenders for ten years) and sexually violent predators designated in
subsection (a) at the time of sentencing of the provisions of this subchapter.
The court shall:

(1) Specifically inform the offender of the duty to register and obtain
the information required for each registration.

(2) Specifically inform the offender of the duty to inform the
Pennsylvania State Police within ten days if the offender changes
residence.

(3) Specifically inform the offender of the duty to register with a new
law enforcement agency if the offender moves to another state no later
than ten days after establishing residence in another state.

(4) Order the fingerprints and photograph of the person to be provided
to the Pennsylvania State Police upon sentencing.

(5) Require the offender to read and sign a form stating that the duty
to register under this subchapter has been explained. Where the offender
is incapable of reading, the court shall certify the duty to register was
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explained to the offender and the offender indicated an understanding of

the duty.

(c) [Notice by correctional facility and paroling authorities.—When
the offender is to be released from incarceration or paroled from a State
or county correctional facility, the prison official of the State or county
correctional facility shall no later than ten days prior to the release or
parole of the offender again provide the offender with notice of the duty
to register with the Pennsylvania State Police under this subchapter.]
Offenders from other states.—As a condition of obtaining residency in
Pennsylvania under the interstate compact for the supervision of parolees
and probationers, sexual offenders from other states shall be required to
register and abide by the requirements of this subchapter and, where the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole determines it is necessary to
protect the public, shall submit to public notification as provided in section
9798 (relating to other notification),

(d) Penalty.—Any offender who fails to register with the Pennsylvania
State Police as required in this section commits a felony of the third degree.
§ 9798. Other notification.

(a) By municipality’s chief law enforcement officer.—[The]
Notwithstanding any of the provisions of 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to
criminal history record information), the chief law enforcement officer of
the police department of the municipality where a sexually violent predator
lives shall be responsible for providing written notice as required under this
section.

(1) The notice shall contain:

(i) The name of the convicted sexually violent predator.

(ii) The address or addresses at which he resides.

(iii) The offense for which he was convicted.

(iv) A statement that he has been designated by court order as a
sexually violent predator, which designation has or has not been
terminated as of a date certain.

(v) A photograph of the sexually violent predator, if available.
(2) The notice shall not include any information that might reveal the

victim’s name, identity and residence.

%k ok %k
§ 9799, Immunity for good faith conduct.

The following entities shall be immune from liability for good faith
conduct under this section:

(1) The Pennsylvania State Police and local law enforcement agencies
and employees of law enforcement agencies.

(2) District attorneys and their agents and employees.

(3) Superintendents, administrators, teachers [and], employees and
volunteers engaged in the supervision of children of any public, private
or parochial school.

(4) Directors and employees of county children and youth agencies.
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(5) Presidents or similar officers of universities and colleges, including
community colleges.

(6) The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole and its agents and
employees.

(7) Directors of licensed day care centers and directors of licensed
preschool programs.

§ 9799.1. Duties of Pennsylvania State Police.
The Pennsylvania State Police shall:
(1) Create and maintain a State registry of offenders pursuant to
section 9793 (relating to registration of certain offenders for ten years).
(2) In consultation with the Office of Attorney General and the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, promulgate guidelines
necessary for the general administration of this subchapter.
(3) Write regulations regarding neighbor notification of the current
address of sexually violent predators.
(4) Notify, within 72 hours of receiving the offender’s registration, the
chief law enforcement officer of the police department having primary
jurisdiction of the municipality in which an offender resides of the fact
that the offender has been registered with the Pennsylvania State Police
pursuant to sections 9795 (relating to registration of offenders) and 9796
(relating to verification of residence).
(5) In consultation with the Department of Education and the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, promulgate guidelines
directing licensed day-care centers, licensed preschool programs, schools,
universities and colleges, including community colleges, on the proper use
and administration of information received under {section 9797 (relating
to victim notification)] section 9798 (relating to other notification).
(6) Immediately transfer the information received from the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole under section 9799.2(2) and
(3) (relating to duties of Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole) and
the fingerprints of the sexually violent predator to the Federal Bureau of
Investigation.
All guidelines and regulations promulgated under this section shall be
published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin no later than January 1, 1996.
§ 9799.2. Duties of Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole.

The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole shail:

(1) Create a notification form which will inform State and county
prison and probation and parole personnel how to inform offenders
required to register under this subchapter of their duty under the law.

(2) [Obtain] In cooperation with the Department of Corrections and
other Commonwealth agencies, obtain the following information
regarding offenders:

(i) Name, including any aliases.
(i) Identifying factors.
(iii) Anticipated future residence.



SESSION OF 1996 Act 1996-46 307

(iv) Offense history.

(v) Documentation of any treatment received for the mental
abnormality or personality disorder.

(vi) Photograph of the offender.

(3) Immediately transmit the information in paragraph (2) to the
Pennsylvania State Police for immediate entry into the State registry of
sexual offenders and the criminal history record of the offender as
provided in 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to criminal history record
information).

§ 9799.3. Board.

(a) Composition.—The State Board to Assess Sexually Violent Predators
shall be composed of [three persons, one psychiatrist, one psychologist
and one criminal justice expert] psychiatrists, psychologists and criminal
Justice experts, each of whom [has a minimum of ten years of experience
and specialized training in] is an expert in the field of the behavior and
treatment of [sex] sexual offenders,

(b) Appointment.—The Governor shall appoint the [psychiatrist and
psychologist] board members. [The Attorney General shall appoint the
criminal justice expert. All appointments shall be made within 30 days
of the effective date of this section.]

% %k %

(d) Compensation.—The members of the board shall be compensated at
a rate of [$125 per day] $200 per assessment and receive reimbursement for
their actual and necessary expenses while performing the business of the
board. The chairman shall receive $500 additional compensation per annum.

% %k %k
§ 9799.4. Sexually violent predators.

[(a) Lifetime parole; counseling.—Notwithstanding any other
provision of law to the contrary, a person designated as a sexually violent
predator under this subchapter shall remain on lifetime parole when
released from a State or county correctional facility unless the court
determines the person is no longer a sexually violent predator under
section 9794(f) (relating to designation of sexually violent predators). The
sexually violent predator shall be required to attend at least monthly
counseling sessions in a program approved by the board and be
financially responsible for all fees assessed from such counseling sessions.
If the sexually violent predator can prove to the satisfaction of the court
that that person cannot afford to pay for the counseling sessions, that
person shall still attend the counseling sessions and the parcfe-officeshall
pay the requisite fees.]

(a) Increased mandatory maximum sentence.—Upon the cour?’s finding
that the offender is a sexually violent predator, the offender’s maximum
term of confinement for any offense or conviction specified in section
9793(b) (relating to registration of certain offenders for ten years) shall be
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increased to the offender’s lifetime notwithstanding lesser statutory
maximum penalties for these offenses.

(b) Counseling.—The sexually violent predator shall be required to
atiend at least monthly counseling sessions in a program approved by the
board and be financially responsible for all fees assessed from such
counseling sessions. If the sexually violent predator can prove fo the
satisfaction of the court that the person cannot afford to pay for the
counseling sessions, that person shall still attend the counseling sessions
and the parole office shall pay the requisite fees.

[(b)] (¢) Mandatory sentence.—Notwithstanding any other provision of
law to the contrary, when a person who has been designated as a sexually
violent predator is convicted of a subsequent sexually violent offense, the
mandatory sentence shall be life imprisonment. Should a previous. conviction.
be vacated and an acquittal or final discharge entered subsequent to
imposition of sentence under this section, the offender shall have the right to
petition the sentencing court for reconsideration of sentence if this section
would not have been applicable except for the conviction which was vacated.

[(©)] (d) Authority of court in sentencing.—There shall be no authority in
any court to impose on an offender to which this section is applicable any
lesser sentence than provided for in subsection [(b)] (¢), to place such
offender on probation or to suspend sentence. Nothing in this section shall
prevent the sentencing court from imposing a sentence greater than that
provided in this section. Sentencing guidelines promulgated by the
Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing shall not supersede the mandatory
sentences provided in this section.

[(d)] (¢) Appeal by Commonwealth—If a sentencing court refuses to
apply this section when it is applicable, the Commonwealth shall have the
right to appellate review of the action of the sentencing court. The appeliate
court shall vacate the sentence and remand the case to the sentencing court
for the imposition of a sentence in accordance with this section if it finds-that
the sentence was imposed in violation of this section.

Section 3. Title 42 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 9799.6. Applicability.

The provisions of section 9793(d) (relating to registration of certain
offenders for ten years) shall apply to all offenders convicted of an offense
equivalent to an offense set forth in section 9793(b) before the effective
date of this section who remain incarcerated or on parole on the effective
date of this section. In addition, the provisions of section 9793(d) shall
apply to all offenders convicted of an offense equivalent to an offense set
Jforth in seciion 9793(b) on or after the effective date of this section.

Section 4. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 22nd day of May, A.D. 1996.
THOMAS J. RIDGE



