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No. 1996-104

AN ACT
SB 1374

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes, providing for the unauthorized practice of law and for
reappointment of district justice; further providing for the Judicial Computer
System Augmentation Account and for scope of chapter relating to limitation of
time; providing for assignment to orphans’ court; regulating rental purchase
transactions; and making a repeal.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 2524(a) of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended and the section is amended by adding a subsection to
read:

§ 2524. Penalty for unauthorized practice of law.

(a) General rule.—Except as provided in subsection (b), any person,
including, but not limited to, a paralegal or legal assistant, who within this
Commonwealth shall practice law, or who shall hold himself out to the public
as being entitled to practice law, or use or advertise the title of lawyer,
attorney at law, attorney and counselor at law, counselor, or the equivalent
in any language, in such a manner as to convey the impression that he is a
practitioner of the law of any jurisdiction, without being an attorney at law
or a corporation complying with 15 Pa.C.S. Ch. 29 (relating to professional
corporations), commits a misdemeanor of the third degreel.] upon a first
violation. A second or subsequent violation of this subsection constitutes a
misdemeanor of the first degree.
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(¢) Injunction.—In addition to criminal prosecution, unauthorized
practice of law may be enjoined in any county court of common pleas
having personal jurisdiction over the defendant. The party obtaining such
an injunction may be awarded costs and expenses incurred, including
reasonable attorney fees, against the enjoined party. A violation of
subsection (a) is also a violation of the act of December 17, 1968 (P.L.1224,
No.387), known as the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection
Law.

Section 2. Title 42 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 3132.1. Reappointment of disirict justice.

Notwithstanding any provisions of this title to the contrary, a district
Justice who resigns from office may not be reappointed to his or her
unexpired term.

Section 3. Section 3733 of Title 42 is amended by adding a subsection to
read:
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§ 3733. Deposits into account.
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(c) Expiration of section.—The provisions of this section shall expire
when the sum of $100,000,000 has been deposited into the Judicial
Computer System Augmentation Account. The $100,000,000 shall be the
sum of all deposits into the Judicial Computer System Augmentation
Account beginning on and after june 29, 1990.

Section 4. Section 5501 of Title 42 is amended to read:

§ 5501. Scope of chapter.

(a) General rule.—An action, proceeding or appeal must be commenced
within the time specified in or pursuant to this chapter unless, in the case of
a civil action or proceeding, a different time is provided by this title or
another statute or a shorter time which is not manifestly unreasonable is
prescribed by written agreement.

(b) Uniform Commercial Code.—The provisions of Title 13 (relating to
commercial code), to the extent that they are inconsistent with this chapter,
shall control over the provisions of this chapter.

(c) Equitabie matters.—{This chapter is applicable to equitable
matters, but nothing] Nothing in this chapter shall modify the principles of
waiver, laches and estoppel and similar principles heretofore applicable in
equitable matters.

Section 5. Section 6351 of Title 42 is amended by adding a subsection to
read:

§ 6351. Disposition of dependent child.
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(i) Assignment to orphans’ court—A judge who adjudicated the child
dependent or who has conducted disposition review hearings or other
dependency proceedings involving the child may be assigned to the
orphans’ court division for the purpose of hearing proceedings relating to
any of the following:

(1) Involuntary termination of parental rights of a parent of the
dependent child under 23 Pa.C.S. Ch. 25 Subch. B (relating to
involuntary termination).

(2) A petition to adopt the dependent child.

Section 6. Title 42 is amended by adding a chapter to read:

CHAPTER 69
PARTICULAR RIGHTS AND IMMUNITIES

Sec.

6901. Short title of chapter.

6902. Definitions.

6903. Required disclosures in connection with rental-purchase agreement,
6904. Prohibited provisions of agreement.
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6905. Lessee’s right to acquire ownership.

6906. Lessee’s right to reinstate agreement after termination.
6907. Rent reduction.

6908. Advertising and display of property.

6909. Lessor’s liability for noncompliance.

6910. Limitations on lessor’s liability.

6911. Conflict with other law.

§ 6901. Short title of chapter.

This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the Rental-Purchase
Agreement Act.

§ 6902. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have the
meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise:

“Advertisement.” A written, visual or oral communication made to a
lessee or prospective lessee by means of personal representation, newspaper,
magazine, circular, billboard, direct mailing, sign, radio, television, telephone
or other means of communication that aids, promotes or assists, directly or
indirectly, a rental-purchase agreement.

“Cash price.” The price at which the lessor would offer to sell in the
ordinary course of business the same or similar property for cash on the day
the lessee enters into a rental-purchase agreement.

“Lessee.” A person who rents personal property pursuant to a rental-
purchase agreement.

“Lessor.” A person who, in the ordinary course of business, regularly
offers to rent or arranges for personal property to be rented pursuant to a
rental-purchase agreement. A lessor is a creditor as defined in 37 Pa. Code
§ 303.2 (relating to definitions) when owed or alleged to be owed a debt and
is subject to 37 Pa. Code Ch. 303 (relating to debt collection trade practices).

“Personal property.” Any property that is not real property under the laws
of the state where it is located when it is offered or made available for a
rental-purchase agreement.

“Rental-purchase agreement.” An agreement for the use of personal
property by an individual primarily for personal, family or houschold
purposes for an initial period of four months or less that is automatically
renewable with each rental payment after the initial period and that permits
the lessee to acquire ownership of the property. It does not include nor is it
subject to laws governing any of the following:

(1) A lease for agricultural, business or commercial purposes.

(2) A lease made to an organization.

(3) A lease of money or intangible personal property.

(4) A lease of a motor vehicle, motor home, mobile home or
manufactured housing.
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(5) A home solicitation sale under section 7 of the act of December 17,
1968 (P.L.1224, No.387), known as the Unfair Trade Practices and
Consumer Protection Law,

(6) A retail installment sale, retail installment contract or retail
installment account as defined in the act of October 28, 1966 (1st Sp.Sess.,
P.L.55, No.7), known as the Goods and Services Installment Sales Act.

(7) A security interest as defined in 13 Pa.C.S. § 1201 (relating to
general definitions).

§ 6903. Required disclosures in connection with rental-purchase agreement.
(a) General rule.—A lessor shall disclose all of the following in a clear
and conspicuous manner:

(1) A brief description of the rented property sufficient to identify it
to the lessee and lessor and a statement as to whether the property is new,
used or previously rented. If a rental is for multiple items of property, a
description of each item may be provided in a separate statement
incorporated by reference in the rental-purchase agreement or primary
disclosure statement.

(2) The total amount of any initial payment, including any advance
payment, delivery charge or any trade-in allowance, to be paid by the
lessee at or before consummation of the rental-purchase agreement.

(3) The amount and timing of rental payments.

(4) The amount of all other charges, individually itemized, payable by
the lessee to the lessor that are not included in the rental payments.

(5) The party who is liable for loss, damage in excess of normal wear
and tear or destruction of the rented property.

(6) The right of the lessee to reinstate under section 6906 (relating to
lessee’s right to reinstate agreement after termination) and the amount of
or method of determining the amount of the delinquency charges,
reinstatement fee or delivery charge for reinstatement.

(7) The party responsible for maintaining or servicing the rental
property and a brief description of the responsibility.

(8) The conditions upon which the lessee or lessor may terminate the
rental agreement prior to the expiration of the rental term.

(9) The total of all initial payments, all rental payments and all other
charges necessary to acquire ownership of the rented property.

(10) That the lessee has the option to purchase the rented property at
any time and at what price or by what formula or method the purchase
price will be determined.

(11) The cash price of the personal property that is the subject of the
rental-purchase agreement.

(12) The cost of lease services, which is the difference between the
total of payments disclosed under paragraph (9) and the cash price of the
property disclosed under paragraph (11).
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(13) That if any part of a manufacturer’s warranty exists on the leased
property when a lessce acquires ownership of the property, the warranty
will be transferred to the lessee if permitted by the terms of the warranty.

(14) That the lessee is not required to purchase insurance or liability
damage waiver for the property that is the subject of the rental agreement
from the lessor or from any vendor owned or controlied by the lessor.
(b) Notice required.—Every primary disclosure statement shall include a

notice in a prominent place in at least ten-point type in substantially the
following form:
NOTICE

You are renting this property. You will not own it until you make all

of the regularly scheduled payments or you use the early purchase

option. You do not have the right to keep the property if you do not
make required payments or do not use the early purchase option.

Subject to your grace periods and reinstatement rights, the lessor may

repossess the property if you fail to make rental payments as scheduled.

Your rights and responsibilities are fully explained in this rental-

purchase agreement.

(c) Time of disclosure.—Every rental-purchase agreement shall be in
writing. The information required by this section shall be disclosed by the
lessor prior to the signing of the rental-purchase agreement by the lessee and
shall be disclosed either in the rental-purchase agreement or on a dated,
separate piece of paper that identifies the rental-purchase agreement and the
parties to it.

(d) Manner of disclosure.—The disclosures required by subsection (a)(2),
3), ), (11) and (12) shall be printed or typed in at least ten-point boldface
type and grouped together. All other disclosures required by this section shall
be printed or typed in at least eight-point type. All numerical amounts and
percentages shall be stated in figures. All information required by this section
shall be written, organized and designed so that it is easy to read and
understand. The information shall be appropriately divided and captioned by
its sections.

(e) Disclosure of additional information.—A lessor may disclose
information that is not required by this section if the additional information
is not stated, used or placed in a manner that will contradict, obscure or
distract attention from the required information.

(f) Compliance with Federal law.—With respect to matters specifically
governed by the Consumer Credit Protection Act (Public Law 90-321, 15
U.S.C. § 1601 et seq.), compliance with that act satisfies the requirements of
this section.

§ 6904. Prohibited provisions of agreement.

A rental-purchase agreement or any document that the lessor requests the
lessee to sign shall not contain any provision by which:

(1) A power of attorney is given to confess judgment in this
Commonwealth or to appoint the lessor, its agents or its successors in
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interest as the lessee’s agent in the collection of payments or the

repossession of the rental property.

(2) The lessee authorizes the lessor or its agent to commit any breach
of the peace in repossessing the rental property or to enter the lessee’s
dwelling or other premises without obtaining the lessee’s consent at the
time of entry.

(3) The lessor mandates that the lessee purchase insurance or liability
waiver against loss or damage to the rental property from the lessor. This
paragraph shall not, however, be construed to prohibit a lessor from
offering insurance or a liability waiver to a lessee provided it is clearly
disclosed that acceptance of the offer of insurance or a liability waiver is
optional.

(4) The lessee waives or agrees to waive any defense, counterclaim or
right the lessee may have against the lessor, its agent or its successor in
interest.

(5) The lessee is required to pay a late fee unless the rental payment
is five days or more late under a rental-purchase agreement with payments
made monthly or two days or more late under a rental-purchase agreement
with payments made more frequently than monthly.

(6) A lessee is required to pay a late fee exceeding the greater of $5
or 10% of the amount of the past due payment, regardless of how long the
payment remains unpaid.

(7) The lessee is required to pay a fee in connection with retrieval of
the property or the termination or rescission of the rental-purchase
agreement,

(8) The lessee is charged a fee for in-home collection of a rental
payment unless the amount of the fee is disclosed and the lessee expressly
has agreed to pay the fee.

§ 6905. Lessee’s right to acquire ownership.

(a) Limitation on cost of lease services.—The total amount charged by the
lessor for the cost of lease services in a rental-purchase transaction shall not
exceed the cash price of the property.

(b) Acquisition of ownership.—At any time after tendering an initial
rental payment, a lessee may acquire ownership of the property that is the
subject of the rental-purchase agreement by tendering an amount equal at a
maximum to the amount by which the cash price of the leased property
exceeds 50% of all rental payments made by the lessee.

§ 6906. Lessee’s right to reinstate agreement after termination.

(a) General rule.—A lessee who fails to make a timely rental payment
may reinstate the agreement without losing any rights or options which exist
under the agreement by the payment of all of the following within seven days
of the renewal date:

(1) All past due rental charges.

(2) The reasonable costs of retrieval and redelivery, if the property has
been retrieved.
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(3) Any applicable late fee.

(b) Extended reinstatement after return of property.—

(1) In the case of a lessee who has paid less than two-thirds of the
total payments necessary to acquire ownership and where the lessee has
returned or voluntarily surrendered the property, other than through
judicial process, during the applicable reinstatement period set forth in
subsection (a), the lessee may reinstate the agreement during a period of
not less than 90 days after the date of the return of the property.

(2) In the case of a lessee who has paid two-thirds or more of the total
of payments necessary to acquire ownership and where the lessee has
returned or voluntarily surrendered the property, other than through
judicial process, during the applicable period set forth in subsection (a),
the lessee may reinstate the agreement during a period of not less than 120
days after the date of the return of the property.

(c) Right to reinstate following repossession.—Nothing in this section
shall prevent a lessor from attempting to repossess property during the
reinstatement period, but a repossession during the reinstatement period shall
not affect the lessee’s right to reinstate. Upon reinstatement, the lessor shail
provide the lessee with the same property or substitute property of
comparable quality and condition,

§ 6907. Rent reduction.

(a) General rule.—If any lessee who has signed a rental-purchase
agreement experiences an interruption or reduction of 25% or more of income
due to involuntary job loss, involuntary reduced employment, iliness,
pregnancy or disability after two-thirds or more of the total amount of the
rental payments necessary to acquire ownership under the agreement has-been
paid, the lessor shall reduce the amount of each rental payment by:

(1) the percentage of the reduction in the lessee’s income; or

(2) fifty percent, whichever is less, for the period during which the
lessee’s income is interrupted or reduced.

(b) Number of payments.—If payments are reduced, the total dollar
amount of payments necessary to acquire ownership shall not be increased,
but the number of payments necessary to acquire ownership shall be
increased accordingly and the rights and duties of the lessor and the lessee
shall not otherwise be affected.

(¢) Income restored.—When the lessee’s income is restored, the lessor
may increase the amount of rental payments, but in no event shall rental
payments exceed the originally disclosed amount of rental payments.

§ 6908. Advertising and display of property.

(a) Advertisements.—

(1) An advertisement for a rental-purchase agreement shall not state
that a rental of any specific property is available at a specific amount or
on specific terms unless the lessor will rent the property at the amount or
on the terms specified.
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(2) An advertisement shall not state that a payment or a rental payment
is due upon origination of a rental without disclosing all of the following:

(i) The payment due upon origination of the rental.

(i) The rental payment.

(iii) The total number of rental payments necessary to obtain
ownership of the property that is the subject of the rental-purchase
agreement.

(b) Information on displays or offers.—All property displayed or offered
under a rental-purchase agreement shall have stamped on or affixed to the
property and clearly and conspicuously indicated in Arabic numerals that are
readable and understandable by visual inspection all of the following:

(1) The amount of the rental payment,

(2) The cash price of the property.

(3) The total number and amount of rental payments necessary to
acquire ownership of the property that is the subject of the rental-purchase
agreement,

(4) The cost of lease services.

(¢) Compliance with Federal law.—With respect to matters specifically
governed by the Consumer Credit Protection Act (Public Law 90-321, 15
U.S.C. § 1601 et seq.), compliance with that act satisfies the requirements of
this section.

§ 6909. Lessor’s liability for noncompliance.

(a) Violation of other law.—A violation of this chapter shall constitute a
violation of the act of December 17, 1968 (P.L.1224, No.387), known as the
Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law, and shall be subject
to the enforcement provisions and private rights of action contained in that
act, except as limited in this section.

(b) Recovery in class action limited.—Notwithstanding any other
provision of this section or the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer
Protection Law, in any class action brought for violation of this chapter, the
total recovery arising out of the same failure to comply shall not be more
than the lesser of $500,000 or an amount equal to 1% of the net worth of the
lessor.

(c) Recovery of damages.—If a particular rental-purchase agreement has
more than one lessee, only one recovery of damages is allowed for a
violation of this chapter. Multiple violations in connection with a single
rental-purchase agreement entitle the Iessee or multiple lessees to only one
recovery under this chapter.

(d) Commencement of class action.—A class action alleging a violation
of this chapter may not be brought more than two years after the occurrence
of the violation that is the subject of the suit or more than two years after the
lessee made the last rental payment, whichever is later. This subsection does
not bar a lessee from asserting a violation of this chapter as a matter of
defense by recoupment or setoff in an action brought by a lessor more than
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two years after the date of the occurrence of the violation on an obligation
arising from the rental-purchase agreement.

(e) Counteraction or defense.—A lessee may not take any action to offset
any amount for which a lessor is potentially liable under the Unfair Trade
Practices and Consumer Protection Law against any amount owed by the
lessee unless the amount of the liability of the lessor has been determined by
a judgment of a court of competent jurisdiction in an action in which the
lessor was a party. This subsection does not bar a lessee in default on an
obligation arising from the rental-purchase agreement from asserting a
violation of this chapter in an original action or as a defense or counterclaim
to an action brought by the lessor to collect amounts owed by the lessee
under the rental-purchase agreement.

§ 6910. Limitations on lessor’s liability.

(a) Right to correct errors.—A lessor is not liable for any violation of the
requirements of this chapter if, within 60 days after discovering an error and
before an action for damages is filed against the lessor under section 6909
(relating to lessor’s liability for noncompliance) or written notice of the error
is received from the lessee, the lessor notifies the lessee of the error and
makes adjustments to the account of the lessee that are necessary to assure
that the lessee is not required to pay an amount in excess of the amounts
permitted by this chapter. This subsection applies whether the error was
discovered through the lessor’s own procedures or by any other means.

(b) Limitation in damages.——A lessor is not liable under subsection (a) for
damages in excess of actual damage sustained by the lessee if the lessor
shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the violation of this chapter
resulted from a bona fide error, notwithstanding the maintenance by the lessor
of procedures reasonably adopted to avoid the error.

(c) Definition—As used in this section, the term “bona fide error”
includes, but is not limited to, clerical or calculation mistakes, computer
hardware or software malfunctions and programming and printing errors.

§ 6911. Conflict with other law.

In the event of a conflict between this chapter and the act of October 28,
1966 (Ist Sp.Sess., P.L.55, No.7), known as the Goods and Services
Installment Sales Act, the provisions of this chapter shall be controlling.

Section 7. Section 9730 heading and (b) of Title 42 are amended to read:
§ 9730. Payment of court costs, restitution and fines.
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(b) Procedures regarding default.—

(1) If a defendant defaults in the payment of a fine [or], court costs or
restitution after imposition of sentence, the issuing authority {shall] or a
Senior judge or senior district justice appointed by the president judge
Jor the purposes of this section may conduct a hearing to determine
whether the defendant is financially able to pay.

(2) If the issuing authority, semior judge or senior district justice
determines that the defendant is financially able to pay the fine or costs,
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the issuing authority, senior judge or senior district justice may turn the

delinquent account over to a private collection agency or impose

imprisonment for nonpayment, as provided by law.

(3) If the issuing authority, senior judge or senior district justice
determines that the defendant is without the financial means to pay the
fine or costs immediately or in a single remittance, the issuing authority,
senior judge or senior district justice may provide for payment in
installments. In determining the appropriate installments, the issuing
authority, senior judge or senior district justice shall consider the
defendant’s financial resources, the defendant’s ability to make restitution
and reparations and the nature of the burden the payment will impose on
the defendant, If the defendant is in default of a payment or advises the
issuing authority, senior judge or senior district justice that default is
imminent, the issuing authority, senior judge or senior district justice may
schedule a rehearing on the payment schedule. At the rehearing the
defendant has the burden of proving changes of financial condition such
that the defendant is without the means to meet the payment schedule. The
issuing authority, senior judge or senior district justice may extend or
accelerate the schedule, leave it unaltered or sentence the defendant to a
period of community service as the issuing authority, semior judge or
senior district justice finds to be just and practicable under the
circumstances.

(4) A decision of the issuing authority, senior judge or senior district
Jjustice under paragraph (2) or (3) is subject to section 5105 (relating to
right to appellate review).

Section 8. Title 42 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 9730.1. Collection of court costs, restitution and fines by private
collection agency.

(a) Generally.—In accordance with section 9730(b)(1) and (2) (relating
to payment of court costs, restitution and fines), an issuing authority may
refer the collection of costs, fines and restitution of a defendani to a private
collection agency upon the expiration of a defendant’s maximum sentence
or probationary term with or without holding a hearing pursuant to this
section. Such collection agency shail adhere to accepted practices in
accordance with applicable Federal and State law to collect such costs,
fines and restitution.

(b) Contracts with private collection agencies.—

(1) The president judge of the judicial district, county commissioner
or designee of either may contract with private collection agencies for
the collection of fines, costs and restitution in accordance with the
provisions of this section.

(2) The amount of the collection fee as negotiated between the
president judge of the judicial district, county commissioner or designee
of either and private collection agencies shall be added to the bill of
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costs to be paid by the defendant and shall not exceed 25% of the

amount collected.

(3) The funds secured from the defendant by the private collection
agency in connection with the collection of fines, costs and restitution
shall be distributed as follows:

(i) The fee due the private collection agency shall be paid.

(ii) The balance shall be distributed in accordance with the
original distribution of fines, costs and restitution as set forth in the
order of the court sentencing the defendant.

(c) Limitations on private collection agencies.—F or the purposes of this
section, a private collection agency shall cease its efforts designed to collect
fines, costs and restitution and so inform the court or the county
cominissioners upon the eccurrence of any of the following:

(1) the private collection agency considers the amount owing
noncollectible;

(2) a period of 180 days has elapsed since referral of the amount
owing to the private collection agency and there has been no response
by the defendant or collection of moneys; or

(3) upon demand of a judge of the court of common pleas having
Jurisdiction over the defendant.

(d) Imprisonment.—Nothing in this subchapter limits the ability of a
Judge to imprison a person for nonpayment, as provided by law; however,
imprisonment for nonpayment shall not be imposed without a public
hearing under section 9730(b)(1).

(¢) Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection:

“Amount owing.” The total amount owed by a defendant on fines, costs
or restitution in accordance with the order of court sentencing the
defendant and this section.

“Private collection agency.” A person, company, partnership or other
entity that uses any instrumentality of interstate commerce or the mails in
any business the principal purpose of which is the collection of any debts,
or who regularly collects or atiempts to collect, directly or indirectly, debts
owed or due or asserted to be owed or due another under the applicable
laws of the United States and of this Commonwealth.

Section 9. Section 4 of the act of June 29, 1990 (P.L..257, No.59), entitled
“An act amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for deposits into the
Judicial Computer System Augmentation Account; imposing additional fees;
and making refunds,” is repealed.

Section 10. This act shall take effect as follows:

(1) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 3733(c) shall take effect immediately.

(2) Section 9 and this section shall take effect immediately.



618 Act 1996-104 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA
(3) The remainder of this act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 11th day of July, A.D. 1996.
'THOMAS J. RIDGE



