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No. 1997-49

AN ACT
SB 55

Amending Title 30 (Fish) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing
for operating watercraft under influence of alcohol or controlled substance, for
chemical testing and for classification of offenses and penalties.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 923(a) of Title 30 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended to read:
§ 923. Classification of offenses and penalties.

(a) General rule.—The following penalties shall be imposed for violations
of this title:

(1) For a summary offense of the first degree, a fine of $100 or
imprisonment not exceeding 90 days.

(2) For a summary offense of the second degree, a fine of $50 or
imprisonment not exceeding 20 days.

(3) For a summary offense of the third degree, a fine of $25.

(4) For a summary offense of the fourth degree, a fine of $10.

(5) For a misdemeanor of the third degree, a fine of not less than $250
nor more than $5,000, or imprisonment not exceeding 90 days, or both,

(6) For a misdemeanor of the second degree, a fine of not less than
$500 nor more than $7,500, or imprisonment not exceeding two years,
or both.

[(6)] (7) For a misdemeanor of the first degree, a fine of not less than
$2,500 nor more than $10.000, or imprisonment not exceeding five years,
or both,

[(M)1(8) For afelony of the third degree, a fine of not less than $2,500
nor exceeding $15.000, or imprisonment not exceeding seven years, or
both.
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Section 2. Title 30 is amended by adding a section to read:
§ 5124.1. Liquor or malt or brewed beverages.

(a) General rule.—In an action or proceeding under this title in which
a material element of the offense or action is that a substance is liguor or
a malt or brewed beverage, all the following shall apply:

(1) Chemical analysis is not required to prove that the substance is
liquor or a malt or brewed beverage.

(2) Circumstantial evidence is sufficient to prove that the substance
is liguor or a malt or brewed beverage.
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(b) Evidence presented by a defendant—Notwithstanding subsection (a),
nothing shall prevent a defendant from presenting evidence that a
substance is not liquor or a malt or brewed beverage.

(c) Applicability.—The provisions of this section shall apply to
proceedings brought by officers authorized to enforce this title under this
title, Titles 18 (relating to crimes and offenses), 42 (relating to judiciary
and judicial procedure) and 75 (relating to vehicles) and the act of April
12, 1951 (P.L.90, No.21), known as the Liquor Code.

Section 3. Sections 5125(j) and 5502 of Title 30 are amended to read:
§ 5125. Chemical testing to determine amount of alcohol or controlled

substance.
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(i) Immunity from civil liability and reports.—No physician, nurse or
technician or hospital employing the physician, nurse or technician and no
other employer of the physician, nurse or technician shall be civilly liable for
[properly] withdrawing blood or obtaining a urine sample and reporting test
results to [the waterways patrolman] an officer authorized to enforce this
title at the request of [a waterways patroiman under this section] the
commission or an officer authorized to enforce this title. No physician,
nurse or technician or hospital employing the physician, nurse or technician
may administratively refuse to perform the tests and provide theresults to the
|waterways patrolman] officer authorized to enforce this title except as
may be reasonably expected from unusual circumstances that pertain at the
time the request is made.
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§ 5502. Operating watercraft under influence of alcohol or controlled

substance.

(a) General rule.—No person shall operate or be in actual physical control
of the movement of a watercraft upon, in or through the waters of this
Commonwealth [while];

(1) while under the influence of alcohol to a degree which renders the
person incapable of safe operation of [the] a watercraft;

(2) while under the influence of any controlled substance, as defined
by the laws of this Commonwealth and rules and regulations promulgated
thereunder, to a degree which renders the person incapable of safe
operation of a watercraft;

(3) while under the combined influence of alcohol and a controlled
substance fo a degree which renders the person incapable of safe
operation of a watercraft, or

(4) while the amount of alcohol by weight in the blood of [the person
is 0.10% or greater.]:

(i) an adult is 0.10% or greater; or
(ii) a minor is 0.02% or greater.

(a.l1) Prima facie evidence.—

(1) It is prima facie evidence that:
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(i) an adult had 0.10% or more by weight of alcohol in his or her
blood at the time of operating or being in actual physical control of
the movement of a watercraft if the amount of alcohol by weight in
the blood of the person is equal to or greater than 0.10% at the time
a chemical test is performed on a sample of the person’s breath,
blood or urine; and

(ii) a minor had 0.02% or more by weight of alcohol in his or her
blood at the time of operating or being in actual physical control of
the movement of a watercraft if the amount of alcohol by weight in
the blood of the minor is equal to or greater than 0.02% at the time
a chemical test is performed on a sample of the person’s breath,
blood or urine.

(2) For the purposes of this section, the chemical test of the sample
of the person’s breath, blood or urine shall be from a sample obtained
within three hours after the person drove, operated or was in actual
physical control of the watercraft.

(b) [Legal use no] Authorized use not a defense.—The fact that any
person charged with violating this section is or has been legally entitled to
use alcohol or controlled substances is not a defense to a charge of violating
this section.

(b.1) Certain arrests quthorized.—In addition to any other powers of
arrest, an officer authorized to enforce this title is hereby authorized to
arrest without a warrant any person who the officer has probable cause to
believe has violated the provisions of this section, regardless of whether the
alleged violation was committed in the presence of such officer. This
authority to arrest extends to any hospital or other medical treatment
Jacility located beyond the territorial limits of the officer’s political
subdivision where the person to be arrested is found or was taken for
purposes of emergency treatment, examination or evaluation, provided there
is probable cause to believe that the violation of this section occurred
within the police officer’s political subdivision.

(b.2) Certain disposition prohibited —The attorney for the
Commonwealth shall not submit a charge brought under this section for
Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition if:

(1) The defendant has been found guilty of or accepted Accelerated
Rehabilitative Disposition of a charge brought under this section within
seven years of the date of the current offense.

(2) An accident occurred in connection with the events surrounding
the current offense and any person other than the defendant was killed
or seriously injured as a result of the accident.

[(c) Penalty.—A person violating any of the provisions of this section
commits a misdemeanor of the third degree.]

(¢) Grading and penalties.—

(1) A person violating any of the provisions of this section commits
a misdemeanor of the second degree except a person who meets the
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requirements of paragraph (2). The sentencing court shall order the
person to pay a fine of not less than $500 and to serve a minimum term
of imprisonment of:
(i) not less than 48 consecutive hours; or
(i) not less than 30 days if the person had previously accepted
Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition or any other form of
preliminary disposition or had been convicted of, adjudicated
delinquent or granted a consent decree under 42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 63
(relating to juvenile matters) based on an offense under this section
or an equivalent offense in this or other jurisdictions within the
previous seven years calculated from the date of acceptance,
conviction, adjudication or grant.
(2) If the person has two or more times previously been convicted of,
adjudicated delinquent or granted a consent decree under 42-Pa:C.S. Ch.

63 based on an offense under this section or an equivalent offense in

this or other jurisdictions within the previous seven years, a person

commits a misdemeanor of the first degree. The sentencing court shall
order the person to pay a fine of not less than $2,500 nor more than
$10,000 and to serve a minimum term of imprisonment of not less than

90 days.

(d) Subsequent conviction.—Acceptance of Accelerated Rehabilitative
Disposition, an adjudication of delinquency or a consent decree under 42
Pa.C.S. Ch. 63 or any other form of preliminary disposition of any charge
brought under this section shall be considered a first conviction for the
purpose of computing whether a subsequent conviction of a violation of this
section shall be considered a second, third or subsequent conviction.

(e) Sentencing guidelines.—The sentencing guidelines promulgated by
the Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing shall not supersede the
mandatory penalties of this section.

() Direct appeal.—The Commonwealth has the right to appeal directly
to the Superior Court any order of court which imposes a sentence for
violation of this section which does not meet the requirements of this
section. The Superior Court shall remand the case to the sentencing court
Jor imposition of a sentence in accordance with the provisions of this
section,

(g) City of first class.—Notwithstanding the provision for direct appeal
to the Superior Court, if, in a city of the first class, a person appeals from
a judgment of sentence under this section from the municipal court to the
common pleas court for a trial de novo, the Commonwealth shall have the
right to appeal directly to the Superior Court from the order of the common
pleas court if the sentence imposed is in violation of this section. If, in a
city of the first class, a person appeals to the court of common pleas after
conviction of a violation of this section in the municipal court and
thereafter withdraws his appeal to the common pleas court, thereby
reinstating the judgment of sentence of the municipal court, the
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Commonwealith shall have 30 days from the date of the withdrawal to
appeal to the Superior Court if the sentence is in violation of this section.

(h) Acceptance of ARD.—Any person who accepts Accelerated
Rehabilitative Disposition of any charge brought under this section shall
accept as conditions the imposition of, and the judge shall impose in
addition to any other condition, all of the following:

(1) A mandatory suspension of watercraft operating privileges for a
period of not less than six months but not more than 12 months.

(2) A condition that the defendant, as a condition to entering the
program, make restitution to any person who incurred determinable
financial loss as a result of the defendant’s actions which resulted in a
charge of violating this section.

(3) A condition that the defendant, as a condition to entering the
program, attend and successfully complete at his own expense a
commission-approved boating safety course.

(4) Court supervision for a period of not less than six months. In
cases where the defendant is required to make restitution or submit to
counseling or treatment, the court supervision shall be for a period of
not less than 12 months or until the treatment or counseling is
completed and the restitution is paid in full, whichever is longer.

(i) Preliminary disposition revoked.—Accelerated Rehabilitative
Disposition or other preliminary disposition of any charge of violating this
section may be revoked and the court shall direct the attorney for the
Commonwealth to proceed on the charges as prescribed in general rules if
any of the following circumstances occur:

(1) The defendant is charged with or commits an offense which
violates the provisions of this section, any crime enumerated in 18
Pa.C.S. (relating to crimes and offenses) or any crime enumerated in 75
Pa.C.S. § 1542 (relating to revocation of habitual offender’s license)
within the probationary period.

(2) The defendant fails to make restitution as provided for in this
section.

(3) The defendant fails to successfully complete the boating safety
course.

(4) The defendant fails to successfully complete any program of
counseling or treatment, or both, required as a condition of Accelerated
Rehabilitative Disposition.

(5) The defendant violates the terms and conditions of Accelerated
Rehabilitative Disposition in any other way.

(i) Litter collection program.—In addition to the conditions set forth
under subsection (i) for Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition of any
charge brought under this section, the judge may impose and the person
shall accept the condition that the person engage in a program of collecting
litter from public and private property along Commonwealth waterways,
especially property which is littered with alcoholic beverage containers. The
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duration of the person’s participation in a litter collection program shall
not exceed the duration of the probationary period imposed on the person
under Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition.

(k) Fees to be paid into Boat Fund.—With the exception of court costs,
program costs for counseling, treatment or a boating safety course or any
restitution referred to in this section, any fee or financial condition imposed
by a judge as a condition of Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition or any
other preliminary disposition of any charge under this section shall be paid
into the Boat Fund under section 531 (relating to establishment and use of
Boat Fund).

() Preliminary hearing or arraignment.—The presiding judicial officer
at the preliminary hearing or preliminary arraignment relating to any
charge of a violation of this section shall not reduce or modify the original
charges.

(m) Work release.—In any case in which a person is sentenced to a
period of imprisonment as a result of a conviction for violating any
provision of this section, the judicial officer imposing that sentence shall
consider assigning that person to a daytime work release program pursuant
to which the person would be required to collect litter from public and
private property, especially property which is littered with alcoholic
beverage containers.

(n) Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection:

“Adult.” A person 21 years of age or older.

“Minor.”” A person under 21 years of age.

Section 4. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 31st day of October, A.D. 1997,
THOMAS J. RIDGE



