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AN ACT

HB 1065

Amending the actof February9, 1984 (P.L3, No.2), entitled “An actproviding for
the educationand training of deputy sheriffs; creating the Deputy Sheriffs’
EducationandTrainingBoardunderthePennsylvaniaCommissionon Crime and
Delinquency;providing for the powersand dutiesof theboardandthe Attorney
General;establishingthe Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training Account;
providing for a surchargeon sheriffs’ fees; and providing penalties,”further
providingfor trainingrequirement,for the DeputySheriffs’EducationandTraining
Boardand for the Deputy Sheriffs’EducationandTrainingAccount.

The GeneralAssembly of the Commonwealthof Pennsylvaniahereby
enactsas follows:

Section 1. Section3(b) of the actof February9, 1984 (P1.3, No.2),
knownastheDeputySheriffs’ EducationandTrainingAct, amendedJune15,
1994 (P.L.262,No.43),is amendedto read:
Section3. TheDeputy Sheriffs’ EducationandTraining Board.

(b) Composition.—Theboard shall be composedof [nine] ten members
as follows:

(1) The Attorney General.
(2) Two judgesof thecourtsof commonpleasfrom differentcounties.
(3) Two sheriffs or chief deputiesfrom different countieswith a

minimum of six years experienceas asheriff or chiefdeputy.
(4) Threeindividualsfrom differentcountieswith aminimum of eight

years experienceeach as a deputysheriff. One of the three shall be
currently employedin the capacityof deputysheriff with the rank of
sergeantor deputysheriff.

(5) One educatorqualified in thefield of curriculumdesign.
(6) One countycommissioner.

Section2. Sections5 and6 of the actareamendedto read:
Section5. Trainingprogram.

The Deputy Sheriffs’ Educationand Training Program shall include
appropriatetraining for [a total of] not less than 160hours whichcontent
and hours of instruction shall be determinedby [regulationi the board
subjectto the reviewandapprovalof the commission.
Section6. Continuingeducation.

Theboard,with thereviewandapprovalof thecommission,shallestablish
a continuingeducationprogramfor all deputysheriffs,which shall include
not lessthan [16 nor morethan] 20hoursof continuingeducationeverytwo
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years.concerningsubjectstheboardmay deemnecessaryandappropriatefor
thecontinuededucationandtraining of deputysheriffs.

Section3. Section8(b) and (b.l) of the act, amendedJune 15, 1994
(P.L.262,No.43).areamendedto read:
Section8. DeputySheriffs’ EducationandTraining Account.

(b) Surcharge.—Thereis herebyassesseda surcharge[of$2] on eachfee
collectedby the sheriff of every county upon acceptancefor each service
requiredfor anycomplaint, summons,writ or other legal paperrequiredto
be servedor postedby thesheriff. Surchargesshall beassessedasfollows:

(1) Beginning January 1, 1998, through December31, 1998, the
surchargeshall be $6.

(2) Beginning January 1, 1999, through December31, 1999, the
surchargeshall be $8.

(3) BeginningJanuary 1, 2000,and thereafter, the surchargeshall
be $10.
(b.1) Surchargein countiesof first andsecondclass.—Incountiesof the

first and second class, a [$2.25] surchargeshall be collected by the
prothonotaryof thatcountyforeachdefendantnamedin adocumentfiled to
commencean actionpursuantto Pa.R.C.P.No.1007,exceptwhenserviceis
madeby acompetentadult in theactionslistedin Pa.R.C.P.Nos.400(b)and
400.1(c).[Ten percent]One dollar of thesurchargeshallberetainedby the
prothonotary to cover administrativecosts incurred by collecting the
surchargeandto supportany technologyandautomationimprovementsor
upgrades for the prothonotary, and the balance shall be transmitted
semiannuallyto theStateTreasurerfor depositinto the account.Surcharges
shall be assessedasfollows:

(1) Beginning January 1, 1998, through December31, 1998, the
surchargeshall be $7.

(2) Beginning January 1, 1999, through I)ecember31, 1999, the
surchargeshall be $9.

(3) BeginningJanuary 1, 2000,and thereafter, the surchargeshall
be $11.

Section4. This act shall take effectas follows:
(1) The amendmentof section8(b) and(b.1) of theactshalltakeeffect

January1, 1998.
(2) The amendmentof sections5 and 6 of the act shall take effect

upon publicationin the PennsylvaniaBulletin of noticethat the training
programundersection5 of the actand the continuingeducationprogram
under section6 of theacthavebeendevelopedand implemented.
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(3) Thissectionshall take effect immediately.

APPRoVED—The29th day of January,A.D. 1998.

LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

THOMAS J. RIDGE


