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Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes, further providing for subpoena of medical records; providing
for a limit on charges for reproducing medical charts or records; and further
providing for rights of patients, for obtaining personal appearance of custodian of
original charts, for obtaining production of original medical records and for
exemption from attachment of retirement funds and accounts.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 6152(a) and (c¢) of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:
§ 6152. Subpoena of records.

(a) Election.—

(1) When a subpoena duces tecum is served upon any health care
provider or an employee of any health care facility licensed under the laws
of this Commonwealth, requiring the production of any medical charts or
records at any action or proceeding, it shall be deemed a sufficient
response to the subpoena if the health care provider or health care facility
notifies the attorney for the party causing service of the subpoena, within
three days of receipt of the subpoena, of the health care provider’s or
facility’s election to proceed under this subchapter and of the estimated
actual and reasonable expenses of reproducing the charts or records.
However, when medical charts or records are requested by a district
attorney or by an independent or executive agency of the
Commonwealth, notice pursuant to this section shall not be deemed a
sufficient response to the subpoena duces tecum.

(2) (i) Except as provided in subparagraph (ii), the health care

provider or facility or a designated agent shall be entitled to receive

payment of such expenses before producing the charts or records.

The payment shall not exceed $15 for searching for and retrieving the

records, $1 per page for paper copies for the first 20 pages, 75¢ per

page for pages 21 through 60 and 25¢ per page for pages 61 and
thereafter; $1.50 per page for copies from microfilm; plus the actual
cost of postage, shipping or delivery. No other charges for the
retrieval, copying and shipping or delivery of medical records other
than those set forth in this paragraph shall be permitted without prior
approval of the party requesting the copying of the medical records.

The amounts which may be charged shall be adjusted annually

beginning on January 1, 2000, by the Secretary of Health of the
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Commonwealth based on the most recent changes in the consumer
price index reported annually by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the
United States Department of Labor.

(ii) Payment to a health care provider or facility for searching for,
retrieving and reproducing medical charts or records requested by a
district attorney shall not exceed $15, search and retrieval fee, plus
the actual cost of postage, shipping or delivery as described in
subparagraph (i), as adjusted by the Secretary of Health of the
Commonwealth, unless otherwise agreed to by the district attorney.
(3) No independent or executive agency of the Commonwealth shall

be required to pay any search or retrieval fee, copying cost or other cost

related to medical charts or records under this section unless otherwise
required by law, regulation or agreed to by the agency in guidelines,
statements of policy or by publication of notice in the Pennsylvania

Bulletin.
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(c) Delivery of records.—Following this election, the health care provider
or facility shall hold the originals available, and, upon payment of its
[estimated reproduction] expenses by the party causing service of the
subpoena, or by any other party, shall within [ten] 30 days deliver, by first
class mail, certified mail, return receipt requested, or by personal delivery,
legible and durable copies, certified by the health care provider or facility of
all medical charts or records specified in the subpoena. However, a district
attorney shall not be required to pay for copies of medical charts or records
before receipt, and the charts or records shall be delivered on or before the
date specified on the subpoena duces tecum.
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Section 2. Title 42 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 6152.1. Limit on charges.

(a) Charges.—

(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 6152(c) (relating to
subpoena of records), a health care provider or facility shall not charge
more than a flat fee of $19 for the expense of reproducing medical
charts or records, plus the actual cost of postage, shipping or delivery,
if the charts or records are requested for the purpose of supporting a
claim or appeal under any provision of the Social Security Act (49 Stat.
620, 42 U.S.C. § 301 et seq.) or any Federal or State financial needs-
based benefit program. The fee provided for in this subsection shall be
adjusted annually by the Secretary of Health of the Commonwealth, as
provided for in section 6152(a)(2)(i).

(2) No independent or executive agency of the Commonwealth shall
be required to pay any search or retrieval fee, copying cost or other cost
related to medical charts or records under this section unless otherwise
required by law, regulation or agreed to by the agency in guidelines,
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statements of policy or by publication of notice in the Pennsylvania

Bulletin.

(b) Documentation—The person making the request shall provide the
health care provider or facility with clear and convincing documentation
that the purpose of the request is to obtain medical charts or records
necessary to support a claim or appeal under any provision of the Social
Security Act or any Federal or State financial needs-based benefit program.

(c) Request—F or purposes of this section, a request for medical charts
or records shall include, but not be limited to, a subpoena for medical
charts or records under section 6152 or a letter from a person’s attorney
of record for whom an Appointment of Representative form (SSA-1696-U4)
has been executed, indicating the need for such charts or records.

Section 3. Sections 6155(b), 6158 and 6159 of Title 42 are amended to
read:

§ 6155. Rights of patients.
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(b) Rights to records generally.—

(1) A patient or his designee, including his attorney, shall have the
right of access to [all of] his medical charts and records and to
[photocopy] obtain photocopies of the same, without the use of a
subpoena duces tecum, for his own use. A health care provider or facility
shall not charge a patient or his designee, including his attorney, a fee
in excess of the amounts set forth in section 6152(a)(2)(i) (relating to
subpoena of records).

(2) Nothing in this subsection shall be construed as requiring an
insurer to pay for medical records required to validate medical services
for which reimbursement is sought under an insurance contract, except
as provided in:

(i) the act of June 2, 1915 (P.L.736, N0.338), known as the
Workers’ Compensation Act, and the regulations promulgated
thereunder;

(i)) 75 Pa.C.S. Ch. 17 (relating to financial responsibility) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder; or

(iii) a contract between an insurer and any other party.

§ 6158. Obtaining personal attendance of custodian.

The personal attendance of the custodian of the original charts or records
specified in the subpoena shall only be required if the subpoena duces tecum
so specifies[.] for the purpose of obtaining the custodian’s testimony on an
issue in dispute and upon payment of the actual and reasonable expenses
of the custodian’s personal attendance. When the personal attendance of
the custodian is requested by a district attorney or an independent or
executive agency of the Commonwealth, the fee paid to the custodian shall
not exceed the ordinary fee paid to witnesses in criminal cases as specified
in section 5903 (relating to compensation and expenses of witnesses) and
shall be paid after the custodian’s appearance.
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§ 6159. Obtaining production of original record.

The production of the original record shall only be required if the
subpoena duces tecum so specifies[.] for the purpose of comparing the
reproduced record to the original or for the purpose of resolving an issue
in dispute and shall be delivered within 30 days of receipt of the request.
Except when the original record is requested by a district attorney or an
independent or executive agency of the Commonwealth, the records shall
be delivered on the date set forth in the subpoena duces tecum.

Section 4. Title 42 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 6160. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have
the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

“Insurer.” A foreign or domestic insurance company, association or
exchange holding a certificate of authority under the act of May 17, 1921
(P.L.682, No.284), known as The Insurance Company Law of 1921; a
health maintenance organization holding a certificate of authority under
the act of December 29, 1972 (P.L.1701, No.364), known as the Health
Maintenance Organization Act; a hospital plan organization holding a
certificate of authority under 40 Pa.C.S. Ch. 61 (relating to hospital plan
corporations); a professional health services plan corporation holding a
certificate of authority under 40 Pa.C.S. Ch. 63 (relating to professional
health services plan corporations); a fraternal benefit society holding a
certificate of authority under the act of December 14, 1992 (P.L.835,
No.134), known as the Fraternal Benefit Societies Code; or a risk-assuming
preferred provider organization operating pursuant to section 630 of The
Insurance Company Law of 1921.

Section 5. Section 8124(b)(1)(ix) of Title 42 is amended to read:

§ 8124. Exemption of particular property.
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(b) Retirement funds and accounts.—

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), the following money or other
property of the judgment debtor shall be exempt from attachment or
execution on a judgment:
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(ix) Any retirement or annuity fund provided for under section

401(a), 403(a) and (b), 408 or 409 of the Internal Revenue Code of

‘1986 (Public Law 99-514, 26 U.S.C. § 401(a), 403(a) and (b), 408 or

409), the appreciation thereon, the income therefrom [and], the benefits

or annuity payable thereunder and transfers and rollovers between

such funds. This subparagraph shall not apply to:

(A) Amounts contributed by the debtor to the retirement or
annuity fund within one year before the debtor filed for bankruptcy.
This shall not include amounts directly rolled over from other
Sfunds which are exempt from attachment under this subparagraph.
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(B) Amounts contributed by the debtor to the retirement or
annuity fund in excess of $15,000 within a one-year period. This
shall not include amounts directly rolled over from other funds
which are exempt from attachment under this subparagraph.

(C) Amounts deemed to be fraudulent conveyances.
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Section 6. This act shall take effect as follows:
(1) The amendment or addition of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6152(a) and (c),
6152.1, 6155(b), 6158 and 6159 shall take effect in 60 days.
(2) The remainder of this act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 18th day of February, A.D. 1998.
THOMAS J. RIDGE



