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No. 1998-149

AN ACT
HB 148

Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
further providing for propulsion of missiles into an occupied vehicle or onto a
roadway; defining the offense of theft from a motor vehicle; further providing for
credit card fraud; defining the offense of unlawful device-making equipment;
further providing for control of alarm devices and automatic dialing devices;
providing penalties; and exempting certain volunteers from paying fees for reports
of criminal history record information.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 2707(b) of Title 18 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended to read:

§ 2707. Propulsion of missiles into an occupied vehicle or onto a roadway.
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(b) Roadways.—Whoever intentionally throws, shoots, drops or causes to
be propelled any solid object, from an overpass or any other location adjacent
to or on a roadway, onto or toward said roadway[,] shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor of the second degree.

Section 2. Title 18 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 3934. Theft from a motor vehicle.

(a) Offense defined.—A person commils the offense of theft from a
motor vehicle if he unlawfully takes possession of, carries away or exercises
unlawful control over any movable property of another from a motor
vehicle with the intent to deprive him thereof.

(b) Grading.—

(1) An offense under this section is:

(i) a misdemeanor of the third degree if the amount involved was
less than $50; or

(ii) a misdemeanor of the second degree if the amount involved
was $50 or more but less than $200; or

(iii)) a misdemeanor of the first degree if the amount involved was
greater than $200.

(2) When the offense is a third or subsequent offense within a five-
year period, regardless of the amount involved and regardless of the
grading of the prior offenses, an offense under this section is a
misdemeanor of the first degree.

Section 3. Section 4106 of Title 18 is amended to read:

§ 4106. [Credit cards] Access device fraud.
(a) Offense defined.——A person commits an offense if he:
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(1) uses [a credit card for the purpose of obtaining] an access
device to obtain or in an attempt to obtain property or services with
knowledge that:

(i) the [card is stolen, forged or fictitious] access device is
counterfeit, altered or incomplete;

(ii) the [card belongs] access device was issued to another person
who has not authorized its use;

(iii) the [card] access device has been revoked or canceled; or

(iv) for any other reason his use of the [card] access device is
unauthorized by the issuer or the [person to whom issued] device
holder; or

(2) publishes, makes, sells, gives, or otherwise transfers to another, or
offers or advertises, or aids and abets any other person to use [a credit
card with the knowledge or reason to believe that it will be used to
obtain property or services without payment of the lawful charges
therefor;] an access device knowing that the access device is counterfei,
altered or incomplete, belongs to another person who has not authorized
its use, has been revoked or canceled or for any reason is unauthorized
by the issuer or the device holder; or

(3) ipublishes a credit card or code of an existing, canceled,
revoked, expired, or nonexistent credit card, or the numbering or
coding which is employed in the issuance of credit cards, with
knowledge or reason to believe that it will be used to avoid the
payment for any property or services.] possesses an access device
knowing that it is counterfeit, altered, incomplete or belongs to another
person who has not authorized its possession.

(a.1) Presumptions.—For the purpose of this section as well as in any
prosecution for theft committed by the means specified in this section:

(1) An actor is presumed to know an access device is counterfeit,
altered or incomplete if he has in his possession or under his control two
or more counterfeit, altered or incomplete access devices.

(2) Knowledge of revocation or cancellation shall be presumed fo
have been received by an access device holder seven days after it has
been mailed to him at the address set forth on the access device appli-
cation or at a new address if a change of address has been provided to
the issuer.

(b) Defenses.—1It is a defense to a prosecution under [subparagraph
(a)(1)(iv) of this sectiom,] subsection (a)(1)(iv) if the actor proves by a
preponderance of the evidence that he had the intent and ability to meet all
obligations to the issuer arising out of his use of the [card] access device.

(c) Grading.—

(1) An offense under [this section] subsection (a)(1) falls within the
following classifications depending on the value of the property or service
[secured] obtained or sought to be [secured] obtained by means of the
[credit card] access device:



SESSION OF 1998 Act 1998-149 1105

[(D] (i) if the value involved [exceeds $500} was $500 or more, the
offense constitutes a felony of the third degree; or
[(2)] (i) if the value involved was $50 or more but less than $500,
the offense constitutes a misdemeanor of the [second] first degree; or
[(3)] (iii) if the value involved was less than $50, the offense
constitutes a [summary offense] misdemeanor of the second degree.
(2) Amounts involved in unlawful use of [a credit card] arn access
device pursuant to [one] a scheme or course of conduct, whether from the
same [issuers] issuer or several issuers, may be aggregated in determining
the classification of the offense.
(3) An offense under subsection (a)(2) constitutes a felony of the
third degree.
(4) An offense under subsection (a)(3) constitutes a misdemeanor of
the third degree.
(5) Each access device involved in the offense specified in subsection

(a)(2) or (3) shall constitute a separate offense.

(d) Definitions.-—As used in this section, the following words and phrases
shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection:

[“Credit card.” A writing or number or other evidence of an
undertaking to pay for property or services delivered or rendered to or
upon the order of a designated person or bearer.]

“Access device.” Any card, including, but not limited to, a credit card,
debit card and automated teller machine card, plate, code, account number,
personal identification number or other means of account access that can
be used alone or in conjunction with another access device to obtain
money, goods, services or anything else of value or that can be used to
transfer funds.

“Altered access device.” A validly issued access device which after issue
is changed in any way.

“Counterfeit access device.” An access device not issued by an issuer
in the ordinary course of business.

“Device holder.” The person or organization named on the access
device to whom or for whose benefit the access device is issued by an
issuer.

“Incomplete access device.” An access device which does not contain
all of the printed, embossed, encoded, stamped or other matter which an
issuer requires to appear on a validly issued access device.

“Issuer.” The business organization or financial institution which issues
an access device or its duly authorized agent.

“Publishes.” The communication of information to any one or more
persons, either [orally] in person, [or] by telephone, radio [or], other
telecommunication or electronic device, television or in a writing of any
kind, including without limitation a letter or memorandum, circular or
handbill. newspaper or magazine article, or book.
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(e) Venue.—Any offense committed under subsection (a)(1) [of this
section] may be deemed to have been committed at either the place where
the attempt to obtain property or services is made, or at the place where the
property or services were received or provided, or at the place where the
lawful charges for said property or services are billed.

Section 4. Title 18 is amended by adding a section to read:

§ 4106.1. Unlawful device-making equipment.

(a) Offense defined.—A person commits an offense if, with intent to
defraud or injure anyone or with knowledge that he may be facilitating a
fraud or injury to be perpetrated by anyone, he:

(1) produces or traffics in device-making equipment; or

(2) possesses device-making equipment.

(b) Grading.—An offense under subsection (a)(1) is a felony of the
third degree. An offense under subsection (a)(2) is a misdemeanor of the
Jirst degree.

(c) Definitions.—As used in this section, the following words and
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection:

“Access device.” Any card, including, but not limited to, a credit card,
debit card and automated teller machine card, plate, code, account number,
personal identification number or other means of account access that can
be used alone or in conjunction with another access device to obtain
money, goods, services or anything else of value or that can be used to
initiate a transfer of funds.

“Device-making equipment.” Any equipment, mechanism or impression
designed or capable of being used for making an access device.

“Produce.” Includes design, alter, authenticate, duplicate or assemble.

“Traffic.” Sell, give or otherwise transfer to another or obtain control
of with intent to dispose of or transfer.

Section 5. Section 7511(e) of Title 18 is amended to read:

§ 7511. Control of alarm devices and automatic dialing devices.
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(e) Local regulation of installers.—

(1) General rule.—Except as set forth in paragraph (2), nothing in this
section shall prohibit a municipality from requiring any individual who
installs [alarms) or inspects alarm devices in such municipality to acquire
a license, meet educational requirements or pass an examination relating
to competence to perform such installations. Nothing in this section shall
preclude municipalities from doing any of the following:

(i) Denying or revoking local permits for failure to comply with
local ordinances.

(ii) Levying lawful taxes and fees.

(iii) Requiring the purchase of a business privilege license,

(2) Limitation.—A municipality may not require a licensed electrical
contractor to acquire a separate or additional license or certification to
install [alarms] or inspect alarm devices if the electrical contractor is
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licensed by the municipality and has passed an examination in the National

Electrical Code, a similar code or local electrical code and has at least two

years” experience as an electrical contractor.
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Section 6. Section 9121(b)(1) of Title 18 is amended to read:
§ 9121. General regulations.
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(b) Dissemination to noncriminal justice agencies and
individuals.—Criminal history record information shall be disseminated by
a State or local police department to any individual or noncriminal justice
agency only upon request. Except as provided in subsection (b.1):

(1) A fee may be charged by a State or local police department for
each request for criminal history record information by an individual or
noncriminal justice agencyl.], except that no fee shall be charged to an
individual who makes the request in order to apply to become a
volunteer with an affiliate of Big Brothers of America or Big Sisters of
America.
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Section 7. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 21st day of December, A.D. 1998,
THOMAS J. RIDGE



