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AN ACT
HB 10

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for licensing eligibility and licensing of minors, for learner’s permits, for
suspension of operating privilege, for school, examination or hearing on
accumulation of points or excessive speeding, for requirements for driving under
influence offenders, for annual hauling permits and for restraint systems;
establishing a task force on driver’s education programs; providing for conditions
of permits and security for damages, for permits for movement of float glass or
flat glass and for permits for movement of self-propelled cranes; further providing
for restrictions on use of limited access highways, for permit for movement during
the course of manufacture and for permit for movement of wooden structures;
providing for security wall pilot project; and making editorial changes.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1503 of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, amended December 21, 1998 (P.L.1126, No.151), is amended to
read:

§ 1503. Persons ineligible for licensing; license issuance to minors; junior
driver’s license.

(a) [General rule] Persons ineligible for licensing.—The department
shall not issue a driver’s license to, or renew the driver’s license of, any
person:

(1) Whose operating privilege is suspended or revoked in this or any
other state.

(3) Who is a user of alcohol or any controlled substance to a degree
rendering the user incapable of safely driving a motor vehicle. This
paragraph does not apply to any person who is enrolled or otherwise
participating in a methadone or other controlled substance treatment
program approved by the [Governor’s Council on Drug and Alcohol
Abuse] Department of Health provided that the person is certified to be
competent to drive by a physician designated by the [Governor’s Council
on Drug and Alcohol Abuse] Department of Health.

(4) Who has been adjudged to be afflicted with or suffering from any
mental disability or disease and who has not at the time of application
been restored to competency by the methods provided by law.

(5) Whose name has been submitted under the provisions of section
1518 (relating to reports on mental or physical disabilities or disorders).

(6) Who is required by the department to take an examination until the
person has successfully passed the examination.
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(7) Who is under 18 years of age except in accordance with
subsections (b) and (¢).
(8) Who has repeatedly violated any of the provisions of this chapter.

The department shall provide an opportunity for a hearing upon invoking

this paragraph.

(b) [Minors completing training course] License issuance o

" minors—The department shall issue a driver’s license to a person 17 years
of age who:
(1) has successfully completed a driver’s training course approved by
the department; and
(2) for a period of 12 months after passing the examingtion under
section 1505(e) (relating to learners’ permits) and receiving a junior
driver’s license:

(i) has not been involved in an accident reporiable under section
3746(a) (relating to immediate notice of accident to police deparnserss
for which they are partially or fully responsible in the opinion of the
department [or is]; or

(ii) has not been convicted of any violation of this title.

(c) Junior driver’s license.—The department may issue a junior driver’s
license to a person 16 or 17 years of age under rules and regulations adopted
by the department and subject to the provisions of this section. A junior
driver’s license shall automatically become a regular driver’s license when
the [licensee] junior driver attains 18 years of age.

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), no licensed junior driver shall
drive a vehicle upon a public highway between [12 midnight] 77 p.m. and

5 a.m. unless accompanied by a spouse 18 years of age or older, a parent

or a person in loco parentis.

(2) A licensed junior driver conforming to the requirements of section

1507 (relating to application for driver’s license or learner’s permit by

minor) may drive a vehicle upon a public highway between [12 midnight]

11 p.m. and 5 a.m. between [their] the junior driver’s home and [their]

activity or employment or in the course of [their] the junior driver’s

activity or employment if [they are] the junior driver is 2 member of a

volunteer fire company authorized by the fire chief to engage in fighting

fires, is engaged in public or charitable service or is employed and [they
are] is carrying an affidavit or certificate of authorization signed by

[their] the junior driver’s fire chief, supervisor or employer indicating the

probable schedule of [their] the jumior driver’s activities. Upon

termination of the junior driver’s activity or employment, the junior

[licensee] driver shall surrender the affidavit or certificate 1o the fire chief,

supervisor or employer. If the junior [licemsee] driver shall fail to

surrender the affidavit or certificate, the employer, fire chief or supervisor
shall immediately notify the Pennsylvania State Police.
(3) In addition to the other provisions of this title relating to the

suspension or revocation of operating privileges, in the event that a
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licensed junior driver is involved in an accident reportable under section
3746(a) for which [they are] the junior driver is partially or fully
responsible in the opinion of the department or is convicted of any
violation of this title, the department may suspend the operating privileges
of [such person until the person] the junior driver until the junior
driver attains 18 years of age or for a period of time not exceeding 90
days.

(4) Any junior [licensee] driver or other person violating any provision
of this subsection is guilty of a summary offense.

Section 2. Section 1504(d)(3) of Title 75 is amended to read:
§ 1504. Classes of licenses.

%k %k %

(d) Number and description of classes.—Licenses issued by the
department shall be classified in the following manner:

% %k %

(3) Class C.—A Class C license shall be issued to those persons 18
years of age or older, except as provided in section 1503 (relating to
persons ineligible for licensing; licemse issuance to minors; junior
driver’s license), who have demonstrated their qualifications to operate
any single vehicle, except those vehicles requiring a Class M qualification,
with a gross vehicle weight rating of not more than 26,000 pounds or any
combination of vehicles, except combination vehicles involving
motorcycles, that does not meet the definition of either Class A or Class
B of this section.

(i) Where required under this title, appropriate endorsements must
be obtained.

(ii) Any firefighter who is the holder of a Class C license and who
has a certificate of authorization from his fire chief shall be authorized
to operate any fire or emergency vehicle registered to the fire
department or municipality, regardless of the other requirements of this
section as to the class of license required. No fire chief, fire
department, including any volunteer fire company, or municipality shall
be liable for any civil damages as a result of the issuance of a
certificate authorized under this paragraph unless such act constituted
a crime, actual fraud, actual malice or willful misconduct.

(iii) Any member of a rescue or emergency squad who is the holder
of a Class C license and who has a certificate of authorization from the
head of the rescue or emergency squad shall be authorized to operate
any rescue or emergency vehicle equipped with audible and visual
signals registered to the rescue or emergency squad or municipality,
regardless of the other requirements of this section as to the class of
license required. No head of a rescue or emergency squad, the rescue
or emergency squad or municipality shall be liable for any civil
damages as a result of the issuance of a certificate of authorization
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under this paragraph unless such issuance constituted a crime, actual

fraud, actual malice or willful misconduct.

(iv) The holder of a Class C license shall also be authorized to
drive a motor-driven cycle with an automatic transmission and cylinder
capacity not exceeding 50 cubic centimeters or a three-wheeled
motorcycle equipped with an enclosed cab, but not a motorcycle unless
the license is endorsed, as provided in this title.

% %k %k
Section 3. Section 1505(b) and (d) of Title 75 are amended and the

section is amended by adding subsections to read:
§ 1505. Learners’ permits.

sk %k vk

(b) Learner must be accompanied.—A learner’s permit entitles the person
to whom it was issued to drive vehicles and combinations of vehicles of the
class or classes specified, but only while the holder of the learner’s permit is
accompanied by and under the immediate supervision of a person who:

(1) is at least [18] 21 years of age [and whe:] or, if the spouse of the
learner’s permit holder, is at least 18 years of age; or, if a parent,
guardian or person in loco parentis of the learner’s permit holder, is at
least 18 years of age;

[(1)] (2) is licensed in this Commonwealth to drive vehicles of the
class then being driven by the holder of the learner’s permit; and

[(2)]1 (3) is actually occupying a seat beside the holder of the learner’s
permit unless the vehicle is a motorcycle.

%k % %

(d) Duration of permit.—A learner’s permit shall be valid for a period of
[120 days] one year after date of issue, or until the holder of the permit has
failed the examination as authorized in section 1508 (relating to examination
of applicant for driver’s license) three times within the [120-day] one-year
period.

(e) Authorization to test for driver’s license and junmior driver’s
license—A person with a learner’s permit is authorized to take the
examination for a regular or junior driver’s license for the class of vehicle
Jor which a permit is held. Before a person under the age of 18 years may
take the examination for a junior driver’s license, the minor must:

(1) Have' held a learner’s permit for that class of vehicle for a
period of six months.’

(2) Present to the department a certification form signed by the
Jather, mother, guardian, person in loco parentis or spouse of a married
minor stating that the minor applicant has completed 50 hours of

"have" in enrolled bill.

Z'months: and” in enrolled bill.

3"present" in enrolled bill.
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practical driving experience accompanied as required under subsection

(b). Submission of a certification shall not subject the parent, guardian,

person in loco parentis or spouse of a married minor to any liability

based upon the certification.

(3) Have the certification form completed when the minor is ready
Jor the licensing examination. The certification form shall be developed
by the department and will be provided by the department when the
original application for a learner’s permit is processed. The department
will make this form readily available through the mail or electronic
means.

(P Filing a false certification.—Any person who knowingly files a false
certification commits a summary offense under section 6502 (relating to
summary offenses).

Section 4. Sections 1532(c) and 1533(e) of Title 75 are amended to read:
§ 1532. Suspension of operating privilege.

k% ok

(c) Suspension.—The department shall suspend the operating privilege of
any person upon receiving a certified record of the person’s conviction of any
offense involving the possession, sale, delivery, offering for sale, holding for
sale or giving away of any controlled substance under the laws of the United
States, this Commonwealth or any other state, or any person 21 years of age
or younger upon receiving a certified record of the person’s conviction or
adjudication of delinquency under 18 Pa.C.S. § 2706 (relating to terroristic
threats) committed on any school property, including any public school
grounds, during any school-sponsered activity or on any conveyance
providing transportation to a school entity or school-sponsored activity.

(1) The period of suspension shall be as follows:

(i) For a first offense, a period of six months from the date of the
suspension.

(ii) For a second offense, a period of one year from the date of the
suspension.

(iii) For a third and any subsequent offense thereafter, a period of
two years from the date of the suspension,

(2) For the purposes of this subsection, the term “conviction” shall
include any conviction or adjudication of delinquency for any of the
offenses listed in paragraph (1), whether in this Commonwealth or any
other Federal or state court.

* ok ok

§ 1533. Suspension of operating privilege for failure to respond to citation.
%k %k
(¢) Remedy cumulative.—A suspension under this section shall be in
addition to the requirement of withholding renewal or reinstatement of a
violator’s driver’s license as prescribed in section 1503(a) (relating to persons

ineligible for licensing; license issuance to minors; junior driver’s license).
%k Kk %k
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Section 5. Section 1538 of Title 75 is amended by adding a subsection to
read:
§ 1538. School, examination or hearing on accumulation of points or
excessive speeding.
%k A Kk
(e) Additional suspension of operating privilege.—

(1) In addition to any other provisions of law relating to the
suspension or revocation of operating privileges, a person’s operating
privileges shall be suspended under any of the following circumstances:

(i) Prior to reaching age 18, the person violates section 3362
(relating to maximum speed limits) by traveling 26 miles per hour or
more over the posted speed limit and the violation results in a
conviction, guilty plea or plea of no contest before or after the person
reaches age 18.

(ii) The person accumulates six or more points under the
provisions of section 1535 (relating to schedule of convictions and
points) and the violations resulting in points accumulation were
committed before the person reached age 18.

(2) The first suspension under paragraph (1) shall be for a period of
90 days with every subsequent suspension under paragraph (1) to be for
a period of 120 days. Suspensions under paragraph (1) shall be imposed
consecutively to each other and to any other suspension. A suspension
under paragraph (1) shall be considered a subsequent suspension even
it if is imposed contemporaneously with a first suspension impesed under
paragraph (1).

Section 6. Sections 1548(c) and (d) and 1550(b)(1)(ii) of Title 75 are
amended to read:
§ 1548. Requirements for driving under influence offenders.

%k &k sk

(c) Results of evaluation.—Based on the results of evaluation and any
additional information and evidence, the court may in addition to any other
requirements of the court or this title determine and require, as part of
sentencing or condition of parole, probation or Accelerated Rehabilitative
Disposition or other preliminary disposition, that the person successfully
complete a prescribed program of individual or group intervention or
supervised inpatient or outpatient treatment or any combination of these
programs or treatments for a period of up to two years in duration. Any
program of individual or group intervention or supervised inpatient or
outpatient treatment shall be of a type approved by the Department of Health
or operated by a facility or hospital that is under the authority of the
United States Armed Forces or the Department of Veterans Affairs. Based
on periodic reviews of the person’s progress, the court may alter, modify or
shorten or extend the duration of the requirements.

(d) Order for alcohol or drug commitment.—If after evaluation and
further examination and hearing it is determined that a defendant is-an alleged
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chronic abuser of alcohol or controlled substances or that the person is a
severely debilitated controlied substance or alcohol abuser who represents a
demonstrated and serious threat, the court may order the person commitied
for treatment at a facility or institution approved by the Department of Health
or operated by a facility or hospitai that is under the authority of the
United States Armed Forces or the Department of Veterans Affairs. If the
defendant has been convicted of a previous violation of section 3731, the
court shall order the person committed to a drug and alcohol treatment
program licensed by the Office of Drug and Alcohol Programs of the
Department of Health or operated by a facility or hospital that is under the
authority of the United States Armed F orces or the Depariment of Veterans
Affairs:

(1) Any person subject to this subsection may be examined by an
appropriate physician of the person’s choosing and the result of the
examination shall be considered by the court.

(2) Upon motion duly made by the committed person, an attorney or
an attending physician, the court at any time after an order of commitment
may review the order. After determining the progress of treatment, the
court may order its continuation, the person’s release or supervised
treatment on an outpatient basis.

(3) Any person ordered by the court to receive treatment after a first
offense, and any person required to receive treatment after a second
offense under section 3731 must demonstrate to the court that the
defendant has successfully completed treatment according to all guidelines
required by the program before the person’s operating privilege may be
restored.

% k¥

§ 1550. Judicial review.
% ke ok
(b) Supersedeas.—
(1) * % *

(i) The filing and service of a petition for appeal from denial,
recall, suspension or cancellation of a driver’s license under section
1503 (relating to persons ineligible for licensing; license issuance to
minors; junior driver’s license), 1504 (relating to classes of licenses),
1509 (relating to qualifications for school bus driver endorsement),
1514 (relating to expiration and renewal of drivers’ licenses), 1519
(relating to determination of incompetency) or 1572 (relating to
cancellation of driver’s license) shall not act as a supersedeas unless
ordered by the court after a hearing attended by the petitioner.

% %k %k

Section 7. Sections 1943 and 3313 of Title 75 are amended by adding
subsections to read:
§ 1943. Annual hauling permits.

* sk ok
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(o) Float glass or flat glass~—The annual fee for the movement of float
glass or flat glass, as provided for in section 4979.3 (relating to permit for
movement of float glass or flat glass for use in construction and other end
uses), shall be $800.

(p) Self-propelled cranes—The annual permit fee for each self-
propelled crane, as provided for in section 4979.4' (relating to permit for
movement of self-propelled cranes), shall be as follows:

(1) Cranes not exceeding 100,000 pounds gross weight, prorated up
to a maximum of $400.
(2) Cranes in excess of 100,000 pounds gross weight, prorated up to

a maximum of $100 plus $50 for each mile of highway authorized under

the permit.

§ 3313. Restrictions on use of limited access highways.

sk sk

(d) Driving in right lane.—Vehicles shall be driven in the lane nearest
the right-hand edge of the roadway, except when overtaking another
vehicle, or for a distance of up to two miles in preparation for a left turn,
or as directed by official traffic control devices, police officers or
appropriately attired persons authorized to divert, control or regulate traffic.

Section 8. Section 4581(b) of Title 75 is amended and subsection (a) is
amended by adding a paragraph to read:

§ 4581. Restraint systems.
(a) Occupant protection.—
% %k ok
(3) A driver who is under 18 years of age may not operate a motor
vehicle in which the number of passengers exceeds the number of
available safety seat belts in the vehicle.

(b) Offense.—Anyone who fails to comply with the provisions of
subsection (a)(1) shall be guilty of a summary offense with a maximum fine
of $25. The court imposing and collecting any such fines shall transfer the
fines thus collected to the State Treasurer for deposit in the Child Passenger
Restraint Fund, pursuant to section 4582 (relating to Child Passenger
Restraint Fund). Anyone who violates subsection (a)(2) or (3) commits a
summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of
$10. No [persons] person shall be convicted of a violation of subsection
(a)(2) unless the person is also convicted of another violation of this title
which occurred at the same time. No costs as described in 42 Pa.C.S. §
1725.1 (relating to costs) shall be imposed for summary conviction of
subsection (a)(2) or (3). Conviction under this subsection shall not constitute

a moving violation.
% sk ok

1"4979.5" in enrolled bill.
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Section 9. Sections 4962(f), 4968 and 4977 of Title 75, amended
December 21, 1998 (P.1..1126, No.151), are amended to read:

§ 4962. Conditions of permits and security for damages.

A k¥

(f) When loads permitted.—Only vehicles and combinations permitted
under the following provisions shall be authorized to carry or haul loads
while operating under the permit:

Section 4961(a)(2), (3) and (6) (relating to authority to issue permits).

Section 4965 (relating to single permits for multiple highway crossings).

Section 4968 (relating to permit for movement during couwrse of
manufacture).

Section 4974 (relating to permit for movement of containerized cargo).

Section 4975 (relating to permit for movement of special mobile
equipment).

Section 4976 (relating to permit for movement of domestic animal
feed).

Section 4976.1 (relating to permit for movement of live domestic
animals).

Section 4977 (relating to permit for movement of wooden structures).

Section 4978 (relating to permit for movement of building structural
components).

Section 4979 (relating to permit for movement of particleboard or
fiberboard used in the manufacture of ready-to-assemble furniture).

Section 4979.1 (relating to permit for movement of bulk refined oil).

Section 4979.2 (relating to permit for movement of waste coal and
beneficial combustion ash).

Section 4979.3 (relating to permit for movement of float glass or flat
glass for use in construction and other end uses).

Section 49794 (relating to permit for movement of self-propelled
cranes).

% sk %k
§ 4968. Permit for movement during course of manufacture.

(a) Annual permit—An annual permit may be issued authorizing
movement on specified highways of boats, trailers, mobile homes, modular
housing units and undercarriages, helicopters, hot ingots, raw coal, basic
oxygen furnace lances, railway equipment and rails or other articles, vehicles
or combinations which exceed the maximum height, width or length specified
in Subchapter B (relating to width, height and length) or self-propelled cranes
or combinations carrying raw milk or flat-rolled steel coils [or], hot ingots,
pulpwood and wood chips for paper manufacture or raw water which
exceed the maximum weight specified in Subchapter C (relating.to maximum
weights of vehicles) while they are in the course of manufacture and under
contract with or under the direct control of the manufacturer, subject to the
following provisions:
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(1) Except for articles and vehicles not exceeding 102 inches in width,
no permit shall be issued under this section for movement of articles or
vehicles while they are in transit from the manufacturer to a purchaser or
dealer or for the movement of articles or vehicles upon a freeway.

(2) Articles and vehicles not wider than 102 inches may be moved any
distance on a permit. Articles and vehicles wider than 102 inches but not
in excess of ten feet in width may be moved up to 50 miles on a permit.
Wider articles and vehicles may be moved no farther than ten miles on a
permit.

(3) A combination of vehicles which is hauling flat-rolled steel coils
may be permitted by the department and local authorities to move upon
highways within their respective jurisdiction a distance not exceeding 50
miles if the gross weight does not exceed 100,000 pounds and the weight
of any nonsteering axle does not exceed 21,000 pounds. No permit may
be issued for this type of movement upon an interstate highway.

(3.1) A combination of vehicles which is hauling raw milk to or from
a manufacturer may be permitted by the department and local authorities
to move upon highways within their respective jurisdiction 24 hours a day,
seven days a week, except during inclement weather as defined in
department regulations, if the gross weight does not exceed 95,000 pounds
and if the weight of any nonsteering axle does not exceed 21,000 pounds.
No permit may be issued for this type of movement upon an interstate
highway.

(3.2) A combination of vehicles which is hauling a hot ingot may be
permitted by the department and local authorities to move upon highways
within their respective jurisdiction a distance not exceeding 25 miles if the
gross weight does not exceed 150,000 pounds and the weight of any
nonsteering axle does not exceed 21,000 pounds.

(3.3) A combination of vehicles which is hauling basic oxygen furnace
lances may be permitted by the department and local authoritics to move
upon highways within their respective jurisdictions if the overall length
does not exceed 90 feet. A vehicle operating under a permit authorized
under this section may be driven 24 hours a day, seven days a week, if the
vehicle or combination is operated at prevailing speeds. Movement under
this paragraph is not authorized during any of the following:

(i) A holiday period specified in department regulations or in the
permit.
(ii) Inclement weather, as defined in department regulations.

(34) A self-propelled crane which is being road tested may be
permitted by the department and local authorities to move upon highways
within their respective jurisdictions a distance not exceeding 15 miles if
the gross weight does not exceed 150,000 pounds and the weight on any
axle does not exceed 27,000 pounds.

(3.5) A combination of vehicles which is hauling raw coal from a mine
to a processing or preparation facility may be permitted by the department
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and local authorities to move upon highways within their respective
jurisdictions a distance not exceeding 30 miles if the gross weight does not
exceed 95,000 pounds and if the weight of any nonsteering axle does not
exceed 21,000 pounds. No permit may be issued for this type of
movement upon an interstate highway.

(3.6) A combination of vehicles which is hauling raw water from a
spring to a bottling facility may be permitted by the department and local
authorities to move upon specified highways within their respective
Jjurisdictions subject to the following conditions:

(i) The vehicle must be a six axle combination - three axle truck
tractor.

(ii) Gross vehicular weight must not exceed 96,900 pounds.

(iii) Maximum weight on steering axles shall be 11,000 pounds.

(iv) Maximum weight on the truck-tractor tandem (axles two and
three) shall be 38,000 pounds, with a maximum of 19,500 pounds on
either axle in the group.

(v) Maximum weight on the semitrailer tridem (axles four, five
and six) shall be 47,700 pounds, with a maximum of 16,400 pounds
on any axle in the group.

(vi) Minimum spacing between axle one and axle two shall be 12
Jeet 11 inches.

(vii) The center-to-center distance between the last drive axle of
the truck tractor (axle three) and ithe first axle of semitrailer (axle 4)
must be a minimum of 26 feet 7 inches.

(viii) Minimum spacing between tandem and tridem axles shall be
4 feet 1 inch.

No permit may be issued for this type of movement upon an interstate
highway.

(3.7) A combination of vehicles which is hauling pulpwood or wood
chips from a specified source to a paper manufacturing site may be
permitted by the department and local authorities to move upon specified
highways within their respective jurisdictions subject io the following
conditions:

(i) The vehicle must be a five axle combination - three axle truck
tractor meeting the following characteristics:

(A) Gross vehicular weight must not exceed 95,000 pounds.
(B) Maximum weight on steering axles' shall be 11,000 pounds.
(C) Maximum weight on the truck-trailer tandem (axles two

and three) shall be 42,000 pounds, with a maximum of 21,000

pounds on either axle in the group.

axle” in enrolled bill.
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(D) Maximum weight on the semitrailer tridem (axles four and
five) shall be 42,000 pounds, with a maximum of 21,000 pounds on
any axle in the group.

(E) Minimum spacing between axle one and axle two shall be
12 feet 6 inches.

(F) The center-to-center distance between the last drive axle of
the truck tractor (axle three) and the first axle of the semitrailer
(axle four) must be a minimum of 28 feet 0 inch.

(G) Minimum spacing between tandem and tridem axles shall
be 4 feet 0 inch.

(ii) The vehicle must be a six axle combination - three axle truck
tractor meeting the following characteristics:

(A) Gross vehicular weight must not exceed 107,000 pounds.

(B) Maximum weight on steering axles shall be 12,000 pounds.

(C) Maximum weight on the truck-tractor tandem (axles two
and three) shall be 42,000 pounds, with a maximum of 21,000
pounds on either axle in the group.

(D) Maximum weight on the semitrailer tridem (axles four, five
and six) shall be 53,000 pounds, with a maximum of 17,670
pounds on any axle in the group.

(E) Minimum spacing between axle one and axle two shall be
12 feet 6 inches.

(F) The center-to-center distance between the last drive axle of
the truck tractor (axle three) and the first axle of the semitrailer
(axle four) must be a minimum of 45 feet 0 inch.

(G) Minimum spacing between tandem and tridem axles shall
be 4 feet 0 inch.

No permit may be issued for this type of movement upon an interstate

highway.

(4) A permit may be denied or revoked in order to preserve the safety
of highway users or to protect the structural integrity of highways or
bridges or as otherwise authorized by department regulations.

(b) Definition.—As used in this section, the term “raw milk” shall have
the meaning given to it in the act of July 2, 1935 (P.L.589, No.210), referred
to as the Milk Sanitation Law.

§ 4977. Permit for movement of wooden structures.

An annual permit may be issued for the movement on highways of certain
wooden structures which exceed the maximum length, width and height
specified in Subchapter B (relating to width, height and length), subject to the
following conditions:

(1) The overall width, including all appurtenances and overhangs, may
not exceed 13 feet.

(2) The overall length may not exceed 90 feet.

(2.1) The overall height may not exceed 13 feet 10 inches.
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(3) The wooden structure or structures must be transported on a trailer
designed solely for the transportation of such structures and not used for
the transportation of any other type of load.

(4) Movement under this section is limited to roef trusses, wooden
utility sheds, gazebos, garages and play equipment.

Section 10. Title 75 is amended by adding sections to read:

§ 4979.3. Permit for movement of float glass or flat glass for use in
construction and other end uses.

(a) General rule—An annual permit may be issued authorizing the
movement on specified highways of float glass or flat glass for use in
construction and other end uses which exceeds the maximum vehicle gross
weight specified in Subchapter C (relating to maximum weights of
vehicles).

(b) Specifications.—

(I) The weight of any vehicle permitted under this section may not
exceed 99,500 pounds overall gross weight, shall be a five axle
combination - three axle truck tractor and shall have the following
maximum axle weight limits for all axles:

Steering axles 9,000 pounds

Truck tractor tandem axles 44,000 pounds
with a maximum of
22,500 pounds on either
axle in the group

Semitrailer tandem axles 46,500 pounds
with a maximum of
23,750 pounds on either
axle in the group

(2) The spacing between axie 1 and axle 2 must be a minimum of 14
Jeet.

(3) The center-to-center distance between the last drive axle of the
truck tractor (axle 3) and the first axle of the semitrailer (axle 4) must
be a minimum of 31 feet 6 inches.

(4) The spacing between tandem axles must be a minimum of 4 feet
4 inches,

(c) Operation limitations.—

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), a vehicle operating under
a permit authorized under this section may be driven 24 hours a day,
seven days a week.

(2) Movement under this paragraph is not authorized during any of
the following:

(i) A holiday period specified in department regulations or in the
permit.
(i) Inclement weather, as defined in department regulations.

(d) Interstate highways.—No permit may be issued for this type of

movement upon an interstate highway.




SESSION OF 1999 Act 1999-23 177

§ 4979.4. Permit for movement of self-propelled cranes.

An annual permit may be issued authorizing the movement-on spesified
highways of self-propelled cranes which exceed the maximum vehicle gross
or maximum axle weights specified in Subchapter C (relating to maximum
weights of vehicles).

Section 11. Section 6114 of Title 75 is amended by adding a subsection
to read:

§ 6114, Limitation on sale, publication and disclosure of records.

% %k %

(d) Additional requirement.—Notwithstanding any other provision of
this section, in the case of a driver under 18 years of age, the department
shall notify the parent or guardian of the minor licensee, at the address of
record of the minor, of any convictions recorded against the minor’s record
or any action to suspend or revoke the minor’s operating privilege. Failure
of the person to receive the notice shall not prevent the action taken by the
department.

Section 12. Section 8914.1 of Title 75, added December 21, 1998
(P.L.1126, No.151), is amended to read:

§ 8914.1. Security wall pilot project.

The commission shall construct, maintain and assess the long-term
effectiveness of a security wall pilot project from a point at or near milepost
[1.8] 1.0 on the Northeast Extension of the Pennsylvania Turnpike to a point
at or near milepost [2.6] 1.8. Such pilot project shall encompass the
southbound lanes of the Northeast Extension between said mileposts. The
commission shall commence the design and construction of thie security wall
pilot project authorized by this section immediately upon transfer of funds by
the department.

Section 13. The amendment or addition of 75 Pa.C.S. § 1505(d) and (¢)
shail apply only to persons who receive permits issued on or after the
effective date of this act.

Section 14. (a) There is hercby established a task force on driver’s
education programs.

(b) The task force shall be comprised of 14 members as follows:

(1) Four members comprised of the chairman and minority chairman
of the Committee on Transportation of the Senate and the chairman and
minority chairman of the Committee on Transportation of the House of
Representatives or their designees.

(2) The Secretary of Transportation or his designee, who shall be the
chairman of the task force.

(3) The Secretary of Education or his designee.

{4) Four persons, comprised of the chairman and minority chairman of
the Committee on Education of the Senate and the chairman and minority
chairman of the Committee on Education of the House of Representatives
or their designees.
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(5) The Department of Transportation shall appoint four individuals
who represent diverse groups or organizations that have a direct interest
in driver’s education programs.

(c) The task force shall assess driver’s education programs in order to
meet the following objectives:

(1) Analyze professional licensing standards and continuing education
requirements for driver’s education instructors.

(2) Review the driver’s education curriculum and on-the-road
experience, including residential, city, rural, open road, expressway, night
and inclement weather driving.

(3) Examine the administration of the driver’s education program by
the Department of Education and consider the advantages or disadvantages
of transferring responsibility to the Department of Transportation.

(4) Conduct a cost-benefit analysis of establishing mandatory driver’s
education requirements,

(5) Analyze options for generating a dedicated source of funding for
the per-student fee for driver’s education classes, including an increase in
the current fee for a learner’s permit.

(6) Consider any other issue raised in relation to the improvement of
driver’s education in public schools.

(d) The expenses and costs associated with the task force shall be the
responsibility of the Department of Transportation.

() The task force shall prepare a report with findings and
recommendations to the Transportation Committee of the Senate and the
Transportation Committee of the House of Representatives to be submitted
within ten months of the effective date of this section.

(f) The provisions of this section and the task force shall expire one year
after the effective date of this section.

Section 15. The Pennsylvania State Police and the Department of
Transportation shall jointly study the issue of the problems involving
registration validation stickers and present a report with findings and
recommendations to the Transportation Committee of the Senate and the
Transportation Committee of the House of Representatives no later than
September 1, 1999,

Section 16. This act shall take effect as follows:

(1) The amendment or addition of 75 Pa.C.S. §§ 1503(c)(1) and (2),
1943, 4581(a)(3), 4962, 4968, 4977, 4979.3 and 4979.4 shall take effect
in 60 days.

(2) Sections 14 and 15 and this section shall take effect immediately.

(3) The remainder of this act shall take effect in 180 days.

APPROVED—The 25th day of June, A.D. 1999,
THOMAS J. RIDGE




