96 Act 2001-10 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA
No. 2001-10

AN ACT
SB 627

Amending the act of May 11, 1889 (P.L.188, No.210), entitled “A further
supplement to an act, entitled ‘An act to establish a board of wardens for the
Port of Philadelphia, and for the regulation of pilots and pilotage, and for other
purposes,’ approved March twenty-ninth, one thousand eight hundred and three,
and for regulating the rates of pilotage and number of pilots,” further providing
for rates and fees.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 3.1(b) and 3.2(b) of the act of May 11, 1889
(P.L.188, No0.210), entitled “A further supplement to an act, entitled ‘An act
to establish a board of wardens for the Port of Philadelphia, and for the
regulation of pilots and pilotage, and for other purposes,” approved March
twenty-ninth, one thousand eight hundred and three, and for regulating the
rates of pilotage and number of pilots,” amended May 15, 1998 (P.L.447,
No.62), are amended to read:

Section 3.1. For services rendered on and after January 1, 1990,
retroactively, the rates of pilotage for conducting a vessel from the Capes of
the Delaware to a place on the Delaware River or Bay no further upriver
than the Delair Railroad Bridge between Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and
Delair, New Jersey, or from a place on the river Delaware no further upriver
than the Delair Railroad Bridge between Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and
Delair, New Jersey, to the Capes of the Delaware, in either case, shall be
computed as follows:
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(b) The charges per unit shall be as follows:

[(i) Effective January 1,1998 ................. $6.58 per unit
(if) Effective January 1,1999 ........c00tneevns $6.97 per unit
(iii) Effective January 1,2000 ................. $7.39 per unit
(iv) Effective January 1,2001 ................. $7.83 per unit]
(i) Effective January1,2001 .................. $7.83 per unit
(i) Effective January1,2002 .................. $8.53 per unit
(iii) Effective January1,2003 ................. $9.04 per unit
(iv) Effective January2,2004.................. $9.58 per unit
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Section 3.2. That every ship or vessel bound to the Delaware breakwater
for orders shall be obliged to receive a pilot, provided she is spoken or a
pilot offers his services, outside of a straight line drawn from Cape
Henlopen Light to Cape May Light, and every ship or vessel bound to the
breakwater for orders shall pay pilotage fees as follows: A sum equal to half
the pilotage to the Port of Philadelphia, and she shall be obliged to take a
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pilot and pay the same pilotage fees when outward bound, from the
breakwater, and if such ship or vessel, without discharging her pilot,
proceed to the Port of Philadelphia or any other port or place on the bay or
river Delaware, only one full pilotage fee as fixed by section 3.1 of this act,
for the entire service, in addition to the fee for detention: Provided,
however, That if the pilot bringing such ship or vessel to the breakwater be
there discharged, and the ship or vessel afterward proceed to Philadelphia
or any other port or place on the bay or river Delaware, she shall make the
usual signal for a pilot and continue to make such signal till reaching
Brandywine Light, and if spoken by, or offered the services of, a duly
licensed Pennsylvania pilot before reaching Brandywine Light, shall be
obliged to employ such pilot and pay him for services rendered on and after
the effective date of this act, a charge computed as follows:
L

(b) The charges per unit shall be as follows:

[(i) Effective January 1,1998 ................. $6.58 per unit
(if) Effective January1,1999.................. $6.97 per unit
(iii) Effective January 1,2000 ................. $7.39 per unit
(iv) Effective January 1,2001 ..............0.0 $7.83 per unit]
(). Effective January 1,2001 .................. $7.83 per unit
(ii) Effective January1,2002 .................. $8.53 per unis
(iii) Effective January1,2003 ................. $9.04 per unit
(iv) Effective January1,2004.................. $9.58 per unit
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Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 17th day of May, A.D. 2001.
THOMAS J. RIDGE



