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No. 2002-141

AN ACT
HB 850

Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, further providing for purchase, consumption, possession or
transportation of liquor or malt or brewed beverages and for inducement of
minors to buy liquor or malt or brewed beverages.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 6308 and 6310 of Title 18 of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes are amended by adding subsections to read:
§ 6308. Purchase, consumption, possession or transportation of liquor or
malt or brewed beverages.
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(e) Exception for compliance checks.—

(1) An individual who is under 21 years of age may purchase,
attempt to purchase, possess or transport liquor or malt or brewed
beverages if all of the following apply:

(i) The individual is at least 18 years of age.

(ii) The individual is an officer, employee or intern of the
Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State
Police.

(iii)) The individual has completed training specified by the
bureau.

(iv) The individual is acting within the scope of prescribed
duties.

(v) The individual is acting under the direct control or
supervision of a bureau offficer who is an adult.

(2) Under no circumstances may individuals under 21 years of age
consume liquor or malt or brewed beverages.

(3) The Pennsylvania State Police shall promulgate regulations
prescribing the manner in which compliance checks are to be
performed. Compliance checks under this subsection shall be
conducted in a manner consistent with the regulations. Regulations
shall require, at a minimum, all of the following:

(i) Prior to participation in the compliance check, the officer,
employee or intern shall undergo training approved by the Bureau
of Liquor Control Enforcement.

(i) A person licensed to sell liquor or malt or brewed beverages
that is found to be in compliance with this section during a
compliance check shall be notified in writing of the compliance
check and the determination of compliance.
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(iii) A person licensed to sell liquor or malt or brewed beverages

that is found to be noncompliant with this section during a

compliance check shall be immediately verbally advised by the

supervising bureau officer and shall be notified in writing of the
failure to comply within ten working days of the date of the
compliance check.
§ 6310. Inducement of minors to buy liquor or malt or brewed beverages.
* %k k
(c) Exception for compliance checks.—

(1) An individual who is under 21 years of age may purchase,
attempt to purchase, possess or transport liquor or malt or brewed
beverages if all of the following apply:

(i) The individual is at least 18 years of age.
(ii) The individual is an officer, employee or intern of the

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State

Police.

(iii) The individual has completed training specified by the
bureau.

(iv) The individual is acting within the scope of prescribed
duties.

(v) The individual is acting under the direct control or
supervision of a bureau officer who is an adult.

(2) Under no circumstances may individuals under 21 years of age
consume liquor or malt or brewed beverages.

(3) The Pennsylvania State Police shall promulgate regulations
prescribing the manner in which compliance checks are to be
performed. Compliance checks under this subsection shall be
conducted in a manner consistent with the regulations. Regulations
shall require, at a minimum, all of the following:

(i) Prior to participation in the compliance check, the officer,
employee or intern shall undergo training approved by the Bureau
of Liquor Control Enforcement.

(ii) A person licensed to sell liquor or malt or brewed beverages
that is found to be in compliance with this section during a
compliance check shall be notified in writing of the compliance
check and the determination of compliance.

(iii) A person licensed to sell liguor or malt or brewed beverages
that is found to be noncompliant with this section during a
compliance check shall be immediately verbally advised by the
supervising bureau officer and shall be notified in writing of the
Jfailure to comply within ten working days of the date of the
compliance check.

Section 2. The provisions of 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 6308(e) and 6310(c) shall
expire December 31, 2007, unless sooner reauthorized by the General
Assembly.
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Section 3. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 3rd day of December, A.D. 2002.
MARK S. SCHWEIKER



