12 Act 2003-5 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA
No. 2003-5

AN ACT
HB 235

Amending Title 34 (Game) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for the age of holders of falconry permits and for disabled person
permits.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 2901 of Title 34 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended by adding a subsection to read:
§ 2901. Authority to issue permits.
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(e) Falconry permits.—Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection
(a), falconry permits may be issued only to persons who are residents of
this Commonwealth and 16 years of age or older.

Section 2. Section 2923(a) of Title 34 is amended to read:
§ 2923. Disabled person permits.

(a) Use of vehicle as a blind.—

(1) Unless further restricted by commission regulation, a lifetime
permit to hunt from a stationary vehicle may be issued to a person with
permanent disabilities who qualified for a hunting license pursuant to
Chapter 27 (relating to hunting and furtaking licenses) or who possesses
a junior resident license under section 2705(2) (relating to classes of
licenses) and who meets any of the following requirements:

(i) [Has paraplegia and has permanent paralysis of both legs
and lower parts of the body.] Has a permanent or irreversible
physical disability and is unable to ambulate and requires a
wheelchair, walker, one leg brace or external prosthesis above the
knee, two leg braces or external prostheses below the knees, two
crutches or two canes for mobility.

(ii)) [Has hemiplegia and has permanent paralysis of one leg
and one arm on either side of the body.] Suffers significantly from
lung disease to the extent that forced expiratory volume for one
second when measured by spirometry is less than one liter or the
arterial oxygen tension (po) is less than 60 millimeters of mercury
on room air at rest. This subparagraph would also apply to someone
who is oxygen dependent 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

(iii) [Has both feet or one hand and one foot amputated.]
Suffers significantly from cardiovascular disease to the extent that
Sfunctional limitations are classified in severity as class 3 or 4
according to the current standards accepted by the American Heart
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Association and where ordinary physical activity results in fatigue,

palpitation, dyspnea or anginal pain.

(iv) [Is permanently confined to a wheelchair or must use
crutches or a walker as a means of support to pursue daily
activities.] Has a disability or combination of disabilities creating a
minimum impairment of function of or equivalent to no less than
90% loss of function in one leg or no more than 10% maximal
Junctional use in one leg regardless of the functional level of the
other leg.

[(v) Presents an affidavit and doctor’s certificate stating the
applicant is physically unable to walk 25 yards off the roadway.]
(2) Unless further restricted by commission regulation, a permit to

hunt from a stationary vehicle may be issued to a person who qualified
for a hunting license pursuant to Chapter 27 and presents an affidavit
and doctor’s certificate stating the applicant [is unable to walk 25 yards
off the roadway due to a temporary injury or condition and may
require an external means of support to ambulate.] has a temporary
disability that restricts mobility or ambulation of any distance due to
illness or injury and operative procedures and who either has a leg, hip
or back or any part thereof casted by a licensed physician due to a
fracture or has leg, hip or back surgery. This permit is only valid for
the license year in which issued.

(3) Permittees shall carry the permit upon their person while hunting.
Any person named on this permit may hunt while using an automobile
or other vehicle as a blind. The permittee shall not use the vehicle to
flush or locate game. The vehicle may be used only as a blind or
platform from which to shoot. The firearm shall be unloaded at all times
while the vehicle is in motion.

(4) Any person who possesses a junior resident license under section
2705(2) and otherwise qualifies for a disabled person permit must
comply with section 2711(a)(8) (relating to unlawful acts concerning
licenses). Any parent or person 18 years of age or older serving in loco
parentis or as guardian or some other family member 18 years of age or
older shall not use a vehicle as a blind unless that person meets the
requirements of this section.
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Section 3. This act shall take effect July 1, 2003.

APPROVED—The 17th day of June, A.D. 2003.
EDWARD G. RENDELL



