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No. 2004-176
AN ACT

SB 109

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes, further providing for identification of incorrect debtor, for
summary offenses involving vehicles, for law enforcement records, for duration of
commitment and review and for assessments.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 2737.1, 5553(a), (b) and (c¢), 6308(b)(1) and
6404(c)(3) of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are'
amended to read:

§ 2737.1. Incorrect debtor identified.

[At the time a] (a) Procedure.—A creditor that files for a judgment by
confession under section 2737(3) (relating to powers and duties of the office
of the prothonotary)[, the creditor filing the judgment shall provide the
debtor with written instructions regarding the procedure to follow to
strike the judgment.] shall comply with the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil
Procedure regarding confession of judgment, including any notice
provisions. A debtor who has been incorrectly identified and had a
confession or judgment entered against him [shall be entitled to] may
petition the court for costs and reasonable attorney fees as determined by the
court. [The instructions provided to the debtor shall explain to the
debtor that under this section he is entitled to costs and reasonable
attorney fees as determined by the court if he was incorrectly identified.]

(b) Effect on judgment.—A judgment shall not be stricken or opened
because of a creditor’s failure to provide a correctly identified debtor with
instructions pursuant to this section regarding procedures to follow to
strike a judgment or regarding any rights available to an incorrectly
identified debtor.

§ 5553. Summary offenses involving vehicles.

(@) General rule.—Except as provided in subsection (b) or (c),
proceedings for @ summary [offenses] offense under Title 75 (relating to
vehicles) must be commenced within 30 days after the commission of the
alleged offense or within 30 days after the discovery of the commission of the
offense or the identity of the offender, whichever is later, and not thereafter.

[(b) Minor offenses.—Except as provided in subsection (c),
proceedings for summary offenses under the following provisions of
Title 75 must be commenced within 30 days after the commission of the
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alleged offense or within 30 days after the discovery of the commission
of the offense or the identity of the offender, whichever is later, and not
thereafter:

Chapter 31 (relating to general provisions).

Chapter 33 (relating to rules of the road in general).

Chapter 35 (relating to special vehicles and pedestrians).

Subchapters A (relating to offenses in general) and C (relating to
accidents and accident reports) of Chapter 37.

(c) Exception.—Where]
(c) Exceptions.—

(1) Where proceedings are timely commenced against a person
reasonably believed to have committed the [offense] summary offense or
offenses charged and it subsequently appears that a person other than the
person charged is the offender, proceedings may be commenced against
the other person within 30 days after the identity of the person is
discovered and not thereafter.

(2) Where a police officer reasonably believes that there are multiple
summary offenses arising out of the same conduct or the same criminal
episode and that an offense under 75 Pa.C.S. § 1543 (relating to driving
while operating privilege is suspended or revoked) has occurred,
proceedings on all summary offenses arising from the conduct or
episode may be commenced at the same time and must be commenced
within 30 days after the commission of the alleged offenses or within 30
days after the discovery of the commission of the offenses or the identity
of the offender or within 30 days after the police officer receives
verification of the basis for the suspension from the Department of
Transportation as required under 75 Pa.C.S. § 1543(d), whichever is
later, and not thereafter.

* ok ok

§ 6308. Law enforcement records.
% %k k
(b) Public availability.—

(1) The contents of law enforcement records and files concerning a
child shall not be disclosed to the public [except if the child is 14 or
more years of age at the time of the alleged conduct and if any of]
unless any of the following apply:

(1) The child has been adjudicated delinquent by a court as a result
of an act or acts [which include the elements of rape, kidnapping,
murder, robbery, arson, burglary, violation of section 13(a)(30) of
the act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The
Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, or other act
involving the use of or threat of serious bodily harm.] committed:

(A) when the child was 14 years of age or older and the
conduct would be considered a felony if committed by an adult; or



1366 Act 2004-176 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

(B) when the child was 12 or 13 years of age and the conduct
would have constituted one or more of the following offenses if
committed by an adult:

(I) Murder.
(I1) Voluntary manslaughter.
(III)  Aggravated assault as defined in 18 Pa.C.S.

§ 2702(a)(1) or (2) (relating to aggravated assault).

(IV) Arson as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a)(1) (relating
to arson and related offenses).

(V) Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse.

(VI) Kidnapping.

(VII) Rape.

(VIII) Robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(i), (ii)
or (iii) (relating to robbery).

(IX) Robbery of motor vehicle.

(X) Attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses in
this subparagraph.

(ii) A petition alleging delinquency has been filed by a law
enforcement agency alleging that the child has committed an act or acts
[which include the elements of rape, kidnapping, murder, robbery,
arson, burglary, violation of section 13(a)(30) of The Controlled
Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, or other act involving
the use of or threat of serious bodily harm] subject to a hearing
pursuant to section 6336(e) (relating to conduct of hearings) and the
child previously has been adjudicated delinquent by a court as a result
of an act or acts [which included the elements of one of such
crimes.] committed:

(A) when the child was 14 years of age or older and the
conduct would be considered a felony if committed by an adult; or

(B) when the child was 12 or 13 years of age and the conduct
would have constituted one or more of the following offenses if
committed by an adult:

(I) Murder.
(I1) Voluntary manslaughter.
(IlI)  Aggravated assault as defined in 18 Pa.C.S.

§ 2702(a)(1) or (2).

(IV) Arson as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a)(1).

(V) Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse.

(VI) Kidnapping.

(VII) Rape.

(VIII) Robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(i), (ii)

or (iii).

(IX) Robbery of motor vehicle.
(X) Attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses in
this subparagraph.
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§ 6404. Duration of commitment and review.

¥ %k %

(c) Discharge.—

* k %

(3) Within 15 days after [the petition has been filed,] the receipt of
the assessment from the board, the court shall hold a hearing pursuant to
section 6403(c). If the court determines [the person no longer has
serious difficulty controlling sexually violent behavior, the court shall
order the discharge of the person. If the court denies the petition, the
person shall be subject to the remainder of the period of
commitment.] by clear and convincing evidence that the person
continues to have serious difficulty controlling sexually violent behavior
due to a mental abnormality or personality disorder that makes the
person likely to engage in an act of sexual violence, the court shall
order that the person be subject to the remainder of the period of
commitment. Otherwise, the court shall order the discharge of the
person.

® %k
Section 2. Section 9795.4(h) of Title 42 is amended to read:

§ 9795.4. Assessments.

* %k %

(h) Delinquent children.—Except where section 6358(b.1) (relating to
assessment of delinquent children by the State Sexual Offenders Assessment
Board) is applicable, the probation officer shall notify the board 90 days
prior to the 20th birthday of the child of the status of the delinquent child
who is committed to an institution or other facility pursuant to section 6352
(relating to disposition of delinquent child) after having been found
delinquent for an act of sexual violence which if committed by an adult
would be a violation of 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape), 3123 (relating to
involuntary deviate sexual intercourse), 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault),
3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault), 3126 (relating to indecent
assault) or 4302 (relating to incest), together with the location of the facility
where the child is committed. The board shall conduct an assessment of the
child, which shall include the board’s determination of whether or not the
child is in need of commitment due to a mental abnormality as defined in
section 6402 (relating to definitions) or a personality disorder, either of
which results in serious difficulty in controlling sexually violent behavior,
and provide a report to the court [no later than 90 days after the child’s
20th birthday] within the time frames set forth in section 6358(c). The
probation officer shall assist the board in obtaining access to the child and
any records or information as requested by the board in connection with the
assessment. The assessment shall be conducted pursuant to subsection (b).

Section 3. The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 2737.1(b) is intended to clarify
and confirm the original intent of the General Assembly in adding 42 Pa.C.S.



1368 Act 2004-176 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA

§ 2737.1 in the act of December 20, 2000 (P.L.742, No.105), entitled “An
act amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes, further providing for the number of judges of the
courts of common pleas in certain judicial districts; providing for
reimbursement for common pleas court costs and for judgment by confession
filed against incorrectly identified debtors; further providing for county
judicial center or courthouse, for composition of investigating grand jury and
for confidential communications with sexual assault counselors; providing
for confidential communications to crime stopper or similar anticrime
program; and further providing for exemption from attachment of retirement
funds and accounts.” To the extent necessary to clarify the meaning and
interpretation of 42 Pa.C.S. § 2737.1, the addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 2737.1(b)
shall apply retroactively to causes of action which arose on or before the
effective date of this section.

Section 4. All acts and parts of acts are repealed insofar as they are
inconsistent with this act.

Section 5. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 29th day of November, A.D. 2004.
EDWARD G. RENDELL



